Lowenfield continues arguments to quash

PPP/C’s Elections Petition to nullify elections results

Acting Chief Justice Ian Chang on Monday heard arguments on the summons filed by Chief Elections Officer (CEO)

ANIL NANDLALL

Attorney-at-Law Anil Nandlall

Keith Lowenfield, challenging the elections petition that was filed by People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Executive Member Ganga Persaud.
Lowenfield had stated in the summons that the petition does not have sufficient facts to support the claims made. During Monday’s session, the Chief Justice heard Attorney Roysdale Forde, representing Lowenfield, continuing his arguments on the summons filed by his client and cited authorities to support his contention. The matter was heard in Chambers.
Following the session, Forde briefly told reporters that he continued arguments on behalf of the CEO and the matter was adjourned until October 6, when he will continue his submissions.
Meanwhile, Attorney-at-Law Anil Nandlall, representing the petitioner Ganga Persaud, subsequently informed reporters that after Forde completes his submission, the court will call upon him to respond. Nandlall had previously presented all the necessary information required in the petition.
These include facts on the rejected ballots and refusal of the Returning Officer to grant a final general count. “The Petition itself is 13 pages long, it details some 28-odd grounds and the reliefs, which it

GECOM CEO Keith Lowenfield

seeks, are the Statutory Reliefs which are to be sought in any Elections Petition based upon any given facts. So we could not have pleaded anymore than what we have pleaded… Each one of the grounds that were alleged, there are sufficient facts pleaded in support,” the Attorney had outlined.
Asked on Monday about an anticipated timeframe for conclusion of the matter, Attorney Nandlall explained that the matter has a while more before it can be completed. He noted that in addition to the summons filed by the CEO, another was filed by the representative of the A Partnership for National Unity/ Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) List of Candidates, Professor Harold Lutchman, who is also asking for additional information.
However, Nandlall pointed out that most of the information requested was in the possession of the CEO and the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) and as such he has recently filed a summons asking for the release of this information.
“A lot of the information that they are asking for is in the custody of the Chief Elections Officer. Therefore, that summons that I have filed for the production of those documents is very, very essential before the petition can even begin… We will have to dispose of all these interlocutory applications before we can get into the substantive matter, which is the petition,” he explained to reporters.
While Justice Chang continues to hear the summonses, this will impact the substantive elections petition case by delaying it. However, should Justice Chang uphold any of the summonses on the grounds proffered, he can strike out the petition.
In the petition, which was filed on June 24, 2015, the PPP/C member is asking the court to grant a number of orders including the nullification of the May 11th elections as well as an order for new elections to be held.

Share Button

ANIL NANDLALL

Should be in prison.

Guyana has this thing about sticking the faces of corrupt individuals in these rags who have done nothing for Guyana except for their corrupt practices. I can't get over how these fellas have the audacity to show their mugs and try telling the Government how to run the country.

HAHAHA  Like Al YUh cant tek it like grown men???

Grown men have some moral mooring. They do not fabricate obvious lies on the fly and try to pass it of as facts. They can get by you but not most of us.

With less than one percent separating the parties, North American governments would have conducted an automatic recount.

PNC is backing full swing, rigging and all.

With less than one percent separating the parties, North American governments would have conducted an automatic recount.

You are an idiot.

yuji, like your PPP, you're alleging that the elections were rigged. Those allegations have not been proven.

If and when the court rules in favour of your PPP, you will be on firm ground. Until then, stop acting like a sore loser.

A win is a win. If APNU+AFC had won by only 100 votes, they still won. There's a saying: a miss is as good as a mile. The PPP missed. And all the accredited local and foreign election observers concurred.

BTW, yuji, not long ago you used to post a cry-baby picture here. Lend me da photo, nuh.

yuji, like your PPP, you're alleging that the elections were rigged. Those allegations have not been proven.

If and when the court rules in favour of your PPP, you will be on firm ground. Until then, stop acting like a sore loser.

A win is a win. If APNU+AFC had won by only 100 votes, they still won. There's a saying: a miss is as good as a mile. The PPP missed. And all the accredited local and foreign election observers concurred.

BTW, yuji, not long ago you used to post a cry-baby picture here. Lend me da photo, nuh.

I do not support rigging.

PNC does and they are afraid of an international independent audit. 

Originally Posted by Django:

"PNC does and they are afraid of an international independent audit."

Which countries are involved in this audit.?????

Bai, yuji is parroting wha Jagdeo and Rohee seh.

He will parrot the answer when Jagdeo replies.

The supreme court stopped the florida recount in bush v gore with bush only 300 votes ahead. 

The APNU did not prohibit GECOM from a recount. They did their own internal audit and determined the winner.

Originally Posted by Django:

"PNC does and they are afraid of an international independent audit."

Which countries are involved in this audit.?????

Bai, yuji is parroting wha Jagdeo and Rohee seh.

He will parrot the answer when Jagdeo replies.

Good one.

Originally Posted by D2:

The APNU did not prohibit GECOM from a recount. They did their own internal audit and determined the winner.

PNC has a history of rigging. They have done it again !

Your posts are synonymous with big belly Donald picketing with a piece of cardboard displaying a hastily scrawled plea.

Well...if PNC manage to rig with PPP in power, then PPP don't deserve to be in power...you have to be real stupid to let an opposition rig an election when you're in power

I hope you see here an example of why history and objectivity are at offs. The PPP needs a narrative to explain why they lost despite massive spending and using the state assets to the max.

They did not lose is the narrative. They won but crooks too the rug from under them. How could the "honest", "reliable", "hardworking indians in the PPP" ever lose? They could if black people do what they do best., steal the elections.

Originally Posted by D2:

What an asinine statement. But then you are a jackass.

Originally Posted by D2:

Mits, I shall appreciate your showing some kindness to GNI's house parrot yuji. Because of this parrot's outstanding mastery of meaningless but rib-tickling repetition, I am calling on new parrot owners to avoid the name Robert and call their green-feathered pets yuji instead.

Originally Posted by D2:

Mits, I shall appreciate your showing some kindness to GNI's house parrot yuji. Because of this parrot's outstanding mastery of meaningless but rib-tickling repetition, I am calling on new parrot owners to avoid the name Robert and call their green-feathered pets yuji instead.

Hahahaha! Parrot - Hindi meanings: तोता - tota... Some can even speak Urdu.