10th Parliament is history but 2015 Budget still being prepared – Dr Luncheon

January 23, 2015 1:13 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Tracey Khan – Drakes

Cabinet Secretary Dr. Roger Luncheon

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Cabinet Secretary, Dr. Roger Luncheon has made it clear that the life of the 10th Parliament is “history’; however preparations are still ongoing for budget 2015.

He told a news conference on Friday, January 23: “A step such as reconstitution or returning to the 10th Parliament would ever be understood by the average Guyanese…I do believe I can speak reasonably that is by concluding that the 10th Parliament is history.”

On November 10, 2014, President Donald Ramotar decided to prorogue Parliament in order to avoid an Opposition sponsored No Confidence Motion against the government.

Dr. Luncheon explained that the focus of Government and the Guyanese people should now be positioned on the President’s proclamation for the dissolution of Parliament to fully pave the way for general and regional elections slated for May 11, 2015.

“There couldn’t conceivable be at this stage in the electoral calendar naming of a date for elections for some mysterious sort of occurrence of returning to the days of the 10th Parliament. I think it would be more reasonable and consistent for us to be contemplating on the dissolution of the 10th Parliament and the President’s announcement of a date.”

In this regard, the Cabinet Secretary explained that preparations for budget 2015 ongoing but its presentation will be done in the 11th Parliament.

“There is no significant reason why the budget for the year 2015 will not be usually prepared. What is obviously be given is that the budget and its presentation for the 11th Parliament will of course be subsequent to the conclusion of the general and regional elections and the installation of the executive that succeeds in this 2015 general and regional elections, so there will be a budget, it is being prepared but it will be as is usually presented to Parliament and we understand that it’s the 11th Parliament of Guyana,” Dr Luncheon clarified.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The 10th Parliament would go down in history as the least successfully in Guyana's history.

The blame is placed squarely at the doorsteps of the A.F.C/A.P.N.U

Really??

Stop pointing fingers for three are pointing right back at you.

The 10th Parliament would go down in history as the least successfully in Guyana's history.

Ramotar will go down in History....

as the PPP Short-Term President....

Who suffered because

he put his eggs

in Kwame Backside.

maybe just maybe if the ppp can be more accountable and stop thieving the goddam people money

Good.  ABie Time Done.

maybe just maybe if the ppp can be more accountable and stop thieving the goddam people money

Councie aya waste

all da money on eggs fu Anil.

Yuh think aya

could have saved some money

if Ramotar had given Anil

some of dem eggs he give Kwame...

I am sure Sam would like

to be a Doner too .

Cain watch how PPP stupid

Dem Waste De Egg

Dem  Thief & Waste De Money

and Moses Cut 2 Year

from Dem Term

Cain call it.....

circumcision....

That's 40% Cut off

How Can Donald Survive

Kwame Laughing .....

say only he Gain

The "razor thin" majority the opposition once boost about no longer exists, no wonder they are chatting secretly in over to survive the 2015 snap elections. The P.P.P got the A.F.C/A.P.N.U cornered.

Councie Bhai....

Moses Cut 2 Year

from Dem Term

Cain call it.....

circumcision....

That's 40% Cut off

How Can Donald Survive

maybe the ppp should have done the same thing have a honest talk with the opposition,a inclusive government might be the best thing for the country,then again the ppp still have to account for the tax payers money      

The A.F.C knows to their gut, that the chances of that political gathering returning to Parliament as a single party is very very slim, so that are secretly making deals with the P.N.C aka A.P.N.U for political survival. 

conman what you seeing is what been happening from creation good is coming together to fight evil

Councie why yuh Crying

Ramotar lose 40% by a Simple Clip

Cain call it.....

circumcision....

and Kwame get all Ramoter Eggs

in eee Backside...

Wha plan aya got now?

Don't hold your breath "warrior, the outcome of the results would not be whats you're hoping for.

conman i mix with the guyanese and i will be in guyana this month end and i can tell you guyanese do not want to hear the name ppp.the ppp is history 

A majority awaits the P.P.P, the Guyanese populace eagerly awaits the 11th May, to endorse the P.P.P with a majority, in a bit to ensure progress continues.

what progress,after 20yrs guyana is still the poorest country in south AMERICA and the Caribbean with the highest rate of migration  

A majority awaits the P.P.P, the Guyanese populace eagerly awaits the 11th May, to endorse the P.P.P with a majority, in a bit to ensure progress continues.

what progress,after 20yrs guyana is still the poorest country in south AMERICA and the Caribbean with the highest rate of migration  

You ah rite wah you know is true or you ah rite wah you tink is true?

tink,that is too hard 

The same "razor thin" majority forced Ramotar to cut his term by nearly 2 years. We shall see who is cornered on May 11.

Don't hold your breath "warrior, the outcome of the results would not be whats you're hoping for.

You guys aready stuffin ballot boxes?

I hope those overseeing this election ah watch the stuffman dem.

This is a  case where ---PNC STUFF SO MANY BALLOT BOXES in their crack THEY NOW VOMITING THEM OUT…..

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:

This is a  case where ---PNC STUFF SO MANY BALLOT BOXES in their crack THEY NOW VOMITING THEM OUT…..

Please do not ever, never ever....ever get into comedy.

The 10th Parliament of Guyana made history for all the wrong reasons.

The electorate put a minority PPP government into the 10th Parliament and that minority outfit behaved as a majority from Day 1.

The 10th Parliament passed majority-opposition-sponsored important local government bills but the minority President never had the decency to respect the parliament and assent those bills. Had he assented, there would have been local government elections and the 10th Parliament would have run its full course till 2016.

The 10th Parliament told Ashni Singh "no way" could he get away with overspending $4.5billion without due accounting but the minority PPP backed Ashni and refused to submit a proper Statement of Excess.

The 10th Parliament provided the minority PPP regime an opportunity to be humble and conciliatory but the PPP couldn't shed its arrogance and stubbornness.

The 10th Parliament is the last parliament for many PPP parliamentarians who, according to media reports, have been flocking the parliamentary accounts office lately to settle up their pensions and gratuities.

Because of the parties brazen attempts to be the government operating from the opposition, the 10th Parliament indeed made history because of the obviously errant, ill-conceived and bull-headed focus of the PNC/AFC.

While parliament may pass legislation, the President of Guyana has the exclusive right to veto any bill.

Parliamentarians do have the right to override the veto-bill(s) by securing a very large majority in parliament.

This exclusive presidential veto-right exist for Guyana and is the same for the US_of_A.

Because of the parties brazen attempts to be the government operating from the opposition, the 10th Parliament indeed made history because of the obviously errant, ill-conceived and bull-headed focus of the PNC/AFC.

DG

i DO NOT WANT TO BE DISRESPECTFUL TO YOU.

Kindly answer a simple question, Is the PPP a minority Gov't? Yes or No?

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:

Please do not ever, never ever....ever get into comedy.

Using your face as a punch line….how can I go bad ?

DG

i DO NOT WANT TO BE DISRESPECTFUL TO YOU.

Kindly answer a simple question, Is the PPP a minority Gov't? Yes or No?

With 17 ballot boxes in PPP strong hold that were not counted…I say absolutely NO