Director of Public Information resigns from NCN Board over appointment of new CEO

In a statement Mr. Khan said "I advised the Honourable Prime Minister of the reason for same, thanked him for the confidence reposed in me for having been selected to serve as an NCN Director and expressed regret that the circumstances do not permit for me to serve the full duration of the term for which I was appointed."

Director of Public Information resigns from NCN Board over appointment of new CEO

The Director of Public Information in the Office of the Prime Minister, Imran Khan, has submitted his resignation as a Director of the state-owned National Communications Network.

His resignation came on the same day that the new NCN Chief Executive Officer, Lennox Cornette, reported for duty.

In  a statement Mr. Khan said “I advised the Honourable Prime Minister of the reason for same, thanked him for the confidence reposed in me for having been selected to serve as an NCN Director and expressed regret that the circumstances do not permit for me to serve the full duration of the term for which I was appointed.”

Khan’s decision comes in response to the decision by the Chairman of the NCN Board to move ahead with the appointment of Public Relations Consultant, Lennox Cornette, even after Cornette admitted to him that he had forged the signature of late GTT Manager, Terry Holder, while he worked at that company.

Khan thought that such an admission was enough to remove Cornette from the running for the position but backed by other members of the Board, the Chairman went ahead with the appointment, even after Khan requested that the Board meets to discuss the issue further.

In his statement today, Mr. Khan said he “could not associate my name with such an appointment. I therefore am of the conviction that continuing as a Director is untenable.”

He said the decision of the Board to proceed with the appointment in light of the available information, is reckless and imprudent.

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 1.04.59 PM

Last week, Khan wrote to the Prime Minister requesting that the Prime Minister revoke the appointment of the Chairman of the NCN Board over the decision to appoint Cornette.

In an email exchange shared to the NCN Board and seen by News Source, Khan told the Prime Minister that “it is my view that the appointment of Mr. Cornette as CEO is an irresponsible, foul and obnoxious decision given his admission. The Chairman pushed this matter through with undue haste. It was a most reckless act on his part.”

“The Chairman lacks the demonstrable capacity to effectively chair the NCN Board. Not only is he weak but he has proven that with regard to the most critical of decisions he is prone to act in haste and make decisions which puts NCN, a company at the centre of the state’s national security at risk. Further, Prime Minister, considerable time at Board Meetings is spent on the Chairman discussing irrelevant non-agenda matters, principally involving the Chairman threatening to resign (which is a threat that is made at almost every single meeting) and him seeking to impress the Directors as to his contacts in society among the elite and powerful”, Khan told the Prime Minister.

In response to that letter, the NCN Chairman, Bish Panday clapped back and wrote a letter of his own to the Prime Minister pointing out that “I maintain Mr Khan is unqualified to judge my competence. I don’t know that he ever managed anything or ever met a payroll. He can continue to write.”

It is unclear what decision the Prime Minister will now take in this matter.

Prime Minister Nagamootoo is the subject Minister who holds responsibility for the state media.

I support Imran Khan fully. Principled and honorable decision.

NCN Board Chairman Bish Panday is wrong to insist on appointing Cornette.

I support Imran Khan fully. Principled and honorable decision.

NCN Board Chairman Bish Panday is wrong to insist on appointing Cornette.

If true a signature was forged by Cornette, then I agree.

If he admitted to a forgery, why was he not charged?

I believe he forged the signature sometime ago of his then boss Terry Holder.  Coincidentally Terry Holder and Walter Rodney were classmates at Queens College.   Terry Holder's daughter is also currently employed by the Granger administration.

Another Afro takes over.

Afros make up 29 Percent of the population but holds 99 percent of high profile positions in Guyana.

This is blatant racism. It will only get worse as corrupt Afros continue to hold high positions. This is Burnhamism on the rise again.

Indos must take note.

Another Afro takes over.

Afros make up 29 Percent of the population but holds 99 percent of high profile positions in Guyana.

This is blatant racism. It will only get worse as corrupt Afros continue to hold high positions. This is Burnhamism on the rise again.

Indos must take note.

In apartheid South Africa the story was the same!!

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

East Indian 43.5%, black (African) 30.2%, mixed 16.7%, Amerindian 9.1%, other 0.5% (2002 census)

You need to revisit the ethnic composition of Guyana,take note mixed are mostly identified with Africans due to most Indians treat them as outcasts.

ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

Indians in Guyana were never oppressed,are you re-writing history.

ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

Indians in Guyana were living in the South Africa of South America!  We were the most oppressed thus the mass exodus!

And then there are those like you who haveIndian face and black mind.  What percentage of the population do you make up?   

There are a lot of us who don't see other ethnicity as lesser mortals.

ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

Indians in Guyana were living in the South Africa of South America!  We were the most oppressed thus the mass exodus!

The mass exodus of Indians was under an Indian Government,where is the comparison to South Africa.

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

East Indian 43.5%, black (African) 30.2%, mixed 16.7%, Amerindian 9.1%, other 0.5% (2002 census)

You need to revisit the ethnic composition of Guyana,take note mixed are mostly identified with Africans due to most Indians treat them as outcasts.

Django, I have seen both you and Caribny and others post that the people of mixed race mostly identify with Afro-Guyanese. Please post the applicable data to indicate this. 

I have many friends and family members who are mixed and they do not represent this statement. They are all over the place in terms of with which race they identify. 

There are many factors that go into this and I have difficulty with statements that indicate a unicausal reason.

looking forward to the data.

Z
ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

The mass exodus of Indians was under an Indian Government,where is the comparison to South Africa.

Django, you really need to deepen your analysis instead if parroting what others are saying. The resulting statements makes you look less than you are.

Z
ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

Imran Khan is right....

Under Jagdeo apartheid only his Friends, Funny Fellas and Freedom House get Radio and TV license.

Which other country in the world yuh ever hear political party get Radio & TV License...... Only under Jagdeo Apartheid.

Zed posted:

Django, you really need to deepen your analysis instead if parroting what others are saying. The resulting statements makes you look less than you are.

I tried to be fair instead of the half truths parroted by some here,they just pull numbers out of the air,also the want you to believe that Indian is the most oppressed ethnicity under a Black government.

Check the census data of the Indian population you will notice the decrease during the previous  gov't.

ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

You are full of shit.

Zed posted:

Django is speaking the truth.

And then there are those like you who haveIndian face and black mind.  What percentage of the population do you make up?   

There are a lot of us who don't see other ethnicity as lesser mortals.

Bibi brought out the best in you here, Django. With thanks, send her a bunch of roses via Interflora. 

Between you and me, Bibi also brought out a laudable quality in me --- restraint. I could not send her flowers, however, because I don't know whether she lives in Toronto or Richmond Hill or Pradoville2. But I'll be eternally grateful to her and I thank GNI Admin for admitting such a worthy member. Seriously, bai.

I never said anything about lesser mortals.  I believe that we are all equal. I can show up at any PNC meeting and get hugs and kisses, but I never got flowers.  Gilbakka, my addresses are in Brampton (not far from your house),  Jamaica estates, and Pradoville1.  Please send my flowers to any of those addresses.  I have a strong preference for red roses!

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

I think most PPP supporters would treat you as an outcast also. Just a thought.

ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

You sound like a combination of T and Warria. What a mentality!

Zed posted:

I tried to be fair instead of the half truths parroted by some here,they just pull numbers out of the air,also the want you to believe that Indian is the most oppressed ethnicity under a Black government.

Check the census data of the Indian population you will notice the decrease during the previous  gov't.

Who do you believe are the most oppressed ethnicity under a black government?

I am not disputing the number of Indo-Guyanese that left. There are many reasons why people left Guyana during the PPP government, many pull and push factors. Why did you leave Guyana? Do not intellectualize it as many people do in retrospect.

I left because I could not get into university of Guyana even though many with far less academic qualifications were admitted. I had GCE O and A levels, including English and Math. Went abroad and immediately got into university. The government had also started to make moves for me to be fired because of my political activities. Those were the push factors. Pull factor - I had relatives in Canada so somewhere to stay, to get me oriented, and put up with me until I could pay my way. 

Z
Zed posted:

Django is speaking the truth.

Mitts, it is not whether he is telling the truth or not, it is these statements that he post. He seems to be lowering himself to the level of others when he should be trying to bring up the level of debate. 

I cringe when I see his post about black and C----- government. Also, be needed to recognize that there were many pull factors when we are talking about migration, and not just drop this statement that seems to indicate to me that it was only push factors that motivated people to migrate.

Z
ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

Such certainty of belief.  You realize that there is an element of self consciousness here not just institutional and process elements? Are you talking generally? How many Indians have to feel that way to make your statement false?  If I said that I am an Indian, and I felt that I was oppressed, does that prove your statement false. Furthermore, what elements have to be in place to define whether oppression is taking place or not taking place?

Z
ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

False!!!! It was under the Burnham regime!!!

ba$eman posted:

Another Afro takes over.

Indos must take note.

You sound like a combination of T and Warria. What a mentality!

He is worse than T and Warria.  He is also worse than shameless.  Doesn't even have one iota of a conscience.  Even the PNC guys on this site tell the truth when they have to.  He just streaks on recklessness all the time.