…but mommy, why the song and not the singer?

NOVEMBER 28, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER FEATURES / COLUMNISTSFREDDIE KISSOON 

Over sixty percent of this nation is under thirty-five years of age. That, by international standards, is a pretty young nation. Over seventy percent of that figure does not know some of the great names that have contributed to the contemporary shape of Guyana. You ask seventy percent of the Guyanese people if they know a Guyanese singer by the name of Johnny Braff; my guess is they would be nonplussed.
In the sixties, he was a famous singer that contributed largely to the resuscitation of pop music in Guyana. If you are to examine our historical contributors, they will run into hundreds. Therefore, the Mayor and City Council cannot arrogate to itself the right to name streets, roadways and places without consulting a wide cross-section of the Guyanese society. The Council must invite suggestions. The scope should be wide. Included must be the major political parties – PPP, PNC, AFC; NGOs, women groups, youth groups. Other stakeholders should include the business community, trade union movement and educational institutions like the University of Guyana.
The format should not be the submission of names to the Council and leave it to them to accept. There must be broad-based discussions on the persons to be honoured. I don’t want to submit Eusi Kwayana then the committee at City Hall discards his name. My point is that the decision must not rest exclusively with the Mayor and City Council.
It has been announced that Orange Walk is to be given a new identity – Electric Avenue – after one of Eddy Grant’s most famous songs. Why the song and not the man?
When people walk on that road, they will ask who is Eddy Grant and you will say the first international superstar in the entertainment field that Guyana produced. That sounds far better than Electric Avenue. One can well imagine, a child asking her mother fifty years from now why is it called Electric Avenue. The mother tells her it came about after a world famous song by a Guyanese singer. The child may ask why not the singer, why the song? Really! Who came up with Electric Avenue? In fact, “Gimme Hope Joanna” was a bigger Grant hit than Electric Avenue
The naming of streets and buildings make the personality live forever, therefore it is no small matter, and the people of Guyana must make sure that the City Council accepts other choices than their own. Generations to come will know there was a President that was assassinated named John F. Kennedy, because one of the busiest airports in the world is named after him. The central airport in France pays honour to President Charles de Gaulle. Generations of Jamaicans to come will know who Bob Marley was because there is a Bob Marley Avenue. It would be a great loss to this nation if in the coming months Guyanese organizations do not demand their right to participate.
The categories should be social activities, politics, business, education, culture, sports, civic spheres, agriculture, the security sector, local government, entertainment, media, law, medicine, human rights, arts/literature/music, nursing, hinterland development, presidential figures among other classifications. I would like to pick Eusi Kwayana for the category of politics, culture, social activities, education and human rights.
Eusi Kwayana has left a huge legacy in this land. There is no way there could be space in a newspaper column to outline the prodigious history of this man and his service to the Guyanese people
I would suggest the National Park be named after Forbes Burnham than the Botanical Gardens. The Gardens were there long before Burnham wore long pants. And there is no philosophical connection with him and the Gardens. It is an entirely different story with the National Park. Burnham birthed this phenomenal landscape that perhaps sees more visitors than the Botanical Gardens and hosts far more activities than the Gardens. Desmond Hoyte must be celebrated in a big way that goes beyond attaching his name to a street. Hoyte was one of the Third World’s bravest governmental leaders who proved that post-colonial societies can embrace democracy.
Apart from Yesu Persaud, Clive Thomas, Dave Martins and Ron Robinson who have been selected, and those who already have places named after them like Dr. Ptolemy Reid, I can think of Dr. Josh Ramsammy, Dr. David Hinds, Peter D’Aguiar, Father Andrew Morrison, Father Malcolm Rodrigues, Shridath Ramphal, Carl Hooper, Hamilton Green, Janet Jagan, Boysie Ramkarran, Professor Dennis Irvine, Laurie Lewis, Moses Nagamootoo. Dr. Leslie Mootoo. Places to be renamed should include the National Library and certain schools. Why Christ Church Secondary and not Carl Hooper Secondary? More on this in a later column.

All week I have been saying the same thing on a thread that was closed.

I mentioned Eusi .

Last night I received a call from Guyana and was happy to learn that the committee that is responsible to restore beauty to my  Corriverton is acting on a suggestion that I had made some 10 to 15 years ago.

I mentioned Eusi .

Last night I received a call from Guyana and was happy to learn that the committee that is responsible to restore beauty to my  Corriverton is acting on a suggestion that I had made some 10 to 15 years ago.

The Chief is a power mover.  Salaam bai.

I mentioned Eusi .

Rather than renaming places and things, how about cleaning up the place? Renaming anything will not make the place any better or healthier to live in.

Riffraff,

I am unto your game.

Let's name Al Bin something or the other....

Timehri should have still been Timehri

Don't know why they changed the name

Vish M
Originally Posted by Vish M:
Riffraff,

I am unto your game.

man...you need to learn to read and digest before you touch the keyboard

Never understood that because Timehri have an indigenous origin.  It was more appropriate to rename Black Bush Polder, "Cheddieville".

Riffraff,

I am unto your game.

His inability to properly compose himself stems from his obsession over Muslims.

I mentioned Eusi .

Rather than renaming places and things, how about cleaning up the place? Renaming anything will not make the place any better or healthier to live in.

send your family to steal the garbage that will help

I mentioned Eusi .

send your family to steal the garbage that will help

I am in your backyard hunting. Why not come out and tell me about my family?

" . . .  the Mayor and City Council cannot arrogate to itself the right to name streets, roadways and places without consulting a wide cross-section of the Guyanese society. The Council must invite suggestions. The scope should be wide. Included must be the major political parties – PPP, PNC, AFC; NGOs, women groups, youth groups. Other stakeholders should include the business community, trade union movement and educational institutions like the University of Guyana.

The format should not be the submission of names to the Council and leave it to them to accept. There must be broad-based discussions on the persons to be honoured. I don’t want to submit Eusi Kwayana then the committee at City Hall discards his name. My point is that the decision must not rest exclusively with the Mayor and City Council."

Freddie on point . . . daamnit!

Hammie with one foot in de grave reaching fuh legacy with all the wrong tools

why the ass the government wasting time changing names when their is so much more important things to do maybe this is a distraction for the guyanese to focus on than things like crime.u celebrating independence with the same old shit what is there to celebrate did guyana move forward,do some thing positive then u can celebrate 

I mentioned Eusi .

I agree with you.

Nothing is wrong with doing both at the same time.

Before Timehri, it was called Atkinson Airport. And, before that, the whole area was called Hyde Park. Now we have Cheddi Jagan International Airport. All these changes occurred within the past 75 years. At this rate of changing names, imagine what that one place alone will be called 75 years from now.

Anyway, in the spirit of the present time, I am suggesting two name changes:

[1] Essequibo should be renamed Madras. All maps should be changed accordingly. Maduro cannot claim Madras.

[2] Guyana should be renamed Burgana after Burnham and Jagan. Both PNC and PPP will be happy.

why the ass the government wasting time changing names when their is so much more important things to do maybe this is a distraction for the guyanese to focus on than things like crime.u celebrating independence with the same old shit what is there to celebrate did guyana move forward,do some thing positive then u can celebrate 

Rass, you mek lil sense deh bai.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
Riffraff,

I am unto your game.

His inability to properly compose himself stems from his obsession over Muslims.

So true. 

Before Timehri, it was called Atkinson Airport. And, before that, the whole area was called Hyde Park. Now we have Cheddi Jagan International Airport. All these changes occurred within the past 75 years. At this rate of changing names, imagine what that one place alone will be called 75 years from now.

[1] Essequibo should be renamed Madras. All maps should be changed accordingly. Maduro cannot claim Madras.

[2] Guyana should be renamed Burgana after Burnham and Jagan. Both PNC and PPP will be happy.

Looks like I have to find out if they have any vacancy at the Canje mad house. When are you available?

Rass, you mek lil sense deh bai.

go hunt your wild cabbage 

CHANGE IS GOOD:  TEK CHANGE IN YUH BAXSIDE.  HALLA FUH PNC AND TWO HOUSE SLAVES. TAKE THE STREETS AND HALLA HIP HIP HOORAY FOR THE PNC AND TWO HOUSE SLAVES!!!

That is because so far, this government has been hapless.

Looks like I have to find out if they have any vacancy at the Canje mad house. When are you available?

Whenever you become the Canje mad house administrator. Warria will escort me there.

CHANGE IS GOOD:  TEK CHANGE IN YUH BAXSIDE.  HALLA FUH PNC AND TWO HOUSE SLAVES. TAKE THE STREETS AND HALLA HIP HIP HOORAY FOR THE PNC AND TWO HOUSE SLAVES!!!

They can't change the High Crime, The High Unemployment, They can;t Change the Slide of the Economy. BUT THEY WANT TO CHANGE NAME, HOW PRODUCTIVE IS GUYANA, KAPAR TIME.

Shut your PPP mouth!

Come shut it JACKASS.  Bloody leach to Society!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by kp:

They can't change the High Crime, The High Unemployment, They can;t Change the Slide of the Economy. BUT THEY WANT TO CHANGE NAME, HOW PRODUCTIVE IS GUYANA, KAPAR TIME.

Thanks  for  acknowledging the state the PPP leave Guyana in.

Whenever you become the Canje mad house administrator. Warria will escort me there.

They will probably grab warria nad let you go. They would say Warria rass more mad than some ah dem peeple in hey.

Shut your PPP mouth!

oh boy the brother is drunk again 

You cannot get to use Jagdeo and the peolple of Guyana credit card so everyone turn leech.

I am still a Consultant and gets paid well.

Riffraff,

I am unto your game.

Vish, the import of Riff's post is the indigenous name, which is most appropriate. The change of the name Timeri was a travesty to Guyana's heritage.

Originally Posted by kp:
 KAPAR TIME.

KP= Ka Par.

Your contribution on GNI is irrelevant, Dutty Coolie.

De man mean Kaphaar time.

You cannot get to use Jagdeo and the peolple of Guyana credit card so everyone turn leech.

Mouth open , story jump out.

So that is you cussing the Honarable Mr. Ramjatan and Nagammotoo.

now who in their right mine will seek your advise 

People who are smarter than you are.