GuyExpo – Dr. Jagan’s dream takes wingPDFPrintE-mail
Written by   
Thursday, 27 September 2012 23:44

The dream of Dr. Cheddi Jagan to transform Guyana has been concretized by his followers, and is now taking wing; and this year’s GuyExpo is a microcosm of the social development and economic growth that is catapulting Guyana onto the world stage, through various initiatives that are pioneering new programmes.

alt

Ministers of the Government and other officials bow their heads for the Universal Prayer

The premiere trade and exposition fair in Guyana and the Caribbean has now become a calendar event.
Begun in 1994, GuyExpo has come a long way; and central to this year’s theme is the vision of former President of Guyana, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo, for the transformation of this country, beautifully displayed in the Exposition.
Acting Minister of Tourism, Irfaan Alli, expressed the expectation that GuyExpo 2012 will now attract several
alt

Members of the Diplomatic Corps stand for the Universal Prayer

international buyers and sellers, with the potential of creating lucrative business opportunities for locals.
GuyExpo has attracted and registered in excess of 150 overseas investors, coming from CARICOM nations and various other countries like Brazil, Barbados, China, India, Canada and the United States. The finer details so far show that some 400 micro, medium and large-scale businesses have already registered.
alt

The Universal Prayer is read.

alt

Co-MC Derrick Cummings, Acting Minister of Tourism Irfaan Ali, Prime Minister Samuel Hinds and Mrs. Yvonne Hinds, and newly-elected Head of the Private Sector, Ronald Webster.

THE FATHER OF OUR DEAR LAND. GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN. HE WILL ALWAYS GUIDE US AND INSPIRE US. MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE. MAY HIS WISDOM, INSPIRATION AND IDEALS GUIDE OUR BELOVED LEADER PRESIDENT RAMOTAR.

Originally Posted by DeTrini_Eric:

concretized is this a Real word?

concretizedpast participle, past tense of con·cre·tize

Verb:
Make (an idea or concept) real; give specific or definite form to: "the theme park is an attempt to concretize our fantasies".

One day when I got some time, I'll teach ya how to use a dictionary.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Salute to our fallen Hero 

ONLY 1800 views on Youtube, I did'nt even bother to watch 1 minute of it, catch him he is still Falling........

You want somebody concrete (ize) your shoes an throw yo rass in a lake nuh.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Salute to our fallen Hero 

ONLY 1800 views on Youtube, I did'nt even bother to watch 1 minute of it, catch him he is still Falling........

You want somebody concrete (ize) your shoes an throw yo rass in a lake nuh.

concretized is this a Real word?

concretizedpast participle, past tense of con·cre·tize

Verb:
Make (an idea or concept) real; give specific or definite form to: "the theme park is an attempt to concretize our fantasies".

One day when I got some time, I'll teach ya how to use a dictionary.

Correct Bhai Cain. Teach am good you know. Na like dem night bus teacha.

Foreign visitors to GuyExpo indicate strong investment interestsPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Chriseana Ramrekha   
Monday, 01 October 2012 22:10

SOME foreign investors visiting Guyana for GuyExpo 2012 have expressed strong interest in investing in the country.
Among those who spoke to the Guyana Chronicle about their desire to import several of the local products were members of a 15-strong delegation from New York in the United States (U.S.).

One of them is the Chief Executive Officer of Dave West Indian Imports, Mr. Dave Narine, who said he has been p

alt

Acting Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, Mr. Irfaan Ali (first from right) with some members of the New York Delegation.

articipating in GuyExpo since its inception and seen significant improvement over the years.
His company is a wholesale importer and distributor of Guyanese foodstuff and, according to him; they also import utensils such as the ‘belna’ and ‘chowkie.’
He said he works with all the major companies in Guyana, including Banks DIH and Demerara Distillers Limited (DDL), as well as the small scale farmers, as he is trying to facilitate everyone.
His imports to New York are ‘achar’, casareep and pepper sauce, which are distributed across the U.S. through stores and retail supermarkets.
alt

Mahmood Patel, owner of Ocean Spray Beach Apartments in Barbados

President of Shri’s Draperies Incorporated, in New York, Mr. Shree Harbajan said he is looking to import furniture from Guyana, particularly those made from bamboo.
He has already begun negotiations with a very reputable company and plans to open a custom made furniture and drapery business where the merchandise will be made here and exported.

TIMBER AND FRUITS
Another investor, owner of Ocean Spray beach apartments in Barbados, Mr. Mahmood Patel said he has a strong interest in Guyana’s timber and fruits.

alt

Kwhame Gittens, member of the Central Florida Chamber of Commerce

He said the Guyanese fruits are of better quality than those in Barbados and taste better. He said Guyana is known for mass timber production and he is ready to make an investment in it.
“Barbados and the rest of the small islands in the Caribbean don’t really produce timber and Guyana is known for making really good hardwood and we would like to explore that some more,” Patel said.
He said he has already established several contacts and will soon be coming back to negotiate further in this regard.
“I came looking at timber production and I made some really good contacts, so far. I was looking at fruits and vegetables and also looking into buying fish products or sea foods,” Patel said.
However, he anticipated some challenges in exporting those products to Barbados but, once those are resolved, business should be in full swing.
He said, with issues like certification and standards resolved, he would be looking in that direction.
“Like pineapple, watermelon, citrus, papaw and those kinds of fruits would be perfect,” Patel identified.
Meanwhile, Mr. Kwhame Gittens, of Central Florida Chamber of Commerce, who also came to GuyExpo to find new investment opportunities, said he has since been in talks with Barama Company Limited.
He said that he will be looking at timber exports from Guyana to Jamaica where he owns a company.
Gittens said GuyExpo 2012 was a good initiative and more local businesses should have participated so that more partnership could have been formed.
“I think it’s good. I think we could have had some more stalls but I think it was good. The more vendors you encourage, the more investors will come to do business for export,” he offered.
Gittens said, in Guyana, he has an interest in buying food products to provide the large Guyanese diaspora back home.
“I would want to export food into Jamaica where I have a trading company. There’s a large Guyanese diaspora in Florida and they want their achar and Indian madras curry and they want the Banks beer,” he disclosed.
Foreign visitors to GuyExpo indicate strong investment interestsPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Chriseana Ramrekha   
Monday, 01 October 2012 22:10

SOME foreign investors visiting Guyana for GuyExpo 2012 have expressed strong interest in investing in the country.
Among those who spoke to the Guyana Chronicle about their desire to import several of the local products were members of a 15-strong delegation from New York in the United States (U.S.).

One of them is the Chief Executive Officer of Dave West Indian Imports, Mr. Dave Narine, who said he has been p

alt

Acting Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, Mr. Irfaan Ali (first from right) with some members of the New York Delegation.

articipating in GuyExpo since its inception and seen significant improvement over the years.
His company is a wholesale importer and distributor of Guyanese foodstuff and, according to him; they also import utensils such as the ‘belna’ and ‘chowkie.’
He said he works with all the major companies in Guyana, including Banks DIH and Demerara Distillers Limited (DDL), as well as the small scale farmers, as he is trying to facilitate everyone.
His imports to New York are ‘achar’, casareep and pepper sauce, which are distributed across the U.S. through stores and retail supermarkets.
alt

Mahmood Patel, owner of Ocean Spray Beach Apartments in Barbados

President of Shri’s Draperies Incorporated, in New York, Mr. Shree Harbajan said he is looking to import furniture from Guyana, particularly those made from bamboo.
He has already begun negotiations with a very reputable company and plans to open a custom made furniture and drapery business where the merchandise will be made here and exported.

TIMBER AND FRUITS
Another investor, owner of Ocean Spray beach apartments in Barbados, Mr. Mahmood Patel said he has a strong interest in Guyana’s timber and fruits.

alt

Kwhame Gittens, member of the Central Florida Chamber of Commerce

He said the Guyanese fruits are of better quality than those in Barbados and taste better. He said Guyana is known for mass timber production and he is ready to make an investment in it.
“Barbados and the rest of the small islands in the Caribbean don’t really produce timber and Guyana is known for making really good hardwood and we would like to explore that some more,” Patel said.
He said he has already established several contacts and will soon be coming back to negotiate further in this regard.
“I came looking at timber production and I made some really good contacts, so far. I was looking at fruits and vegetables and also looking into buying fish products or sea foods,” Patel said.
However, he anticipated some challenges in exporting those products to Barbados but, once those are resolved, business should be in full swing.
He said, with issues like certification and standards resolved, he would be looking in that direction.
“Like pineapple, watermelon, citrus, papaw and those kinds of fruits would be perfect,” Patel identified.
Meanwhile, Mr. Kwhame Gittens, of Central Florida Chamber of Commerce, who also came to GuyExpo to find new investment opportunities, said he has since been in talks with Barama Company Limited.
He said that he will be looking at timber exports from Guyana to Jamaica where he owns a company.
Gittens said GuyExpo 2012 was a good initiative and more local businesses should have participated so that more partnership could have been formed.
“I think it’s good. I think we could have had some more stalls but I think it was good. The more vendors you encourage, the more investors will come to do business for export,” he offered.
Gittens said, in Guyana, he has an interest in buying food products to provide the large Guyanese diaspora back home.
“I would want to export food into Jamaica where I have a trading company. There’s a large Guyanese diaspora in Florida and they want their achar and Indian madras curry and they want the Banks beer,” he disclosed.
After visiting GuyExpo… Barbadian entrepreneur upbeat about business with GuyanesePDFPrintE-mail
Written by Nadine Sanchara   
Tuesday, 02 October 2012 22:01

A BARBADIAN entrepreneur, Mr. Jeffrey Batson, who visited for GuyExpo 2012, said he has had a very productive experience exploring opportunities to import fresh produce, particularly watermelons, pineapples and bananas, to his native island.

alt

Jeffrey Batson, one of the Caribbean entrepreneurs visiting GuyExpo 2012 from Barbados

He said he did not know there are different types of bananas in Guyana but learnt about the Cayenne, sweet fig and apple varieties, which he said are all unheard of in Barbados.
“We’re only accustomed to the regular banana that is served and consumed by most tourists and Barbadians alike,” Batson confessed.
He said he is very excited at the prospect of having the variety available in Barbados, as he believes both tourists and Barbadian natives will enjoy them.
Batson, who said he has been a consultant in the hospitality business for the last twenty years, said he was here because he found a niche.
Having seen Guyana as an extension of the Caribbean, he also said he sees an opportunity for a place with the size and vast resources that has wonderful and hard working people who can produce exports to an island where the main source of revenue is tourism.
“I think it’s an excellent opportunity for Guyana. I think the Guyana Marketing Corporation (GMC) is doing an excellent job in ensuring that the products are of quality and that the standards for exportation are met,” Batson said.
In addition to visiting the trade fair and exposition, he said he also had a chance to attend some of the forums that were convened, in particular the Business Forum, where he was able to connect with  executives and members of the Guyana Manufacturing and Services Association (GMSA) and Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry (GCCI).

DISCUSS IDEAS
Batson said the event provided the overseas entrepreneurs, business organisations and Private Sector the occasion to meet other stakeholders to discuss ideas.
He was also able to make contact with some of the farmers he is likely to involve in business transactions and they visited him at the house where he was staying and took fresh bananas, which he was allowed to sample.
Batson plans to purchase significant amounts of pineapple, watermelon and oranges for hotels in Barbados.
He and the President of the Canada/Caribbean Business Council, Mr. Bali Singh, together with consultant Ms. Sandra Baptiste, toured BM Enterprise seafood facilities at East Bank Demerara and said, on his next visit, he would be examining the possibility of exporting shrimp to Barbados for the hotels.
Batson said he had a very productive meeting with Agriculture Minister, Dr. Leslie Ramsammy and General Manager of GMC, Mr. Nizam Hassan about the logistics of moving produce to Barbados, standards and quality control.
Batson was invited to attend GuyExpo by Sandra Baptiste and this is the first time he has attended and it certainly would not be the last.
He lauded the organisation of the event as outstanding and praised Baptiste’s input, noting that all the events were well supported, mainly arranged meetings with suppliers, where the presentations and the speakers were all well organised in terms of putting over the information, whether it be a new product or a vision for Guyana and the rest of the Caribbean.

NOTIFIED FARMERS
Batson is already making plans for the importation of the fresh produce and notified farmers of the quantities he requires and those quantities have also been related to the Ministry of Agriculture and regional airline LIAT, which will be instrumental in moving them from Guyana.
He said among the persons he was able to meet was  LIAT`s Cargo Director, Mr. Wilbur Edwards, who flew in from Antigua and Barbuda for the Business Forum to discuss arrangements for shipping fresh produce to Barbados and other Caribbean islands.
Batson announced that he is returning to Guyana in about three weeks to actually go into the farms and meet some of the planters to discuss arrangements for packaging.
He said he is very upbeat about doing business with Guyana and has been assured by Minister Ramsammy that Guyana can meet the standards and criteria set for exporting to Barbados.

Conscience, I was taught never to argue with success, and here you're called an idiot just for bringing good news from a thriving nation. Is this a rational justification for success or success is not a meaningful word in their vocabulary?

He was being an idiot for posting things over and over, not because of the reason of his post but you are an arsehole to figure that out. Again I had to bring that to your attn.(being an Arse hole I meant)