Granger could pull out if demand for PM candidates’ debate not met

President Donald Ramotar

Presidential debates:

…he can run, but can’t hide – Ali

By Vahnu Manikchand

Housing and Water Minister Irfaan Ali

The People’s National Congress (PNC)-led A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition is insisting that a Prime Ministerial Candidate debate is a prerequisite for David Granger to participate in the Private Sector Commission (PSC) organised presidential debate.

Contacted by the Guyana Times, Housing Minister Irfaan Ali, a member of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) organising team, said bluntly, “Granger is scared of debating President [Donald] Ramotar. It had always been the position that the PSC was organising a “presidential debate”. Granger cannot now unilaterally and arbitrarily seek to change the rules of the engagement. As an old army man, if the rules of engagement by the Geneva Convention forbid use of poison gas, would he suddenly demand that his men unilaterally conduct chemical warfare?”

The Guyana Times understands that the Opposition is pressing for the prime ministerial debate, insisting that not only President Ramotar and David Granger are running for high office.

Speaking to this publication on Thursday, Co-Campaign Manager of the coalition, Raphael Trotman confirmed that the coalition was indeed requesting the additional debate in an effort to have a “complete package”. The APNU/AFC Co-Campaign Manager said that the coalition wanted a complete package of the top leaders debating each other so that the Guyanese public can see and know who they will be voting for come May 11.

Minister Ali retorted, “Well, will Granger soon demand that the numbers three, four etc in line for the presidency should also debate or he won’t participate. This is ridiculous. If there are to be other debates, why does he have to tie them on to his debate?? Is he looking to save the face of the APNU/AFC coalition when he loses the debate with President Ramotar?”

APNU/AFC Presidential Candidate David Granger

The PSC has been tasked with organising the presidential debate between Ramotar and Granger on their policies in front of a televised audience.

Meanwhile, Trotman explained that the APNU/AFC coalition was very “keen and interested” in a presidential debate, but would also like to have a prime ministerial debate along with it. According to Trotman, he sent an email on Wednesday to the PSC and copied the PPP/C members – Youth, Culture and Sport Minister Dr Frank Anthony and Irfaan Ali.

“I have indicated our interest to have the prime ministerial debate to the PSC and we are now awaiting a response from them,” he stated.

Asked whether the Opposition would go ahead with the presidential debate if its request for the prime ministerial debate was denied, Trotman said the Guyanese people would be “robbed” of the experience, adding that the coalition would have to review its position if such a situation arose.

“The people are calling for the parties to do this (prime ministerial debate) because a Prime Minister can become the President if he gets sick or something of the sort,” Trotman pointed out. He added that the public has the right to see the Prime Ministerial Candidates debate and not only the Presidential Candidates.

Meanwhile, PSC Chairman Ramesh Persaud confirmed that he received the email from Trotman. He told this newspaper that he indicated the same to the PPP/C and was awaiting a response before he could reply to the coalition. Further asked whether the Commission was prepared to host both debates if the parties agreed, Persaud pointed out that the PSC had only planned and organised to do one debate and that is the presidential one.

Terms and conditions

Nevertheless, the PSC Chairman noted that the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry (GCCI) has indicated its willingness to support the Commission by hosting the prime ministerial debate. On the other hand, Dr Anthony told the Guyana Times that it was the PPP/C and President who were invited by the PSC to a presidential debate and had agreed to that only. He declared that at no time during their several meetings did the Commission discuss with him participating in any other debate. “Whether or not the Opposition has asked for a prime ministerial debate is another matter. So far, we have only discussed with the PSC to have the presidential debate and that matter (of the prime ministerial debate) never came up,” he related.

Dr Anthony was asked whether he had received the email from Trotman and responded that it was not a matter for him. He explained that the Commission was tasked with organising the debate, so it was the PSC that has to deal with the coalition’s request and then discuss it with the PPP/C. Further questioned about whether the ruling party would be interested in participating in the prime ministerial debate, the Minister emphasised that he cannot speculate on this, since he did not know what the Opposition really wanted.

“Unless a formal document is presented with what they have in mind and want to do, I cannot comment on this matter of a prime ministerial debate. If the PSC wants to engage us in any other debate, then we will do so at the relevant time, but right now we have only discussed the presidential debate with the PSC and agreed to that,” he said.

As it relates to the presidential debate, Persaud also revealed to the Guyana Times that he had circulated draft terms and conditions, and was awaiting responses from the political parties. The PSC Chairman said the drafts were sent on Wednesday and he was expecting a response from the two parties as soon as possible.

The PSC Chairman noted that he met with Anthony and Trotman separately last week, where they had preliminary discussions. However, he explained that the parties had already signalled their commitment to participate in the much-anticipated debate. Globally, there is much excitement and anticipation surrounding presidential debates. The topics discussed in the debates, particularly in the United States, are often the most contested at the time, and arguably elections have been nearly decided by these debates.

In conclusion, Minister Ali said, “As the old boxer Joe Louis warned one opponent, Granger “can run, but he can’t hide” from President Ramotar

Prime Ministers should debate also...in case the Prez dead, we need to see how good is the back up

How about the 12 vice presidents too? If the president dies, anyone of the 12 VP can be appointed.

Prime Ministers should debate also...in case the Prez dead, we need to see how good is the back up

Rules are Rules.  How many Presidents died and a PM had to take over in Guyana.  And I have been hearing over and over again that a PM post is just to wash Diplomats asses. Al YUh make up Al Yuh mind, if at all Al YUh have one.

yall afraid that Harper cannot stand up to Nagas

Bannas, You really dont know Ms Harper.

Like you know her....

Did you see her last interview

Ray, I know her very well.  She is an accomplished Civil Servant who has served Guyana well for over 35 years.

Like you know her....

Ray, I know her very well.  She is an accomplished Civil Servant who has served Guyana well for over 35 years.

so is Hamilton Greene

Like you know her....

so is Hamilton Greene

Well put Hammie on the APNU /PNC list.

Originally Posted by kp:

Like you know her....

so is Hamilton Greene

Well put Hammie on the APNU /PNC list.

Why?

Like you know her....

so is Hamilton Greene

HAHAHA  Look in Webster for the meaning of accomplished.  Garbage in the whole City is NOT being accomplished.

The presidential debate is the one that the Guyanese political leaders should be focusing on this election.

In Guyana's constitution, it is the president who is entrusted with the powers to appoint all ministers including the Prime Minister.

PNC is projecting non-interest to debate issues for the May 11, 2015 elections.

Like you know her....

so is Hamilton Greene

HAHAHA  Look in Webster for the meaning of accomplished.  Garbage in the whole City is NOT being accomplished.

that's my point...Hammi and Harper are both civil servants...you saying that 25 yrs of service qualifies her to be PM, I saying Hammie got more...according to your logic, Hammie could also be PM

The presidential debate is the one that the Guyanese political leaders should be focusing on this election.

In Guyana's constitution, it is the president who is entrusted with the powers to appoint all ministers including the Prime Minister.

Does the constitution also specify who should debate?

Check the constitution to get the answer to your question.

One will note that no mention in my comments relates the constitution specifying who should debate.

Like you know her....

so is Hamilton Greene

that's my point...Hammi and Harper are both civil servants...you saying that 25 yrs of service qualifies her to be PM, I saying Hammie got more...according to your logic, Hammie could also be PM

Man please use Webster Dictionary and look up the meaning of distinguished.

One will note that no mention in my comments relates the constitution specifying who should debate.

Well...this is topic about debates...you brought up constitution...I thought for a moment that you know something on the matter

My specific comment on the constitution; highlighted in blue; relates to the elected President who names his cabinet which includes the Prime Minister.

Prime Ministers can be included and dismissed by the President.

So...does that mean that Prime Minister candidates cannot debate?

Yes they can debate.  However, it is a bit too late for that now. Let us get the Presidential debate going.

Indeed there can be debates between the candidates for Prime Minister.

Debates for Presidential candidates are separate and distinct from those for the Prime Minister.

Like you know her....

the man cleaning toilet in rohee office is a civil servant,you fool know what a civil is

Like you know her....

the man cleaning toilet in rohee office is a civil servant,you fool know what a civil is

STUPID as STUPID gets.

Like you know her....

STUPID as STUPID gets.

you a civil servant or you test rum

Like you know her....

STUPID as STUPID gets.

STUPIDEE BILL on GNI.

The fact is that these debates are just cosmetics that Guyanese like to use to point to the fact that we are some kind of democracy; which we are not.

They are pointless. They have zero impact on voters. We have no real "swing" voters per se. That is to say voters who care about candidates' positions on various issues.

Guyanese people will largely vote race and some number of disaffected persons will cast a ballot against the party they hate most.

The PPP will not allow Harper to debate. That's smart. And Granger should not debate Ramotar without Nagamootoo being allowed in.

If Granger had better advisors, he would understand that the election is on his shoulders alone. Don't try to share the burden with Nagamootoo. Nagamootoo is not up to the task.

Granger should have prepared and delivered a speech on race. Something that would speak to the nation's race demons in a frank and profound way. No fancy Brittannic language. Just ordinary non-Charles Ramson language that the average Indian and Black voter can understand.

There is no case to be made for an overly cautious approach.

Like you know her....

STUPID as STUPID gets.

STUPIDEE BILL on GNI.

step over to social let them bais play a sad song for you drunking bat  

In the history of Guyana's election, there has always been a Presidential debate and NEVER a prime minister debate, why change now, because Granger says so. Let Granger debate President Ramoutor, and have the Prime ministers help them prepare for the debate. Find something else to argue this is a lame subject.

Granger should have prepared and delivered a speech on race.

There is no case to be made for an overly cautious approach.

How does he speak honestly on race?  By admitting that both Africans and Indians are guilty of racism and that both have suffered?  And as a result both suffer from ethnic insecurity.

That kind of languages gets blacks branded as anti Indian racists.

Originally Posted by kp:

In the history of Guyana's election, there has always been a Presidential debate and NEVER a prime minister debate, why change now, because Granger says so. Let Granger debate President Ramoutor, and have the Prime ministers help them prepare for the debate. Find something else to argue this is a lame subject.

Nagamootoo is playing the role of a co leader and Harper will be president of the president dies in office.  Even if this is only for 3 minutes while the PPP coaxing her to retire as no black person will be allowed to be a PPP president.

Just as the VP candidate in the US debate, so should the PM candidates.  If the role of PM is irrelevant, then abolish the post!  Guyanese are being told to vote for a PRESIDENT and a PM.  BOTH parties feature BOTH posts in the campaigning material. If Harper isn't up to Nagamootoo then that is the PPPs problem.