Given that he served both as Prime Minister and President of Guyana I wonder which pension he is entitled to. Will it be of that for a President or will it be of that for a Prime Minister?

All that will be Revised by the New Govt

Sam is entitled to his NIS...

Burnham created the NIS for this Purpose....

Ask Terry....

Like the Cane Cutters who are getting problems

collecting their Benefits from NIS....

this will have to be Fixed

Given that he served both as Prime Minister and President of Guyana I wonder which pension he is entitled to. Will it be of that for a President or will it be of that for a Prime Minister?

Chief.  This is a most distracting post.  The man is on his way out, why are you hunting him down.

FOCUS on Raumtar the LAMUTAR.

A quick perusal of the relevant Acts seems to indicate he is indeed entitled to the Presidential pension and the facilities afforded to all Former Presidents.

He did accede to the Presidency in the substantive sense in 1997 though he wasn't elected.

The two Acts in question place no minimum requirement of presidential service or even prime ministerial service for entitlement to the full pension. These are terribly written laws.

Chief.  This is a most distracting post.  The man is on his way out, why are you hunting him down.

Hold yuh Horses.....This is not Distracting...

A Top PPP Diplomat (The Most Senior)

Recently chuck in de Job....

and He getting the Run Around

to get any Pension or Benefits...

From Ramotar & Jagdeo

A quick perusal of the relevant Acts seems to indicate he is indeed entitled to the Presidential pension and the facilities afforded to all Former Presidents.

He did accede to the Presidency in the substantive sense in 1997 though he wasn't elected.

The two Acts in question place no minimum requirement of presidential service or even prime ministerial service for entitlement to the full pension. These are terribly written laws.

Hope the tax payers in Guyana take note.

From Ramotar & Jagdeo

The Office of Ambassador is clearly provided for in the Pensions (President, Parliamentary, and Special Offices) Act.

He could just sue the Government as he is entitled by statute to a pension.

Hope the tax payers in Guyana take note.

I would even go so far as to say that 1 single day of service as substantive (elected or acceded) President entitles you to the full pension. And I'm assuming that Acting President is excluded by only common sense and custom because the Acts don't even include language to expressly bar them.

Same for Prime Minister.

This is just deliberately badly drafted. No one could ever draft such terrible Acts in error.

After May 11th the tax payers has a lot of pension to finance.

Also lets not forget " From Pension to Mansion"

Chief if you were the New President (I mean of the Alliance) what will you do with all those New Pensioners

The answer is nothing just like the Alliance will do. Pension rights cannot be stripped ex post facto as per the Constitution.

Jalil,

As Shaitaan pointed out pensions cannot be stripped willy nilly.

I think this has to pass through Parliament.

One can diminish or even do away altogether with pensions and facilities for future former Presidents by an Act of Parliament.

However, it is not possible for any Bill to have retroactive effect on Jagdeo, Hinds, and Ramotar. They're pretty solid for all time to come.

The only theoretical way to strip Jagdeo, Hinds, and/or Ramotar is by amendment to the Constitution in the hardest way possible. Such a bill cannot even be passed unanimously by Parliament alone but also requires a successful vote at referendum because it alters a fundamental right. So for all intents and purposes, there is no practical legal avenue to undo what's been done by any future Government of Guyana.

Jalil,

One can diminish or even do away altogether with pensions and facilities for future former Presidents by an Act of Parliament.

However, it is not possible for any Bill to have retroactive effect on Jagdeo, Hinds, and Ramotar. They're pretty solid for all time to come.

The only theoretical way to strip Jagdeo, Hinds, and/or Ramotar is by amendment to the Constitution in the hardest way possible. Such a bill cannot even be passed unanimously by Parliament alone but also requires a successful vote at referendum because it alters a fundamental right. So for all intents and purposes, there is no practical legal avenue to undo what's been done by any future Government of Guyana.

How about if they get convicted for misappropriation of funds and thrown in jail...

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Jalil,

How about if they get convicted for misappropriation of funds and thrown in jail...

I would love to give you even the hint of a satisfactory answer my friend but alas the Constitution and two Acts are clear. There is no such possibility.

Even if that were possible, there is still the issue of the President's lifetime legal immunity for any and all acts done during his tenure as President. The courts are even barred from even entertaining such a case.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

If Jagdeo become un-retired and serve as Prime Minister then retires again. Does he get the Presidential scale or the Prime Minister one. Or both?  

Technically he was already substantive Prime Minister for like 2 days which of course according to Guyanese law makes him eligible to the Prime Minister's pension. But of course you are only entitled to 1 pension.

The law assumes that one draws the pension of the highest rank of the pensionable state offices.

However, you are not entitled to both pension and the salary of the same office at the same time. One can serve again in the same office and receive the "excess" differential if your pension rights entitle to some higher "excess" amount.

The law has some hint of sense in one single respect. It technically bars double dipping. Ironically American law in NY specifically allows double dipping.

If Jagdeo become un-retired and serve as Prime Minister then retires again. Does he get the Presidential scale or the Prime Minister one. Or both?  

Technically he was already substantive Prime Minister for like 2 days which of course according to Guyanese law makes him eligible to the Prime Minister's pension. But of course you are only entitled to 1 pension.

The law assumes that one draws the pension of the highest rank of the pensionable state offices.

However, you are not entitled to both pension and the salary of the same office at the same time. One can serve again in the same office and receive the "excess" differential if your pension rights entitle to some higher "excess" amount.

The law has some hint of sense in one single respect. It technically bars double dipping. Ironically American law in NY specifically allows double dipping.

So the only reason he would want to re-enter the fray is for the purpose of tiefin?

Yep. Seems to be a pretty good reason to me.

On a somewhat serious note, Jagdeo is already tiefin as much as he can since everyone from Ramotar on down obeys him without question. The only thing he truly misses that one can only get with office is the formal state protocol given as courtesy to Heads of Government and Heads of State when out of Guyana by other countries. Third world tin pot dictators love that shyte man. Nothing feeds the third world ego than being given the same honors as the President of the United States and being his titular equal.

My guess is that jagdeo would prefer to move on the QT. There must be a lot of prosecutors wanting to speak to him.

I don't know this for a fact but I'm willing to bet the farm that Jagdeo travels with a diplomatic passport everywhere he goes. Practically every twerp in the PPP above Regional Councillor probably has a diplomatic passport even though they shouldn't be entitled to one.

Why you all waste so much time on these things.  Shaitaan you are an idle big man.

The legislation instituting the current pension for former Presidents of Guyana is the epitome of the kleptocracy of the PPP.

It was approved by a simple majority that the PPP (whose majority declined every election since 1997) had. This Administration has not seen fit to revisit this.

It is good that the AFC-APNU coalition has made this one area to bring justice to. It should be a major theme of their campaigning.

Why you all waste so much time on these things.  Shaitaan you are an idle big man.

What pray tell is the idleness of this subject?

Or is it that I actually have substantive things to add to a discussion beyond silly meme attempts and AFC propaganda best suited to the canecutters on the estates?

What policy have you added to the debate but just pulling down a good man.  Sam deserves ever single cent he get.  He was a LOYAL soldier.

Moron,

I addressed a factual and legal question posed by Chief. I answered him to the best of my ability. The best of my ability goes beyond pictures of Kwame McCoy et al and references to buggery all the goddamn time.

You don't like it, then fuh caff pal.

And FYI, the state of the law in Guyana is such that a man who serves a single day as President is entitled to the full pension and facilities available. Is that not important? Did you know that? Because I didn't until I actually read the relevant acts when Chief posed the question.

Moron,

I addressed a factual and legal question posed by Chief. I answered him to the best of my ability. The best of my ability goes beyond pictures of Kwame McCoy et al and references to buggery all the goddamn time.

And FYI, the state of the law in Guyana is such that a man who serves a single day as President is entitled to the full pension and facilities available. Is that not important? Did you know that? Because I didn't until I actually read the relevant acts when Chief posed the question.

So let Sam have his pension.  The man is 71, you have no respect for your elder or did you drop from a coconut tree?  Eh Shyte-aan?

Moron,

So let Sam have his pension.  The man is 71, you have no respect for your elder or did you drop from a coconut tree?  Eh Shyte-aan?

I really can't argue with such "logic." Truly, you're out of my league.

From Ramotar & Jagdeo

Don't forget that former Attorney General Doodnauth Singh had to fight the PPP regime for his pension too. The same Doonauth who performed free legal services for the PPP during its opposition years.

From Ramotar & Jagdeo

Don't forget that former Attorney General Doodnauth Singh had to fight the PPP regime for his pension too. The same Doonauth who performed free legal services for the PPP during its opposition years.

Yes Jagdeo refused to pay Doodnauth his pension. Indecent, petty and disgraceful act from a President.

Sam deserves the higher of the 2 pensions.

It was sad that Doodnauth, a former Minister had to sue to get his payments.

So can you imagine the hell the ordinary, working poor have to go through to get their NIS benefits?

Dale Bisnauth told me a story that he was trying to help someone get a birth certificate. When he went to GPO he did not pull ranks; he did not tell them who he was. They gave him the run around. Dale said his brother challenged him that he will pay bribe and get a birth certificate quicker.  His brother did and got it to prove his point. Dale said he had to go a few times before he eventually got it.

So that is Guyana for you under our dear PPP.  Nothing has changed since the Burnhamite days. So think what happens to a man from Black Bush or Skeldon trying to get documents in Georgetown because our dear PPP did not regionalize services as Dr. Jagan promised (and criticized the PNC when he was in Opposition).