Hughes to Ramjattan: ‘Take the Jaguar down’

October 8, 2015 4:48 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Cathy Hughes.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Tourism Minister Cathy Hughes has intervened in a case where Vice President Khemraj Ramjattan had the skin of one of Guyana’s national animals adorning his wall.

Ramjattan had sparked controversy on social media after several photos surfaced with the skin of a Jaguar adorning the walls of his office.

Persons were particularly upset given that the Jaguar is a national animal and is also an endangered species.

When questioned at a press conference on Thursday, Hughes stated that she had contacted the Minister on the issue.

“I could show you an email that I sent to Minister Ramjattan saying Minister, you need to take that skin down off the wall,” said Hughes.

She stated that Ramjattan was told of the inappropriateness of the skinned animal on his wall.

“In this day and age, when we are talking about tourism, about conserving, about specie about sustainable preservation, it is totally inappropriate,” said the Tourism Minister.

I am surprised that an educated man like Ramjattan would not know this is taboo in this day and age.

It is also interesting that Cathy Hughes can whoop his ass, Vice President and all.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

I am surprised that an educated man like Ramjattan would not know this is taboo in this day and age.

It is also interesting that Cathy Hughes can whoop his ass, Vice President and all.

Good for Cathy. 

Day before yesterday I also sent Minister Ramjattan a message via Facebook, asking him to remove the skin from his office wall.

You asked him. Cathy told him. Vice President and all.

Day before yesterday I also sent Minister Ramjattan a message via Facebook, asking him to remove the skin from his office wall.

Not a problem. The point is, he got plenty messages of disapproval. He can't plead ignorance.

Nothing to do with pleading or not pleading ignorance.

Maulana, let's leave the parsing and peeling of words for Friday's jamaat. De frigging man know he got to tek down de bloody jaguar skin. It is haram.

Aaarite bai. Different line of question. De man is wan big Vice President. That position requires someone who is intelligent. Harmon said that the pay increases is because the ministers are highly qualified. Vice President Ramjattan higher than regular Minister. Why does he need so many people to either ask him or tell him to take down a dead Jaguar skin from his wall? Why couldn't he make that intelligent decision on his own?

Kaz, like yuh got time on yuh hands tonight. I'm starting a new thread with the word SHEIK. Give me a few minutes and leh we meet deh.

Wuh that about Gilly, a Guyanese condom?

I was referring to an Arab prince.

However, if you're interested in the other SHEIK, here's some with my compliments. Don't go running after patacake boy now.

http://www-tc.pbs.org/wgbh/theymadeamerica/whomade/images/who_schmid_image.jpg

However, if you're interested in the other SHEIK, here's some with my compliments. Don't go running after patacake boy now.

Doesn't someone need have to working plumbing to use that thing..how does it help Cain?

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

Doesn't someone need have to working plumbing to use that thing..how does it help Cain?

Easy. Is for when you going fo lay pipe. You kinda hold it as shown then roll it down the ...pipe.

Without it, some either wind up in the maternity ward, or the morgue.

I'm trying to find the song "Shaky Thing" by Furnace Face, an Ottawa band, the song tells the story.

Easy. Is for when you going fo lay pipe. You kinda hold it as shown then roll it down the ...pipe.

Without it, some either wind up in the maternity ward, or the morgue.

I'm trying to find the song "Shaky Thing" by Furnace Face, an Ottawa band, the song tells the story.

hahah...well here is one for you pal...the one and only David Wilcox

Laying Pipe

What law did Ramjattan break?

Rama, the jaguar skin on Ramjattan's wall is not a legal issue. It is a moral issue. Look at Guyana's Coat-of-Arms. There are two jaguars and they are there for a symbolic reason. Two jaguars, not two donkeys or two goats or two labarias. As a government minister representing the nation-state of Guyana, Mr Ramjattan ought not to send a message wittingly or unwittingly that it is cool to kill our jaguars and decorate our walls with their skins. He should have known better.

Coat of arms of Guyana.svg

Cyats not supposed to be on the wall, supposed to be in bed.

Interestingly Ramjattan couldn't make that intelligent decision. He had to be told by a minister who is junior to him.