Guyana got to bathe in blue

Aug 19, 2017 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...ot-to-bathe-in-blue/

De whole of Guyana need a bath. That is wha people does recommend fuh anybody who believe that dem blight. De recommendation is that people bathe wid lavender, indigo blue and asafetida.

Since you tun round is bad luck. A girl go and swing in a hammock under she family house. De next thing people know is de house fall pun she and kill she. People couldn’t even get de house off de gyal. Dem had to get de fire service.

A man and he whole family driving down de road and crash into a mud heap at de side of de road. Fuh years dem boys always talking about de junk people does put pun de road. Some of dem does dump sand that spread across de road. In de night if drivers ain’t careful dem gun crash into de sand.

De man wife dead and de poor man suh frighten that he run and lef she.

He been in police custody crying because de police believe he wrang.
Then a minibus driving good till de driver get some mad blood. He crash into a truck and send nuff people to hospital. But before that people getting knock down pun de road and de police got to search fuh de driver.

Dem boys seh that de way things going is only a matter of time before somebody come up wid de idea that Guyana should ban cars and minibus. Dem would have to ban GPL, because bandits tackling all of dem GPL outlet. That never use to happen, but since GPL start to tell people how dem bun more current than dem actually did. De bandits is people who tekking back de money. De only thing that got dem boys vex is that dem rob people who go to pay dem light bill. Perhaps dem believe de people stupid and if dem got money to give GPL dem got money to waste.

Guyana really got to tek a bath. People killing people; prison warden still smuggling in contraband into de jail, and of course,dem people who like to complain gun always look fuh something to complain about.

Talk half and everybody should walk wid asafetida or blue in dem pocket or purse.

My Guyana, Eldorado

Best of all the world to me

In my heart where’er I wander

Memory enshrineth thee;

All my hopes and aspirations,

All my longings only tie

Everlasting bonds around us

As the fleeting years roll by.

My Guyana, time’s unfolding

More and more thy destiny,

To redeem in lasting splendour

All the years had lost to thee;

And the dawning of thy glory

O’er the long long night is cast

O arise triumphant, glorious,

From the ashes of the past.

O arise, triumphant, glorious,

From the ashes of the past.

Tola posted:
Sunil posted:

I remember bathing a few times with blue soap.

I just remember my sisters soaking  washed clothes in blue water. What was that  for ?

That was different, that was for bleaching clothes and I believe the other blue was for skin complaints. Another was called blue butter which was used for sexual transmitted diseases. That was potent due to it containing mercury.

Sunil posted:
Tola posted:
Sunil posted:

I just remember my sisters soaking  washed clothes in blue water. What was that  for ?

I believe the blue soap was used for washing clothes, there was also a cube of blue powder that was used for white clothes.

It must be to make  the white brighter.

Starching clothes was dunking the entire  shirt or pants in a bucket of home made starch and sprinkling  water on them for ironing. I found this stiffness  difficult to wear school uniforms.  

Tola posted:
Sunil posted:

That was different, that was for bleaching clothes and I believe the other blue was for skin complaints. Another was called blue butter which was used for sexual transmitted diseases. That was potent due to it containing mercury.

How was blue butter used for STDs. Soap is external and STD is an internal disease. Did the mercury get rid of the STD through the skin pores.  

Just like DDT that my friend would be covered with,  when the plane spray the sugar cane fields, Mercury is just as bad.

When I was at sea, I went to Minnemata Japan  where the factory dumped mercury water in the ocean. The fish ate the mercury and the people ate the fish, resulting in deformed babies. It was called the Minnemata disease.  

Tola posted:
 I found this stiffness  difficult to wear school uniforms.  

Iman know dat feelin up to now banna. At least I got a place to hang my hat.

Most men have dat stiffness problem. I am invited to the Caribbean  by women from your neck ah de woods, but the pace under the sun  is worrisome. If I accept, I have to brush  up on me survival skills.