Guyanese born longtime County Legislator Leslyn McBean Clairborne declared her intentions to run for re-election by way of an open letter to the City of Ithaca and the media. A member of the county legislature more than 16 years, she represents a large portion of the City of Ithaca on the Legislature and serves as the Executive Director of the Greater Ithaca Activities Center.

Clairborne was asked about herself and she proudly stated that she is originally from Guyana in South America … I came to the United States in 1989 to visit my mother who had already immigrated here. She was here for about five years. My mom was my best friend and she left, she left just before I graduated from high school to come to a U.S., as a matter of fact she was on her way to Canada for better opportunity, my mom is a nurse…She was a physician’s assistant and I came to visit her with a permanent visa. I was teaching, I’m a teacher by profession.

However, when asked how and why she decided to become a legislator she stated, Well I came from a socialist, communist country. I knew nothing about Democrats or Republicans or what any of that the stuff was about, or Green, or any of it. There was a friend of mine who held the legislature seat that I eventually got into…I was working at the community dispute resolution center … I’m sitting in my office listening to the radio, like I always did, and on the radio it said that Susan Davis has had to resign her legislature seat because she moved to Syracuse… I was on her vacancy committee.

Although Guyana is far from a communist country, it is possible that Clairborne is referencing the one socialist paragraph in the Guyanese constitution which states, “Convinced that the organisation of the State and society on socialist principles is the only means of ensuring social and economic justice for all of the people of Guyana; and, therefore, being motivated and guided by the principles of socialism”.

Guyana Press 

Well she is not far from correct. Under the PNC version 1 back in 1989, Guyana was closer to communism that socialism. Remember the kakaba had nationalized most businesses even as Hoyte was struggling with his demons to decide whether he was communist or socialist. 

At every level of government whether it was lead by Indians or Blacks and including this government operates on a communist agenda. Just call any of the embassies and try to get some answers on a simple questions. The hoopla is so much, that makes one wonders why Guyana is so backward.

I strongly believe there is no coordination that takes place with the government and its embassies.

Granger speaks to the diaspora to return with their expertise to help the country. The embassies are not equipped to deal with the President's request. The embassies have no idea on business activities Guyana and how it is tied into international businesses, for example exxonmobile. Dey doan know what is a Joint Venture, and question the legitimacy of such endeavors. 

Road block rite deh.

The lady is correct, Guyana will always be a communist country-in thinkings. Dat coupled with racism, dem rass done no matter how much oil dem claim dey have. Most of it will be taken without dem even knowing.