No offense to your thinking. Are you advocating a promiscuous type of society? Do the women give out samples to find out who is right for her? How many men would take samples and not buy?

We gaffa know if furniture fit before we move into lil house.

Maybe with your small furniture and a small house, there should not be any problem.

Tent and camping cot?

Riff posted:

SK

What makes you think that samples are not given out now?

How many samples would you test before you buy? As a father, I would not want my daughter to give out samples to Tom, Dick, and Harry.

Unfortunately or fortunately, what someone wants as a father and what the child wants don't always mesh....(not talking about you, just a general statement)

antabanta posted:

There's a basic concept that most people have a hard time understanding. A woman is free to share or not share her punany to whomever she pleases, same way a man runs around. It's the woman's body just as it's the man's. Whoever dislikes it can just move on. Anger is a control mechanism that's grossly misused, especially in a case like this.

Men and women who think this way should not enter into a serious relationship or get married.

True, but takes two people to get married, not one. Person A should know Person B before jumping the broom, or get out as soon as things don't look right. You can't kill someone because they don't conform to your standards of behavior.

No offense to your thinking. Are you advocating a promiscuous type of society? Do the women give out samples to find out who is right for her? How many men would take samples and not buy?

Absolutely not. But if a woman is promiscuous that is her business and she should not be belittled, bad-mouthed, beaten, or killed. I will rethink this when promiscuous men suffer the same belittling, bad-mouth, and violence. Are these men who sample not promiscuous? Why is that okay? How is it that you can entertain the thought of men taking samples from a promiscuous woman without noting that these men ARE promiscuous?

How low has the bar become?  If that’s what anyone wants, man or woman, then don’t get married and have kids.  Whatever happened to the sacred vow a couple takes at marriage.  When you commit to another, your business do become each other’s.  You have kids, obligations and a social/moral contract.  If this is the standard of the Guyanese community, well it’s sinful, sodom and Gomorrah!  Only death and destruction can follow!!

Bullshit, as a man I will NOT take CRAP!!! If I find out you are screwing around, it is TIME UP. Pack fuh friggin Grip and get friggin LOST, PERIOD!!!!

Unfortunately, that’s not the way it goes, unless you live in Utah or Ireland or Iran.  She will still get the kids, house, family car and assets and you will be sent packing and have to pay up.  She can then move in her sweet man in your house, with your kids and be screwing him in your bed and you have to pay.  When faced with this reality, some guys react the way this guy did!   This happens all the time and women know they never lose so they hardly care!

Banna, you have to know how to train your Dragon!!  I will respect the Judge order BUT will not be around a Cutnie!!!!

I Have no idea what you mean!! Don’t know why these guys go hook up and bring over women from Guyana.   He was living his Happy go lucky life, why he go and complicate it with wife and Pickney beats me.  Now look what happen!

How low has the bar become?  If that’s what anyone wants, man or woman, then don’t get married and have kids.  Whatever happened to the sacred vow a couple takes at marriage.  When you commit to another, your business do become each other’s.  You have kids, obligations and a social/moral contract.  If this is the standard of the Guyanese community, well it’s sinful, sodom and Gomorrah!  Only death and destruction can follow!!

The sanctity of marriage isn't the issue. The issue is the biased norms that makes a man thinks it's okay to kill a woman for infidelity but okay for a man to run around. The issue is the brutality that women face daily at the hands of men for daring to disobey and for not conforming to the man's standard of behavior. The level of immoral behavior is defined by the society and is treated by the same society in such a way as to leave no doubt about the immorality. However, the treatment must stop short of violence against the "perpetrator." That is the issue we're dealing with.

Perhaps the women on the forum can shed some light on their perspective since I have no emotional stake other than no man can put their hands on the females in my family other than to defend himself. My argument is strictly objective.

Base, what I mean is you have to make it very clear at the beginning that you are a no no nonsense Chap and define your guidelines clearly. This Banna nah gun Babysit children while the other half gone clubbing with "Friends", just one example!!!  When I landed at JFK I made sure I stamped both feed hard into the ground):

Bai, you funny. All I can say, count your blessings!!

antabanta posted:

The sanctity of marriage isn't the issue. The issue is the biased norms that makes a man thinks it's okay to kill a woman for infidelity but okay for a man to run around. The issue is the brutality that women face daily at the hands of men for daring to disobey and for not conforming to the man's standard of behavior. The level of immoral behavior is defined by the society and is treated by the same society in such a way as to leave no doubt about the immorality. However, the treatment must stop short of violence against the "perpetrator." That is the issue we're dealing with.

Perhaps the women on the forum can shed some light on their perspective since I have no emotional stake other than no man can put their hands on the females in my family other than to defend himself. My argument is strictly objective.

You are equating men and women screwing around outside the marriage.   I don’t see the moral equivalent.  If both parties respect the marriage vows, this will not happen.   That is why you marry.   If you cannot respect, then live open and don’t have kids. It’s the kids who suffer the most.  And they never signed up for anything!

Agreed.

What happens if one party breaks the marriage contract? Is it okay for the man to break the contract and not okay for the woman?

antabanta posted:

Agreed.

What happens if one party breaks the marriage contract? Is it okay for the man to break the contract and not okay for the woman?

It’s wrong for either party to break the vows.  The vows hold equal to both.

One important thing is not debated, the man was a blasted Drunk ,just maybe he couldn't satisfy his young bride .

You seem to suggest promiscuity as the route when there is discord.  You assume some type of impotence, but she had two kids in quick succession.  Something don’t make sense!

i find it so surprising at the callous approach to marital commitment among the community.  I hope it’s more the thinking on this board than the wider community!

Vish M posted:

It was heard at the husband's wake that the girl used to "Hangout late with other Guys and then would come home and tell the husband"

I posted this statement on FB and many of the Female activists  "attacked me" as though this was my statement and my justification.

You're a despicable piece of excrement and to think that you call yourself a community activist is just mind boggling.

antabanta posted:

Agreed.

It’s wrong for either party to break the vows.  The vows hold equal to both.

Agreed but current norm is to punish the woman more than the man. Look at the brutality women in Guyana suffer at the hands of men.

One important thing is not debated, the man was a blasted Drunk ,just maybe he couldn't satisfy his young bride .

You seem to suggest promiscuity as the route when there is discord.  You assume some type of impotence, but she had two kids in quick succession.  Something don’t make sense!

i find it so surprising at the callous approach to marital commitment among the community.  I hope it’s more the thinking on this board than the wider community!

Being a drunk is acceptable, constantly beating his wife when drunk is OK? The old Indo Guyanese culture  is,  man work go out and drink then come home and expect wife to be prim and ready for whatever he wants, that was 50 years ago. With television and education, women are now equal, they can have a good job and still be a wife and a mother, but the man remains an abuser/drunk.

I don't condone promiscuity, Vish throws a piece of dutty meat and run, now everybody believes the liar.A story has Three sides, his side ,her side and the Correct Side.

Vish M posted:

It was heard at the husband's wake that the girl used to "Hangout late with other Guys and then would come home and tell the husband"

I posted this statement on FB and many of the Female activists  "attacked me" as though this was my statement and my justification.

You're a despicable piece of excrement and to think that you call yourself a community activist is just mind boggling.

It provides a possible motive for the killing, even if rumor. Sometimes hearsay is valuable, look how hearsay brought down the ppp and yet today not a single ppp jailed for corruption. 

The story of this topic is that Vinny Looknauth killed his wife Stacy Singh just after witnessing the beginning of the new year. Without knowing why he may have done so, the conclusion was that it was not his right to take another person's life. Now the suggestion was raised that Stacy was a party girl who used to throw her party ways in Vinny's face. No one knows how true this is but even if it was true, the conclusion  will still remain that it was not his right to take her life. People fall in and out of love all the time and not matter how much a person has put in that marriage, they still have to cut their losses if that is what they have to do. Me and my wife will be celebrating our 30th anniversary next Wednesday and while it has not been milk and honey for every second during that 30 years, it is still going strong. I have known my wife now for 34 years and have never hit her. That is not a brag because that is how I think it should be. We have had moments of disagreements and contention but it has never gotten physical. If this woman chose a different path, Looknauth would have been wiser to seek a divorce and let the chips fall where they may. In the end, he and Stacy would still be alive and the kids would still have both parents that they can look toward whenever they need to.

Being a drunk is acceptable, constantly beating his wife when drunk is OK? The old Indo Guyanese culture  is,  man work go out and drink then come home and expect wife to be prim and ready for whatever he wants, that was 50 years ago. With television and education, women are now equal, they can have a good job and still be a wife and a mother, but the man remains an abuser/drunk.

I don't condone promiscuity, Vish throws a piece of dutty meat and run, now everybody believes the liar.A story has Three sides, his side ,her side and the Correct Side.

I don’t see the connection between what I wrote are your response.   The real victims are two orphans.   This is what an eye for an eye produces.

on the old Indo Guyanese culture, well that might have been your vantage point, was not mine.  Such behavior was fringe in my world.  Maybe that’s why we see it differently!

anyway I don’t know the people so I will not judge who right and who wrong, but two people dead and two kids orphaned.    That’s the bottom line!

The story of this topic is that Vinny Looknauth killed his wife Stacy Singh just after witnessing the beginning of the new year. Without knowing why he may have done so, the conclusion was that it was not his right to take another person's life. Now the suggestion was raised that Stacy was a party girl who used to throw her party ways in Vinny's face. No one knows how true this is but even if it was true, the conclusion  will still remain that it was not his right to take her life. People fall in and out of love all the time and not matter how much a person has put in that marriage, they still have to cut their losses if that is what they have to do. Me and my wife will be celebrating our 30th anniversary next Wednesday and while it has not been milk and honey for every second during that 30 years, it is still going strong. I have known my wife now for 34 years and have never hit her. That is not a brag because that is how I think it should be. We have had moments of disagreements and contention but it has never gotten physical. If this woman chose a different path, Looknauth would have been wiser to seek a divorce and let the chips fall where they may. In the end, he and Stacy would still be alive and the kids would still have both parents that they can look toward whenever they need to.

Happy anniversary and congratulations to you and your wife.  Keep the fire burning.

I’m happy for you my friend.  Good to hear and congrats!

Happy anniversary and congratulations to you and your wife.  Keep the fire burning.

Thanks Bibi. Interestingly that fire has been burning much brighter lately. The girl is about to about to graduate and move on to her professional studies. The boy is now in high school and doesn't need us 24/7 so we have a lot of time for us and it is pretty darn enjoyable. I must admit that when the kids were little, we forwent quite a bit of together time so we can dedicate that attention to them. Now we are ready to cash in on that sacrifice. 

Thanks Base. Now because we are still sick as dogs, we may have a quiet anniversary but will definitely secure a raincheck for later in the spring. Can't go anywhere while we are still coughing up our guts. People around us may not like it. 

You still suffering?  Me too, coughing all the time. Tried to see my doctor, but she down with flu too!😁.  

I am hearing that the deceased woman's children are orphaned, but as far as I know, they are with the sister who is taking full care of them. I know it's difficult, but with time everything will be normal. They are many cases like this in Richmond Hill, and people are helping as much as they could. I thought Bibi said she know these people and her recent post indicated she doesn't know them. Woman, you don't lie to sound off on false information. If you don't know something it wouldn't hurt you to say you don't know diddly squat. 

Regardless of who's taking care of them, they're still orphans.