HARPER SPEAKS: talks of strong desire to eradicate domestic violence

February 28, 2015 4:55 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

Elisabeth Harper and President Donald Ramotar.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – In a state-televised interview on Saturday February 28, Prime Ministerial Candidate for the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Elisabeth Harper finally broke her silence on her selection for the post.

Seven days ago the PPP/C announced that Harper would be filling the Prime Ministerial candidacy slot as President Donald Ramotar’s running mate, but for some reason did not make any statement on her appointment at the press conference.

According to a release from the National Communications Network (NCN) – which conducted the interview – Harper indicated her decision to use her new platform for more to be done against the issue of domestic violence with has long since plagued Guyana’s society.

She spoke of being a an unwed pregnant 17 – year – old, who was abused by her first husband.

“The Ambassador’s disclosure that she was physically abused by her first husband provided some of the more riveting discussion. It was a factor in her deciding to accept the invitation to run because she feels that domestic violence is becoming an epidemic in Guyana and if elected will use her position as Prime Minister to help stop this “scourge” as she referred to it in Guyana. She hopes that by talking publicly about the challenges in her life and how she overcame those that it will inspire Guyana’s youth, and especially women, to have the confidence to strive for a better life and a better Guyana,” the statement read.

It was also indicated that she talked openly about the many struggles of being a single mom, surviving an abusive first husband, her religious endearments and what she believes her 39 years of government service can bring to the office of Prime Minister.

Harper is quoted as saying: “this opportunity if it does present itself, would allow me to use my four decades of experience building Guyana’s reputation around the world to contribute even further to Guyana’s development, in particular the honing of policies to create more jobs, ensure that educational opportunities are available to all Guyanese, reducing crime and helping to create an environment where families are whole and an environment which would encourage our young people to stay and help build their country.”

The interview is set to be rebroadcasted on Sunday March 1 on NCN and is available on social media.

Originally Posted by kp:

Spoke like a true Prime Minister, she means change.

Go Girl....Yuh Smart....

We got yuh Back Covered....

Moses & David

gon give yuh wuk

after May 11th.

Quote....Liz

Harper is quoted as saying:

“this opportunity if it does present itself,

would allow me to use my four decades of experience

(2 with PNC + 2 with PPP = 4 Decades FAILURE)

building Guyana’s reputation around the world to contribute even further to Guyana’s development,

in particular the honing of policies to create more jobs,

ensure that educational opportunities are available to all Guyanese,

reducing crime and helping to create an environment where families are whole and an environment which would encourage our young people to stay and help build their country.”

How would talking about domestic violence play with Jagdeo, the violence-in Chief.  Is she trying to diss Jagdeo?

Our foreign embassies have been largely failures, serving to process travel documents and validating documents.

Someone should do a report to show which embassies have secured development assistance and trade for Guyana.

Under Burnham, there used to be an Annual Meeting of Ambassadors in Guyana.  I have never heard of that under the PPP.  I could have missed it.

All those claims of helping Guyana over decades is pure hyperbole.  This is somebody, 99.99% of the people never heard about before. Let them keep playing "emperor's new clothes."

Now that Elisabeth Harper has opened up as a campaigning politician, she must be prepared for the fallout generated by her utterance.

One immediate question is: how did she fight against domestic violence on behalf of abused women before today?

Ms Harper will soon discover that half of the PPP Central Committee were/are wife-abusers.

PPP General Secretary Clement Rohee's first wife had to kill herself.

Former Local Government Minister Kellawan Lall's wife Savitri had to kill herself too.

As for Dr Dr Bharrat Jagdeo, he was the perpetrator of "high-tech" domestic abuse according to his ex-wife Varshnie.

Moses Nagamootoo knows the other PPP wife-abusers and I'm sure he will rebut Ms Harper's arguments convincingly.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Harper is quoted as saying: “this opportunity if it does present itself, would allow me to use my four decades of experience building Guyana’s reputation around the world to contribute even further to Guyana’s development, in particular the honing of policies to create more jobs, ensure that educational opportunities are available to all Guyanese, reducing crime and helping to create an environment where families are whole and an environment which would encourage our young people to stay and help build their country.”

HARPER SPEAKS: talks of strong desire to eradicate domestic violence, February 28, 2015 4:55 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

After winning the May 11, 2015 elections, it will be onward for the PPP/C to accomplish these plus other progressive activities in Guyana.

Everyone has skeleton in their closet. Everyone has past domestic problem of some sorts. If we were to investigate all politicians for past and present domestic issue, we would barley have a government to run a Guyana. Those same words were uttered in the U.S. congress sometime ago.

A typical PPP/Harper hot-air promise, with no action.

We implemented domestic violence suicide prevention programs in Guyana  since 2006, where was Harper? Hiding in the cane field ?

In typical PPP fashion they demanded bribes and  degraded programs, while youth continue to commit suicide in large numbers.

Why dem 'Harpering' about domestic violence prevention now, where was the PPP for the past 22 years ? Dem rass living like Jagdeo hogs, while women were killed daily.

The PPP MUST go and Guyana move forward with equality for all.   

Everyone has skeleton in their closet. Everyone has past domestic problem of some sorts. If we were to investigate all politicians for past and present domestic issue, we would barley have a government to run a Guyana. Those same words were uttered in the U.S. congress sometime ago.

Do you beat your wife and lock her out the bedroom?

HARPER SPEAKS: talks of strong desire to eradicate domestic violence, February 28, 2015 4:55 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

After winning the May 11, 2015 elections, it will be onward for the PPP/C to accomplish these plus other progressive activities in Guyana.

Why promise of DV programs now ? A political gimmick.

What was the PPP doing for the past 22 years, while dozens of women were killed ?

De PPP gun get one big slap from women on May 11.

It gun ring in Jagdeo and Ramotar ear, all de way to Rohee backside.     

With that said, I can point you to men who are victims of domestic abuse also. It's a human problem, not a gender problem.

Snake man, give abie some stats na.

Lets keep it in Guyana, the rest of the world is too big for Guyana problem.

How many women in Guyana take a 22 and kill dem husband ?

Also while you are it, if its a 'human problem' as you say.

What program does the PPP implement  regarding GUYANA 'human domestic violence' problem ?

Like most in de PPP, you rass full ah hat air. You come her with stupid-ness and when challenged, like typical PPP stray dags, you run and hide wid you tail between you legs.

You need to go spend time with  the  needy in Guyana and face PPP reality of screwing the majority, while the PPP elite live like hogs in a trough.

Come on Cobra, back up your words or just plain shut up, because it makes you look stupid, like Jagdeo and Ramotar.  

These politicians have been saying that (eradicate violence) since the beginning of time.

Mrs. Harper will Prime Minister and the Minister responsible for women's Issues.

These politicians have been saying that (eradicate violence) since the beginning of time.

Mrs. Harper will Prime Minister and the Minister responsible for women's Issues.

PM for her backyard in Queenstown, Georgetown where she lives.  PM to Mark Harper in the matrimonial bed.

I think we have to look at how the PPP governs. I don't believe Mrs Harper has a place in the Marxist-Leninist operation at Freedom House. I don't think she can craft foreign policy or anything of that nature. Guyana's foreign policy is largely driven by the motivation of obtaining funds from an Eastern Power which will never make the governance demands as Western Powers require. A strongman decides these things and the system of Democratic Centralism accepts in true group-think fashion. Mrs Harper obviously either does not know what she is getting into or she accepts her subservient role in Democratic Centralism.

Ramkant, you destroying a good woman here because she wil not be able with the rocking when the campaign kicks off.

this explain a lot about you

Originally Posted by TK:

I think we have to look at how the PPP governs. I don't believe Mrs Harper has a place in the Marxist-Leninist operation at Freedom House. I don't think she can craft foreign policy or anything of that nature. Guyana's foreign policy is largely driven by the motivation of obtaining funds from an Eastern Power which will never make the governance demands as Western Powers require. A strongman decides these things and the system of Democratic Centralism accepts in true group-think fashion. Mrs Harper obviously either does not know what she is getting into or she accepts her subservient role in Democratic Centralism.

Mrs Harper knows she is getting into a PPP elections campaign that the people know the PPP will lose. My generous bet is that Mrs Harper will become an opposition parliamentarian after the elections, just like that diplomat wannabe Africo Sellout.

Rama, the PPP is good at talking and less at doing.

As a big PPP party man, give us details about programs she will be implementing na.

Or like de snake man, shut you rass up.  

Mrs Harper knows she is getting into a PPP elections campaign that the people know the PPP will lose. My generous bet is that Mrs Harper will become an opposition parliamentarian after the elections, just like that diplomat wannabe Africo Sellout.

Mrs. Elisabeth Harper will become the Prime Minister, after the May 11, 2015 elections -- contrary to the views expressed by a few.

remove the blinders,APNU-AFC will be the next government

after May 11,2005.

Ms.Harper, is an outstanding daughter of the soil, and will continue to serve her country with distinction.

No doubt she is an outstanding daughter of the soil. She must fall in line however under PPP's Stalinist Democratic Centralism. Do you doubt that?

Ms.Harper, is an outstanding daughter of the soil, and will continue to serve her country with distinction.

'Daughter of the soil'. How come she is not with farmers at Black Bush  helping with domestic violence and teen suicides ?  

Originally Posted by Django:

remove the blinders,APNU-AFC will be the next government after May 11,2005.

after May 11,2005 -- perhaps there was a chance then in the 2005 period, however on May 11 2015, PPP/C will obtain more than 52% of the votes.