House Speaker denies sexual molestation; calls for "thorough and professional" probe ; AFC links accusation to no-confidence motion

Sunday, 21 September 2014 11:17

Written by

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman on Sunday denied sexually molesting a man who has levelled such accusations on Facebook.
"As a true patriot of Guyana, I will not allow the office of Speaker of the National Assembly to be compromised or be denigrated by false accusations for political expediency.  There is absolutely no truth in the allegation, and I am confident that the masterminds and supporters of this dastardly plot will soon be exposed.

I call for a thorough and professional investigation into this scurrilous allegation," said Trotman.
Demerara Waves Online News was told that the accuser has also given a recorded interview to a State-owned media house.
Following is  the House Speaker’s statement.
A malicious and unfounded allegation of sexual molestation has been made against me by an unstable young man who sadly, appears to have a troubled mind.I categorically deny his wicked assertions. 
Unfortunately, he seems to have been conveniently encouraged by manipulative and diabolic political forces. Conveniently, such scandalous assertions are obviously intended to provide a timely distraction from the serious prevailing political situation in Guyana, which imminently requires me as Speaker of the National Assembly to guide the ship of the nation’s parliament  through the strongest test  to Guyana’s constitutional democracy: the debate of a no confidence motion.
As a true patriot of Guyana, I will not allow the office of Speaker of the National Assembly to be compromised or be denigrated by false accusations for political expediency.  There is absolutely no truth in the allegation, and I am confident that the masterminds and supporters of this dastardly plot will soon be exposed.
I call for a thorough and professional investigation into this scurrilous allegation.
"God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble."
          Raphael Trotman Speaker of the House of Parliament

Trotman’s Alliance For Change (AFC) has also issued a separate statement, standing by its co-founder and charging that the allegation of sexual molestation was aimed at derailing that party’s no-confidence motion against the government.

“Further this accusation, the party views, as another desperate and reprehensible attempt to disrupt the tabling of the No Confidence Motion when Parliament resumes in October.”

According to that party, this latest accusation is part the intensification of the heinous campaign of desperation in attempting to besmirch and tarnish the party and its leaders.

“The AFC is now in receipt of information that a completely fabricated accusation of sexual abuse of a minor is being initiated against one of its senior members Raphael Trotman. The party views this as an attempt to create mischief by manufacturing a falsified public impression of the party of its official,” said the party which has tabled a no-confidence motion in the House.

The AFC called on the known supporters and members of the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) to desist from colluding with persons who have been obviously induced to fabricate these claims.

“The AFC condemns, in the strongest possible terms, the reprehensible exploitation of this, such a heinous crime against minors, for political purposes,” added the AFC.

That party suggested that the accusation levelled against Trotman The Guyanese was part of a campaign of attacks and vilifications of its leaders which has been waged openly perpetuated by known political elements and provocateurs acting on behalf of those to whom they are beholden.

The allegation of sexual misconduct against the Speaker came days after the AFC’s Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan said the ruling party was preparing to buy out three opposition parliamentarians for GUY$30 million each. Government and the ruling party have since rejected  Ramjattan’s claim and called on him to name the MPs and produce the evidence.

The party has brought to the public’s attention the plans to induce parliamentarians to not support the motion which has caused such plans to be completely derailed. The AFC’s action in bringing this matter to the public attention has exposed the wicked intentions and caused disgrace and embarrassment to those who have initiated it.

The party says it notes with interest that the Government Chief Whip, Presidential Advisor and former Minister of Home Affairs, Ms. Gail Teixeira has written to Speaker of the National Assembly, Mr. Raphael Trotman urging him to sanction AFC Leader Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan.

The AFC views this action as an integral element of the political maneuverings to attack the credibility and stature of the National Assembly of which the minority PPP government has lost control.

The AFC condemns, in the strongest possible terms, this latest desperate tactic which is aimed ultimately at averting the dreadfully feared No Confidence motion.

Following is  the House Speaker’s statement.

A malicious and unfounded allegation of sexual molestation has been made against me by an unstable young man who sadly, appears to have a troubled mind.I categorically deny his wicked assertions.

Unfortunately, he seems to have been conveniently encouraged by manipulative and diabolic political forces. Conveniently, such scandalous assertions are obviously intended to provide a timely distraction from the serious prevailing political situation in Guyana, which imminently requires me as Speaker of the National Assembly to guide the ship of the nation’s parliament  through the strongest test  to Guyana’s constitutional democracy: the debate of a no confidence motion.

Originally Posted by Django:

Is speaker of the house gay????

seems like the gay boys in the

PPP camp at work.

I might more think that the Corrupt PPP/C was more in favor of 'blackmailing' the Speaker of the House. This did not work, now lets see whats next.

You have be of unsound mind to think that the PPP will indulge themselves to concoct this story. The young man can be easily manipulated to change his story to suit his "handlers".

Skelly,

Looks like the AFC is in deep trouble if this turns out to be true.

We must wait for an investigation into this matter before passing judgement.

Seems like the Corrupt PPP/C plans are backfiring

1) Blackmail Trotty in submission

2) Put Ramjattan on the hot for the $30 mil, buyout

Well for now two are busted, whats next?

Originally Posted by asj:

As yuji says, we must wait for an investigation before passing judgement.

The young man reportedly gave an interview to a state-owned publication. It boggles the mind why he didn't go to Stabroek News or Kaieteur News too.

Let's see how that state-owned media house puts out the story. That alone will indicate whether someone in the PPP manipulated the young man of unsound mind.

While there are gullible suckers out there who will believe the accuser, there is likely to be widespread acceptance of Mr Trotman's innocence.

I'm inclined to interpret this revelation in the context of Rohee's recent "skeletons" threat. That threat alone showed the lengths to which Rohee's PPP will go to slander AFC leaders.

Hey yigi, contact dem PPP goofballs tell dem you want to find out more about that oh so wicked wench who tried the con about someone in the AFC throwin acid in her face.

Any act as terrible as throwing acid on a person's face should not be dropped just because elections done. Go yug tell dem bring her back agin see if she could cry louder, maybe she'll be believed.

The young man reportedly gave an interview to a state-owned publication. It boggles the mind why he didn't go to Stabroek News or Kaieteur News too.

Let's see how that state-owned media house puts out the story. That alone will indicate whether someone in the PPP manipulated the young man of unsound mind.

While there are gullible suckers out there who will believe the accuser, there is likely to be widespread acceptance of Mr Trotman's innocence.

I'm inclined to interpret this revelation in the context of Rohee's recent "skeletons" threat. That threat alone showed the lengths to which Rohee's PPP will go to slander AFC leaders.

Gil

Let us be fair here.

We must wait for the results of an impartial investigation before passing judgement. Likewise, you need not accuse the PPP for this. 

An impartial investigation as requested by Trotman will reveal the facts of this case.

Gil

Let us be fair here.

We must wait for the results of an impartial investigation before passing judgement. Likewise, you need not accuse the PPP for this. 

An impartial investigation as requested by Trotman will reveal the facts of this case.

Fair.

“The AFC is now in receipt of information that a completely fabricated accusation of sexual abuse of a minor is being initiated against one of its senior members Raphael Trotman.

The AFC condemns, in the strongest possible terms, this latest desperate tactic which is aimed ultimately at averting the dreadfully feared No Confidence motion

Speaker, AFC reject allegations of sexual assault of minor –Trotman calls for investigation

Raphael Trotman

Speaker, AFC reject allegations of sexual assault of minor  –Trotman calls for investigation

SPEAKER of the National Assembly, Mr. Raphael Trotman yesterday was empathic in his denial of claims that he sexually assaulted a young man, made on the popular social media site, FaceBook.

“A malicious and unfounded allegation of sexual molestation has been made against me by an unstable young man, who, sadly, appears to have a troubled mind. I categorically deny his wicked assertions,” the Speaker said in a statement. Trotman has since called for a “thorough and professional” investigation into the “scurrilous” allegation. According to him, the young man seems to have been “conveniently encouraged by manipulative and diabolic political” forces. “Conveniently, such scandalous assertions are obviously intended to provide a timely distraction from the serious prevailing political situation in Guyana, which imminently requires me as Speaker of the National Assembly to guide the ship of the nation’s Parliament through the strongest test to Guyana’s constitutional democracy: the debate of a no- confidence motion,” he said. The Speaker reiterated that there is “absolutely no truth” in the allegation, and expressed confidence that the masterminds and supporters of what he termed a “dastardly plot” will soon be exposed. “As a true patriot of Guyana, I will not allow the office of Speaker of the National Assembly to be compromised or be denigrated by false accusations for political expediency…God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble,” Trotman said. ATTEMPT TO TARNISH LEADERS

Trotman’s party, the Alliance for Change, of which he is an Executive Member, has also rejected the allegations, charging like him that the untruths stem from politically motivated attempts to tarnish the party and its leaders. In a statement, yesterday, Party General Secretary, Mr. David Patterson, said, “The Guyanese public is well aware of the campaign of attacks and vilifications of its leaders which has been waged openly, perpetuated by known political elements and provocateurs acting on behalf of those to whom they are beholden.” He added: “…the AFC is in receipt of information that a completely fabricated accusation of sexual abuse of a minor is being initiated against one of its senior members, Raphael Trotman. The party views this as an attempt to create mischief by manufacturing a falsified public impression of the party of its official.” Patterson said the Party condemns, in the strongest possible terms, the “reprehensible exploitation” of a heinous crime against minors for political purposes. It has since laid blame at the door of the ruling party, claiming collusion with the persons who were “induced” to spout fabricated claims. Patterson noted that the AFC views the false allegations as an “integral element of the political maneuverings” to attack the credibility and stature of the National Assembly, where the ruling party holds a minority. “This accusation, the party views as another desperate and reprehensible attempt to disrupt the tabling of the No-Confidence Motion when Parliament resumes in October,” the party’s General-Secretary said. The first page of the no-confidence motion, which has been forwarded to the National Assembly by the AFC, reads: “Be it resolved that this National Assembly has no confidence in the Government.” As stated in Section 106 (6) of the Constitution: “The Cabinet and President shall resign, if the Government is defeated by the vote of the majority of all Members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.” This is made even clearer in Section 106 (7), which states: “Notwithstanding its defeat, the Government shall remain in office, and shall hold an election within three months, or such longer period as the National Assembly shall, by resolution, supported by no less than two-thirds of all elected members of the National Assembly, and shall resign after a new President takes the oath of office following the election.”

(By Vanessa Narine)

http://guyanachronicle.com/spe...s-for-investigation/

According to him, the young man seems to have been“conveniently encouraged by manipulative and diabolic political” forces

I do not see the APNU or the AFC involved in this diabolic political manupilations so that leaves.................?

When is the court going to investigate the murder of Sawh? One person with information is Jagdeo, who has not been questioned by the police as yet. Justice for Sawh, before any other investigation of anyone else in parliament.

“Malicious” allegations against AFC’s Trotman a reflection of a scared Gov’t. – Opposition

September 22, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The debate over the impending Opposition no-confidence motion has sparked an intense mudslinging campaign by a “scared” government.
This is the view of several opposition members who believe that recent allegations being made against Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman, are part of the intensifying smear campaign by government.
They noted that the apparent “smear-campaign” comes in the wake of several threats by the People’s Progressive party’s (PPP) General Secretary, Clement Rohee  to “expose the skeletons” of a senior member of the Alliance For Change. Responding in a statement to the “malicious and unfounded allegation,” Trotman yesterday insisted that there is absolutely no truth to the statements made against him by “an unstable young man.”

Joseph Harmon, APNU Shadow Minister of the Public Works

As he categorically denied the “wicked assertions,” the House Speaker believes that the young man who made the claims “seems to have been conveniently encouraged by manipulative and diabolic political forces.”
He said that conveniently, such scandalous assertions are obviously intended to provide a timely distraction from the serious prevailing political situation in Guyana, which imminently requires him to guide the ship of the nation’s parliament through the strongest test to Guyana’s constitutional democracy: the debate of a no confidence motion.
“As a true patriot of Guyana, I will not allow the Office of Speaker of the National Assembly to be compromised or be denigrated by false accusations for political expediency.  There is absolutely no truth in the allegation, and I am confident that the masterminds and supporters of this dastardly plot will soon be exposed. I call for a thorough and professional investigation into this scurrilous allegation,” Trotman stated.
In a separate statement, the AFC said that it believes that it has unearthed a plot by the government to tarnish the reputation and character of its leaders.
The AFC said that it views the recent allegations as an attempt to create mischief by manufacturing a falsified public impression of the party and of its official. It sought to condemn this “scare tactic,” and called on its supporters to remain steadfast and not to be easily persuaded by the manipulative and heinous plans of the government.
The political party also called on the members of the PPP/C to “desist from colluding with persons who have been obviously induced to fabricate these claims.”
It also asserted that the allegations should be seen as just another desperate attempt to disrupt the tabling of the No Confidence Motion when Parliament resumes in October.
AFC Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan had also disclosed what he deemed to be reliable information that the government planned to buy-off three opposition parliamentarians at $30M each to vote against the no-confidence motion. The government has vehemently denied this allegation.
The AFC further stated that the claims against the House Speaker are also an action to attack the credibility and stature of the National Assembly, of which the minority PPP government has lost control.

House Speaker, Raphael Trotman

The A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) Shadow Minister of Public Works, Joseph Harmon also sought to debunk the claims made against the Speaker, whom he described as impartial and just in his decisions.
The APNU politician said that he believes the nation’s political climate is currently in a season where the government is out to “discredit, dismantle and destroy the opposition and anyone who stands up for transparency and accountability.”
“The back of this government is against the wall. And as such, being a member of the opposition, I would expect anything from this government. We should always expect the worst from them. This allegation that is now before the Speaker is simply a reflection of how scared this government is. And they are going to utilize all their puppets and pay some a few dollars to spew lies and use the police force and other agencies to destroy those who have this country’s interest at heart. “
“This action also falls in line with the government’s attack on the media, particularly Kaieteur News and Stabroek News. Both entities have been calling for local government elections and fight daily to expose corruption and look what is happening to them. Kaieteur News has to suffer the attacks by the Guyana Revenue Authority and Stabroek is seen as unfair and unconstitutional for calling for local government elections daily.
“This is nothing but an orchestrated attempt to silence us and distract the public from the no-confidence motion. But I want to urge the citizens to not be fooled. Don’t fall for it. I want to urge the citizens to stand up against the breaches of the Constitution by this government and for its failure to hold local government elections.”
The lawyer then reminded of a basic principle in law, “a man is innocent until proven guilty,” and therefore made another call for citizens to not for one moment condemn their Speaker because of this “hasty, malicious and sickening allegation.”
Harmon also stated that he wants the public to pay keen attention to what happens to those who seek to fight against the “corrupt beast and stand for democracy and transparency and accountability.”
Trotman, during several interviews with this publication, has been candid about the failings of the parliament and how both government and opposition need to work together to repair the image of the Parliament and inspire a stronger sense of confidence in the National Assembly.
He had spoken about his disappointment in the fact that the government is not adhering to several rulings of the Assembly and is quick to run to the courts when it is displeased with a ruling of the Parliament.
Trotman had recently made it clear that should the government decide to approach the court for a judicial review that review will not be allowed to interfere during or before the parliamentary proceedings take place.
Trotman had said that it is the right of the government to bring a confidence motion and they can also ask for a judicial review.
“The confidence motion is only the reverse of the no confidence motion and from my experience, when opposition parties call for that, it is usually followed by that response from the government. Based on what I know and according to the Constitution, that would take precedence because the government’s business comes first. Either way, the House will find itself discussing the confidence entrusted in the government and either way, the matter will be settled.”
“The government can go to the court for a review but I cannot allow the court to interfere with our work for we are in unprecedented waters. A judicial review can be made after we have made our decision because they have that right but not during the time we have to make a decision or before we make our decision.”
The House Speaker had made the point on several occasions that the court should be the guardian and interpreter of the constitution.
“But I think it is being used to take a side in an argument and that is my dilemma. We really need to have a properly constituted constitutional court where both government and the opposition or even me as a Speaker can ask for a view on a matter and it shouldn’t be in the form of a challenge; Govt. vs Trotman etc. The National Assembly needs the advice and opinion of the court and it should do that and refrain from giving instructions to the Parliament,” Trotman had asserted.

Is Ramjhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatan also on the fence???

The name Nehru has an "e" vowel and a "u" vowel but no "a" vowel.

The name Ramjattan has three "a" vowels.

Is Nehru jealous of Ramjattan and shows it by mocking the man's "a" vowels?

Ramjattan won't mind parting with one "a".

In fact, yuji has already taken out the first "a" from the man's name and calls him Rumjattan.

yuji also lacks an "a." Let's see where he will put the "a" he took away from Ramjattan.

Some possibilities: ayuji, yauji, yuaji, yujai, yujia.

There is one thing that undermines this entire story. If uncle Raphael was a bugga man don't you think he and Jagdeo woulda been BFFs?

Don't you think this man and kwame and the whole PPP bee man gang woulda been pals?

AFC links accusation to no-confidence motion

Ramjattan need to clean up his first "dutty water" before making another accusation. Don't you think so?

He already clean up his dutty water by quitting the PPP. If I were you I would't talk about dutty, kwame might wake up and you know what then?

Ramjattan and Trotman are making headlines, not me. I hope they both will be free from guilt in the end.

Sure they are making headlines mostly positive, except for the ones being circulated by the lying PPP govt.

Sounds like some banna just wake up one day and say, " whoops, I just remember a man bugger me"

“The back of this government is against the wall. And as such, being a member of the opposition, I would expect anything from this government. We should always expect the worst from them. This allegation that now before the Speaker is simply a reflection of how scared this government is.

In one of the most shocking scandals here in recent times, Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman was on Friday accused of sexually molesting a little boy when he was 13 years old. The now 22-year-old said he decided to speak out, after trying valiantly for a settlement to no avail.

Source Guyana Times

Nine Years ago and now he is bringing this up now? Raphael will not be blackmailed.

I do not think that this will stand up in any court, as there is a statute of limitation, given that the accuser was 13 years old and still a minor, but it must be taken into consideration at after he had reached the age of adulthood at 18, yet this accusations were not taken up. If he had wanted to taken this up then at adulthood of 18 years he should have, I am not so familiar with the legal jargon, but I do think that it is a losing battle that will not stand up in any count........unless ofcourse it is a corrupt court.

Ofcourse there is no statute of limitations on murders, but then again this case is clear cut, not a murder.

On the other hand if we are going to say that there is 'no limitations' in Rape, then there are many and I mean hundreds who were raped in the Guyana National Service and they can now bring a case towards the Govt of Guyana, maybe ask for reparations.

Those that were raped in the National Service were mostly women, and they were given their certificate of execellence, they were allowed to go to UG and qualified and after time has elapse, all were well and forgotten.

The PPP are getting desperate paying gay young men to accuse opposition members. I won't be surprised if the accuser was once a lover of Kwame or Barrat.

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...f-sexual-molestation

Speaker gets injunction against accuser of sexual molestation

The High Court on Monday ordered a 22-year old man to cease publishing allegations against House Speaker, Raphael Trotman and further ordered him to remove all such allegations from his Facebook Page, the Alliance For Change (AFC) said in a statement.

An injunction has been granted barring Johnny Anthony Welshman from publishing whether in the print or electronic media any material relating to allegations he has made against Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman. The injunction was granted today (September 22, 2014) in the High Court, said that party.

"Welshman has also been ordered to remove all malicious content from his fb page," added that party.

In his Ex Parte Affidavit in support of the application for the injunction, Trotman has also sought damages in excess of GUY$50 million for libel contained in a statements allegedly made by Welshman and published in the Stabroek News, Guyana Times and on Welshman's Facebook page.

Meanwhile, the Alliance For Change says it expresses unequivocal support for it Co-Founder and Speaker of the National Assembly against the recent spurious and unfounded allegations leveled against him.

Trotman has denied the accusations of sexual molestation. The Speaker further said he welcomed a thorough police investigation into the accusations and further desired that law enforcement agency to probe whether the allegations were calculated to besmirch the Constitutional Office of Speaker of the National Assembly.

Trotman and his AFC believed that the plot was politically motivated at a time when his party's no-confidence motion was expected to come up for debate any time after the parliamentary recess ends on October 10, 2014. 

If approved, the administration of President Donald Ramotar would have to resign and call elections within 90 days.

The House Speaker on Monday confirmed that he barely knew his accuser through his family and it was on that basis that he last month gave him a broad character reference.

It will be interesting to see what will be Welshman next move, I do hope that he will come up again near to Election Time, I want to believe that he will come out with some other shocking news.

The Corrupt PPP/C are running scared.