Originally posted by Daren David:
Lots of Guyanese mentioned in this story:

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04...ngers-dismay.html?bl

As a born Hindu, I've never been a slave to rituals. Pandits and other Brahmins who make a living off Hindu believers would encourage rituals such as the ones polluting Jamaica Bay. Hindus in the USA and Canada, like all citizens and permanent residents, have a duty to comply with the applicable laws and by-laws when they perform certain open-air rites. Their "blessings" will not diminish by making appropriate ajustments to the worshipping process.
Today is "Earth Day" and I encourage all GNIers to do their bit to protect our shared ground on this unique but fragile planet.
B
This "water side" pujas been going for a while now in Queens and has always been an issue. Can't say I blame the Park Rangers for wanting to clamp down on it. The devotees leave a ton of mess. Really.

I was once invited to a puja at Howard Beach and as soon as they let the parsad go on the water.....swooop! a seagull gone with it Big Grin I was like okay then. But the other stuff are left to float about.
Originally posted by Rosita:
There is one lady in NY who practice Durga Poojas at a home temple and she pack all the pooja items in a barrel and ship it back home to throw in the sea there dunno

Leh meh see if men undastan dis...

Dis old lady tryin to avoid water pollution in the US, but she gat no worries about polluting the waters in Guyana???

What happen to the concept of "think globally, act locally"?
Mira water is polluted everywhere and has nothing to do with hindus contaminating the water.

Most of the stuff that hindus throw in the water is food stuff, grains and prasad which get dissolved in the water. In India the Ganges is considered the most contaminated water in the world yet people go there to bathe as part of their ritual but there hasn't been any outbreak of disease because they bathe in the Ganges.
Hey Chami I wasn't refering to you. We all should pray as we see fit and I am saying this out of observation from a lot of so-called hindus who twist and turn the traditional ways to suit their needs. I am also referring to family members that behave in that way, for me I find it wrong. "in my opinion" Wink

I agree I myself wouldn't give $2,000 to any priest to enrich his pocket but I am lucky that no pandit that has done any work for me has charged me a fee, they always tell me what I can afford it fine. I also don't bow to people who are hypocrites. I will only bow to my parents. Smile
Mira water is polluted everywhere and has nothing to do with hindus contaminating the water.

Most of the stuff that hindus throw in the water is food stuff, grains and prasad which get dissolved in the water. In India the Ganges is considered the most contaminated water in the world yet people go there to bathe as part of their ritual but there hasn't been any outbreak of disease because they bathe in the Ganges.

Thanks for your response Rosi.
Humans are guilty of polluting the water.Smile
Humans are guilty of a lot of things Smile

Me for example does fast certain day of the week but in my mind instead of focusing on praying, I can't stop thinking about the nice duck curry I will eat the next day Big Grin

lol at thinking about duck curry!
This morning I had to do a fasting blood test and from the time I woke up, all I could think about was my coffee fix!!!
Originally posted by chameli:
Originally posted by Bookman:
[]As a born Hindu, I've never been a slave to rituals. [].

very cool BookmanCool goodmorning

I may have been a 'slave' whilst i lived in my mother's home but the moment i broke free...i lived my life and religion the way i feel is best for me and all others.

i remember my mom glare as i refused to bow at all the elders feet when i did my coming to Canada Durga Path

little by little i have convinced her that she does not have to pay a pandit to come do pujas 2 times per yr but that she will find more peace in praying daily and as often as she can.

My dad is completely changed and is my ardent followerlol
he has made it clear that he does not want no 10 day/13 day and no pandit charging $1500 to say 2 prayers at his funeralBig Grin

Hi Chamie !
Hope all is well you and the family.
My Wife's Dad was born in India and he changed from Hindu to being a believer. Lesley Bruce.