Guyanese in Schenectady thank coalition for consular services

Guyanese-born John Mootooveren, Schenectady council member, presents Consul General Barbara Atherly with a certificate of appreciation after a successful outreach program at the Phyllis Bornt Branch Library and Literacy Center in Schenectady.

City Council Member John Mootooveren, a Guyanese who immigrated to Schenectady, New York, with an influx of nationals seeking affording housing and opportunity, praised Guyana’s Coalition government for making it possible for the Guyana Consulate to conduct outreach programs where some 10,000 compatriots reside.

“Despite numerous requests for consular services in Schenectady before 2015, under the previous government, we never received the help needed help in the community, to obtain documents.”

“Fortunately, in 2016, we got approval from the consulate under the new Coalition government who approved the first outreach to Guyanese here,” said the council member.

“As soon as the government changed, we were able to tap into the services and have the consular staff travel to Schenectady to service citizens.”

Mootooveren, a project accountant, who left Queens, New York in 2000 and purchased his first house a year after, was instrumental in organizing the first outreach in 2016.

“I want to commend Mr. Monroe and Deputy Consul General Mrs. Hamer and her staff, for the successful outreach, which was in demand,” said Mootooveren, adding that the burden was lifted from the elderly who were forced to travel three-hours to Manhattan for consular services.

The community leader who welcomed newly appointed Consul General Barbara Atherly and staff on April 22, last, for a second outreach, called the day of service a total success, where close to 200 nationals showed up at the Phyllis Bornt Branch Library and Literacy Center to apply for passports, life certificates and birth certificates, among other documents.

With the help of flyer distribution in West Indian restaurants, churches and the community, many benefited from the outreach program, said Mootooveren, who in 2006, started addressing concerns raised by his fellow countryfolk, whom he added, revitalized the once cash-strapped Schenectady.

“Guyanese made an impact in the Schenectady economy that was struggling financially, due to the high tax rate in the housing market.”

“Because of Guyanese, who immigrated there in droves 17 years ago, bought houses and opened businesses, the state economy is now booming,” said Mootooveren.

At the end of the outreach program, Mootooveren presented CG Barbara Atherly with a certificate of appreciation once again, expressing thanks to the Guyana Coalition government for making consular services possible for Guyanese in Schenectady.

“We welcome it and we appreciate it and look forward to working with the consulate for future programs,” he added.

Reiterating its efforts to extend services beyond the walls of the Consulate in New York City, Athlery said the consulate was pleased to conduct the second Community Outreach Program in Schenectady, to reach out to Guyanese Diaspora in New York and its environs, to heighten their awareness and understanding of the services offered by the consulate as well as to discuss the needs of the Guyanese community.

The staff of the consulate, she said, processed 105 passport applications as well as several birth certificates and life certificates. A mini exhibition of Guyanese literature was also on display at the Library and Literacy Center.

Atherly accepted a certificate on behalf of the consulate in appreciation for the services rendered to the Guyanese population of Schenectady County.

“The outreach program was spearheaded by Mr. John Mootooveren. Those in attendance were appreciative of the service and requested that we visit Schenectady on a regular basis,” added CG Atherly.

Not being political, what wrong with consular services in Schenectady?  It is a fact that there are lots of first gen Guyanese living there.  I know few and they do need services.  The have to come all the way to NYC for anything!

Not so much of a ghetto.  More of a ghost town.  Not much to do. The Gov't had given very low cost houses and many low income people, and single mothers, etc took up residence there.  Many have moved back from where they came from.  Lots of Guyanese were among those who moved there.  

So you are saying that the slop can carrier making a big hoopla over nothing with this announcement?

How does the people there feel?  I still struggle to understand what the issue is, big or small!  I'm not taking a PPP vs PNC side, I just don't understand what is wrong!

Drugb, explain what is wrong!

ba$eman posted:

Not being political, what wrong with consular services in Schenectady?  It is a fact that there are lots of first gen Guyanese living there.  I know few and they do need services.  The have to come all the way to NYC for anything!

Base, dem boys seh you wore your nightcap when posting this. True?

And dem gurls seh you wear your flophat when praising PPP. 

Tell dem you're not being politically partisan; just being a true patriot.

Just bein' Druggie is what's wrong....he always on e period.

Those who are yapping are not in need of these services.  Why don't we ask the 200 or so people who turned up for services if it was worth it!

ba$eman posted:

Base, dem boys seh you wore your nightcap when posting this. True?

And dem gurls seh you wear your flophat when praising PPP. 

Tell dem you're not being politically partisan; just being a true patriot.

I'm not praising or criticizing anyone, I'm just saying it's good for the people up there.  I still don't know what is so wrong!  Could anyone tell me, forget politics!

On the night cap or whatever, banna, my IQ is just too high to subscribe to the lowest political common denominator.  People should learn to engage their brains before engaging their loose lips!  Then they will spend less time arguing their way out of dead-end positions!

Winston Felix had ordered 300,000 "high tech" birth certificates.  So now it's time to disseminate them.  Meanwhile, people who live in Guyana have to wait months to get a birth certificate.  Keep your eyes on this rigging machine!!  

This is all a bunch of PNC bullshit!  There are much larger Guyanese communities who getting nothing from these political wannabes!

Is Schenectady a PNC stronghold?

Why all this anger at the people of Schenectady?

Are there Guyana consular services you are not getting?

If so, then you need to lobby just like they did.

If not, then on whose behalf you arguing, who are these "larger communities" needing consular services?

How long have they been deprived?

Why have their cries not been heard all this time?

Who represent them?

Have they stopped getting services since 2015?

ba$eman posted:

This is all a bunch of PNC bullshit!  There are much larger Guyanese communities who getting nothing from these political wannabes!

If not, then on whose behalf you arguing, who are these "larger communities" needing consular services?

Who represent them?

Ask your PNC friends.  They will give you all of those answers!  And BTW, I am not a lobbyist!  

Winston Felix had ordered 300,000 "high tech" birth certificates.  So now it's time to disseminate them.  Meanwhile, people who live in Guyana have to wait months to get a birth certificate.  Keep your eyes on this rigging machine!!  

We all know that, it's obvious, the risk and their plan.  Any high school kid could see thru that!  The question is how do they operationalise/execute it and how does/can the PPP mitigate these known risks.

The PPP is already in high gear on the ground registering and documenting their base.

How is the PPP in high gear registering and documenting their base?  I have not seen any evidence of this.  All passports, IDs, and birth certificates are property of the Newly created Ministry of Citizenship.  The PPP has no access to any of this.

Those people in the pic above are among the ones who have access!

ba$eman posted:

Who represent them?

Ask your PNC friends.  They will give you all of those answers!  And BTW, I am not a lobbyist!  

I don't have PNC friends......except Caribj.

It's you who is screaming and foaming up about these deprived "large communities".  It's for you to provide the evidence!

If you are not a lobbyist, then what are you representing?

How is the PPP in high gear registering and documenting their base?  I have not seen any evidence of this.  All passports, IDs, and birth certificates are property of the Newly created Ministry of Citizenship.  The PPP has no access to any of this.

Those people in the pic above are among the ones who have access!

because you don't know don't mean it ain't so.  You just have no clue what's going on right now in Guyana, none.  Baseman is connected with Guyanese in Guyana and knows what's going on!

You are totally clueless.  Who are you connected to and what is going on?

Well, that's for me to know and you to find out.  Besides, you scream too much to ever hear much of anything!

And BTW, some of the questions I raised above, they are specifically for you to answer, not the PNC!  Re-read!

Oi man how come I ask Bibi about the two questions yet to be answered on the Charity theft thread and you want one right away. Look yeh she will get back to you when she done with those two, that is, if she hasnt lost interest in the conversation. She does do that when she get ketch.

Some people go to Schenectady for services.

I remember someone saying that Schenectady was a ghetto. Is that true?

Skelly

Just back from my new summer weekend getaway, Niskayuna, NY. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niskayuna,_New_York

It all depends where in Schenectady, NY you are talking about. America has ghettos in a lot of places and it is an American secret. I traveled the USA a lot and I love it but racism and poverty is what shocks me when I visit certain places. 

I have been visiting Schenectady for over ten years now and to define it as a ghetto is an unfair statement. I have a friend who owns over 40 apartments which he rents out and he is doing quite well.

Guyanese were lured to a depressed Schenectady a while back and like all progressive people, they have transformed certain neighbourhoods and some houses are 1000 times better than what I say in NYC.

Yes, there is poverty and crime like everywhere else in the USA, but this place is on an uprise. I relative of mine just sold a couple of houses for around $ 100,000 each for which they had bought for $ 10,000 each back then.

I have seen new hotels, a new casino, a new Home depot, a new walmart, old buildings being torn down for new modern buildings. I have seen new temples and mosques. I see Guyanese driving expensive cars and living a very good life there. Why should Guyanese in NYC pay another Guyanese  slum landlord $ 1500 for a lil one or two bedroom apartment when they can own a house and live a very comfortable life in Schenectady ?

It is an excellent starter place for new American Guyanese rather being trapped in NYC paying other Guyanese slum landlord $ 1500 - 2,000 for a disgustingly small one or two bedroom apartment.

There are pockets where African American lives which are like ghetto, crime and drugs. It is no fault of theirs as government after government have left them behind. It bothers me to see the pain in their eyes and the desperation. But they are also slowly digging out.

I visited a Home Depot and was shocked to see so many Guyanese purchasing building materials and speaking "Berbice English" as they tear down and build beautiful houses. I see a whole new generation of Guyanese in Schenectady making good of their lives. They are also gainfully employed. Many in the medical sector, from ordinary of high profile positions.

I would like to see my fellow Guyanese stop beating up on Schenectady and see for themselves. Yes, some of the Guyanese who returned to NCY prefer the city life and felt it was not for them.

I like Schenectady and I encourage my fellow Guyanese to stop posting "dem boys seh" about it. 

Yuji22

I like Schenectady and I encourage my fellow Guyanese to stop posting "dem boys seh" about it. 

Yuji22 

Okay yuji22, I'll comply. Thanks for your informed take on Schenectady.

Most of the Guyanese living in Schenectady are of East Indian descent.  Most of them are doing relatively well vs. how they would have been doing living in NYC.  Wages are generally low but so is the cost of living.  Many have found jobs with the state and others have been able to work on jobs paying above the minimum wage. The low cost of housing is what make a hell of difference. 

It's not a bad idea to provide passport services to residents in the city.  I just hope the costs of providing such service does not become a burden. With online services available today the government should have explored that option to see how they can better serve Schenectady and save money.

Do you really believe all of the lies you write here? Why would Felix choose an area that is predominantly Indian to hand out birth certificates for the purpose of rigging? Unless he's rigging for the PPP. Additionally, there is a minimal waiting period now for birth certificates in Guyana. It's not like PPP days when you had to wait for months and bribe someone to get it. You can easily pick up a birth certificate within a week. I was able to obtain one in about four days during a recent trip to Guyana. 

Most of the Guyanese living in Schenectady are of East Indian descent.  Most of them are doing relatively well vs. how they would have been doing living in NYC.  Wages are generally low but so is the cost of living.  Many have found jobs with the state and others have been able to work on jobs paying above the minimum wage. The low cost of housing is what make a hell of difference. 

It's not a bad idea to provide passport services to residents in the city.  I just hope the costs of providing such service does not become a burden. With online services available today the government should have explored that option to see how they can better serve Schenectady and save money.

Friends of ours sold their house and moved up there a few years ago. Low wages are one of the main problems. The husband used to drive down and work for a taxi service in Richmond Hill on the weekends.

Yuji22 

Okay yuji22, I'll comply. Thanks for your informed take on Schenectady.

Thank You brother Gil.

As for the political argument, I am no friend of the PNC but let us give credit where credit is due.

Quote from the article:

“Despite numerous requests for consular services in Schenectady before 2015, under the previous government, we never received the help needed help in the community, to obtain documents.”

“Fortunately, in 2016, we got approval from the consulate under the new Coalition government who approved the first outreach to Guyanese here,” said the council member."

I see nothing wrong here, in fact most Guyanese in Schenectady are Indo Guyanese who will benefit.

Some of our PPP boys became too big for their pants. I remember during the PPP days, I went to the Canadian Consulate to assist a Guyanese relative who's passport had expired and he had to travel for an emergency to Guyana.

The head of the consulate brushed passed me ignoring me and forgot that I was shoulder to shoulder with him braving the Canadian cold in Ottawa protesting for free and fair elections in Guyana.

Again, I am no friend of the PNC but I always give jack his jacket.

How about APNU,do you think they can be your friend ??

What is the difference between PNC and APNU? Is APNU a PNC pig with lipstick?

That's what you came up with after researching ??

or is it the kinky hair ?

Neva, neva, never. Knowing yuji22, I'm sure he will say that. yuji22 was among the first in this forum to dismiss APNU as a Burnhamite clone, saying APNU was essentially PNC Part 2.