Combat veteran Democrat crossed Obama in Hawaii; now she’s paying a price

It was only a matter of time.

President Obama‘s allies in the media have begun pushing back against U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, the Democratic lawmaker from the president’s home state of Hawaii who has been sharply critical of the White House for its handling of the Islamic State’s campaign of terror.

Gabbard is a combat veteran who was deployed twice to Iraq, and it appeared that she was being given a pass after making multiple appearances on Fox News and CNN to denounce Obama for not using the term “radical Islam” to properly identify Islamic State militants.

“Every soldier knows this simple fact: If you don’t know your enemy, you will not be able to defeat him,” Gabbard said recently during an appearance on Fox News. “Our leaders must clearly identify the enemy as Islamist extremists, understand the ideology that is motivating them and attracting new recruits, and focus on defeating that enemy both militarily and ideologically.”

She has also characterized Obama’s failure to recognize the enemy as “mind-boggling” and “troubling.”

But after a rare display of patience, the pro-Obama cavalry is finally coming to the rescue.

According to Fox News, popular Hawaii radio talk show host Michael W. Perry said Gabbard committed “a mortal sin” by challenging Obama, and “now the knives are out.” He said that “while Gabbard is correct in her ‘emperor has no clothes’ moment, she may have lost her future seat on Hawaii’s political bench.”

Oahu-based Midweek columnist Bob Jones picked up on that theme by suggesting that Gabbard be challenged in 2016, Fox News reported. Not only that, he even diminished her service as a veteran.

gabbard

Photo Credit HawaiiReporter.com

Jones wrote: “I take serious issue when somebody who’s done a little non-fighting time in Iraq, and is not a Middle East or Islamic scholar, claims to know better than our President and Secretary of State how to fathom the motivations of terrorists, or how to refer to them beyond the term that best describes them — terrorists.”

Fox News also said the editorial board for Civil Beat, an online political news journal, wrote that the two-term Democrat is not “presenting serious policy arguments,” dismissing her views “as pandering from a young pol with lofty ambitions” before asking the ominous question, “But at what cost?”

To her credit, Gabbard seems to understand what she is up against, and is willing to put principle before politics — a rarity in today’s America.

“I’m not naÏve,” she told Fox News. “It could hurt me politically, but I don’t worry about it because that’s not what I care about. … Our national security and the future of our country is infinitely more important than partisan politics or my personal political future.”

Read more: http://www.bizpacreview.com/20...183142#ixzz3T78dDbLr

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
dis Tulsi gyal is quite a snappy lookin dish

Unfortunately her Congressional career may be brutally cut short because she dared to suggest Islamic terrorists have something to do with Islam.

She didn't follow the official line of appeasing Islamic extremists and their so-called moderate enablers.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
dis Tulsi gyal is quite a snappy lookin dish

Unfortunately her Congressional career may be brutally cut short because she dared to suggest Islamic terrorists have something to do with Islam.

She didn't follow the official line of appeasing Islamic extremists and their so-called moderate enablers.

Shaits, here is where your conclusions are wrong......dreadfully wrong; and it may have to do with the herd mentality. Step back for a moment and consider the following independent thoughts:

• “Every soldier knows this simple fact: If you don’t know your enemy, you will not be able to defeat him,” Gabbard said........the Congresswoman and your good self should know that America understood communism yet engaged China and Yugoslavia in its cold war with the Soviet Union. Also Aerica understood Nazi-ism but did not declare war on fascist Spain. Likewise it understands that it needs Islamists to fight this rag-tag bunch of thugs that calls itself Islamic State with a Caliphate but which is not medieval but very modern in using an ideology and religion to advance its brutality.
  • “Our leaders must clearly identify the enemy as Islamist extremists, understand the ideology that is motivating them and attracting new recruits, and focus on defeating that enemy both militarily and ideologically.” What the Congresswoman is calling for and what you have held on to be an incontrovertible truth is that somehow Obama does not get this modus operandi of  the Islamic State. Obama knows that theologically the Islamic State - which has killed mostly Muslims and whose ambitions are targeting Shiites and what it calls apostates (sic) and not the American homeland (other than lone wolves' calls) - is not a religion and find nothing in their ideology that is Islamic. Obama knows that the Arab Islamists (yes, even Salafists and Shiites) must be the ones to stamp out this localized Middle East threats (note - they have not taken up the cause of "death to Israel - a fact that may have escaped the Congresswoman and your goodly self)

Unfortunately her Congressional career may be brutally cut short because she dared to suggest Islamic terrorists have something to do with Islam. The Congresswoman is acting like those Democrats who ran away from the economy successes and Health Care in the 2014 mid-terms. So all I have to say to her and to you is "boo-yah".

She didn't follow the official line of appeasing Islamic extremists and their so-called moderate enablers. You are a smart fellah but all the words you have peddled here the past month about Islam and people like me are singularly idiomatic with no room for debate or reason. The very raison d'etre of your conclusions about moderates appeasing and enabling a bunch of thugs has abandoned your world. Reach for that smidgen of intellect that has not yet been swept away in this frenzy brought about by the very mention of the word Islam. Cleans yourself of this demagoguery and be liberated in the land of reason where you can breathe the same fresh air of optimism and life like me.

a lucrative career as Fox contributor, author and 'nativist' talking head awaits if she is challenged and loses her seat

no worries

Now you're just being deliberately stupid or just deliberately lying to support your feeble and weak-minded and simplistic hypothesis that people are speaking out on this issue because "we hate Muslims."

She's a former military officer, with a very promising Congressional career ahead of her with an almost guaranteed path to high office in the ranks of the Democratic Party, if only she keeps her mouth shut on this issue and other such controversial issues.

There are morons in the House Democratic Party like Yvette Clarke who never ever utter anything remotely controversial just because they're too afraid of their own shadows.

Not even you can think this young lady is doing this for any other reason than because this is how she actually feels and is courageous enough to go against her own party.

She's trading a lifetime seat in Congress to be a potential talking head.

That you insist on using "nativist" to describe this country's first practicing Hindu Congresswoman is laughable. And from Hawaii, that bastion of nativism.

a lucrative career as Fox contributor, author and 'nativist' talking head awaits if she is challenged and loses her seat

no worries

Now you're just being deliberately stupid or just deliberately lying to support your feeble and weak-minded and simplistic hypothesis that people are speaking out on this issue because "we hate Muslims."

She's a former military officer, with a very promising Congressional career ahead of her with an almost guaranteed path to high office in the ranks of the Democratic Party, if only she keeps her mouth shut on this issue and other such controversial issues.

There are morons in the House Democratic Party like Yvette Clarke who never ever utter anything remotely controversial just because they're too afraid of their own shadows.

Not even you can think this young lady is doing this for any other reason than because this is how she actually feels and is courageous enough to go against her own party.

She's trading a lifetime seat in Congress to be a potential talking head.

That you insist on using "nativist" to describe this country's first practicing Hindu Congresswoman is laughable. And from Hawaii, that bastion of nativism.

sir, please point out where exactly i am "lying"

and further, who is "we" and where did i accuse "we" of hating Muslims?

what congresswoman Gabbard is doing here is not courageous . . . it is simple, opportunist positioning by an ambitious politician

also, you will note that i framed my use of "nativist" using single quotes . . . you, of all people, should understand why!

not sure what Rep. Gabbard being a Hindu has to do with anything other than your Hindutva sensibilities

btw, your personal shyte with Rep. Yvette Clarke has no place here

Originally Posted by Prashad:
I just got told by an Army buddy that Tulsi is not an Arya but a Prabupad girl. It's good to see the sister is proud of the religion.

I don't see how this is remotely relevant to anything but thanks for clarifying this irrelevant point no one cared about or even advanced the thread's main discussion point.

I agree with Obama to use bombs and missiles from the air instead of ground troops. But if the sister is getting bullied by Obama then she needs to join the Republican party and she easily win a seat in the North West.
Originally Posted by ksazma:

Jones said that she did a little non-fighting in Iraq. Is that the same as our esteemed potato peeler?  

LMAO LMAO

For a potato peeler, I held/continue to hold a classified clearance as did she. So yes I do suppose we were both in that same esteemed category

In war there is no safe position. A fellow cook who was in my unit was killed in Northern Afghanistan in what was supposed to be the safest place. The sister went to Iraq not once but twice and volunteered to go. at a time when it was very dangerous to do so. The sister is very brave. Let that Obama show us where he served.

While I share your sentiments with regard to Hubbard, I must dissent strongly from your rubbishing of Obama because he didn't serve.

I don't think people's policy proposals have greater or lessor weight because of military service. While I generically think it's a good idea to have public officers at all levels who served in the military, I don't think we should be impugning those who did not. (Unless of course they did their darndest to get out of a national draft. And even that should not be a fatal flaw depending on the circumstances.)

Let's rubbish Obama for his policies when necessary not for his lack of military service.

I just got told by an Army buddy that Tulsi is not an Arya but a Prabupad girl. It's good to see the sister is proud of the religion.

I don't see how this is remotely relevant to anything but thanks for clarifying this irrelevant point no one cared about or even advanced the thread's main discussion point.

You have Hindu in the title of your thread...Prashad's observation is as relevant as the title of the thread