Imam released again on $200,000 station bail
January 27, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News

-as medical reports show seven boys molested

The 35-year-old Imam at the centre of a growing sexual abuse scandal was released on a further $200,000 station bail yesterday as medical tests confirmed that seven of his accusers were molested.

Police are expected to send a file containing the statements of the first three accusers to the Director of Public Prosecutors (DPP) today.
A source explained that because the children are in protective custody investigators are finding it challenging to get their statements in a timely manner.

The accused Imam is already on an initial $150,000 station bail. Kaieteur News understands that he is on medication for an undisclosed physical ailment.
An official said that the lads claim that they were forced into sexual acts at a mosque where they attended lessons that were taught by the alleged culprit.

According to another official, nine boys have implicated the Imam. Medical examinations showed that seven of the children were victims of sexual penetration.

The source said that one of the accusers said that he was fondled. According to this victim, he had complained to someone but was told that he β€œwanted to get the man in trouble.”

Child Protection officials have expressed concern about the delay in laying charges, while stating that nowhere in the new Sexual Offences Act does it state that the police have to send their file to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

The alleged culprit was initially arrested after rape allegations were leveled against him. There were reports that after the intervention of the DPP, the Imam was released on $150,000 station bail.

This led to DPP Shalimar Hack issuing a statement denying that she had interfered with the investigation, while noting that the police can institute charges without her advice.
The Central Islamic Organization has stated that the Imam has been sent on leave pending the outcome of the investigations.

The Imam is innocent until proven guilty. I heard rumors that the mother of the some of the boys is a substance abuser and she she tried to extort money from the Imam when it is alleged the big brother seems to be the real culprit. Here we have doubts being created already and the defense would have no mercy on the promiscuous behaviours of the alleged victims.

I can't really form or give an opinion until all of the facts are out. I beleive less than half of what I read.

A matter of this nature takes time to investigate and prosecute.

I hope the Imam is not guilty, but if he is found to have committed the acts, then this has nothing to with Islam.
Originally posted by ksazma:
Originally posted by Mitwah:
I hope the Imam is not guilty,

I am less concerned with whether the imam is guilty as I am with some kids being abused. Mad Whoever is responsible should be punished to the extent of the law. However, none of this can remove the injustice meted out to these kids. Mad

I was thinking the same thing.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
Originally posted by ksazma:
Originally posted by Mitwah:
I hope the Imam is not guilty,

I am less concerned with whether the imam is guilty as I am with some kids being abused. Mad Whoever is responsible should be punished to the extent of the law. However, none of this can remove the injustice meted out to these kids. Mad

I was thinking the same thing.

Who is really looking out for these kids? The DPP is interested in the PPO looking good. The Muslim community is interested in Islam looking good ans what would eventually get lost in the shuffle is the abuse of these kids.
Originally posted by chameli:
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Nah mek worries, dem bai a wait fa he in jail.

the DPP is looking out for him...she is his angel whether he's guilty or notdunno

not sure how the medicals will prove wrongMad

but then again the dna and medical was insufficient evidence in the case of the malaysian politicianFrown

if someone/anyone, regardless of religion or status, is found to be guilty of sexually abusing a child that person should be stoned to death....

Ah weh yu geh datt from nah? Dem bad man in jail a wait foa he too. But mi tink yuh rite, muslim Imam rape lil moslem bais, dem goa keep am in da fambly foa shure.