Guyana’s suicide rate is the highest in the world

Dear Editor,
According to the 2014 World Health Organisation report, the suicide rate in Guyana is five times higher than the world average. This puts Guyana at the top of the list with 44.2 per 100,000 people, the highest suicide rate in the world. And, again, this does not even take into account the number of suicide attempts recorded, and unrecorded. It is estimated that there are between 1,500 to 2,000 attempted suicide cases each year or about one attempt every 5 hours, in Guyana.
This is depressing news, especially for people who are already depressed in Guyana. And Guyana has a high percentage of depressed people. But while it is important to fight to reduce depression, in and of itself, it is also important, at the same time, to make every effort to not render depressed persons, especially suicidal persons, more depressed, and more suicidal, with news of suicide. Especially news which not only details the names of the deceased persons and their appearances but also gives information about what method was used to effectively commit the suicide.
Guyana is small, and just as a family history of suicide leads to more suicides, suicide in such a small community will likely lead to more suicides, especially where the circumstances that each person in the community faces is practically equal and uniform. That is, unless the news of each suicide is reported in a controlled and responsible manner. But that is exactly what is NOT happening in Guyana.
Almost each day when Guyanese open the local newspapers they are bombarded with news that someone from their own community facing circumstances and hardships very similar to theirs, is dead as a result of suicide. And further, they get a good idea from the reports, in pictures if not in words, as to the methods used to commit the act.
Up to recently, again, attempts to convince media operatives in Guyana to desist from their present practices through workshops on the topic have proven futile. News of suicides seems to boost viewership and ratings for news entities generally and this does not exactly deter their irresponsible behaviour. In fact, it can be argued that it seems that media operatives in Guyana are aiming to do the opposite of that. Recently, after much effort on the part of many, the media outlets have significantly reduced their reporting of suicides. But there is nothing at present stopping any one media outlet from going back to business as usual. Almost every country in the world has media guidelines and opted not to introduce legislation to curb the issue of irresponsible suicide reporting. But in those countries the media guidelines are strict and the media entities comply with them fully.
Only in New Zealand has there been a move to legislate on this matter. +
There, the Coroner’s Act has been amended to block the reporting of deaths as suicides until the Coroner deems the death to be a suicide. This seems to be not only a sensible approach but from a legal perspective it helps investigations into all deaths before a general errant conclusion can be had that it was a suicide. At one point in time the Act went so far as to even block reports of “suspected suicides”. As the law stands in that country at the moment however, a death may be reported as a “suspected suicide” provided that the report follows the usual guidelines.
It goes without saying that Guyana, having the highest suicide rate in the world, would be better off blocking both reports of suicide AND suspected suicide. Some arguments in favour of local legislative intervention include –
1. Guyana has the highest suicide rate in the world and risking any other form of intervention would be ineffective and deadly.
2. Media guidelines do not dictate to journalists what to do. Rather, they aim to empower and encourage journalists to collaborate with researchers and public health policy makers to help save lives by reporting in a responsible manner. They further do not guide the actions of non-media entities that may wish to report a suicide. Hence they would not suffice.
3. Many workshops have been held with media entities in Guyana regarding suicide reporting in particular, much to no avail.
4. There is no harm in using legislation to tackle this important issue in Guyana and in fact, there is indeed precedence elsewhere for legislative intervention.
5. Guyana would be the first country to pass a Suicide Reporting Act to effectively save the lives of its citizens in a dire situation.
Many countries have indeed managed to reduce their suicide rates without statutory restrictions on media. But they have strict media guidelines on the issue and their suicide rates are not the highest in the world. Guyana cannot afford to risk a less strict approach.
Some may argue that reducing the dialogue about suicide may have a negative effect on how we learn more about its other causes and how we work to prevent those causes. But legislative intervention does not aim to curtail all talk about suicide and suicide prevention. It is specifically aimed at fighting irresponsible reporting. Debates will still be encouraged about suicide but will be restricted from involving mention of details of individual suicides.
It is in these premises I propose that a Bill be drafted and introduced to the Parliament to curtail the reporting of deaths as suicides or suspected suicides, whether by media entities or members of the public, before the Coroner deems the death to be a suicide. The Bill will also guide reports of deaths, whether emanating from media entities or members of the public, so that they do not reflect even the suspicion that a death may have been a suicide, before the Coroner deems the death to be a possible suicide.
The Bill should further guide the reports of deaths properly deemed suicides so that they do not give rise to further suicides. I am positive that with a Bill we can better guarantee the safety of our citizens from this plague that has gripped us for so long. I charge those who have the power to pass a Bill of this nature to do so at the earliest.
John M. Fraser LL.B.
Legal Assistant
Legislative Drafting Division
Attorney General’s Chambers and Ministry of Legal Affairs
Georgetown, Guyana

Where is talk man Tola ?

He was blaming everything under the PPP.

His AFC/PNC party has done NOTHING. He is scared to speak out otherwise the AFC/PNC are capable of telling him to shut up.

Where is talk man Tola ?

His AFC/PNC party has done NOTHING. He is scared to speak out otherwise the AFC/PNC are capable of telling him to shut up.

After cussing the PPP, the suicide expert in hiding.  I believe he went onto IT of something like that!

Amral posted:

Most of it stems from domestic problems and boyfriend girlfriend issues

Are you implying that Guyana has more of these than any other nation?  I don't think so.  Some is due to this, but over-layered by something else in the mind-set of the segment of the population.

I recently read a 16 year old hanged himself after a quarrel with his mother.  I had a 12 year school old friend drank malatian after a quarrel with his older brothers and mother!  There is more to it!

ba$eman posted:

Where is talk man Tola ?

After cussing the PPP, the suicide expert in hiding.  I believe he went onto IT of something like that!

I know you are being factious with demanding Tola explain this. BTW, Tola did not say he knew how to stop it but believed that counseling and financial aid to ease the burden of poverty etc could help. It is unfair if not shallow to ask him to explain something as imponderable as this.

The components point to a cultural problem. Black folks suffer the similarity and do not kill themselves with the same frequency. It is a combination of ignorant parents enforcing customary taboos, domestic violence, alcoholism, rapes, incest and other abuse inclusive of poverty and other social ills. These people need a third party professional ( psychologist or other) for honest talk sessions and such should have been introduced into schools a long time ago. Tola's group were doing us a service.

BTW I have had three close experience with suicides growing up. One was a class mate who was scaring his mom and hung himself, the other was a drunk friend who felt he was losing his girl and the reality was she was ashamed of him because he was always drunk. The third was my 16 year old pregnant girl friend whose mother threw her out and my mom took her in. Her mom later met her on the street and stripped and beat her so she killed herself. There is lots of ignorance here that comes from adults that causes these children to die at their own hands.

ba$eman posted:

Where is talk man Tola ?

I know you are being factious with demanding Tola explain this. BTW, Tola did not say he knew how to stop it but believed that counseling and financial aid to ease the burden of poverty etc could help. It is unfair if not shallow to ask him to explain something as imponderable as this.

The components point to a cultural problem. Black folks suffer the similarity and do not kill themselves with the same frequency. It is a combination of ignorant parents enforcing customary taboos, domestic violence, alcoholism, rapes, incest and other abuse inclusive of poverty and other social ills. These people need a third party professional ( psychologist or other) for honest talk sessions and such should have been introduced into schools a long time ago. Tola's group were doing us a service.

BTW I have had three close experience with suicides growing up. One was a class mate who was scaring his mom and hung himself, the other was a drunk friend who felt he was losing his girl and the reality was she was ashamed of him because he was always drunk. The third was my 16 year old pregnant girl friend whose mother threw her out and my mom took her in. Her mom later met her on the street and stripped and beat her so she killed herself. There is lots of ignorance here that comes from adults that causes these children to die at their own hands.

I'm not actually.  I fully understand these are complex and deep-rooted issues.  I called him out because he always implied inaction by the PPP to be the root cause and he had solutions and ideas which were not taken seriously.

And as you yourself experienced, this is an old issue which transcend any Govt.  I doubt 3rd party professionals will help in the rural areas.  They need a lot of village-based initiatives and start at a young age in school teaching kids (and parents) conflict resolution and how to handle disappointment.  This needs to be grass-roots and coming from the churches, schools and other village based institutions.

I myself have been exposed to suicide and it is a troubling trend in Guyana. I am not sure the reason is just about intolerant parents.  It is much more. People in India and Pakistan have some of the most intolerant parents, yet their suicide rate pales in comparison to Guyana's. 

Suicide problem in Guyana is mainly an East Indian Problem. The rates have gone up and it is now at an epidemic level and the highest in the world since the AFC/PNC took over.

Tola and others who were blaming the PPP have gone into hiding.

This is a serious problem and requires drastic measures and the AFC/PNC appears clueless on how to assist as with everything else.

There has to be a solution starting with schools, church and community participation and education. D2 addressed most of the issues but like others, he is still blaming the PPP while the AFC/PNC does not care about those with mental illness.

Guyana lacks a comprehensive mental health network and treatment programme. Guyanese who suffer from mental illness and depression are labelled "mad men and mad women" They are scorned and discarded by society. Most families do not even know how to cope with these problems.

The question is:

What has the AFC/PNC done to address this problem ? Nothing, Nada. Lip service is not enough.

Yes, the PPP could have done more but the AFC/PNC has done nothing. I wonder if the AFC/PNC does not care because this is an East Indian problem ?

I myself have been exposed to suicide and it is a troubling trend in Guyana. I am not sure the reason is just about intolerant parents.  It is much more. People in India and Pakistan have some of the most intolerant parents, yet their suicide rate pales in comparison to Guyana's. 

Their stats on suicide are tempered  by the reality that the family do the killing themselves.Instead of high suicide rates we have high brutality rates that involved wife or child murders, family sanctioned rapes, cruel beatings  and violence as acid attacks and other forms of dehumanization social sanctions in abundance.

That our suicide epidemic locates itself in the indian community points to social and cultural problems. That it more often involves young individuals means it is a consequence of strict enforcement of taboos, cultural alienation, social dysfunction ie alcoholism, rapes, incest, poverty and other morbid forms of hopelessness  as homosexuality that are not easily addressed from within the family without intervention but could be from within the culture by programs of  education and counseling..

Suicide problem in Guyana is mainly an East Indian Problem. The rates have gone up and it is now at an epidemic level and the highest in the world since the AFC/PNC took over.

This is a serious problem and requires drastic measures and the AFC/PNC appears clueless on how to assist as with everything else.

There has to be a solution starting with schools, church and community participation and education. D2 addressed most of the issues but like others, he is still blaming the PPP while the AFC/PNC does not care about those with mental illness.

Guyana lacks a comprehensive mental health network and treatment programme. Guyanese who suffer from mental illness and depression are labelled "mad men and mad women" They are scorned and discarded by society. Most families do not even know how to cope with these problems.

The question is:

What has the AFC/PNC done to address this problem ? Nothing, Nada. Lip service is not enough.

Yes, the PPP could have done more but the AFC/PNC has done nothing. I wonder if the AFC/PNC does not care because this is an East Indian problem ?

Cyar your ignorant behind dah side! Where did I blame the PPP? I said that to date there has been no serious attempts at intervention from anyone including private groups. Many of those say the PPP did not want them. Tola's group is such a one. BTW, the PPP has not done anything to address this fact. And while amerindian culture is not apt to suicide many of the children live horrible lives and could do better if there is similar programs of education addressing alcoholism, domestic violence, rapes, incest, poverty etc.

The question is:

Cyar your ignorant behind dah side! Where did I blame the PPP? I said that to date there has been no serious attempts at intervention from anyone including private groups. Many of those say the PPP did not want them. Tola's group is such a one. BTW, the PPP has not done anything to address this fact. And while amerindian culture is not apt to suicide many of the children live horrible lives and could do better if there is similar programs of education addressing alcoholism, domestic violence, rapes, incest, poverty etc.

D2,

I stand corrected regarding your claim about the PPP.

Tola has to provide specific facts and the name of his organization to prove his claims against the PPP. 

Overall, many of us at GNI agree on the suicide epidemic in Guyana. GNI can see a step forward in the right direction if we agree on common issues and disagree on others in a civilized manner.

Their stats on suicide are tempered  by the reality that the family do the killing themselves.Instead of high suicide rates we have high brutality rates that involved wife or child murders, family sanctioned rapes, cruel beatings  and violence as acid attacks and other forms of dehumanization social sanctions in abundance.

That our suicide epidemic locates itself in the indian community points to social and cultural problems. That it more often involves young individuals means it is a consequence of strict enforcement of taboos, cultural alienation, social dysfunction ie alcoholism, rapes, incest, poverty and other morbid forms of hopelessness  as homosexuality that are not easily addressed from within the family without intervention but could be from within the culture by programs of  education and counseling..

I hate to sound as ignorant as Cain, however it appears that suicide has become a socially acceptable practice in IndoG communities as a resolution to problems.  People learn from their peers, looks like it is contagious. 

I notice you love calling my name eh. Look banna if is man u want I not into dem runnings but you could contact your friend Jaggy..I am sure he would be more than happy to provide you a list of names. Keep on trucking.

Where is talk man Tola ?

The report is from 2014. Can you remind all of us who was in power then?

I notice you love calling my name eh. Look banna if is man u want I not into dem runnings but you could contact your friend Jaggy..I am sure he would be more than happy to provide you a list of names. Keep on trucking.

Take it easy, you are now infamous. It is just an idiom that has become widely acceptable. As ignorant as......

After  an email from a friend, I am taking valuable time from an overseas project to reply to this post, because every time I scratch my ass, Baseman and Yuji are sniffing the odour. 

D2,  I could not have explained the situation any better, with the East Indian community in Guyana.  Thanks.

A while ago Sandra Shivdat, founder for the Lusignan-Good Hope Learning Centre  gave an  interview on Spotlight TV, explaining exactly what you described. She was doing this work for the past twelve years  and has a good grasp of the situation, that contribute to suicide in Guyana.
I would suggest that you listen with a strong heart, because she was explicit on the rape of Indian children, by close relatives  and what became of these children.   

The East Indian culture and lack of adequate family communication contribute to suicides in Guyanese Indian communities. Families, schools and churches need to teach their children better ways to deal with everyday life challenges, or suicide might increase, because Guyana seems to be a dysfunctional place. 

Among all the countries we funded community development projects, Guyana is the only country where they demand payment to develop their own community.   This is if they even show up to do the work, like mixing  concrete for sports facilities, that has to be done in a timely manner. 
Thus some funding agencies either downsize, or leave them in their misery and taking their resources elsewhere. 
The last government regional officials were not any better. Instead of assisting  agencies who were trying  to help  children of families who  voted for them, they shamelessly  demanded our agency resources.
I hope the government investigate what Mutt and Jeff did to the people and government resources in Berbice and throw their asses in jail.
Similar to the present government silence on suicide prevention, the last government  inaction to assist  overseas agencies, or provide an effective prevention program, contributed to the present suicide situation.   Jagdeo’s nastiness and vindictiveness did not set a good example for the youth. 
The PPP had  a dysfunctional National Suicide Prevention Committee, that was only interested  in front page news. 

Baseman, instead of harping from behind a keyboard, I would suggest that you do more for a specific  ECD agency in Guyana, or take your name off their list  of directors. Because it only shows your arrogance of being on a pedestal doing nothing. Don't tell me otherwise, because I know your relatives. 
Also, don't  be conceited by saying previously that you don't know me.  You owe the people of Bangalore an apology, because their lives were never the same after what you did to them. We had a contact there too. Some on GNI might know the Leonora/Bangalore  story, but not all of it. This guy wants to be king of the jungle, until he start screwing up peoples lives. Is this why you were kicked out of India, Baseman ?

Mahatma Yuji, if you need information  about our development foundation, get off from behind the keyboard and post your correct name and contact information on GNI, to be confirmed by Amral, I will do likewise  and  deal with your request.

As you say, are you truly a religious person, because you carry-on,  on GNI as if your God is from out of space. Shame on you, you better look for another religious mentor. 
As was said previously, get off your asses and do something for the youth  or just shut up, because  you are talking from your backside, instead of your mouth. Baseman, the knows it all, but knows piss all. Don't you have new personal responsibilities in your life that should occupy more of your GNI time ?

You people must really  be stupid to believe that GNI is my life. Where do you have the time to post all this shyt during the day ?  Do you have jobs, or do you freeload on company’s time?
 Continue braying, up shyt creek Baseman and Yuji,  I have better things to do with my time.
Last edited by Tola

Whattax!!!

Tola that link doan work,I can recommend a cheap place "weebly" for the website.

Thanks Django,

Also Google   'Lusignan Good-Hope Learning Centre'.

Sorry, I have to  go, I have a meeting.

Tola posted:

Whattax!!!

Tola that link doan work,I can recommend a cheap place "weebly" for the website.

Thanks Django,

Also Google   'Lusignan Good-Hope Learning Centre'.

Sorry, I have to  go, I have a meeting.

This link works.

http://www.goodhope-gy.org/

Tola on the warpath tarasss.

Cain, more to come, if they continue to make asses of themselves.

Django, thanks for the correct link.

Looks like Baseman and Yuji hiding  under the failed Trumpcare and don't have the balls to reply.

A bunch of losers, just like the leaders they support.

OK Tola,

You are a FRAUD and Liar.

I challenge you to post the the name of your registered charitable organization. No one should privately send their personal info before you you can release the name of your government registered charitable organization.

What is there to hide if it involves charity and it is government registered  ?

Who are you trying to fool ?

I claim my charitable donation tax receipts and have the means to make charitable donations.

I challenge you to post the name of your charitable organization or just shut up and stop lying and stop behaving like the PNC crooks.

You are sounding more and more like the PNC thieves and crook.

BTW, is this how you speak to the young children that you allegedly assist:

Quote, from your post above: "because you are talking from your backside, instead of your mouth"

You are one sick individual.

You are a disgusting liar. Is this how you go about your "charity work" or should the government investigate you and your "organization" ?

Tola posted:

Tola on the warpath tarasss.

Cain, more to come, if they continue to make asses of themselves.

Django, thanks for the correct link.

Looks like Baseman and Yuji hiding  under the failed Trumpcare and don't have the balls to reply.

A bunch of losers, just like the leaders they support.

Listen you clown.  Baseman has other things to do, I'n not much on GNI these days.  You need to own up to the fact that you were just howling in the dark.  What project you off on now?  Baseman calls you out because of your attitude blaming it all on the PPP back then.  We know it's bigger than that.  The fact that you politicize an unfortunate mix of forces which has little to do with policy exposes how clueless you are.  Now the PNC is there, why don't you go and prove your bark.

As for the other personal stuff, once again, shut your stupid self up, it's none of your business!  Go to hell...Vince!

KishanB posted:

Has been this way for years.  Too much stress in the mudlands of Guyana.

It's more than that.  People of all walks of life and for varied reasons turn to suicide as a solution to sometimes simple disputes people the world over have on a daily basis!

OK Tola,

I challenge you to post the the name of your registered charitable organization. No one should privately send their personal info before you you can release the name of your government registered charitable organization.

I claim my charitable donation tax receipts and have the means to make charitable donations.

I challenge you to post the name of your charitable organization or just shut up and stop lying and stop behaving like the PNC crooks.

Quote, from your post above: "because you are talking from your backside, instead of your mouth"

You are a disgusting liar. Is this how you go about your "charity work" or should the government investigate you and your "organization" ?

Kaz pegged him just right!

OK Tola,

Tola nor any other who go out of their way to help others do not have to prove to you nor any other ignoramus anything. Even if he/they did you and the other a-holes would still find something derogatary to say because your minds are nasty. You and your ilk are the frauds, liars and sick individuals you speak about.

In all fairness, we really know nothing about Tola's activities in Guyana. He could be a genuine humanitarian or he could be a fraud and sexual predator looking to take advantage of the vulnerable.  The reason for this doubt is grounded in the fact that he provides no verifiable information but yet claims to be a humanitarian. I don't understand what he has to hide if he is an honorable man as he professes. 

Sad...very sad when individuals resort to putting someone down because they do not big up themselves. I have been a member of the Lions club and now do most of my volunteer work with autistic children, you would never see me here flouncing up myself boasting of it, I know what I do and that is all that matters. 

There are others here who do the same,they know who they are,they do not need the blessing of anyone on GNI.

Sad...very sad when individuals resort to putting someone down because they do not big up themselves. I have been a member of the Lions club and now do most of my volunteer work with autistic children, you would never see me here flouncing up myself boasting of it, I know what I do and that is all that matters. 

There are others here who do the same,they know who they are,they do not need the blessing of anyone on GNI.

Yuh know Victor Yacob?

I fully agree with the "Bollywood Crap" however why would it take an independent nation to instill the same values our parents instilled in us?

Only in an independent sovereign country can there be the tools and policies needed from young child to adult to make the people respectful of their heritage, human rights and economic dignity thus growing their positive self- esteem.

In all fairness, we really know nothing about Tola's activities in Guyana. He could be a genuine humanitarian or he could be a fraud and sexual predator looking to take advantage of the vulnerable.  The reason for this doubt is grounded in the fact that he provides no verifiable information but yet claims to be a humanitarian. I don't understand what he has to hide if he is an honorable man as he professes. 

Agreed 100 percent.