A curry a day keeps the doctor away?

The chemical that gives spicy food its kick could hold the key to the next generation of anti-cancer drugs that will kill tumours with few or no side effects for the patient, say academics at The University of Nottingham.

A study by the scientists, published online in the journal Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications, has proven for the first time that the chemical compound capsaicin — which is responsible for the burning sensation when we eat chillies — can kill cells by directly targeting their energy source.

It could mean that patients could control or prevent the onset of cancer by eating a diet rich in capsaicin and that existing products to treat conditions such as psoriasis and muscle strain, which contain the compound and are already approved for medical use, could be adapted to tackle this more serious disease.

The Nottingham study has shown that the family of compounds to which capsaicin belongs, vanilloids, can kill cancer by attacking the mitochondria of the tumour cell, commonly known as its 'powerhouse', which produces ATP, the major energy-containing chemical in the body. By binding proteins in the cancer cell mitochondria the compound triggers apoptosis, or natural cell death, without harming the healthy surrounding cells.

Dr Timothy Bates, the study's leader, is a member of the Medical Research Council (MRC) College of Experts and an internationally-renowned researcher in the areas of mitochondrial research and anti-cancer drug development. He said: “This is incredibly exciting and may explain why people living in countries like Mexico and India, who traditionally eat a diet which is very spicy, tend to have lower incidences of many cancers that are prevalent in the western world.”

The compound has been tested in the laboratory on H460 human lung cancer cells, approved by the National Cancer Institute as a member of its 60 cell panel which is the 'gold standard' for testing new anti-cancer drugs, and produced startling results. Dr Bates' research team also tested similar compounds on pancreatic cancer, producing similar cell death to that observed with the lung cancer cells. These results are highly significant, as pancreatic cancer is one of the most difficult cancers to treat and which has a five-year survival rate of less than one per cent.

“As these compounds attack the very heart of the tumour cells, we believe that we have in effect discovered a fundamental 'Achilles heel' for all cancers. The investigation and development of anti-mitochondrial drugs for cancer chemotherapy by our group is unique in the UK and is likely to be extremely significant in man's fight against cancer both here and internationally.”

By its very nature capsaicin, and other vanilloids found in the human diet, are safe because we already eat them in many common foods. And some have already been passed for use in treatments for other medical conditions, reducing the number of hurdles needed to get them approved for use in cancer patients.

Dr Bates added: “To develop a new drug costs pharmaceutical companies in the region of $800 million and takes up to 10 years.

“To develop a drug for a secondary medical purpose costs far less, so compounds such as capsaicin and the others we have identified could mean big business. Capsaicin, for example, is already found in treatments for muscle strain and psoriasis — which raises the question of whether an adapted topical treatment could be used to treat certain types of skin cancer.

“We have already identified a number of compounds that are currently used in man for other diseases that have (secondary) anti-cancer actions. We are currently seeking industrial partners to enable these agents to be used in clinical trials with colleagues from Nottingham and other centres in the UK to treat a variety of cancers both in adults and, in particular, in children's cancers, where their younger cells are already 'primed' to die by apoptosis making them more susceptible to these agents.

“It's also possible that cancer patients or those at risk of developing cancer could be advised to eat a diet which is richer in spicy foods to help treat or prevent the disease.”

The study has brought together researchers from The University of Nottingham's Schools of Community Health Sciences, Medical and Surgical Sciences and Biomedical Sciences and colleagues from the Welsh School of Pharmacy at Cardiff University.

The study is also the first by the newly-established Nottingham UK-China Collaboration on Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NUKCAM), which consists of researchers from The University of Nottingham and the Chinese National Academy of Sciences, including Professor De-An Guo, Head of the Shanghai Research Centre for Traditional Chinese Medicine Modernization. Professor Guo has expertise in separating out chemical compounds in ancient Chinese herbal remedies, and is collaborating with Dr Bates and his colleagues to establish why compounds used in Chinese medicine are successful in treating cancer and a wide range of other diseases.

Spicy Food Medical Advantages

The popularity of spicy food lives through the ages. According to the art of cooking history people added spices in food many thousand years ago. Paul W. Sherman, an evolutionary biologist and professor of neurobiology and behavior of Cornell University, affirms that knowledge about healthy food is transmitted both in culture and at genetic level, fixing in human brains what is beneficial and what is not. Following the law of natural expediency, people choose the food which makes them more enduring and protects from bacterias. Year by year, generation after generation, the human got accustomed to healthy food and, owing to natural selection, it began to seem very tasty. So it was with spicy food and hot seasonings. Sherman says that those who preferred spicy food were stronger and left more offspring, because spices kill food-borne bacteria and fungi.

Among the most health-giving spices garlic, onion, allspice and oregano are in the lead. They kill 100% of bacterias, whereas thyme,cinnamon, and cumin wipe out 80%, and capsicums like chilies and other hot peppers, which are a common seasoning to spicy food, – 75%.

Being a common spicy food flavor, garlic is a good anti-cancer remedy, helping the organism to neutralize potent carcinogens. Thanks to the garlic the immune cells can destroy cancer-causing substances, such as H. pylori bacteria which causes stomach cancer. People who eat spicy food dressed with garlic are also protected from elevated blood pressure and cardiovascular diseases.

Onion contains quercetin, an antioxidant element which contributes to the elimination of free radicals in the body and regenerates vitamin E. People who neglect onion because of bad breath are unlikely to know that the usage of onion in spicy food dishes can prevent cancer of lung, breast and bladder. Onion also contains vitamin C that is a rich source of calcium, indispensable for bones and teeth.

Many popular spicy food dishes are flavored with chile, and not without reason. Besides other health benefits, chilies reduce high blood pressure, have a laxative effect, may unclog stuffy noses and improve digestion. Chili is also useful for those who want to lose weight, as it burns calories speeding up the metabolism. Keeping to the diet you can replace “undesirable” salt and fat with some hot sauce. Thus spicy food protects us from diseases and helps to be fit.
Pointblank
Spicy Food Pros And Cons

Spicy food is one of today's favorite topic, everybody discusses its healing power and other advantages. There are many articles describing how common spicy food is fighting against cancer, killing bacterias and preventing cardiovascular diseases. People, having a weakness for all kinds of panacea, attack hot spicy food in the hope of miraculous healing. Men order extra spicy food at restaurants to impress their dates, and women seek special spicy food recipes to lose up weight. In short, everybody is talking about spicy food benefits, but nobody - about its possible damage. However, before eating something zesty and tasty, one should ask him/herself, whether his/her body is ready for another knock-out dose of spices.

Being misused spicy food can damage the sense of taste and cause stomach problems. Thus the favorite of popular spicy food - chile - can burn the tongue and damage the taste buds. In case of misuse chili will reduce the sensation of taste, and that is one of explanation of why spice-lovers need each time more and more spices. Garlic is the best bacteria-killer, but being eaten more than 1-2 cloves a time it will produce a brewing sensation in the belly, not to tell about terrifying breath. Ginger and horseradish also can provoke a negative impact, so one be consistent with the dosage.

Among the other problems caused by overused spices are gastritis, acid reflux, and geographical tongue – tongue irritation which lasts up to one month. As pungent spicy food raises body temperature, it can cause insomnia, because the body needs to slow down before sleeping. Acid reflux disease, which becomes chronic among the most inveterate spicy food-eaters, erodes not only gastrointestinal tract, but also teeth.

The description of all these horrors has nothing to do with spicy food anti-promotional campaign. As it was said above, spicy food is tasty, prevents many diseases, helps to take off weight etc. The only rule is not to forget to use common sense while eating fiery dishes and enjoy in moderation.
Pointblank
Impotence is a warning signal for Heart disease
Erectile dysfunction is not only a sexual problem but it is a sign of underlying heart disease. Those who are suffering from sexual dysfunction are at 58% more risk of getting heart disease. These people should screen for heart problems. Common heart diseases in these men are heart attack, angina and atherosclerosis. This research study was published in the “Journal of the American college of Cardiology”. Scientists conducted studies on 2,300 men to find the association between heart diseases and Erectile Dysfunction (ED). Heart disease risk is doubled if these impotent men also have diabetes. 50% American men (30-70 age group) are suffering from Erectile Dysfunction. At least 50-60% of these men are diabetic. These men are high risk candidates for cardiovascular diseases. Diabetes alone is a major risk factor for impotency.

Sexual Dysfunction is an early warning signal for heart diseases as the symptoms of erectile dysfunction occur 3-4 years earlier than heart disease symptoms. So no one should not neglect Erectile Dysfunction and consult doctor without hesitation. Physicians should also check the impotent men for associated diseases like diabetes and heart problems.
Pointblank
Causes of erectile dysfunction:

1. Psychological causes like inferiority complex and fear of non-performance etc. Heart disease risk is comparatively low in these men.
2. Decrease in blood flow to penis. Heart attack risk is very high in these men.
3. Diabetes is another cause.
4. Smoking is the major preventable cause of impotency and heart disease.
5. Alcoholism can also cause impotency.

How to prevent Erectile Dysfunction, heart disease and diabetes?

1. Smoking is the major cause for ED and heart diseases. Stay away from smoking and alcoholism.
2. Daily exercise for 30-45 minutes. Exercise reduces occurrence of sexual dysfunction by 70%.
3. Staying away from high fat diet.

Caution: Patients suffering from Erectile Dysfunction should not use drugs like Viagra (Sildenafil Citrate) without consulting doctor. Statins reduce heart disease risk by 30% and also beneficial in reducing ED by increasing blood flow to penis as they reduce cholesterol level. Consuming folic acid rich foods boost sperm quality.

Note: Sildenafil is a double edged sword. It is beneficial in the treatment of Impotency and vascular diseases. But if patient is already on drugs like nitrates, Sildenafil causes drug interactions. So use Viagra like drugs on doctor advice only.
Pointblank
Sorry to be morbid - but maybe it may save someone's life one day................

Please take a moment to read this (even if you are not a female-you
have female relatives and friends). This is a nurses account of what it felt
like when she had a heart attack. Knowing the signs might save someones
life. This is her story:
NURSE'S HEART ATTACK EXPERIENCE

I am an ER nurse and this is the best description of this event that
I have ever heard. Please read, pay attention, and send it on!

FEMALE HEART ATTACKS

I was aware that female heart attacks are different, but this is the
best description I've ever read.

Women and heart attacks (Myocardial infarction). Did you know that
women rarely have the same dramatic symptoms that men have when experiencing
heart attack .. you know, the sudden stabbing pain in the chest, the cold
sweat, grabbing the chest & dropping to the floor that we see in the movies.
Here is the story of one woman's experience with a heart attack.

'I had a heart attack at about 10 :3 0 PM with NO prior exertion, NO
prior emotional trauma that one would suspect might have brought it on. I
was sitting all snugly & warm on a cold evening, with my purring cat in my
lap, reading an interesting story my friend had sent me, and actually
thinking, 'A-A-h, this is the life, all cozy and warm in my soft, cushy Lazy
Boy with my feet propped up.

A moment later, I felt that awful sensation of indigestion, when
you've been in a hurry and grabbed a bite of sandwich and washed it down
with a dash of water, and that hurried bite seems to feel like you've
swallowed a golf ball going down the esophagus in slow motion and it is most
uncomfortable. You realize you shouldn't have gulped it down so fast
and needed to chew it more thoroughly and this time drink a glass of water
to hasten its progress down to the stomach. This was my initial sensation---
the only trouble was that I hadn't taken a bite of anything since about 5:00
p.m.

After it seemed to subside, the next sensation was like little
squeezing motions that seemed to be racing up my SPINE (hind-sight, it was
probably my aorta spasms), gaining speed as they continued racing up and
under my sternum (breast bone, where one presses rhythmically when
administering CPR).

This fascinating process continued on into my throat and branched
out into both jaws. 'AHA!! NOW I stopped puzzling about what was happening
-- we all have read and/or heard about pain in the jaws being one of the
signals of an MI happening, haven't we? I said aloud to myself and the cat,
Dear God, I think I'm having a heart attack!

I lowered the foot rest dumping the cat from my lap, started to take
a step and fell on the floor instead. I thought to myself, If this is a
heart attack, I shouldn't be walking into the next room where the phone is
or anywhere else .... but, on the other hand, if I don't, nobody will know
that I need help, and if I wait any longer I may not be able to get up in a
moment.

I pulled myself up with the arms of the chair, walked slowly into
the next room and dialed the Paramedics .. I told her I thought I was having
a heart attack due to the pressure building under the sternum and radiating
into my jaws. I didn't feel hysterical or afraid, just stating the facts.
She said she was sending the Paramedics over immediately, asked if the front
door was near to me, and if so, to un-bolt the door and then lie down on the
floor where they could see me when they came in.

I unlocked the door and then laid down on the floor as instructed
and lost consciousness, as I don't remember the medics coming in, their
examination, lifting me onto a gurney or getting me into their ambulance, or
hearing the call they made to St. Jude ER on the way, but I did briefly
awaken when we arrived and saw that the radiologist was already there in his
surgical blues and cap, helping the medics pull my stretcher out of the
ambulance. He was bending over me asking questions (probably something like
'Have you taken any medications? ') but I couldn't make my mind interpret
what he was saying, or form an answer, and nodded off again, not waking up
until the Cardiologist and partner had already threaded the teeny angiogram
balloon up my femoral artery into the aorta and into my heart where they
installed 2 side by side stints to hold open my right coronary artery.
'I know it sounds like all my thinking and actions at home must have
taken at least 20-30 minutes before calling the paramedics, but actually it
took perhaps 4-5 minutes before the call, and both the fire station and St.
Jude are only minutes away from my home, and my Cardiologist was already to
go to the OR in his scrubs and get going on restarting my heart (which had
stopped somewhere between my arrival and the procedure) and installing the
stints.
'Why have I written all of this to you with so much detail? Because
I want all of you who are so important in my life to know what I learned
first hand.'
1. Be aware that something very different is happening in your body
not the usual men's symptoms but inexplicable things happening (until my
sternum and jaws got into the act). It is said that many more women than men
die of their first (and last) MI because they didn't know they were having
one and commonly mistake it as indigestion, take some Maalox or other
anti-heartburn preparation and go to bed, hoping they'll feel better in the
morning when they wake up ... which doesn't happen.
My female friends, your symptoms might not be exactly like mine, so
I advise you to call the Paramedics if ANYTHING is unpleasantly happening
that you've not felt before. It is better to have a 'false alarm' visitation
than to risk your life guessing what it might be!
2. Note that I said 'Call the Paramedics.' And if you can, take an
aspirin. Ladies, TIME IS OF THE ESSENCE!
Do NOT try to drive yourself to the ER - you are a hazard to others
on the road.
Do NOT have your panicked husband who will be speeding and looking
anxiously at what's happening with you instead of the road.
Do NOT call your doctor -- he doesn't know where you live and if
it's at night you won't reach him anyway, and if it's daytime, his
assistants (or answering service) will tell you to call the Paramedics. He
doesn't carry the equipment in his car that you need to be saved! The
Paramedics do, principally OXYGEN that you need ASAP. Your Dr. will be
notified later.
3. Don't assume it couldn't be a heart attack because you have a
normal cholesterol count. Research has discovered that a cholesterol
elevated reading is rarely the cause of an MI (unless it's unbelievably high
and/or accompanied by high blood pressure). MIs are usually caused by
long-term stress and inflammation in the body, which dumps all sorts of
deadly hormones into your system to sludge things up in there.
Pain in the jaw can wake you from a sound sleep.
Let's be careful and be aware. The more we know the better chance we
could survive.
A cardiologist says if everyone who gets this mail sends it to 10
people, you can be sure that we'll save at least one life.

**Please be a true friend and send this article to all your friends
(male & female) you care about!**
Breast feeding babies have high intelligence

Children who are breast fed during early life generally have high IQ levels, according to a latest research study. Researchers conducted studies on 14,000 babies by dividing them into two groups based on their breast feeding habits. They tracked these babies for the next 6 years to find their intelligence levels. Children in the first group (Breast fed babies) have 5 points higher IQ levels and performing better in academic exams. This research study was published in the Archives of General Psychiatry.

In the study, children who are breast fed for longer duration (more than 5 months) performed better in the intelligence tests than those children who breast fed for shorter duration.
According to WHO (World Health Organisation) guidelines, babies should receive only breast milk during their first six months of life. But many mothers are not stopping breast feeding their babies after 3-4 months due to modern work life, lack of awareness and cosmetic purposes (rich mothers).

Smartness of a baby is directly related to how much duration a mother breastfed their baby. So mothers should know that their babies’ intelligence is in your hands. Nutrients in breast milk (Omega fatty acids) will enhance babies’ intelligence levels and reduce health problems in childhood. Cholesterol in the breast milk is good for child’s brain.

Breast feeding reduces future risk of developing diabetes and hypertension and reduces infections and digestive problems in the childhood.
Pointblank
Originally posted by Pointblank:
Breast feeding babies have high intelligence

Children who are breast fed during early life generally have high IQ levels, according to a latest research study. Researchers conducted studies on 14,000 babies by dividing them into two groups based on their breast feeding habits. They tracked these babies for the next 6 years to find their intelligence levels. Children in the first group (Breast fed babies) have 5 points higher IQ levels and performing better in academic exams. This research study was published in the Archives of General Psychiatry.

In the study, children who are breast fed for longer duration (more than 5 months) performed better in the intelligence tests than those children who breast fed for shorter duration.
According to WHO (World Health Organisation) guidelines, babies should receive only breast milk during their first six months of life. But many mothers are not stopping breast feeding their babies after 3-4 months due to modern work life, lack of awareness and cosmetic purposes (rich mothers).

Smartness of a baby is directly related to how much duration a mother breastfed their baby. So mothers should know that their babies’ intelligence is in your hands. Nutrients in breast milk (Omega fatty acids) will enhance babies’ intelligence levels and reduce health problems in childhood. Cholesterol in the breast milk is good for child’s brain.

Breast feeding reduces future risk of developing diabetes and hypertension and reduces infections and digestive problems in the childhood.

PB...am wondering about dis esp...since many dem GNIers...are born n bred on BM...look at how HIGH IQ n SMART posts are made on GNI...dis wan incl... Wink Big Grin
Health Benefits of Guava

Guava is a tropical fruit that is like the shape of pear, with green rind and pinkish or white flesh and small seeds. Some people say Guava is better than orange because guava contain more Vitamin C than orange and guava is a lot cheaper than orange.

Guava Contains :

•Vitamin C the skin of guava contains more than 5 times Vit C than that of an orange.
•Vitamin A and B
•Calcium
•Nicotinic Acid
•Phosphorus
•Potassium
•Iron
•Folic acid
•Fiber

Nutritive Values of Guava : Per 100 gm.

•Vitamin A : 250 I.U.
•Vitamin B : Thiamine .07 mg.;
•Niacin : 1.2 mg.
•Vitamin C : 302 mg.
•Calcium : 30 mg.
•Phosphorus : 29 mg.
•Carbohydrates : 17.1 gm.
•Protein : 1.0 gm.
•Calories : 70

Guava is Beneficial in the following cases :

1.Prolonged menstruation
2.High blood pressure
3.Poor circulation (strengthen the heart)
4.Congestion of the lungs
5.Acidosis
6.Asthma
7.Catarrh
8.Obesity
9.Scurvy
Pointblank
Health benefits from drinking guava leaves tea:

•Helps in cases of Gastroenteritis, dysentery, diarrhea and vomiting in cholera patient
•Helps fight free radicals.
•Helps to clean the kidney
•If you have chicken pox, drinking 4 cups of guava tea will make the chicken pox heal faster and the skin will have less scarring.
•Contain strong antibiotic effect
•It is good in controlling diabetes
•Good for constipation
•Gargling with lukewarm tea can help remedy swollen gums and oral ulcers.
•Help relieves colds and bronchitis
•Helps skin disorders because it is rich in vitamin C.
Pointblank

A sliced Carrot looks like the human eye The pupil, iris and radiating lines look just like the human eye...and YES science now shows that carrots greatly enhance blood flow to and function of the eyes
Pointblank
Originally posted by RQ:
PB..u know wah yuh getting into now...AYUR VEDA...this i can research..have few of these books on the subject...inclusive of Dr. Chopra... plus the web... clever

I always like natural healing since in GY.

I remember when I was akid and got sores my mother wood gring leaves from the "MONEY" tree and apply it. and so many others
Pointblank

Eggplant, Avocadoes and Pears target the health and function of the womb and cervix of the female - they look just like these organs. Today's research shows that when a woman eats 1 avocado a week, it balances hormones, sheds unwanted birth weight and prevents cervical cancers. And how profound is this? .... It takes exactly 9 months to grow an avocado from blossom to ripened fruit. There are over 14,000 photolytic chemical constituents of nutrition in each one of these foods (modern science has only studied and named about 141 of them).
Pointblank
Originally posted by RQ:
PB..u know wah yuh getting into now...AYUR VEDA...this i can research..have few of these books on the subject...inclusive of Dr. Chopra... plus the web... clever

I always like natural healing since in GY.

mudda always mek plaster mummss..fuh haad bile..neem leaf fuh measles..feva grass tea fuh fever..rite now meh sil did deh bush bath wen i got sick in gy last year.. Big Grin

I remember when I was akid and got sores my mother wood gring leaves from the "MONEY" tree and apply it. and so many others

Grapes hang in a cluster that has the shape of the heart. Each grape looks like a blood cell and all of the research today shows that grapes are also profound heart and blood vitalizing food .

A Walnut looks like a little brain, a left and right hemisphere, upper cerebrums and lower cerebellums. Even the wrinkles or folds are on the nut just like the neo-cortex. We now know that walnuts help develop over 3 dozen neuron-transmitters for brain function.
Pointblank
I juice a lot I have a Jack Lalane Juice works pretty good.

i also juice...carrots...beets...apples...a few yrs did the green juice for 3 mths....cleanse...

Kidney Beans actually heal and help maintain kidney function and yes, they look exactly like the human kidneys .

Celery, Bok Choy, Rhubarb and more look just like bones. These foods specifically target bone strength. Bones are 23% calcium and these foods are 23% calcium . If you don't have enough calcium in your diet the body pulls it from the bones, making them weak. These foods replenish the skeletal needs of the body
Pointblank
Originally posted by RQ:
I juice a lot I have a Jack Lalane Juice works pretty good.

i also juice...carrots...beets...apples...a few yrs did the green juice for 3 mths....cleanse...

and its healthy
Pointblank

Onions look like body cells. Today's research shows that onions help clear waste materials from all of the body cells They even produce tears which wash the epithelial layers of the eyes.

Grapefruits, Oranges, and other Citrus fruits look just like the mammary glands of the female and actually assist the health of the breasts and the movement of lymph in and out of the breasts .
Pointblank
Grapes for the lungs...apples for heart....kidney beans for kidneys....the shape of the fruit determines the organ it benefits..as i said...have the AV texts....plus other health text... Smile

Figs are full of seeds and hang in twos when they grow. Figs increase the motility of male sperm and increase the numbers of Sperm cells to overcome male sterility.

Kidney Beans actually heal and help maintain kidney function and yes, they look exactly like the human kidneys .
Pointblank

Sweet Potatoes look like the pancreas and actually balance the glycemic index of diabetics.

[IMG]http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/rr175/Pointblank01/ol.jpgSweet Potatoes look like the pancreas and actually balance the glycemic index of diabetics.[/IMG]

Olives assist the health and function of the ovaries
Pointblank

Sweet Potatoes look like the pancreas and actually balance the glycemic index of diabetics.

Olives assist the health and function of the ovaries

Sweet Potatoes also help with female hormone Estrogen...for Menopausal women... Big Grin
In a study published on March 30, Swedish, Danish and U.S. scientists have discovered a link between vinyl flooring and autism in children. The purpose of the study -- which involved nearly 5,000 children -- was to investigate the connection between indoor air pollutants and allergies, however, the autism connection was accidentally found instead.

The findings, published in the journal Neurotoxicity, surprised even the scientists involved in the study, and are the first to find a connection between an environmental chemical and autism. Although their purpose was not to study autism, they recommend that the results be taken seriously and that further studies be conducted on a larger group to confirm the link.

The study followed the children from infancy up to at least 6 years of age and was conducted by having Swedish family members fill out surveys asking various questions related to their indoor environments. Of the study's 4,779 children aged 6-8 years, 72 had autism and 60 of those were boys.

Four factors were connected to the children's autism: family economic issues, poor ventilation, the mother's smoking, and vinyl flooring. Children under 3 years of age who slept in bedrooms with vinyl, or polyvinyl chloride (PVC), flooring, or whose mothers smoked, were twice as likely to develop autism. The children with autism were also more likely to have asthma.

"A greater proportion of children with autism spectrum disorder were reported to have PVC as flooring material in the child's and the parent's bedroom in 2000 compared to children without autism spectrum disorder," reported the researchers. "Furthermore, children with autism spectrum disorder were reported to live in homes with more condensation on the inside of the windows, which... may be seen as an indicator for deficient ventilation."

Scientists not involved in the study have been cautious about making any definitive statements about the results, citing the study's limitations. Those leading the research made similar statements in their report. "The data are far from conclusive. They are puzzling, even baffling, and not readily explicable at this time," they wrote. "However, because they are among the few clues that have emerged about possible environmental contributions to autistic disorders, we believe that they should be weighed carefully and warrant further study."

As a possible explanation for the link, the researchers -- from Karlstad University in Sweden, the universities of Rochester and Texas in the U.S., and the Technical University of Denmark -- suggest that the children breathed in dust full of phthalates produced by vinyl flooring. If this is the cause, they believe that children are most vulnerable in the womb when their brains are still developing.

Past studies have shown household dust to be contaminated with phthalates as well as with other hazardous substances such as pesticides and alkylphenols. Phthalates are used to soften plastics in vinyl flooring and other household products.

In 2008, the U.S. banned the production and sale of toys and childcare products containing certain phthalates. The same ban has been put in place in Europe, Argentina, Japan, Israel, and Mexico.

It is estimated that 1 in 150 children in the U.S. suffers from autism.

Sources:

http://www.sciam.com/article.cfm?id...
http://www.independent.co.uk/life-s...
http://www.safer-products.org/downl...
http://www.sciam.com/blog/60-second...
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17047721/
Pointblank
Today I'm sharing the true story of what is probably the
> least-understood health secret in the Western world. It's something
> your doctor never told you and health authorities never learned. And
> yet it could be the key to solving the very health problems you may be
> suffering from right now, including high blood pressure, asthma and
> even arthritis.
>
> This secret isn't patented. It's not available by prescription and it
> costs almost nothing. In fact, from time to time, it falls out of the
> sky and collects in huge pools on the Earth.
>
> What is it? Water.
>
> Water may someday be recognized as the single most important healing
> medicine we could possibly consume, and our special report, "The
> Healing Power of Water," explains why. You can read it right now at:
>
> Physicians rarely promote the curative properties of H2O, but Dr.
> Batmanghelidj, M.D. has studied water's effect on the human body and
> has found it to be one of the best pain relievers and preventative
> therapies in existence. I was one of the last people to interview the
> late Dr. Batmanghelidj, and I listened in awe as he shared his
> research and stories about "The Healing Power of Water."
>
> In a fascinating one-hour phone conversation I will never forget, Dr.
> B. shared things like:
>
> * Which common ailments and "diseases" are actually caused by
> dehydration
>
> * Why many doctors use water-regulating antihistamines to alleviate
> pain
>
> * How Dr. Batmanghelidj unintentionally discovered water's healing
> properties
>
> * Why most people are chronically dehydrated and suffer from symptoms
> of dehydration that are labeled "diseases"
>
> * Which ingredients in soft drinks deplete the body's water reserves
>
> * Why thirst is not a reliable indicator of dehydration
>
> * Why the body produces cholesterol and how water keeps it in balance
>
> * Why Dr. Batmanghelidj believes the public is being mislead about
> AIDS
>
> * How dehydration impairs mental functioning
>
> * Why some organizations want to withhold alternative health
> information from the public
>
> * How lack of water causes depression
>
> * Why popular beverages are no substitute for water
>
> * How dehydration causes the vascular system to constrict, leading to
> hypertension
>
> * How to recognize signs that your body is starting to dehydrate
>
> * Why restaurants push you to drink disease-promoting soft drinks
>
> * Why and how water effectively treats pain and inflammation
Pointblank
The Health Benefits of Black SeedThe Health Benefits of Black Seed

Mahfouz and El-Dakhakhny, prominent Egyptian researchers isolated the active principle nigellone from Black Seed's essential oil in 1959. There are over 100 different chemical components in the seed.

Nigella and melatin are two ingredients in Black Seed that contribute greatly to its highly diversified powers. These substances work together to provide the digestive benefits that have been revered in Black Seed. They also promote cleansing and assist with overall eliminating action.

Two of the most volatile oils found in Black seed are nigellone and thymoquinone which were fist discovered in the herb in 1985. Nigellone offers both anti-spasmodic and bronchodilating properties which contribute to Black Seed's potency against respiratory ailments. It also acts as an antihistamine which helps to reduce the negative symptoms of allergy sufferers. Thymoquinone contains excellent anti-inflammatory and analgesic properties. It is also a strong anti-oxidant and helps cleanse the body of toxins. Both nigellone and thymoquinone work in conjunction with one another to enhance Black Seed's action against respiratory ailments. It also provides a healthy alternative to the more commonly prescribed cortisone based therapies used by allergy sufferers.
Black seed provides a rich supply of polyunsaturated fatty acids. These ingredients play a key role in daily health and wellness. They help to regulate the metabolism, carry toxins to the skin's surface for elimination, balance insulin levels, regulate cholesterol, improve body circulation, and promote healthy liver function. A deficiency in polyunsaturated fatty acids can lead to a wide number of health problems including nervous system disorders, uninhibited growths, and skin diseases.
Black seed contains over 100 valuable nutrients. It is comprised of approximately 21% protein, 38% carbohydrates, and 35% plant fats and oils. The active ingredients of black seed are nigellone, thymoquinone, and fixed oils. Black seed also contains significant proportions of protein, carbohydrates and essential fatty acids. Other ingredients include linoleic acid, oleic acid, calcium, potassium, iron, zinc, magnesium, selenium, vitamin A, vitamin B, vitamin B2, niacin, and vitamin C.
A 1994 study conducted in London by King's College revealed that Black Seed has properties that inhibit certain enzymes, which also inhibit the production of certain prostaglandins. This is more proof that the rich and complex combination of elements found in Black Seed work together for a total effect.
Black Seed has over 1400 years history of use. Many ancient books and text suggest the following traditional uses for Black Seed
Pointblank
The Health Benefits of Black Seed

For Cough and Asthma
1. Apply Black seed oil to the chest and back.
2. Mix a teaspoon of Black seed oil in Boiling water and inhale the vapor twice a day.
3. Take half a teaspoon of Black seed Oil daily in the morning.

Cystic fibrosis
Massage the chest with black seed oil, and drink a mixture of one teaspoon black seed oil with a teaspoon pure honey, morning afternoon and evening.

Diabetes
Mix a cup of whole black seeds, a cup of Water Cress Seeds (Mustard seed can be used as an alternative), half a cup of pomegranate peel and half a cup of fumitory. Grind the mixture to powder. Take half a teaspoon of the mixture together with a teaspoon of black seed oil daily before breakfast for one month.

Diarrhea
Mix a teaspoon of black seed oil with a cup of yogurt. Drink the mixture twice a day until symptoms disappear.

Dry Cough
A teaspoon of black seed oil should be mixed in coffee and taken twice a day. Rub the chest and back with black seed oil.

Eye disease & impaired vision
Rub the eyelids and the sides of the eye orbits half an hour before going to bed with black seed oil. A tablespoon of the oil should also be drunk with a cup of carrot juice. Results should be apparent in one month,

Facial paralysis & tetanus
Inhaling the vapor of black seed oil and hot water can help against facial paralysis and tetanus, and eliminates their causes, insha Allaah.

Flu & nasal congestion
Placing three to four drops of black seed oil in each nostril relieves nasal congestion and head cold distress.

Gall stones & kidney stones
Prepare a formulation of 250g of ground black seed & 250g pure honey, stir thoroughly before use. Take two tablespoons of this formulation and mix thoroughly with half a cup of hot water. Finally add one teaspoon of black seed oil. This mixture is to be taken every morning before consuming any food.

A teaspoon of black seed oil mixed in a glass of orange juice with breakfast makes you active all through the day. A teaspoon of black seed oil mixed in a hot drink after supper gives you a quiet sleep all through the night.

Asthma, Bronchial & Respiratory problems
Mix a tablespoon of black seed oil in coffee. Take twice daily. Rub chest with black seed oil every night and inhale the vapor of black seed oil in hot water.

Backache & other kinds of rheumatism
Mildly heat a small amount of black seed oil and then stroke the rheumatic area intensely. A teaspoon of oil should also be drunk three times daily.

Beard growth
Massage the beard area with black seed oil ensuring that the oil penetrates to the roots, this stimulates the growth of the beard and prevents premature hair graying.

Breast feeding (increase the flow of breast milk)
Prepare a mixture of 250g black seeds & 250g pure honey, stir thoroughly before each dosage. Take two tablespoons of this formulation mixed with one teaspoon of black seed oil daily.

Common cold symptoms and nasal congestion
Firstly fry whole black seeds, then finely grind them into powder. Soak this in black seed oil and any vegetable oil. Place three to four drops in each nostril (N.B. this will cause excessive sneezing).

For Hypertension
Take half teaspoon of Black seed oil with any hot drink at any time. Take 2 lobes of garlic on empty stomach. Apply Black seed oil to your whole body and expose it to the sun every three days, continue the treatment for a month.

For Heart complaints & Constriction of Veins
Take half teaspoon of black seed oil mixed with any hot drink daily in the mornings, this will liquefy the fats and widen the veins and arteries.

Inflammation of the Nose and throat
Put a few drops of oil in to a cup of boiling water and inhale the vapor. Take half a teaspoon of black seed oil with lemon juice daily.

For Headache and Ear ache
Apply black seed oil to the forehead, sides of face adjacent to the ears and behind the ears. Take half teaspoon of Black seed Oil and continue for about 3 days.

For Loss of Hair & premature Graying.
Scrub the scalp thoroughly with lemon, leave it for 15 minutes, wash away with water and shampoo and dry well, thereafter apply Black seed oil to the whole scalp, continue for a few weeks.

For Eye infection, Pain and Weak sight.
Apply Black seed oil around the eyes and on the eye lid before going to sleep. Take half a teaspoon Black seed oil mixed with carrot juice. For weak sight continue treatment.

For Vomiting
Take half teaspoon of fresh ginger juice mixed with equal amount of Black seed oil, twice a day.

For toothache
Mix a half teaspoon of Black seed oil with warm water and gargle the mouth and apply oil on the affected tooth, it will alleviate pain quickly.

FDA DISCLAIMER
These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA and are for educational purposes only. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any illness, disease, or condition.
Pointblank
Stem Cell Research - What does it means to you?

When President barack Obama lifted the ban on federal funding on stem researched, it made a lot of controversies.

But what does stem cell research mean to you? Read on to this article written by Seth Czarnecki of Quality Health.

The Basics

Stem cells are undifferentiated cells within the human body that have the potential to become many different cells. Essentially, there are two types of stem cells—adult and embryonic.

Adult Stem Cells—The main purpose of these cells is to repair and maintain the tissue in which they are found. Adult stem cells can renew themselves and differentiate in order to become a specialized cell in a certain kind of tissue or organ.

Heart Disease and Stroke

Embryonic Stem Cells—Derived from embryos, embryonic stem cells can form nerve, blood, muscle, and various other cell types. These cells need to be isolated by doctors in order to be manipulated for a specific medical purpose

Regardless of the type of stem cell, they both are undifferentiated, capable of dividing and renewing themselves, and can be manipulated to become specialized cells.

Research has shown that stem cells can be harnessed to develop new procedures for treating degenerative heart disease. According to the American Heart Association, stem cells can be used to “help generate new, healthy heart tissue, valves and other vital tissues and structures.” What’s more, stem cell research can provide insight into cardiovascular diseases and stroke.

Parkinson’s Disease

Michael J. Fox has been one of the most outspoken advocates for stem cell research in the U.S. Parkinson’s disease, which is caused by the loss of nerve cells in the brain, could potentially be cured by stem cell transplants. Researchers at the University of Minnesota believe that by transplanting stem cells into sites where nerve function is lost they could potentially cure, if not improve, Parkinson’s disease.

Paraplegia

The National Centre for Adult Stem Cell Research in Brisbane, Australia has begun research using stem cells to treat a devastating genetic disease in which active young people progressively develop paraplegia. Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia (HSP), a little-known disease, affects only 1000 people in Australia. The Centre hopes to restore nerve function in HSP sufferers. Researchers believe that this could be the first big step in treating paraplegics suffering from major nerve damage.

The medical and scientific possibilities for stem cell research are endless. Advancements in cardiovascular disease, Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s, and severe nerve damage is seemingly on the horizon. Despite your political, religious, or moral stance on the subject, research in this field can benefit many.
Pomegranates: Jewels in the Fruit Crown

“One of the earliest cultivated fruits, the pomegranate has been traced back as far as 3,000 B.C. Some scholars even suggest that it was a pomegranate, not an apple, that tempted Eve.”
The pomegranate is the fruit du jour.

There's pomegranate juice, vodka, salad dressing, ice cream, salsa, lollipops and gummy bears. You can put pomegranate essence in your hair (conditioning rinse) or on your skin (cream and perfume). In the last few years, hundreds of new pomegranate products have come on the market.

The pomegranate is an ancient fruit with a rich history in myth, symbol, art, medicine and religion. It has always been an important part of the Middle Eastern diet. Until recently, however, pomegranates were something of a seasonal novelty in the West. Then medical studies suggested what the ancients believed and Middle Easterners probably take for granted: Pomegranates are really good for you. And thus, instant celebrity.

Scientists say the leathery-skinned, orange-sized fruit with the sweet-tart juice may help with heart disease, cancer and problems associated with aging. It's loaded with antioxidants, vitamins, potassium, folic acid and iron. Pomegranates are the new superfood. Green tea and red wine, which have fewer antioxidants than pomegranates, are yesterday's health news.