Guysuco pays for overseas-based Chairman's tripsPDF | Print |
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol   
Monday, 30 July 2012 19:04
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

guysucologoThe National Assembly on Monday heard that the new chairman of the board of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) resides in the US and travels monthly to discharge his duties.

The highly-indebted Guysuco has been struggling to pay its workers some incentives because of low production due to bad weather and industrial unrests. The Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union has, however, blamed GuySuCo's financial misfortunes on poor management.

This was revealed by Minister of Agriculture Dr. Leslie Ramsammy in response to questions from APNU parliamentarian Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine.

When asked who had replaced the last chairman, Dr. Nanda Gopaul who is now the Minister of Labour, Dr. Ramsammy identified Dr. Rajendra Singh who had been serving on the board as a member. He added that Dr. Singh resides in New Jersey when further questioned by Dr. Roopnaraine.

“The chairman visits Guyana once per month; in addition the chairman is in daily contact with the minister and the management.”

The APNU’s Volda Lawrence queried whether they had exhausted the list of possible Guyana-based candidates for the job and whether the people would have to foot the bill for his travels.

“I’m sure Mr. Speaker that there are many competent persons who could serve as board members or as chair; Dr. Rajendra Singh has been serving on the board for several years,” the minister said, adding that GuySuCo funds economy class tickets for his trips to and from the US.

He added that they are other costs associated with the chairman’s visits such as that connected to his lodging.

Comments  

+22 #1 OMG 2012-07-30 19:16
Where and when is this squandering of taxpayers funds going to end? Are these people saying that there is no one in Guyana who could be Chairman of Guysuco? Oh Lord, why Lord?

+22 #2 Nicole 2012-07-30 19:26
I know The Chairman of GUYSUCO, he is NO DOCTOR, Which University did he graduate from and what year?

+13 #3 Joe Bloke 2012-07-30 19:58
This is a massive scandal.Raj Singh is Jagdeo friend and it look like Ramotar friend too.AFC has to tell the sugar workers why they can't be paid. There is full out squandermania.

+13 #4 sweetrose 2012-07-30 19:59
I have never seen such waste of tax payers money in all my life. Find out where Minista. Robert Persaud lives... these people are living off the hog..

+9 #5 RAMIREZ 2012-07-30 20:20
Another PPPC cohort on the get rich quick trail, he lives in New Jersey USA and he is the Chairman of Guysuco in Guyana, this is a blatant misuse of the Guyana People's money, I do hope the United States IRS is paying attention to this. I will personally send a copy of this article to the IRS.
This nonsense must stop, this is positive proof of the marginalization of Educated Black men or women in Guyana.

+5 #6 rajes rohit parmanand 2012-07-30 20:38
Well i have a suggestion for the President. The board members that are been recycled needs to gotton rid of. Raj Singh phd of CUNY has never taught any courses at the university as far as i am aware and professes that he has the HR acumen to turn Guysuco around. Well he has been on the board for the last three years and duh nothing new> How is he carrying out his full time ***tion at CUNY and then the lead person of the PPP in queens and Guysuco business is anybodys guess. He is like Borrowes also a chairman of Guysuco everyday he summons the senior manager to his office at the PUBLICH HOSPITAL. Are these people sane? JB came in spent two years 3000 us per month driver and car and left achievement NOTHING duh.I have always say that there was one godd young guy at Albion factory when my father work there at that time he came from Skeldon. He was a genius, he worked with JB and Dukhia. I dont know if he is still around but i can put my head on the block he will do far better that many of these dunces put together. The guy is bright and has a mind of his own. Mr President you should really consider him as the executive chairman of Guysuco.

+10 #7 Logical Thinker 2012-07-30 21:08
That's how the ppp squanders our money with their cronies & u're telling me these blood suckers must continue to rule us, power to the people of linden!!!

+8 #8 SUDRA 2012-07-30 21:22
THESE BLOODY OPPOSITION HAVE GOT TO STOP ALL THESE SQUANDERMANIA OF TAX PAYERS MONEY 'NOW'.NO SENSE FINDING OUT AND NOTHING IS BEING DONE TO CORRECT IT;WE NEED AFFIRMATIVE ACTION "NOW"TO ERADICATE ALL THOSE "FAT CAT"SALARIES.OLD AGE PENSION RIGHT AWAY HAS TO INCREASE TO 20,000 PER MONTH.

+10 #9 Jai Parmessar 2012-07-30 21:25
Not one Guyana based person is qualified to run Guysuco? What about Chris Ram? Ronald Ali?

+9 #10 Galfromna 2012-07-30 21:33
Stay the course
Linden stay the course

+9 #11 Jotis 2012-07-30 21:40
Raj SIngh is a dunce. He works as an admission clerk in an academic institution in Long Island, NY. This man has not expertise as a manager, much less CEO or Chairman of a corporation. He is communist in his thinking and does not believe in free market enterprise. How on earth can this burden be forced on the backs of the poorest people in Guyana - the cane cutters? THIS IS MORE THAN EYE PASS, RAS, THIS IS IT = GUYANESE MUST DENOUNCE THIS PPP AND ABANDON IT. MEMBERS OF THE PPP MUST RESIGN ENMASSE. PPP MEMBERS ARE DISGRACEFUL IF THEY REMAIN MEMBERS OF THE PPP WHICH IS EXPLOITING THE MASSES SHAMELESSLY. RESIGN OR FACE [censored] IN YOUR FACE AND DISGRACE FOREVER UPON YOU ALL AND YOUR CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN AND ALL FUTURE GENERATION OF PPP CURRENT LEADERSHIP....YOU ARE A BUNCH OF NASTY DISGRACEFUL DUNCES AND THE MOST STINKING CORRUPT LIARS AND THIEVES GUYANA HAS EVER KNOWN...GET OUT OR ELSE...

+9 #12 Cleve M 2012-07-30 21:43
Had this been a category it would certainly be a contender for "Most Ridiculous" in the Guiness Book Of Records. Shameless!!

+9 #13 lita 2012-07-30 21:49
wow, mr ramsami should take the trip money and pay the hard working cane cutter. Wow a monthly vacation to guyana. I wonder who in government the chairman is related to. Things like this quack quack needs to address. What a waste of tax payers money.

+6 #14 culs 2012-07-30 22:24
one doctor questioning another doctor about a doctor who replaced a doctor as chairman.

+4 #15 cassavajoe 2012-07-31 00:36
I was told no job fuh me, me a AFC supporter and as such we cant hire only party loyalist......

I am still looking I will come home at a moments notice and I will live their.

I am ready to come home........I will reinvent GuySuco and work will be their for all.....

+9 #16 tony blair 2012-07-31 01:20
hey Donald Ramotar...I'm a traffic agent living in Richmond Queens New York USA I believe im fully qualified to be home affairs minister. i have no intentions of leaving the us but will travel at Guyanese expense to Guyana at most once a month preferably weekends so i don't lose my US job. AND OF COURSE IM INDIAN.

+11 #17 RDMAN 2012-07-31 01:27
Mr.Singh lives in N.J,heads the ACG in NY a political arm of the PPP and enjoying the perks at GUYSUCO,imagine how taxpayers dollars are wasted on these PPP cronies.Mr.Singh claims to have a doctorate but when asked to verify the authenticity of his degree he refused,he is well talked about in the Guyanese community as a PPP propagandist ,he controls a bunch of yes men in an organization called the Association of Concerned Guyanese,a political arm of the PPP.

+2 #18 concerned youth 2012-07-31 07:26
The recent revelations of the super salaried cronies and friends, has barely started to highlight why a few in Guyana live like apparent royalty and the majority of guyanese suffer struggling to eke out a living... many qualified, driven Guyanese continue to leave and those who remain get dumb ed down for fear of the little they have being removed, while the few in power and associated spend tax payers dollars and gorge.. Its UNCONSCIONABLE!!! again i say.. ONLY in GUYANA!

0 #19 treehugger 2012-07-31 13:35
his wife does travel with him as well and they all stay at a top hotel in GT and drive around in a chaffuer driven BMW from OP. He also has a house lot at Prado ville 2

0 #20 Watch Dog 2012-07-31 14:22
Why are the opposition sitting back with arms folded and not objecting to these blatentmissuse of taxpayers funds.The Guyanese people should be in the streets protesting these corrupt governing bodies robbing them

0 #21 Jayce 2012-07-31 16:23
Quoting RAMIREZ:

This nonsense must stop, this is positive proof of the marginalization of Educated Black men or women in Guyana.

Absolute bull! Regardless of race, Guyanese are losing out. The race based argument is for the weak!

0 #22 Jayce 2012-07-31 16:25
Quoting tony blair:
hey Donald Ramotar...I'm a traffic agent living in Richmond Queens New York USA I believe im fully qualified to be home affairs minister. i have no intentions of leaving the us but will travel at Guyanese expense to Guyana at most once a month preferably weekends so i don't lose my US job. AND OF COURSE IM INDIAN.

What does being Indian have to do with it? You are so stupid, you can't distinguish between Indian and PPP supporter!

0 #23 Moses Ramotar 2012-07-31 16:36
Raj Singh works for Cuny full time. How on earth did he become Chairman of Guysuco. Raj Singh follows the Rat and Ramotar everywhere. Basically an ass kisser. Secondly I have flown with him to Guyana on many occasions. He does not fly coach he flies first class. Who is the PPP kidding here. Lets get his flight records from Delta. I know lots of people at Delta.

+1 #24 dezetante 2012-07-31 18:11
Quoting Nicole:
I know The Chairman of GUYSUCO, he is NO DOCTOR, Which University did he graduate from and what year?

dis man Sing he way tru the university of the Family & Friends Inc. and he gat to Lodge with the Duke of Guyana B-kaz he seem to be one of the Wash Machine in the laundry of the Prominent Presumptuous Pimping /Cartel

+1 #25 Myinput 2012-07-31 19:37
This is the unfairness that people get angry at. Look how many sugar workers risk their lives and go out there to cut cane. They could be bitten by snakes (just one example) When they work tireless hours hoping to take home a salary to feed their families only to be told that the company don't have money. The government supports all of this. This man is in ANOTHER COUNTRY spending GUYANESE MONEY IN ANOTHER COUNTRY while my fellow Guyanese suffer. Could this be fair??

That's why my people in Linden are showing the government that they are part of Guyana and should be treated like Guyanese. The wealth should be spread across Guyana.

0 #26 jai persaud 2012-07-31 22:00
The shareholders apponited him as chair because of his skills and his performance as a Board member. Ask GUYSUCO about the addtional revenue he brought to the Company because of the price he negotiated for 2012 and 2013.Ask GUYSUCO about his plan to fix Skeldon.

0 #27 G/T Style 2012-08-01 18:45
This Nonsense with Guysuco Overseas Chairman, is Not Necessary For G/T Burden, it is one way to Favour Special Friends, you have to live there to Function There.This Position will need to Review and have a Local Educator in that Prospective Studies to Fill that Position Immediately at a smaller Salary,this Country needs a Complete Overhall of Gov't Ministerial's Salaries, that is too costly to the real Tax Payers.

0 #28 jai persaud 2012-08-01 19:19
PPP sources confirm that not only is he the Chairman, he will soon be taking up a senior position in the cabinet. I hear Deputy PM.
Moses ramotar sounds bitter. But the man is brilliant and has the answers to GUYSUCO's problems.Watch in a few months.

0 #29 Bal Mohamed 2012-08-01 19:20
A lot of sour faces complaining about nothing.

0 #30 Motie 2012-08-01 19:22
I am AFc. I don't care but he is fixing the problems.Go Ramotar

0 #31 Joe Bloke 2012-08-01 20:30
This is demoralising to management of Guysuco. Raj Singh is a failure. The 5 billion dollar subvention will go down the drain. Nagas has to wise up the sugar workers. They are not benefiting from the subvention. Is the thieves and others.

Add comment

<form id="comments-form" name="comments-form">

<input id="comments-form-name" maxlength="100" name="name" size="22" tabindex="1" type="text" value="" /> <label for="comments-form-name">Name (required)</label>

<input id="comments-form-email" name="email" size="22" tabindex="2" type="text" value="" /> <label for="comments-form-email">E-mail (required, but will not display)</label>

<textarea cols="65" id="comments-form-comment" name="comment" rows="8" tabindex="5"></textarea>

10000 symbols left

<input class="checkbox" id="comments-form-subscribe" name="subscribe" tabindex="5" type="checkbox" value="1" /> <label for="comments-form-subscribe">Notify me of follow-up comments</label>

</form>

Donate via PayPal to Keep DemWaves Alive
<form action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post"><input alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!" name="submit" src="https://www.paypal.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_donate_SM.gif" type="image" /> </form>

Click your preferred player to listen to DemWaves Radio

listen with Window Media Player   listen with Winamp   listen with iTunes   listen with RealPlayer

Windows Media Player

Listen on your Blackberry

Play Webcast

Ads on: Special HTML
Subscribe to Receive Breaking News via E-mail.
Email: <input name="email" style="width: 125px; height: 23px; margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 1px solid #000000;" type="text" />

<input name="sub" src="http://www.demerarawaves.com/templates/demerara/images/subcription.gif" style="padding-top: 10px;" type="image" />

Icon 

30 Online

Contact Us

Top Pages (30)

AFC have to wise up the sugar workers and fellow Berbicians.

Good job there chief.

These hogs from the Pigs Pigs Pigs party, feeding off the trough must be exposed.

I doubt today the Sugar workers will place their faiths in your hands.  You don't have a political strategy, just an agenda and a lot driven by personal distaste for individuals within the PPP.  This is clearly not what the sugar workers want as we see what that leads to.

Raj SIngh is a dunce. He works as an admission clerk in an academic institution in Long Island, NY. This man has not expertise as a manager, much less CEO or Chairman of a corporation. He is communist in his thinking and does not believe in free market enterprise. How on earth can this burden be forced on the backs of the poorest people in Guyana - the cane cutters? THIS IS MORE THAN EYE PASS, RAS, THIS IS IT = GUYANESE MUST DENOUNCE THIS PPP AND ABANDON IT. MEMBERS OF THE PPP MUST RESIGN ENMASSE. PPP MEMBERS ARE DISGRACEFUL IF THEY REMAIN MEMBERS OF THE PPP WHICH IS EXPLOITING THE MASSES SHAMELESSLY. RESIGN OR FACE [censored] IN YOUR FACE AND DISGRACE FOREVER UPON YOU ALL AND YOUR CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN AND ALL FUTURE GENERATION OF PPP CURRENT LEADERSHIP....YOU ARE A BUNCH OF NASTY DISGRACEFUL DUNCES AND THE MOST STINKING CORRUPT LIARS AND THIEVES GUYANA HAS EVER KNOWN...GET OUT OR ELSE...

=================

I have always suspected that PAVI is Raj Singh. Pavi also works at CUNY but not in a teaching capacity.
Raj Singh works for Cuny full time. How on earth did he become Chairman of Guysuco. Raj Singh follows the Rat and Ramotar everywhere. Basically an ass kisser. Secondly I have flown with him to Guyana on many occasions. He does not fly coach he flies first class. Who is the PPP kidding here. Lets get his flight records from Delta. I know lots of people at Delta.
=======

There you go...Raj appears to be PAVI. Pavi which course yuh teaching in de fall bai? Hehe...

Well the PPP has some outstanding managers. Pavi of henny and poke cuttahs fame and Liz on Bank of Guyana and numerous other boards. Liz has a distinguished career in monetary policy. Hehe...

Good job there chief.

These hogs from the Pigs Pigs Pigs party, feeding off the trough must be exposed.

I doubt today the Sugar workers will place their faiths in your hands.  You don't have a political strategy, just an agenda and a lot driven by personal distaste for individuals within the PPP.  This is clearly not what the sugar workers want as we see what that leads to.

This is the unfairness that people get angry at. Look how many sugar workers risk their lives and go out there to cut cane. They could be bitten by snakes (just one example) When they work tireless hours hoping to take home a salary to feed their families only to be told that the company don't have money. The government supports all of this. This man is in ANOTHER COUNTRY spending GUYANESE MONEY IN ANOTHER COUNTRY while my fellow Guyanese suffer. Could this be fair??

The people know that they now have a voice thru the AFC.

Good job there chief.

The people know that they now have a voice thru the AFC.

They will answer you come next election.  The Lindeners did not vote for you, so who made you their "voice".  The GoG was talking with the PNC, whom 90% supported, on the matter.  The sugar workers did not give you a voice to go and instigate unrest.  They have their grievances, but don't see you as the answer either.

Ok...Mits...but my gut feeling still alerts me to ask Pavi this question:

Pavi...on what topic did you write your PhD dissertation. Post de title nuh? Can we look it up in ProQuest? Hehe...

I maintain, the entire gang of Freedom House must be canned. The General Secretary must be selected by the grass root voting PPP. That is the only salvation for ALL Guyanese.

The Jagans have left a rooten bunch in the PPP supporters house.