This great man told the people to sell plantain chips and tamarind ball.

Soon there will be a tamarind ball factory too.

Leguan Plantain chip factory by June

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Business, Rajdai Jagernauth, and other officials of the ministry during Monday’s meeting

THE Leguan plantain chips factory is expected to become operational by the end of June.

The factory which will provide employment to 30 persons will be the first of its kind on the island.

Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Business, Rajdai Jagernauth, told the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of the National Assembly on Monday that the ministry is in the process of reviewing the qualifications of persons to manage the factory. She said after Expressions of Interest for operating the factory was advertised, the Ministry received only one response.

A similar factory was slated for the neighbouring island of Wakenaam , however the government has decided to discontinue with the plan. Jagernauth said that being guided by a review which was undertaken by the ministry in 2015, it was recommended that the project be halted.

The PAC requested a copy of the report on the firm which conducted the review and later determined that the project was not feasible for Wakenaam.

The Permanent Secretary noted that she was unaware of any other alternative regarding the Wakenaam factory plans.

In March, following a site visit by Minister of Business, Dominic Gaskin and a team from the ministry, the Government Information Agency (GINA) noted that the Ministry has heeded the advice of the Sea Defence Board and will not proceed with the chip factory in Wakenaam. It was noted that a structure there for the facility was built on land that is deemed prone to flooding and erosion.

The chips factory is one of four projects which fall under the $1 Billion Rural Development Fund (RDF) that was put on hold ion 2016 pending a review. In addition to the factories, two call centres have been planned for opening at Enmore on the East Coast of Demerara and Tuschen on the East Bank of Essequibo.

In addition to funding in the 2015 budget, last year’s budget provided $195M for the completion of remaining works on the projects at Tuschen and Enmore and Leguan.

Head of Industries at the Ministry of Business, Sharon Alexander in an interview with GINA said that in addition to the initial 30 jobs which will be created immediately upon completion of the chips factory at Leguan, over time, the employment number will increase.

A road and a bridge to gain access to the factory’s premises have been completed by the government so that the factory can become operational and provide benefits for the community.

PAC Chair, Irfaan Ali, told the team from the Ministry of Business that persons on the island of Leguan are already preparing to invest from their plantain farms into the factory.

He said there were also questions regarding the plans for the Wakenaam factory, since according to Ali, persons there were also preparing their farms for the project.

Plantain chips and sugar water for lunch. 

The plantain chip Factory in Leguan and the other one in Wakenaan was started under the PPP.

I guess if the PPP was in power it would not have been "Plantain chips and sugar water "

They will have to import the sugar for the sugar water!!!  I say bare water and plantain chips.

Oh Lord! i never thought about where we would get sugar from when the estates are all closed. More foreign exchange will be needed to get this local local industry thing going that the Neo-Burnhamites are bringing back.  

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Looka rass hey, a big fat 30 people will be employed by this venture. At this rate they will need at least 5,000 of these factories to make up for all the sugar and rice workers/farmers out of work. 

The factory which will provide employment to 30 persons will be the first of its kind on the island

They will have to import the sugar for the sugar water!!!  I say bare water and plantain chips.

GAWU driving the final nail for the burial of the Sugar Industry.

Are you the undertaker?

I wonder if they did a cost-benefit analysis of this venture before investing millions into it. 

Ask the PPP,they started the process of building the Leguan factory,also find out about the other one in Wakenaam built in a flood zone.

Oh Lord! i never thought about where we would get sugar from when the estates are all closed. More foreign exchange will be needed to get this local local industry thing going that the Neo-Burnhamites are bringing back.  

Bai - wha wrang wid you?  How about where the molasses will come from to keep DDL in business.  One fly on the wall told me that they are thinking of importing molasses from India.  Burnham son-in-law, David Pollard is the ambassador to India.

But as my dear fren, Gilly, always say, "Let's wait and see!!"

The plantain chip Factory in Leguan and the other one in Wakenaan was started under the PPP.

I guess if the PPP was in power it would not have been "Plantain chips and sugar water "

So you mean to say the PNC is taking credit for the PPP venture as is suggested by the article? 

Are you the undertaker?

That's the best you can come up with ??

I wonder if they did a cost-benefit analysis of this venture before investing millions into it. 

Ask the PPP,they started the process of building the Leguan factory,also find out about the other one in Wakenaam built in a flood zone.

All dem factory this PPP built?  God Bless Dem!!

Are you the undertaker?

That's the best you can come up with ??

Undertaker is not a bad thing. The alternative is worse

So you mean to say the PNC is taking credit for the PPP venture as is suggested by the article? 

Did they say the are taking credit ??,equipment was purchased and lying around in the building since PPP were in office.

You can also find out about the Rice Cereal Factory,what is causing the holding up production.

All dem factory this PPP built?  God Bless Dem!!

You right..build and dont work.

They did or else they would never have gotten the financing. The problem is that those giving the report painted a rosy picture with no allowance for the Chinese lemon.

You should answer my question since you seem to be the government's spokesman on GNI.

Don't have to,

information is out there,look for it.

Django posted: GAWU driving the final nail for the burial of the Sugar Industry.

BUNKUM. You're uncritically and unthinkingly repeating GuySuCo refrain. GAWU is the legal bargaining body for sugar workers' rights. Since APNU+AFC got into power, sugar workers were not paid any Annual Production Incentive (API) and other routine rates of pay. Sugar workers are in a worse economic state today than they were before 2015. They have a right to protest for their legitimate rights and benefits. 

Now, who really is driving the final nail for the burial of the sugar industry? The highly-paid clueless GuySuCo management and Board. Don't make scapegoats of sugar workers.

Did they say the are taking credit ??,equipment was purchased and lying around in the building since PPP were in office.

You can also find out about the Rice Cereal Factory,what is causing the holding up production.

PPP built a Rice Cereal Factory?   So why is PNC holding up the production?  It's been two years.

Find out nah... what is causing the holding up,information out here.

Which one of these women is Rajdai Jagernauth?

Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Business, Rajdai Jagernauth, and other officials of the ministry during Monday’s meeting.

Find out nah... what is causing the holding up,information out here.

Ow me gaad.  Me nah bright like you.  Cut and paste something and leh me see nah. 

Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Business, Rajdai Jagernauth, and other officials of the ministry during Monday’s meeting.

Rajdal hiding under the table. 

The woman in blue. Centre.