PNCR supporters protest lockout from Linden meeting held by Granger

Posted By Stabroek editor On October 11, 2014 @ 12:46 pm In Local News | No Comments

More than forty PNCR/APNU supporters were locked out of a meeting that was held by PNCR/APNU leader, David Granger last evening at the Mackenzie High School auditorium.

Most of those supporters, who were locked out carried placards that criticized the alleged disrespectful manner in which some members of the PNCR in Linden feel that they are being treated by their political leader and the Central Executive of the party.

Shortly before 6.00 P.M., the protestors gathered in front of LICHAS Hall and from around 6.15 P.M., they proceeded in an easterly direction along Purple Heart Street for about one hundred and fifty yards to the main gate of the Mackenzie High School compound, which was padlocked.

Two senior police officers were inside of the locked gate and refused to make any effort to open the padlock as they endured verbal tantrums from the irate protestors. Several RDC councilors and Linden IMC members were among those who were locked out.

Several months of tension between the PNCR and some of the party’s supporters in Linden culminated in a showdown at its recent delegates congress in Georgetown to elect a leader. In the fracas, a gunshot was fired leading to severe embarrassment for the party.

One of APNU’s main mobilizers, Gordon Callender was among those, who were locked out and in an invited comment he told Stabroek News that he knows personally that some of the operatives that the opposition leader is listening to with respect to the current impasse between the Linden PNCR/APNU supporters and Congress Place, are operatives of the PPP.

“We know all of them,” Callendar said, “and we suspect that one of them from the Central Executive Committee, is the devil’s advocate for this confusion in Region Ten”.

Callender, who is an APNU councilor in the Linden municipality, pointed to RDC Councilors, Leslie Gonsalves, Douglas Gittens, Mayfield Greene, Charles Sampson and his PNCR/APNU colleague on the Linden IMC, Fern McCoy, who were also locked out of the meeting. He said these people have been locked out because effort is being made to keep “the real die-hard PNC people after they disrespected us at Congress Place during the PNC Congress a few months ago”.

The meeting, which was scheduled to begin at 6.00 P.M. was repeatedly advertized on the lone Linden radio station for most of the day. Callendar said that he understood that the meeting was called to discuss matters of local government and anti money laundering.

“You see the embarrassment the leader walked into today,” Callendar said. “The people dat dey got in de meeting is just a handful. A next thing, Denton Osbourne, one of the operatives for the PPP, who was working with Minister Jennifer Westford, he is the one giving the directive to the police inspector to lock the gate and keep people outside.”

Sampson, who is an APNU councilor on both the RDC and the Linden IMC, brought Stabroek News’ attention to the fact that he was locked out of the meeting. “I am supposed to be at a meeting here and I have turned up for this meeting,” Sampson said. “You know, I’m a councilor of the RDC and a councilor of the town council and l have been denied entry to the meeting. This meeting has been summoned by the leader of the opposition. I don’t know what is the agenda of the meeting but I turned up for the meeting and I have been denied entry. As a member of the PNCR, I am taking that very seriously.”

The APNU Councillor on the RDC said: “I am not sure about the issue but we have some strong views that we need to ventilate with the leader of the opposition and we are looking forward to seeing him before the night to get these views aired.” The Mackenzie High School teacher stressed: “This is a situation, we are outside – locked out. We can’t be treated like this. We have been party members for years and we can’t be treated like this, come on man.”

A longstanding PNCR activist, well known as Jason told Stabroek News: “Linden is supposed to be a stronghold of the PNC and we, Lindeners are being treated (badly) by somebody, we put there as our leader and he is fighting for transparency in Parliament from the government but he ain’t got transparency among his own people. We get views that we want to address and we want to know which part of the PNC we stand. If is the back, or the front? Elections coming on and we have selections we could make. So, if Granger want mek heself a joker, he gon get the pay for it.”

TUC President, Gonsalves said it is the second time that the leader came to Linden without members of the RDC and the town councilors being informed prior to his arrival. “That’s one, and secondly, we want him to understand how we feel about his modus operandi. Generally, I think this is bad because other persons, who were here such as Mr. (Norman) Chapman, a longstanding member of the party in this community, could not go in because apparently this was a private meeting for only certain persons to attend. And it’s something we are not going to condone. We are not going to condone it.”

After about forty five minutes in the meeting, RDC councilor, Maurice Butters, attempted to leave the Mackenzie High School compound but could not do so because of the locked gate. The Region Ten Chairman was not among the protestors. Efforts by Stabroek News to reach him by phone proved futile. Attempts to contact MP Vanessa Kissoon also failed. The disciplining by Kissoon by the PNCR over an incident with General Secretary Oscar Clarke is one of the causes of the rift in the PNCR community in Linden.

20141011-124629.jpg

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ing-held-by-granger/

A longstanding PNCR activist, well known as Jason told Stabroek News: “Linden is supposed to be a stronghold of the PNC and we, Lindeners are being treated (badly) by somebody, we put there as our leader and he is fighting for transparency in Parliament from the government but he ain’t got transparency among his own people. We get views that we want to address and we want to know which part of the PNC we stand. If is the back, or the front? Elections coming on and we have selections we could make. So, if Granger want mek heself a joker, he gon get the pay for it.”

--WHHATAX, the hypocracy of Grainja exposed.

LINDEN CHASED THE CRAPUD OUT!

‘You are not welcome here’ – disgruntled Lindeners tell Granger

OCTOBER 12, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

“This tells me that there is a substantial number of members who are still interested in the Local Government campaign and in APNU while there are some only interested in causing disruption”- Granger

The accounts given to Kaieteur News about the series of events which occurred on Friday night at Mackenzie High School, Linden, differed each time it was related.

APNU Leader, David Granger

APNU Leader,
David Granger

The only consistent bit of information is that Opposition Leader, David Granger, was chased by a group of disgruntled Lindeners.
Granger, in his capacity as Leader of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), visited Linden for a meeting which he said was advertised by mean of handbills.
Kaieteur News understands that the meeting which was scheduled to begin at 18:00hrs, started on time but a contingent who got there about 18:30hrs was locked out.
Region Ten Councilor, Leslie Gonsalves, recounted that he and approximately 60 other Lindeners were barred from entering the school compound and as such decided to protest the premises. He said that there were some 16 Lindeners inside listening to what Granger had to say.
According to Gonsalves, the contingent went to the school with intent to convince Granger that he has to address pending matters.