Hindus open grand Indian- style temple in Berbice

April 22, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The Hindu Society of Berbice opened the multi-million-dollar Shri Krishna Mandir with a grand ceremony on Sunday at Gay Park, Greater New Amsterdam.

The temple

The temple

The edifice, which models the rare designs of Hindu places of worship in Southern India, is a rarity among architectural designs in these parts of the world. President Donald Ramotar and First Lady Deolatchmee Ramotar were present as were thousands of Hindus from across Guyana.

Giving an overview of the project, Hindu activist Mrs. Chandrowtie Maraj told the gathering that annual plant and food sales as well as Ice cream concerts and cake sales were carried out to raise funds.

She noted that a former structure was erected in the area in the 1990’s.
The old mandir was located adjacent to the present structure, she added, but became  termite – infested over time, and as such, the idea of building a new structure came to mind by Pandit Rajin Balgobind, “so that was one of the main reasons” which inspired him to give the first donation of $25,000 in 1994.”

The unoccupied land beside the old Shri Krishna Mandir was acquired for building the structure.
The new Shri Krishna Mandir is complemented by a Maha Kali and Bhagwan Shiva Mandir sitting on both sides in the compound. Its intricately interior and exterior designs go hand-in-hand with its exquisite ceilings and elaborate towering domes.

The Kali Temple, Priest-in-Charge, Rajin Balgobind said, is a replica of a Bengali, the Shiva Temple is a replica of a Pradesh temple in India while the domes are identical to Northern India temple dome designs.
Guru Dr. Prema Panduraji, a Television personality said, “When one enters a mandir, all bad and evil thoughts are gone. You are closer to God, that’s why when you come to a temple; you greet everybody with a smile.”

A section of the gathering

She said that nothing in Hinduism is secular. “Our art is spiritual; Mathematics, dance, music, literature—everything is spiritual…That is why when you come to the temple, you are intuitively, naturally, spontaneously spiritual—that is what happens.”

She encouraged Hindus to take their children often to the temple. Swami Aksharanandji also addressed the opening.
President Ramotar congratulated the Hindu Society for erecting the new structure. He said that he had to come “because of my deep appreciation of this religion and for its contributions made to the country in many, many ways.”

“This ancient religion that was being kept alive, and that has spread from Hindu to different parts of the world has helped in many, many ways to enrich our lives, not only with its philosophical outlook, which is indeed very deep and profound, but also the fact that it is not a passivist religion.
“It is a religion that also calls to combine action with philosophy and that, I suppose, is what drove you to working towards to construct this temple, to give the possibility to more and more people to come and have an appreciation and love for this religion and rich tradition that we have inherited from our fore parents who came here to toil and help develop our country.”

The Guyanese leader alluded to the many social ills plaguing the Guyanese society especially suicide and domestic violence. He linked such religious ideas and structures to “help us to struggle against this [domestic violence] because it will help us to know and have a deeper appreciation for our womenfolk.”

President Ramotar at the event

Pandit Donald R. Ramotar speaking at the event:

“I must congratulate you and the architects and the builders who have really done a remarkable job.” President Ramotar urged that the mandir be used in a way to develop the spirituality and skills of our young people “to encourage them to come and have a deeper understanding and work of one of the great religions of the world.”
(Leon Suseran)

How long before someone comes along and say that the Mandir was build with thiefing money?

it didn't take too long . . . u posted the above about 1:00 pm EST

How long before someone comes along and say that the Mandir was build with thiefing money?

not too long it seems . . . u posted the above about 1:00 pm EST

like he know something

This is good for the Hindu Community.

As long as they keep politices`

out this Community everything should go good.

When... Donald, Bharat or Prya insist that

Black PPP Hindus like Kwame & Lamumba

must now be a part of this organization ....

and sit on the board of directors....

that's where the problem will begin.

Congratulations  to the Berbicians

who are becoming less dependent

on the PPP for Hand outs....

They have shown with their Votes and

now they are showing with their Religon...

they are not part of the $200 Million US scandal at Skeldon,

They are not part of the $69 million dollar Toilet,

They are not part of the Ripoff on the Berbice Bridge,

They are far from Marriot, Specialty Hospital, Airport Expansion and De Hydro Seed Project, De Big Pension Plan

and De Deal makers.... Fips, Boyo, Mannie, Ramroop, Robert, Raj Singh, Coolie Brian, Chiney Brian, Black Brian, Potagee Jerry, Kit or Norman ....Ashnee, Irfan & Anil.

Leff all dem thiefman in Robb Street... where den Delong.....

Berbice is doing fine without help from those crooks,

They are Building more places of Worship....

they have more faith in God Today ...than ever before and ...

even far-less in de Cup...

New Mandirs, Mosques and Churches are being erected....

Dutty Rum-Shops and evil Houses are being closed....

Their vote cannot be bought with a flattie anymore....

God bless the PPP. Only the PPP was invited to attend.

Racist AFC/PNC were left out.

Kudos to Indo Guyanese for keeping their culture alive, unlike others who gave up their culture.

God bless the PPP. Only the PPP was invited to attend.

If you look at the blue sign in the photo you'll know why the PPP were the only ones invited. After all, they have the monopoly 

Fact:

The racist AFC/PNC were not invited by Hindus.

Yugi what about if someone say

" racist Hindus did not invite the PNC and AFC."?

Proof ?

Fact:

Fact:

Proof ?

You are the one that stated that the major opposition parties were not invited. What was the reason, is it because of the composition of those parties?

Fact:

Proof ?

You are the one that stated that the major opposition parties were not invited. What was the reason, is it because of the composition of those parties?

It is your claim about composition not mine.

Fact:

Proof ?

You did not answer the question. Why the opposition parties were  not invited by the Hindus to the opening of their Mandir?

Fact:

Proof ?

You did not answer the question. Why the opposition parties were  not invited by the Hindus to the opening of their Mandir?

Yugi, you need to answer the question. Remember it was the PNC that gave Hindus, Phagwah and Diwali to celebrate as public holidays.

Fact:

Proof ?

The man was celebrating that the opposition was left out, now you stump him...innately he is racist, just tries to pretend otherwise

panditji . . .

smh

He looks in visage and character like a proper Jabba the Hutt to me!

Fact:

Proof ?

Bro, you are soooo dumb!!!

Like PPP already confuse and corrupt this temple like so much more? This pandit have sweet women like the famous dead PPP pandit? 

Well for me I would prefer a sweet woman rather than a sour woman

ball
Originally Posted by raymond:

Fact:

Proof ?

The man was celebrating that the opposition was left out, now you stump him...innately he is racist, just tries to pretend otherwise

Where is Yugi?

Originally Posted by raymond:

Fact:

Proof ?

Where is Yugi?

He was last seen at the Raptors game holding the Guyana flag.

Hindus open grand Indian- style temple in Berbice

April 22, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The Hindu Society of Berbice opened the multi-million-dollar Shri Krishna Mandir with a grand ceremony on Sunday at Gay Park, Greater New Amsterdam.

The temple

The temple

The edifice, which models the rare designs of Hindu places of worship in Southern India, is a rarity among architectural designs in these parts of the world. President Donald Ramotar and First Lady Deolatchmee Ramotar were present as were thousands of Hindus from across Guyana.

Giving an overview of the project, Hindu activist Mrs. Chandrowtie Maraj told the gathering that annual plant and food sales as well as Ice cream concerts and cake sales were carried out to raise funds.

She noted that a former structure was erected in the area in the 1990’s.
The old mandir was located adjacent to the present structure, she added, but became  termite – infested over time, and as such, the idea of building a new structure came to mind by Pandit Rajin Balgobind, “so that was one of the main reasons” which inspired him to give the first donation of $25,000 in 1994.”

The unoccupied land beside the old Shri Krishna Mandir was acquired for building the structure.
The new Shri Krishna Mandir is complemented by a Maha Kali and Bhagwan Shiva Mandir sitting on both sides in the compound. Its intricately interior and exterior designs go hand-in-hand with its exquisite ceilings and elaborate towering domes.

The Kali Temple, Priest-in-Charge, Rajin Balgobind said, is a replica of a Bengali, the Shiva Temple is a replica of a Pradesh temple in India while the domes are identical to Northern India temple dome designs.
Guru Dr. Prema Panduraji, a Television personality said, “When one enters a mandir, all bad and evil thoughts are gone. You are closer to God, that’s why when you come to a temple; you greet everybody with a smile.”

She said that nothing in Hinduism is secular. “Our art is spiritual; Mathematics, dance, music, literature—everything is spiritual…That is why when you come to the temple, you are intuitively, naturally, spontaneously spiritual—that is what happens.”

She encouraged Hindus to take their children often to the temple. Swami Aksharanandji also addressed the opening.
President Ramotar congratulated the Hindu Society for erecting the new structure. He said that he had to come “because of my deep appreciation of this religion and for its contributions made to the country in many, many ways.”

“This ancient religion that was being kept alive, and that has spread from Hindu to different parts of the world has helped in many, many ways to enrich our lives, not only with its philosophical outlook, which is indeed very deep and profound, but also the fact that it is not a passivist religion.
“It is a religion that also calls to combine action with philosophy and that, I suppose, is what drove you to working towards to construct this temple, to give the possibility to more and more people to come and have an appreciation and love for this religion and rich tradition that we have inherited from our fore parents who came here to toil and help develop our country.”

The Guyanese leader alluded to the many social ills plaguing the Guyanese society especially suicide and domestic violence. He linked such religious ideas and structures to “help us to struggle against this [domestic violence] because it will help us to know and have a deeper appreciation for our womenfolk.”

“I must congratulate you and the architects and the builders who have really done a remarkable job.” President Ramotar urged that the mandir be used in a way to develop the spirituality and skills of our young people “to encourage them to come and have a deeper understanding and work of one of the great religions of the world.”
(Leon Suseran)

Congrats to the Berbice Hindus and well done Mr President for being there.  Where is Mr. Ramjattan?

banna, u post this invidious shyte in service to the PPP when u obviously 'know better'

look, doan make me waste time opening up another can of whupass on yuh counterfeit rass this marnin, arite?

banna, u post this invidious shyte in service to the PPP when u obviously 'know better'

look, doan make me waste time opening up another can of whupass on yuh counterfeit rass this marnin, arite?

Bai dem people and KB cyant accept Burnham gee abie Hindoo pagwah and diwali foh holiday.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Bai dem people and KB cyant accept Burnham gee abie Hindoo pagwah and diwali foh holiday.

He also gave us a constitution that his own party is now crying foul.

And Freedom House Hindus hold on to that same constitution as though it's the Bhagvat Gita.

We thank de man for dat.