I keep wondering why some Hindus dont know the difference between the 22nd and the 23rd. Is it because everything is written in English in America and they only know Hindi??  Your comments please.

* Go easy on hindus.

* A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE NUMERICALLY ILLITERATE.

* 22, 23 ---looks the same to them.

I keep wondering why some Hindus dont know the difference between the 22nd and the 23rd. Is it because everything is written in English in America and they only know Hindi??  Your comments please.

* Go easy on hindus.

Rev, I think you hit the Jackpot.  Play Mega tonight Bhai.

* Go easy on hindus.

One cane cutter was sent to check the number on a punt. He came back and reported #58 as one looked like a grass knife..5 and one looked like a fireside..8. Go figure how illiterate this dude was.

The reason they dont know the difference is because we have Irfan Ali preaching to young Hindus they looking for the moon not the calendar.

Then in Berbice you have Zulphikar mustafa as MC and chief organizer for Diwali celebrations and events in region 6.

Dat is why..............

The reason they dont know the difference is because we have Irfan Ali preaching to young Hindus they looking for the moon not the calendar.

Then in Berbice you have Zulphikar mustafa as MC and chief organizer for Diwali celebrations and events in region 6.

Dat is why..............

If I was ah Hindu. I wouldn't put up wid this

Dat is why..............

Ray Bhai, Mother Laxmi entered my Home last night. All I would say is some people need a good lesson on MULTICULTURALISM.

Dat is why..............

My sentiments exactly...

Dat is why..............

My sentiments exactly...

You want to put a rift between muslims and hindus now? What a feral swine!

Nehru, I'm answering you as a Hindu. Frankness for frankness.

My uncle in Maryland, married to a Brahmin pandit's daughter, told me his Hindu calendar has Diwali on October 22.

My mother in Toronto says her calendar has Diwali on 23rd.

People rely on their calendars in these matters.

Today is 24th. I say to you HAPPY DIWALI. Call me illiterate.

Dat is why..............

Ray Bhai, Mother Laxmi entered my Home last night. All I would say is some people need a good lesson on MULTICULTURALISM.

Ow Lard...aluh hear this ignar disgracing de Hindoo dem. Goh drink yuh likka yea. 

My uncle in Maryland, married to a Brahmin pandit's daughter, told me his Hindu calendar has Diwali on October 22.

Why would I call you illiterate. Whatever and Whenever you gain SALVATION is what is important.  Who am I to tell you or anyone else how or when to celebrate.  The day I become that ARROGANT I will ask God to forgive me.

Dat is why..............

My sentiments exactly...

Well you keep yuh sentiments dem. Yuh Bais Ravi Dave and REV AL is doing de wuk foh keep de Hindoo human property in de PPP camp. Dey love dey Irfan Ally of CIOG. Swamiji muss be blessing dem. LOL! 

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Dat is why..............

Ow Lard...aluh hear this ignar disgracing de Hindoo dem. Goh drink yuh likka yea. 

I gundrink Likka today with a special woman, guess who.

Why would I call you illiterate. Whatever and Whenever you gain SALVATION is what is important.  Who am I to tell you or anyone else how or when to celebrate.  The day I become that ARROGANT I will ask God to forgive me.

Ow Lard...hear he pretend foh be wise old saint. Igar!

* Go easy on hindus.

Rev, I'm taking your #58 joke in good faith. But, I caution you, don't ridicule our early Hindu sugar workers.

True, the majority were not literate in the English language, but they were quite literate in Hindi, Tamil or whatever their first language was. My paternal grandfather was one such. He couldn't read or write in English. He owned 7 or 8 big and medium-sized books in Hindi and Sanskrit. Many times when I visited I watched him reading them, sometimes to his old friends with whom he would have long discussions about the subject matter of those books.

Even today, there are immigrants in Canada who cannot read or write in English. Some attend English as a Second Language [ESL] classes and are taught from scratch ---ABC/123etc. How they got into Canada heaven knows, but that's another issue.

* Go easy on hindus.

Rev, I'm taking your #58 joke in good faith. But, I caution you, don't ridicule our early Hindu sugar workers.

True, the majority were not literate in the English language, but they were quite literate in Hindi, Tamil or whatever their first language was. My paternal grandfather was one such. He couldn't read or write in English. He owned 7 or 8 big and medium-sized books in Hindi and Sanskrit. Many times when I visited I watched him reading them, sometimes to his old friends with whom he would have long discussions about the subject matter of those books.

Even today, there are immigrants in Canada who cannot read or write in English. Some attend English as a Second Language [ESL] classes and are taught from scratch ---ABC/123etc. How they got into Canada heaven knows, but that's another issue.

Gilly, it was my joke about the 58. I am not using this as a ridicule. This is a true incident. The man was from India and he could speak Hindi fluently. I am sure he calculated his earnings in Hindi.

* Go easy on hindus.

Gilly, it was my joke about the 58. I am not using this as a ridicule. This is a true incident. The man was from India and he could speak Hindi fluently. I am sure he calculated his earnings in Hindi.

Oh shucks, I'm feeling bloody illiterate now. You're correct. I apologize to Rev. You got my point about the relative literacy, I hope.

Nehru Bhai

Hare Krsna and Happy Divali.

Please let me explain based on Vedic Calculations that date thousands of years.

India is a large continent divided in North and South India.

South India calculate dates on the position of the Moon and Sun based on the geographical location of Chennai (Tamil Nadu). Here, Divali falls on Asvin Krsna Chaturdasi which is the day before the New moon Amavasya according to the LuniCalendar and according to my 100 years patra falls it on Oct 22.

North India calculate dates based on the position of the Moon and Sun based on the geographical location of Uttar Pradesh in the North. It falls on Amavasya of the New Moon and according to my 100 years Patra it falls on Oct 23.

Both are technically correct based on your geographical location. Similar to New Years starting at different times in different time zones.

Hope this clears it up. Only if the Pandits can get their act together.

yuji

Nehru Bhai

South India calculate dates on the position of the Moon and Sun based on the geographical location of Chennai (Tamil Nadu). Here, Divali falls on Asvin Krsna Chaturdasi which is the day before the New moon Amavasya according to the LuniCalendar and according to my 100 years patra falls it on Oct 22.

North India calculate dates based on the position of the Moon and Sun based on the geographical location of Uttar Pradesh in the North. It falls on Amavasya of the New Moon and according to my 100 years Patra it falls on Oct 23.

Both are technically correct based on your geographical location. Similar to New Years starting at different times in different time zones.

yuji

YUji Bhai, With all due respect, I am more concerned with a calculation of Guyana. I do not live in the same Time Zone as India but that of Guyana.

New Years is celebrated in Australia before NA for a reason.

Nehru Bhai

yuji

YUji Bhai, With all due respect, I am more concerned with a calculation of Guyana. I do not live in the same Time Zone as India but that of Guyana.

New Years is celebrated in Australia before NA for a reason.

Then the 23 is most appropriate for Guyana and USA based on time zone calculations, if I may break it down in layman's terms.

Dat is why..............

My sentiments exactly...

You want to put a rift between muslims and hindus now? What a feral swine!

comedy...........yeah ah want to be de fuss man to create a rift between Hindus and Muslims.

Most people celebrated Diwali yesterday (10/23). Liberty corridor look like a holiday. Every bar that I pass by was empty. Even them rum men took a day off from lifting rum bottle all day. Hindus are keeping up the tradition of Diwali, but most of them forget we spread across the globe and bound by different time zone. My mother use to tell me Diwali is on the darkest night in October, which is between new moon and full moon. Anyway, to avoid argument, I don't get involve with dates. I guess the moon is very important for most religions. BTW, I am still waiting for my goodies. That's how I celebrate Diwali. After hour.

So yuh say that all dem rumshop was empty yesterday...does that mean that only Hindu people does be in them rumshops?

Bhai, I did not get a chance to leave home, was one visitor to the next till the Pot empty.  I will try to get you some leftovers today if I am able to come out.

I know how the thing go. Nah teck worries.  

BTW, I am assigned to PS 100, 111 ave & 118th St., for Nov 04. It that your voting site?

Nah Bhai I am at the 101 Ave and 126 Street School.

Well, go out and vote and pray let Obama pass executive amnesty after 11/04 for undocumented aliens. 

I ALWAYS do. Merika is deh greatest Country.

BTW, I am assigned to PS 100, 111 ave & 118th St., for Nov 04. It that your voting site?

Nah Bhai I am at the 101 Ave and 126 Street School.

Well, go out and vote and pray let Obama pass executive amnesty after 11/04 for undocumented aliens. 

I ALWAYS do. Merika is deh greatest Country.

We have electronic voting system in place now, not the old fashion way. I know how much you love antiques but time is changing.