Amerindian Rights Activist robbed at gunpoint

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Jean La Rose

Programme Administrator of the Amerindian People’s Association (APA), Jean La Rose was robbed at gunpoint on Monday in Georgetown.

In a Facebook Post, La Rose said she is still shaken from the incident as she urged Guyanese to be careful. La Rose, who is the former Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Guyana National Newspapers Limited (GNNL), said she is convinced she was traced from the ATM.

“I am convinced that I was traced from the ATM by a man who pushed his way past three of us in the line but who was still in the room where the ATMs are located when I had completed my transaction. He was not at any machine when I noticed him but appeared to be doing something just a bit off,” La Rose wrote on her Facebook page.

She said she drove off after leaving the bank and while reaching for her bag on the car floor after parking to make a purchase, a man pushed a gun at her temple.”

“…and told me he was going to shoot me if I did not let go of the bag which I was holding on to. I let go of it with the man still pointing the gun at me as he moved off telling me he would shoot me if I screamed. I did eventually scream after he had gotten into a car that was just behind me (not parked) and drove off. Everything happened so fast,” La Rose detailed.

La Rose is a key leader in the Amerindian struggle for full rights to traditional lands.

Hold your horses there Cain, should I dig up posts that AFC/PNC posters posted about Presidents Jagdeo and Rammo ?

Nothing wrong in posting about Jackass Grainjaw. It is all fair game.

Go ahead an dig nuh we"ll cut them up again. Kishan pulling a Shaitain on us...one day he on PPP side next day when he blood pressure drop or he got heartburn he tek it out on Granger Government. He gonna play all sides. I badtalk Granger's govt when necessary but I doan make up story.

KishanB posted:.

La Rose is a key leader in the Amerindian struggle for full rights to traditional lands.

Why take that tack? Do you know if it is a junkie zombie that did it or some other criminal? This is putting yourself squarely in the company of racist idiots like cobra/prince, Ugli and SkeldonApe. Granger's only input here is more to the deficiencies in crime control under his regime

Hey Shaman, why not quit your stock boy at the dollar store and fly back to Guyana to rescue your people. With your ability to get along with people, the chief might just give you enough piwari and shrink your head for his wall trophy.

Dude, I am tired of your incapacity to carry on a conversation with out your ignorant racist bilge.

Banna you have stooped a tad low with this..Granger's Godchild? What would you do if you were to find out it was a relative of her's who was the perp?  

When I read the heading I thought someone had been apprehended and it actually was Granger's God child. Nonsense at it's best.