Home > TOP STORY > In unprovoked attack at # 51 village… Several PPP/C supporters injured – as unknown assailants bombard vehicles with missiles, corrosive substance
Mr Clement Rohee, Minister of Home Affairs

In unprovoked attack at # 51 village… Several PPP/C supporters injured – as unknown assailants bombard vehicles with missiles, corrosive substance

SEVERAL persons were injured by missiles thrown by unknown assailants at two vehicles transporting supporters returning from a People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Rally that was held at Albion, Corentyne on Sunday night.The scurrilous attack occurred between Numbers 50 and 51 villages on the Corentyne Coast in Berbice, and information received indicates that the vehicles came under bombardment of bottles that contained sand, rocks and a corrosive substance.

The injured were all rushed to the Skeldon Hospital, where they were treated.

DAVID ARMOGAN

Members of the ruling party leadership, including former president Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo, met with those hurt in the incident on Sunday night. Among those injured are 13-year-old Kamini Khan, 32-year-old Babita Zabar, an unidentified 14-year-old boy, and a male sugar worker said to be in his 50s. Injured passengers in the second vehicle included 18-year-old Valita Adams, 18-year-old Saradha Persaud, and 20-year-old Cindy Persaud.

An occupant of the second vehicle, Dian Ramsamuj, told the Chronicle yesterday that missiles of stone, sand and rotten eggs had been hurled at the vehicle after it had approached Number 50 Village.

“They throw the eggs first and it hit Valita, and is when she start crying that we realised what happening,” Ramsamuj said.

The youngest person injured, Kamini Khan, was in the first vehicle. In an interview with this newspaper, she complained of still being in pain.

“Last night, while we coming back from the rally, whoever it was throw something — acid like thing. My left arm get burn. I went to the doctor last night (Sunday night) and this morning (Monday morning) and get medication, but my hand still blazing,” the teen said.

INJURIES EXAMINED
Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Berbice Regional Health Authority, Dr Vishwa Mahadeo, confirmed that the teen had visited the Skeldon Hospital.
In an invited comment, he told the Guyana Chronicle that the 13-year-old lass had sustained chemical burns to her upper left arm, the 14-year-old lad had suffered a haematoma to the left side of his head, and the 32-year-old woman had suffered a bruised right shoulder.

“The sugar worker had first-degree burns, secondary to the corrosive substance,” Dr Mahadeo disclosed. He added that, in addition to the 13-year-old, at least three other persons had returned to the hospital yesterday morning for additional checkup.

Chairman of Region 6 (East Berbice/Corentyne), Mr David Armogan, when contacted, related a similar series of events. “They were pelted with bottles that contained different substances and hot boiled eggs…We have not been able to find the bottle that contained the corrosive substance, so we have not been able to identify what the substance was,” he said.

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo

Both Dr Mahadeo and Mr Armogan noted that the injured persons had been traumatised.

PROVOCATION
General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Mr Clement Rohee, yesterday vehemently condemned Sunday night’s attack on supporters of the ruling party, but made it clear that the PPP/C would not be provoked.

“Is this a provocation? Who is provoking it? If it is a provocation, is it centrally directed or locally directed? This is a matter of serious concern.” he said at a news conference held yesterday at Freedom House.
Rohee added, “This is a serious matter, a criminal offence as far as I am aware. It should not have happened.”

He said the next move for the PPP/C is to ensure that there is no retaliation on the part of its supporters and those affected.

“This incident places on the party the additional responsibility to calm our supporters and appeal for them not to be provoked into any retaliatory measures,” he said.

Accordingly, he appealed for “good sense” to prevail during the remainder of the elections season. “The party calls on all concerned to let good sense prevail in this campaign, which has gone well so far; and to ensure that no further actions of this nature take place,” he said.

Rohee added that since the May 11 election campaigns commenced, supporters of the political Opposition have suffered no such fate. He said, “I don’t know of any instance where, after an Opposition rally, the participants, on their way home, passing through villages, would have experienced any such incidents. The question therefore remains: Is this a provocation?”

Asked about the impact of the incident on the PPP/C’s election campaign, Rohee made it clear that incidents of intimidation, like Sunday’s attack, are not new to the party. “We have been through these things for years…We are, as we said from the beginning, battle ready,” the PPP General Secretary assured.

President Donald Ramotar: open and engaging

He added that, on Sunday, “everything was done in the meaning of the law”, and he called for the elections campaign to be allowed to proceed in a similar fashion.

The Guyana Police Force has since called for tolerance in the Guyanese society at this time. “The Guyana Police Force is taking this opportunity to call on members of the public to be tolerant of the political activities that are taking place at this time, and which are part of our democratic process; and is urging citizens to refrain from interfering with persons who may be of other political persuasions” the Police Force urged.

Meanwhile, President Donald Ramotar, when contacted shortly after the incident on Sunday night, was vehement in his condemnation of the unprovoked attack.

Dr. Vishwa Mahadeo

“This is terrible. It is horrible and probably intended to drive fear into our supporters, but I am sure it will work in the opposite manner and our supporters will support us even stronger,” President Ramotar said in an invited comment last Sunday night.

The President made it clear that elections ought to be free and fair, as well as free from intimidation. In this regard, the President called on the political Opposition to join him in urging all Guyanese to exercise respect for each other’s choice of leadership ahead of the May 11 General and Regional elections.
“We have to vehemently put an end to this,” President Ramotar stressed.

Three PPP supporters injured after Albion rally; police appeal for tolerance

The Guyana Police Force Monday afternoon confirmed that several persons were injured when unidentified persons hurled missiles at a vehicle that was transporting persons from the People's Progressive Party Civic's (PPPC) rally at Albion.

"Two women were struck to their head and shoulder, respectively, and a female child was struck to her left hand," police said.

Demerara Waves Online News was told by a high-ranking officer in the Berbice Division that,contrary to a report in a section of the state media, no one was the victim of an acid attack. A medical doctor at a health care institution that treated the child said there was no evidence of burns by a corrosive substance, said the police source.

Investigations so far revealed that about 7:30 Sunday night (April 19, 2015), objects were allegedly thrown into a motor vehicle transporting supporters of the PPP/C political party in the vicinity of No. 50 Village, Corentyne.

The Guyana Police Force appealed to Guyanese to be tolerant during the electioneering period."The Guyana Police Force is taking this opportunity to call on members of the public to be tolerant of the political activities that are taking place at this time and which are part of our democratic process; and is urging citizens to refrain from interfering with persons who may be of other political persuasions."

The PPPC last week accused A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+ AFC) coalition of harassing attendees at meetings of the incumbent party and the destruction of party paraphernalia such as banners and bill-boards.

Django,

it doesn't matter that no acid was used. This was an assault on Indians for the crime of supporting the PPP. Indian women and children. Same old story. Different election.

The PNC culture of anti-Indian election violence is apparently alive and well.

If your Coalition can't keep your supporters from assaulting Indian women and children when Indian votes are needed then I suggest ayuh start preparing to once again sit in Opposition for a full 5 year term.

Django,

it doesn't matter that no acid was used. This was an assault on Indians for the crime of supporting the PPP. Indian women and children. Same old story. Different election.

I guess you found the perpetrators and verified their membership in the PNC.

Django,

Thank you Shaitaan Bhai for condemning election violence.

Election violence must be condemned be it PPP or PNC.

Poster Gil also condemned election violence. Let all Guyanese exercise their right to support a party of their choice without intimidation.

May the better party win.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Django,

You're not Indian so I totally understand that some assaulted dalit and her litter means nothing to you.

Django,

You're not Indian so I totally understand that some assaulted dalit and her litter means nothing to you.

It doesn't matter what I am. Stop shooting shit when you don't even know who threw missiles and what party they belong to.

Django,

It doesn't matter what I am. Stop shooting shit when you don't even know who threw missiles and what party they belong to.

Look you friggin moron these were obviously PNC supporters doing what PNC supporters usually do to Indian women and children whenever we have elections.

You're either dishonest or callous that you think the perps aren't PNC supporters. They may not be PNC Executives or the PNC's best and brightest but they are acting out an old script that the PNC used to officially sanction publicly at the highest levels.

Originally Posted by TK:

Owwww...Rohee, Jagdoe and Lunchman are innocent lil virgins. They don't have militias in backdam. Dem not capable of sparking racial war. Dem ole time commies is virgins. 

Is that the new standard reply when PNC supporters beat up Indian women and children now on their way to PPP rallies?

I am never afraid to speak the truth.

I am originally from Berbice.

51 Village where this incident occurred is populated by 99 Percent Afros and who support the PNC. This is a PNC stronghold.

According to Mars, it is OK for PNC supporters to attack Indos including children.

According to Mars, Indo lives do not matter. 

This is at heart of this election, we have a PNC party where some of their supporters still have a mentality where Indo lives do not matter.

Any decent person will condemn this type of attack be it on Indos or Afros.

Django,

really? . . . is that your take away from what he said?

what a desperate, evil little punk u are

u, Vassan and the rest are likely the FH brain trust who felt it necessary to 'sex' this up with the "acid" LIE!

"Among those injured are 13-year-old Kamini Khan, 32-year-old Babita Zabar, an unidentified 14-year-old boy, and a male sugar worker said to be in his 50s. Injured passengers in the second vehicle included 18-year-old Valita Adams, 18-year-old Saradha Persaud, and 20-year-old Cindy Persaud."

According to Mars, these lives do not matter, they are just a few Indos.

Originally Posted by TK:

Owwww...Rohee, Jagdoe and Lunchman are innocent lil virgins. They don't have militias in backdam. Dem not capable of sparking racial war. Dem ole time commies is virgins. 

Is that the new standard reply when PNC supporters beat up Indian women and children now on their way to PPP rallies?

The only party which knows it will benefit from a racial conflict right now is PPP. There is no way APNU leadership would sanction something like that, let alone AFC. This event was either done by foolish black lone wolves or was planned by PPP guys. There is no way Granger would sanction something like that. Remember how they cuss him only a few months ago for not protesting on the streets? They have lots of foolish lone wolves also. My disappointment is the APNU-AFC leadership has not done enough to quiet these guys. On the other hand, you have some truly evil people at the top of PPP. I call the three names already. Add that commie lady also.

PPP is the best at drumming up fear.  So watch out next for the actual attacks on East Indians from the paid AFRO THUGS all paid for by the PPP.

Then they will blame it on the APNU+AFC.

Sweet!

PPP seh they will not give up easily.

The GDF will have to take a stand and back the American position in 2015.  If Jimmy says the elections are free and fair, then the GDF has to push the PPP OUT.

Django,

Look you friggin moron these were obviously PNC supporters doing what PNC supporters usually do to Indian women and children whenever we have elections.

You're either dishonest or callous that you think the perps aren't PNC supporters. They may not be PNC Executives or the PNC's best and brightest but they are acting out an old script that the PNC use to officially sanction publicly at the highest levels.

Please, stop with the stupid race baiting and fear mongering. Act your age and level of intelligence for a change. While it is quite possible that the perpetrators may be supporters of the PNC, they may also be supporters of the PPP or another party for that matter. They may be Benschop supporters seeing that he has preached violence against Indians in recent years. None of the two of us know the race or party they belong to, so to jump to conclusions is to do what jackasses or racists do. I'm not quite sure which group you're representing at this point or maybe it's a bit of both.

What if they are PNC supporters? Does that make the PNC responsible for every despicable act by its supporters? The coalition has specifically requested there be no violence by any supporter of their parties. So if someone carries out an act of violence, are they representing the policies of the parties or just being ignorant fools?

BTW, the PNC does not own the franchise on elections violence in Guyana. There have been violent acts from all parties throughout the years.

I am never afraid to speak the truth.

I am originally from Berbice.

51 Village where this incident occurred is populated by 99 Percent Afros and who support the PNC. This is a PNC stronghold.

According to Mars, it is OK for PNC supporters to attack Indos including children.

According to Mars, Indo lives do not matter. 

This is at heart of this election, we have a PNC party where some of their supporters still have a mentality where Indo lives do not matter.

Any decent person will condemn this type of attack be it on Indos or Afros.

Is that what you gathered from what I said? Only a bloody moron like you would come to such a conclusion. 

Django,

If your Coalition can't keep your supporters from assaulting Indian women and children when Indian votes are needed then I suggest ayuh start preparing to once again sit in Opposition for a full 5 year term.

Shait's,i don't condone violence of any kind this incident

is uncalled for,what i detest is the PPP using it to inflame

the people,from day one thru the Chronicle they lied,

the deadly substance of acid was used,come on this is

election season the people are polarized,better sense

should prevail.

Was told by one of my old old friends in the Guyana NSA.  Tek the man for a drink in fish shop at Lusignan and the banna said that the PPP got the former Roga Khan team on their payroll and they planning to drop some Indian bodies soon.

They will terrorise the children of Indian businessmen and some will die.

I am begging BK, Brian Tiwari, please can you please ask Briony to spend the next 3 weeks in Miami and out of Guyana?

My friend said - PPP phantom squad will do so and so and so.  If you know what I mean.

Mars, redux etc wants to see a return of PNC days where attacks on Indos are the norm and where Indo lives do not matter.

Let me tell you this, Indos will NEVER elect a racist and violent PNC.

Take that in your pipe and smoke it.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Was told by one of my old old friends in the Guyana NSA.  Tek the man for a drink in fish shop at Lusignan and the banna said that the PPP got the former Roga Khan team on their payroll and they planning to drop some Indian bodies soon.

I am begging BK, Brian Tiwari, please can you please ask Briony to spend the next 3 weeks in Miami and out of Guyana?

My friend said - PPP phantom squad will do so and so and so.  If you know what I mean.

So your personal rum shop intel network told you something outrageous so it must be true, eh?

Guyanese elections juss really mek people run mad.

Originally Posted by Django:

Django,

should prevail.

According to you, it is ok to pelt missiles at Indos as long as it is not acid.

Get a life !

So your personal rum shop intel network told you something outrageous so it must be true, eh?

Guyanese elections juss really mek people run mad.

Boy the best way to get intelligence is from the shop.  By the way I said FISH SHOP.  Can you not read?

I ate fry packhoo and wash down with a cold cold cold BANKS Beer.

Django,

should prevail.

Let's forget the acid error in the initial report. I would even concede that the PPP ginned up the story for maximum effect.

The fact remains that Indian women and children were assaulted on their way to a PPP rally. I feel comfortable blaming Opposition supporters because this is normal behavior for the PNC.

Don't act like the PNC does not engage in beating up and/or assaulting Indian women and children around election time. Guyana is known for this more than it's known for its rum.

Django,

should prevail.

According to you, it is ok to pelt missiles at Indos as long as it is not acid.

Get a life !

Read my response use the little comprehension skills you

have,you are a racist it is ok to hang effigies in the indo

areas,your myopic view Indos are saints they do no wrong.

Let's forget the acid error in the initial report. I would even concede that the PPP ginned up the story for maximum effect . . .

why?

Because assaulting Indian women and children in an election campaign is outrageous enough. No acid needed.

Let's forget the acid error in the initial report. I would even concede that the PPP ginned up the story for maximum effect . . .

why?

Because assaulting Indian women and children in an election campaign is outrageous enough. No acid needed.

we can all stipulate to that . . . w/edits of course, no?

now, how is the sexing up with "acid" not germane again?

to really stir things up y'all should have gone for 'the disembowelment of a couple of children' since it's all the same . . . rite?

why?

we can all stipulate to that . . . w/edits of course, no?

now, how is the sexing up with "acid" not germane again?

to really stir things up y'all should have gone for 'the disembowelment of a couple of children' since it's all the same . . . rite?

Which Party threw acid on Gomattie Singh?

Let me tell you this, Indos will NEVER elect a racist and violent PNC.

Take that in your pipe and smoke it.

And what if the non Indo voters, who now slightly outnumber the Indo voters, decide otherwise?

Originally Posted by TK:
. This event was either done by foolish black lone wolves or was planned by PPP guys. There is no way Granger would sanction something like that. .

Note that the PPP AG Anil Nandlall threatened violence on KN and also on Crum Ewing.

Does the PPP have recorded evidence of similar threats by senior PNC officials?

Look at Ramotar screaming that Jagdeo would have lashed the "stupid" Amerindian, and then saw to it that his goons did exactly that.

NO!

So why does the PPP claim that they cannot be held accountable for the death of a Guyanese CITIZEN who was exercising his right to protest, and against a major newspaper.

Crum Ewing's FB posts were no more vile than many posts by Rev and yuji.

Shaitaan needs to just go sit down and drink beer, tea or what ever with his fellow Indo KKKites.

Originally Posted by TK:

Indian lives don't matter; black lives do.

The fact remains that Indian women and children were assaulted on their way to a PPP rally.

What ought to disturb you is that the PPP is more interested in making political hay with this using it to panic Indians, rather than finding who did this and urging that ALL political parties get together to tell their supporters to behave themselves.

It just looks to me as if Lumumba and his boys went for a walk and they carried some stones with them.  But Shaitaan screams that the PPP is the savior and so Indians should vote for them!  At least he implies that.

Indian lives don't matter; black lives do.

So has the PPP caught the perps yet?  Of course not, because as you say Indo lives don't matter to the PPP, so they can scream racial panic.

Now if I were an Indian and noted how inept the PPP is in defending even its own supporters then I would wonder why they deserve the vote. 

Interesting. What Crum Ewing was murdered the PPP screamed that there was no proof, and even suggested that this was a PNC conspiracy.  Even after Ewing had been threatened by Nandlall (who also threatened violence on the KN).

No proof of who threw the stones, so it could be the PPP trying to spread panic.  After all who will benefit most from an outbreak of racial violence?