March 14, 2017 Source

Dear Editor,

I RESPOND to Dr David Hinds’ column “Tell Indian Guyanese the truth about Sugar and State Asset Recovery”, where he accuses Ms Rhyaan Shah and myself of “deception”. He says, “Yes, diversifying out of sugar would have a near-term impact on the mostly Indian Guyanese workforce. But to not point out that the present government has continued the subsidy of the industry even as it searched for ways to get out of the historic hole leads me to question the objective of the leaders.”

Dr Hinds obviously has more information that the rest of Guyana, especially the people of Wales and its environs. Wales has already been closed – but where is the “diversification” the government has promised to provide as alternative employment? I have appeared on TV programmes with Dr Hinds where I made the point that I have no problem with diversification – but before the estates are closed there must be options for the workers. And option is not an option unless it’s an exercisable option – and none of the suggested options rice, cash crops etc have been exercised.

And as I said on so many of those programmes, it is not only about Indians, since Wales has the largest percentage of African sugar workers and cane farmers. Farmers’ cane at Wales will be left standing because there is no feasible way to transport the cane to Uitvlugt. The proposed road that was supposed to be built remains a “proposal”.

As far back as 1999, I proposed that Guyana phase out of sugar and that the prime drained and irrigated land not be used for houselots, but diversified into the production of other crops. The land would be divided into 15-acre lots to be cultivated by workers producing crops for factories established by capital (foreign or domestic) that would supply foreign markets. At that time passion fruit pulp was one option mentioned. Right now the Chinese and Indian interests are scouring the globe for such land. Alternately, each estate can be capitalised and workers participate in ESOPs (Employee Stock Ownership Plans) for new corporations that would engage in processing and marketing crops they have identified for world markets.

On SARA, my position as articulated on the programs where Mr Eric Philips appeared, was that all who stole state assets must be brought to justice. My concern, however, is as was that of the GHRA and TIGI, that in view of our own country’s history of authoritarian excesses, I am very leery of the powers being assigned to SARA’s head.

On SOCU’s recent action, as with the precipitate closure of Wales, I repeat my caution that the political directorate cannot continue to be so tone deaf as to the repercussions in the Indian community. And David, in addition to being the anniversary of New Jewel Movement seizing power in Grenada, March 13th is also the anniversary of the killings of 15 workers at Pln Rose Hall in 1913 when they protested the precipitate actions of management. It hastened the end of Indian Indentureship.

Regards
Ravi Dev

VVP posted:

Ravi Dev on point.  Can't disagree with anything he said in this letter.

That idea was there before Ravi Dev opened his mouth in 1999,the Economic Maestro propped up the industry and build one White Elephant at Skeldon.

VVP posted:

That idea was there before Ravi Dev opened his mouth in 1999,the Economic Maestro propped up the industry and build one White Elephant at Skeldon.

I read the COI report on sugar and it seems like a lot of the problems were based on management.  They PPP ran the industry akin to milking a cow dry and now the PNC will be selling the carcass.  The people suffer in the process.

There were no proper capital investments and where it was done it turned out to be white elephants like Skeldon.  The industry needs to be privatized and diversified.

Cannot imagine that the COI did not do any social impact study to examine will happen to employees if estates are closed and what actions should be taken to ease the burden of the people.  The fiasco that happened in Wales where you close an estate and then come up with unworkable solutions shows how backwards this coalition government is.

VVP posted:

Here comes Django slamming down a Indian. 

who has the idea before 1999 ... a Blackman Django. 

Imran posted:
VVP posted:

Here comes Django slamming down a Indian. 

who has the idea before 1999 ... a Blackman Django. 

Banna cut it out,that was discussed among Indians,that fella jumped in the arena late and the rest is history.

I was asked to be on one of the small party list "not PNC",refused told the guy i am a PPP supporter,no can do,after the Elections he ran to ole USA.

The PNC did attempt (back in the 70's) to diversify out of sugar, but under the management of the sugar industry, via the GUYSUCO Other Crops division.  They tried to harness the management and technical resources in GUYSUCO to lead this effort.  The effort itself was not bad however, the failure came with the general failure of the PNC in stacking the management with PNC incompetent lackeys who could not relate to the people doing the work.

The PPP erred in viewing everything the PNC did/attempted as an utter failure.  They remained wedded to the Sugar industry for political traditional reasons and rode the ship over the waterfall.  There were several initiatives of the PNC which made a lot of sense and the greatest beneficiaries were the PPP constituency.

What the anti-koolie squad that now rules over our East Indian Brothers and Sisters of Guyana are doing is they are putting in place a system that will break East Indians from economic power in Guyana society. Look for more hidden economic policies in the future.

ba$eman posted:

The PNC did attempt (back in the 70's) to diversify out of sugar, but under the management of the sugar industry, via the GUYSUCO Other Crops division.  They tried to harness the management and technical resources in GUYSUCO to lead this effort.  The effort itself was not bad however, the failure came with the general failure of the PNC in stacking the management with PNC incompetent lackeys who could not relate to the people doing the work.

The PPP erred in viewing everything the PNC did/attempted as an utter failure.  They remained wedded to the Sugar industry for political traditional reasons and rode the ship over the waterfall.  There were several initiatives of the PNC which made a lot of sense and the greatest beneficiaries were the PPP constituency.

The sugar industry is a vital economic support to the PPP party. Money contributed to the Party by sugar workers over the years amount to millions upon millions of dollars. By breaking sugar you are also cutting off an economic line to the PPP party.

If that us so I agree cut them off now. Hahaaaa

Recently someone made a post on sugar being a bad habit, bad for health.Scrap the sugar fields plant 'erb and beets..make rum with beet juice instead...an smoke um de 'erb rasta.

ba$eman posted:

The sugar industry is a vital economic support to the PPP party. Money contributed to the Party by sugar workers over the years amount to millions upon millions of dollars. By breaking sugar you are also cutting off an economic line to the PPP party.

Who ever talk of breaking the industry?  So are you saying the PPP policy towards sugar was driven by contribution from cane-cutters hard earned money to their coffers?  Is this what it's all about?

I never said that. Any anti-koolie who has a brain can see that killing the sugar industry is in reality cutting off an economic line to the PPP party. 

What is your solution for the Sugar industry and the thousands of workers?  The writing has been on the wall for a while.  It is better to shape the change than be shaped by it.  It will happen, you have no choice!  History, time and change marches on and wait for no one.

ba$eman posted:

I never said that. Any anti-koolie who has a brain can see that killing the sugar industry is in reality cutting off an economic line to the PPP party. 

What is your solution for the Sugar industry and the thousands of workers?  The writing has been on the wall for a while.  It is better to shape the change than be shaped by it.  It will happen, you have no choice!  History, time and change marches on and wait for no one.

That land could be his Indian settlement with his huge group of three persons so far. His job in that commune would be peelin potatoes and giving updates on GNI

The sugar industry has to convert to other products. I will go with vanilla, acquarium fish ( don't laught), pepper and rice. Also the corporation should diversify into building supplies, real estate development,  tapier car development and cement manufacturing. That is my recommendation. 

In other words, kill the sugar industry?

Vanilla is considered an aphrodesiac..you gonna have a buncha East Indian brethren runnin round tenting...but you did mention fish too...good plan.

Nothing beats a nice fishcake around the tent.

I believe enough sugar should be produced for local consumption and alcohol production. Demerara rum has a long tradition of being one of the best in the world.

Nah, you went way too far deh banna.  But that was what I said the PNC tried in the 70's with Other Crops Division.  The Palm Oil plantation came out of this, they had plans for large scale soy production, mung and orid, corn other grains, strain of Irish white potatoe, etc.

Cement, Tapir, building supplies, etc are plain diversification, not diversification away from Sugar.  Aquarium fish was already big business, no need for Govt involvement.  Remember Harry Rambaran?

It all went pear-shape when Burnham offended the US with his Marxist policies and his overt facilitation (and participation) of the Cuban intervention in Angola and Mozambique.

From my understanding the quality of the cane diminished due to replanting of the same crop over and over... I am not a Agriculturalists so I stand to be corrected.

Because of this system the harvesting produce less sugar every year and as a result Guyana could not compete on the world market. For this reason Government had to subsidize the industry to keep the workers  lively hood - 

The sugar industry at one time is what keeps Guyana Economy going.

Havig said that ... what ever happens to the Tilipia pond and the planting of Yams that was started.

with Guyana vast agriculture land there is only a few produce from Guyana that is exported and the WI stores can be dominated with Jamaica and Dominica products .

The sugar and rice farmers was use a pawn for politicians gain . There was more strike and burning of cane fields under PNC government. When PPP got into government GAWU control and manipulate the workers . 

The PPP is responsible for these workers future .... income this current government that gives the workers the final shaft. 

Honesty , the workers should surround PPP ministers and Guysuco officials home in protest . Not for getting Ramotar and Jagdeo homes. 

Imran,

Well said,

we are aware of the huge subsidy and the under performing Skeldon Factory,Since colonial times Sugar was always costly to produce,preferential pricing kept the industry afloat.

Folks, their was planting of Blackeye . Don't know what happens to this also . There was bamboo in larger quantities growing behind crown dam . China exports Bamboo!!!

the workers were earning lots of money from cane cutting and they didn't give a damn about other produce hence no interest in these  products ... maybe the earning was less .

will find out more about this. 

The current generation don't wanna work... smoking ganja ,drinking  rum and robbery is the going business in Guyana. 

You have to beg Guyanese to come to work... picking them rass from home also . On the job they have lime water/ cool aid mix with rum ... not until they pass by you with the smell of alcohol you know what's going on. They in the bond working... eating out the cheese and biscuits and drinking out the juices. 

At the wake house... the owner selling alcohol to make a small piece. The alcohol substitute for coffee and biscuits.

yesterday was Pagwah celebration with big boom box , alcohol in abundance... today half the work force show up... by Friday they need a raise from their pay . 

Funny that you mentioned Bamboo. A few years ago I met Gerhard and spoke about Bamboo as a viable alternative. I have socks made from bamboo..there's also flooring, mats, name it and bamboo could be utilized. Just listen to the old song "House of bamboo"  Bamboo seems to grow quite quickly too.

Imran by what you mentioned there,  it seems dem people only into the liming.smoking..drinking..music blaring..no wuk mentality.

Funny that you mentioned Bamboo. A few years ago I met Gerhard and spoke about Bamboo as a viable alternative. I have socks made from bamboo..there's also flooring, mats, name it and bamboo could be utilized. Just listen to the old song "House of bamboo"  Bamboo seems to grow quite quickly too.

Imran by what you mentioned there,  it seems dem people only into the liming.smoking..drinking..music blaring..no wuk mentality.

Absolutely Cain. Guyanese have stress free living. Taxi picking up the groceries. And restaurant food .

the house wife call the shop owner for a pack of baby Pampers ... taxi on his way to pick up ... he pays the shop owners... housewife pay taxi his fare and pamper cost .  House wife swing she fat a** in the hammock... husband drinking his quarter .

no wuk mentality... overseas family sending the $ . The sponsorship first papers will come true .... them banna stop work. 

Guysuco has a large foreign debt. If the country appeal to the UN countries for grants to pay off the debt based on inability to pay being created by global warming. Would that be successful?

They will laugh at Guyana for being so stupid. The EU gave Guyana money to allow a transition from sugar. The jackass Jagdeo wasted it on Skeldon when he was advised that expanding sugar was a bad idea.  His sugar worker supporters kiss his well worked over ass.  They deserve every bit of what ever is in store for them.

ba$eman posted:

Nah, you went way too far deh banna.  But that was what I said the PNC tried in the 70's with Other Crops Division.  The Palm Oil plantation came out of this, they had plans for large scale soy production, mung and orid, corn other grains, strain of Irish white potatoe, etc.

Cement, Tapir, building supplies, etc are plain diversification, not diversification away from Sugar.  Aquarium fish was already big business, no need for Govt involvement.  Remember Harry Rambaran?

It all went pear-shape when Burnham offended the US with his Marxist policies and his overt facilitation (and participation) of the Cuban intervention in Angola and Mozambique.

Baseman,

There is no doubt Burnham had a plan,may i add,there were a lot of Educated Indians around him,the country was moving along,no import restriction  [one of my aunt (mother first cousin) from Campbelville had a whole sale goods (food ) business opposite Demico House,worked there for a while] ,the G$$ had power,suddenly he took a wrong turn nationalize the foreign Industries[Cheddi Jagan patted his shoulder for that move],he could have gone into partnerships,as you mentioned adopted Marxist policies for one specific reason,to hold on to power.At that time it was no worry for the US.From then on the Educated Indians deserted him,Foreign $$ became scarce,import was restricted,most small businessmen closed shop headed to N.A,Guyana slowly went down the drain.

The rest is history we are aware what took place.