Home > TOP STORY > ‘Chilly’ reception awaits APNU+AFC –on arrival in New York
NY-Protest

‘Chilly’ reception awaits APNU+AFC –on arrival in New York

THE Alliance of A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) has taken its campaign and fundraising activities to the Diaspora in the United States of America (USA). But alas! It got a little more than it bargained for, as the reception was, let’s say, as chilly as the New York weather.

Both presidential and prime ministerial candidates, Brigadier (Rt’d) David Granger and Moses Nagamootoo, were met by screaming placards that called attention to Granger’s questionable military past, and the fact that Nagamootoo has jumped shipped in his never-ending quest for power.
As is the old saying, a picture is worth a thousand words. You be the judge.

NY-Protest

THE Alliance of A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) has taken its campaign and fundraising activities to the Diaspora in the United States of America (USA). But alas! It got a little more than it bargained for, as the reception was, let’s say, as chilly as the New York weather.

Both presidential and prime ministerial candidates, Brigadier (Rt’d) David Granger and Moses Nagamootoo, were met by screaming placards that called attention to Granger’s questionable military past, and the fact that Nagamootoo has jumped shipped in his never-ending quest for power.

Is that you in the pic Yugi? Trying to hide yuh gold teeth behind the placard..

Originally Posted by Brodaman:

The one guy holding the "Granger has blood on his hand' at the far right of the picture cleans toilet at St Johns express on Liberty Ave. 

'e wearin the same gloves

The 3 groups did a good job maximizing the effect of the limited number of people they had - around 15 to 20.

"Screaming placards" and "chilly welcome" are somewhat misleading. I was standing talking to Faiuze and I said hello to a few people; all this while Moses was already in the building. Granger arrived later. The organizers of the Event had the creative use of tassa drummers at their disposal and this may have served to drown out the protesters.

To properly judge the thousand words' picture one would have to look at a wide view of the entrance and not the tight shot with about 5 persons in it.

The one guy holding the "Granger has blood on his hand' at the far right of the picture cleans toilet at St Johns express on Liberty Ave. 

While there were 15-20 protesters outside the Ozone Park venue, there were well over 200 well-wishers inside. Granger and Nagamootoo were indeed welcomed in grand style.

Surely, yuji and comrades would not be happy about that.

What is wrong with cleaning toilets? Isn't that better than collecting free money and food vouchers paid for by hardworking Americans?

While there were 15-20 protesters outside the Ozone Park venue, there were well over 200 well-wishers inside. Granger and Nagamootoo were indeed welcomed in grand style.

Gilly, I suppose that you were one of those who attended. I am happy that you described the others as well wishers rather than voters. 

He probably never cleaned a toilet in Guyana but PNC chase he out and he  come to the great US of A to clean all alyuh shit with the same glove. America run out of gloves or wah?

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Gilly, I suppose that you were one of those who attended. I am happy that you described the others as well wishers rather than voters. 

Don, I live in Canada and couldn't be there. I got the 15-20 protesters count from our reliable eyewitness Kari. The numbers inside the building vary and that's why I stated well over 200.

Yes, they are well-wishers, not voters, but they have influence over their voting families in Guyana.

There was a suggestion that each attendee should call 10 family members in Guyana and urge them to vote APNU+AFC. I'm doing the same thing and I'm happy to hear that most of my relatives and friends have already made up their mind to vote against the PPP.