Health Minister threatens to slap and strip female activist for “fun of it” after confrontation

Health Minister Dr. Bheri Ramsarran called women rights activist Sherlina Nageer a "piece of sh%t" and said he should have slapped her and have her stripped for interrupting a roadside press interview.

Minister of Health and Candidate for the People’s Progressive Party Civic, Dr. Bheri Ramsarran told reporters at Whim, Berbice on Monday that he should have “slapped” and have his supporters “strip” women’s rights activist Sherlina Nageer after she interrupted a road side press interview he was giving and questioned him about maternal deaths in the country.

The entire confrontation was captured on audio tape.

During the recording, Ramsarran could be heard calling Nageer an idiot after she interrupted his media interview. The two got into an exchange of words and the Health Minister called for police back up after he berated the activist.

As Nageer was being led away by the police, Ramsarran could be heard telling the reporters that “I would slap her ass you know just for the fun and I can have some of my women strip her”.

Nageer has been very outspoken about domestic violence and abuses against women for years. She has also been leading several protests against the government of Guyana over “poor health care” for women and attacks on freedom of speech.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 12.48.31 PM

Before she was removed from confronting the Health Minister, the activist chastised him for his record in office while she pointed to the many cases of maternal deaths. Ramsarran told the woman that there were less maternal deaths under his government than there was under the last administration 23 years ago.

As he tried to shut down Nageer, she continued to challenge him on his record and when she reminded him that taxpayers like her pay his salary, Ramsarran could be heard telling the woman to “eff off” as he called her a “piece of sh%t” and said she should not be interrupting his private interview on the roadside to two Berbice based reporters.

Ironically, the Health Minister was outside the Whim Magistrates court to lend support to former President Bharrat Jagdeo who is facing private criminal charges for an alleged racially divisive speech that he made at Babu John back in March.  Jagdeo had been accused by his ex-partner and former first lady Varshnie Singh of domestic abuse. He has always denied those allegations.

The PPP has a woman as its Prime Ministerial Candidate. Ms. Elisabeth Harper has been calling for more respect for women and promising that a new PPP government would do more to fight domestic violence and clamp down on abuses against women.

I hope all dem PPP women thinking of voting for the PPP should think again. The threats of the minister are clear indication of how an Indo man sees women. He thinks they can be beaten up and stripped naked just for fun. Vote PPP for more violence on women.

The PPP lacks decorum and commonsense they go back to their gutter mentality because it is a reflex action for them.

Can you imagine how this chap speaks to his subordinates at the MOH?

Here is another dunce PPP Minister and her boorish comments on FB. This one is a serial idiot.

earlier today I said Christopher Ram was a bumbling idiot who filed trumped up charges against Bharrat Jagdeo in an effort to jail him. some got upset at me i suppose for me pointing that out rather than at Ram for filing for stupidness. tonight a senior lawyer said it just slightly more diplomatically. Mursalene said Ram "made a complete mess of the proceedings." It would be hoped that they who wish to govern Guyana could at least get their proceedings right! 
‪#‎bumblingidiot‬

These Guys lack basic knowledge of PR and dealing with Stupid people.

So you say they'd have a hard time dealin with you eh

Nah DUNCES like you who are ILLITERATE, STUPID and MORONIC to dah Bone.!!!!!!!

This dude Bheri is a disgrace to the PPP/C.

I wonder if he will figure in the party whether it's re-elected or not.

That's a shameful display and symptomatic of what comes from the top. Any PPP supporter should be affronted by this heinous exchange. Why can he not shut up, let the woman finish her questions, and then ask to reply uninterrupted. He can then talk about the lower maternity deaths in this modern era than in the ancient PNC days.

A PPP ideologue may find nothing offensive about Bheri's actions to this woman, but a decent-minded PPP supporter would be appalled, and question why the leadership example filtrates to this low level. You gotta be disgusted.

That's a shameful display and symptomatic of what comes from the top. Any PPP supporter should be affronted by this heinous exchange. Why can he not shut up, let the woman finish her questions, and then ask to reply uninterrupted. He can then talk about the lower maternity deaths in this modern era than in the ancient PNC days.

A PPP ideologue may find nothing offensive about Bheri's actions to this woman, but a decent-minded PPP supporter would be appalled, and question why the leadership example filtrates to this low level. You gotta be disgusted.

Too much power,they are the untouchables they operate

like the mafia,the man said he can have some one strip

the woman.

Originally Posted by Django:

the woman.

The man is old and senile. He needs to be thrown out of the party for good. He is a perennial disgrace.

the woman.

The man is old and senile. He needs to be thrown out of the party for good. He is a perennial disgrace.

And it is not the first time this FOOL has done this!!!!!!!!  How the hell he became a Doctor????!!!!!!

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

I hope all dem PPP women thinking of voting for the PPP should think again. The threats of the minister are clear indication of how an Indo man sees women. He thinks they can be beaten up and stripped naked just for fun. Vote PPP for more violence on women.

PPP minister threatens to beat up Indo woman.  Shaitaan will be more upset when the black cop told her to move, he doing so on the ORDERS of the Indo minister!

Despite the fact that she was obnoxious, rude, unmannerly and in an area where she was trespassing, that gave Beri Beri no right to do what he did. He should first ask the Officers to arrest her if she was trespassing.

Look politics aside this kind of behavior by any politician towards their critics is simply unacceptable.

I have to say many of these folks on here I am absolutely opposed to their views but it demonstrates that there may be some hope left for Guyana considering many of you are speaking out against this turd Beri Ramsarran.

This chap is a disgrace and he should be removed from office by Ramotar. I think he will cost the PPP votes. Considering the plague of violence against women in GY and here you have this sorta language from this guy. I am sorry this is simply not acceptable. This chap is an elected or selected public official. He has to go.

Of course he will feature prominently. PPP is a cult. Except a very few cases, PPP promotes people for bad behavior and failure.

That beri beri banna in line for one big tarass promotion, jus like dem cops who shoulda been behind bars for destroying lives of individualds, but instead got promotions.

Agreed Ramotar and the PPP if you want to know why the entire country is pissed off at the PPP this is a classic example of why.

You need to start learning to fire some of your goons. Try it and you might see how the population responds.

Despite the fact that she was obnoxious, rude, unmannerly and in an area where she was trespassing, that gave Beri Beri no right to do what he did. He should first ask the Officers to arrest her if she was trespassing.

The problem with these guys they don't know how to

use protocol,they are very arrogant,damn you are

minister in the gov't the people elect you,show

some respect,regardless which side they are on.

The founders of the PPP turning in their graves with

these guys behavior.

True Dat!!!   I have been saying for years, many in Govt NEEDS serious training in PR, Public Communication and Civil engagement!!!!!!!!!!

these guys behavior.

True Dat!!!   I have been saying for years, many in Govt NEEDS serious training in PR, Public Communication and Civil engagement!!!!!!!!!!

Yet you worship them.

these guys behavior.

Yet you worship them.

I SUPPORT THE PPP.  When you find a better Party I will think about moving my support.  Until then just deal with it.

these guys behavior.

Yet you worship them.

I SUPPORT THE PPP.  When you find a better Party I will think about moving my support.  Until then just deal with it.

Yu drink too much dharoo. Da mek yu like PPP. Hey hey Hey

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

these guys behavior.

Yet you worship them.

Yu drink too much dharoo. Da mek yu like PPP. Hey hey Hey

And too much BUGGA mek yuh BT big like the Essequibo River!!!!

Hey man you work in a school right?  The parking lot attendant right? Behave

Bhai, Me and Uncle Kapadilla tight.  He love when I tell him dem stories dat.

Speaking bout tight. If you and cobra ever hang out and he pass out do dis to 'im. Dat banna would get one heart attack when he jump up in drunken stupor.

HEHEHEHEHE    HEHAHAHAHAHAHAHA  Cain Prapa Jokey.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

PPP minister threatens to beat up Indo woman.  Shaitaan will be more upset when the black cop told her to move, he doing so on the ORDERS of the Indo minister!

Why you have to bring up such idiocy?

The woman was very rude to the minister. An interview means you ask question and listen to the answer. You don't disrespect a minister and talking over him. Ministers are human being too. They can also flipped when being harassed in your face, and that's an indication of harassment to the minister. The PPP has great respect for women, but not when you behave like Amna Ali.

guess yuh advocate telling women to eff off and they is ah piece ah shit