ÂĐ ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

A modest but boisterous crowd with a heavy contingent of Guyanese supporters cheered Guyana Amazon Warriors to a six-wicket victory over Barbados Tridents in the first CPL match in America on Thursday night at the Central Broward Regional Park in Lauderhill. With 5,000 chairback seats available at the CBRP, less than half were filled by the time the first ball was bowled by Dwayne Smith just after 7 pm, and an estimated 4,000 had made it through the gates by the time the match was ended, more than three hours later, by a single off the bat of Sohail Tanvir.

In between, the crowd was thrilled by some big hitting from Smith, who made a mockery of Tridents' total of 142 for 7 by bashing his way to a fifty off 30 balls. Whereas the Tridents struggled to clear the deceptively large square boundaries, Smith succeeded in going big straight down the ground for three massive sixes over long on, including one over the perimeter fence and out of the ground.

Smith teamed up with Nic Maddinson for a 92-run opening stand in just 10.2 overs, with the Australian also notching 50 in just his second game of the season for Amazon Warriors after replacing Martin Guptill. With the bulk of the chase taken care of by the two openers, Amazon Warriors cantered towards the target after both men departed. The required run rate briefly threatened to go above a run a ball before Christopher Barnwell clattered a four and six off legspinner Imran Khan in the 16th to erase any prospect of a Tridents fightback.

Tridents had got off to a fairly rapid start, reaching 30 for 1 in three overs after being sent in, to dispel any fears about a poor pitch. Good bounce and carry was on offer for the pacers with a bit of turn for the spinners. Tridents also had reasonable success sending in David Wiese as a pinch-hitter at No. 3, with the South African making 40 off 31 balls before he drove a low full toss from Barnwell to Chris Lynn at long-off, making it 97 for 3 after 13.

But Tridents failed to capitalize on that platform with Nicholas Pooran and captain Kieron Pollard falling cheaply, for 3 and a second-ball duck respectively, both caught on the midwicket boundary in the space of six balls. From there, Shoaib Malik struggled to provide the late acceleration required, managing to reach his half-century off 44 balls by hitting the final ball of the innings for six to end on 55 not out. It wound up not being nearly enough for Tridents, who now must win their re-match against Amazon Warriors on Saturday to have any hope of reaching the playoffs.

In the end, the partisan crowd in Florida had little to complain about. A much larger crowd than Thursday's estimated 4,000 is expected on Friday, and a sell-out of 10,000 is expected for both Saturday and Sunday.

Peter Della Penna is ESPNcricinfo's USA correspondent. @PeterDellaPenna

Images (5)
  • 13654197_10210130097878019_7371539411497440014_n[1]
  • 13876678_10210130098478034_3366187244913078644_n[2]
  • 13879417_10210130098638038_735146338556800455_n[2]
  • 13892105_10210130099878069_427922320604583655_n[1]
  • 13645157_10210130103118150_8263525216883704117_n[1]

This thread is not so much about Guyana beating Barbados, but more so to show Jagdeo hugging up black people. Yuh wutliss . Wait til Carib wake up.

Sly, that fella.

Jagdeo so desperate to show that he isn't a racist that he is even hugging up Jamaicans now.  Do these Florida based Jamaicans even know who he is?

He presided over a racist regime. He presided over a country where an arm of the PPP screamed that blacks are violent, criminal, lazy and exist only to steal from Indians.

He presided over a regime which said that blacks were too incompetent to be appointed as heads of overseas missions.

He has NEVER apologized for that.  THAT instead of posing for pictures is what you all should be discussing.  Because I can assure you that there are loads of pictures with Burnham among Indians, some even where they are hugging him!

This thread is not so much about Guyana beating Barbados, but more so to show Jagdeo hugging up black people. Yuh wutliss . Wait til Carib wake up.

Sly, that fella.

Jagdeo so desperate to show that he isn't a racist that he is even hugging up Jamaicans now.  Do these Florida based Jamaicans even know who he is?

He presided over a racist regime. He presided over a country where an arm of the PPP screamed that blacks are violent, criminal, lazy and exist only to steal from Indians.

He presided over a regime which said that blacks were too incompetent to be appointed as heads of overseas missions.

He has NEVER apologized for that.  THAT instead of posing for pictures is what you all should be discussing.  Because I can assure you that there are loads of pictures with Burnham among Indians, some even where they are hugging him!

Lie!!!!!!  Show me the pics with Indians and Burnham.  Like you scare't that the black people dem hugging up Jagdeo or what??  All the lies you have been writing here are being discredited, one picture at a time.  One person at a time.  One speech at a time.  You are so divisive you just cannot help yourself.

Lie!!!!!!  Show me the pics with Indians and Burnham...

Suppose I were to suggest that Jagdeo likes black men for sexual purposes which is why he was pushing himself around those Jamaicans.

He definitely does NOT respect their intellect as his representative, Luncheon stated that Africans were under represented in leadership positions because the PPP considered them to be unqualified and incompetent.

RiffRaff posted:

BTW, if yuh gonna report on the cricket, do so without the politrics

So the man can't go to a cricket game without your knickers getting all knotted up??????

Your goal was to show that Jagdeo loves black men. Well rumors are that he is attracted to strong black men.

Show me an apology from Jagdeo about the filth that the Chronicle wrote about blacks when it was under PPP control. They said NOTHING!

If the Chronicle wrote an article that said that Indians are unpatriotic, greedy, money grubbing, and lacking in ethics you would have been up in arms screaming.

Jagdeo does not owe you or anyone else an apology. .. 

Right. 

So when Jagdeo last year was screaming that GDF and police (code word for blacks) were going to rape Indians if the PPP lost.

When he told Amerindians that if the PPP lost blacks would kill all straight haired people.

When the Chronicle printed an editorial screaming that blacks are lazy, criminal, violent and intent only on robbing and killing Indians.

When Luncheon's response to Nigel Hughes about why few blacks headed gov't corporations, or commissions,

Nothing to apologize for.

Listen leave Jagdeo to stroll through the cricket ground to find some black man to bend him over, because that is the only use he has for blacks.

He has been spewing the same schitt and lies on here for 14 years.  Each one of his comments is the same old racist lies.  It's all he knows. 

CARIBNY should produce the Chronicle Editorial and the statements made about Blacks not having the capacity/competence to be appointed Ambassadors. Then let the games begin.

Kari posted:
RiffRaff posted:

BTW, if yuh gonna report on the cricket, do so without the politrics

So the man can't go to a cricket game without your knickers getting all knotted up??????

what man?

Riff wutliss!!

The Man built a stadium for international cricket in Guyana. He loves the game and got the Indian gov't. to help us technically and financially to build the Providence Cricket Stadium.

I keep warning you all about this chap that called himself Carib.  If you think Nuff or Bonus were bad, well you ain't see nothing yet. Carib makes these these guys look like moderates. 

Carib is bad because he shoves in your face examples of Indian racism.  THAT is what you hate, and you don't have a response to this aside from your wails, as indicated above!

Kari posted:

He has been spewing the same schitt and lies on here for 14 years.  Each one of his comments is the same old racist lies.  It's all he knows. 

CARIBNY should produce the Chronicle Editorial and the statements made about Blacks not having the capacity/competence to be appointed Ambassadors. Then let the games begin.

Produced an article written by Imran Khan.  Its titled  racist Chronicle editorial.

He provides an entire analysis of racism that blacks faced under the PPP.

Bibi will avoid it, or scream that he is a liar.

The Man built a stadium for international cricket in Guyana. He loves the game and got the Indian gov't. to help us technically and financially to build the Providence Cricket Stadium.

Yes.  Just an excuse for PPP corruption.  Guyana has to find US dollars to pay for this venue, which is now another Thirst Park. Even St Kitts gets more international cricket than does Guyana.

Bibi there is a thread about PPP racism which you are avoiding.

Written by IMRAM KHAN.  But you will call him a niggIndian as his wife is black.

Look at that.  And all along, I thought you were the only wannabe niggIndian in town.

Bibi there is a thread about PPP racism which you are avoiding.

Written by IMRAM KHAN.  But you will call him a niggIndian as his wife is black.

Look at that.  And all along, I thought you were the only wannabe niggIndian in town.

Yes any Indian who doesn't join the screams that "blackman lazy" is a niggIndian in your head.

I note that you are avoiding the thread about sickeningly racism of the Guyana Chronicle.  There is an entire analysis of PPP racism during the Jagdeo era.

I have no interest in racism.  You go right ahead and satisfy your Obsessive, Compulsive Disorder.  It's your disease!!!!

Bibi those two ripostes show how limited you are in responding to direct assertions about you.

The first rejoinder makes no sense at all. I couldn't even fathom what the heck you're referring to.

The second descended to the level of Nehru, but without the CAPS.

Kari posted:

I have no interest in racism.  You go right ahead and satisfy your Obsessive, Compulsive Disorder.  It's your disease!!!!

Bibi those two ripostes show how limited you are in responding to direct assertions about you.

The first rejoinder makes no sense at all. I couldn't even fathom what the heck you're referring to.

Kari posted:

Me thinks you are a little L......ney.

Guyana is a better country today because of the PPP.  The new gov't. should keep in mind the disaster that this nation went through during the Burnham/Hoyte years and the sacrifices that had to be made by PPP/Civic gov't. to dig it out of the deep hole that it was in. Re-building Guyana was no easy task. It's easier to breakdown a house than to build one. After 23 years in the opposition the PNC should not resort back to the old politics of racial dominance and tough authoritarian rule.  It alienated the best of our people and ruined the economy to a point where we found ourselves in the ranking of countries like Haiti and Bangladesh. 

I have no interest in racism.  .

Of course you do. You endorse a man who is a known racist. He was called an institutional racist, and sued those who made that accusation. When they cited evidence to back their assertions he couldn't defend himself, and dropped the case.

You are just not interested in discussions of race when it is about PPP Indians, because you have been screaming about how racist Granger is.

Bibi your responses show that you have a tendency to hysteria and you are just not very intelligent.