Shot cop loses lower right limb

April 16, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

-  Mother says GPHC could have killed her son

Doctors at a private hospital were forced to amputate the lower right limb of Samuel Elvis, a policeman who was accidently shot by a colleague on March 20, last.
Despite trying their best to save Elvis’ leg, a decision had to be made to remove the lower right limb. The surgery was done around midday yesterday.

The injured rank yesterday at the private hospital.

The rank’s limb had to be removed after medical practitioners attached to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) reportedly performed  a “faulty” surgery on the 23-year-old lawman and damaged his blood vessels.
Elvis, a father of one, of Lot 4 Bella Dam, Pouderoyen, West Bank Demerara was shot to the right upper thigh. He underwent surgery at the GPHC, but the bullet was not removed.
“When the policeman carried my son to the GPHC, they (health workers) didn’t do an X-ray; they just carry him for surgery and burst his foot and damage his blood vessel and they couldn’t remove the bullet,” the injured man’s mother, Joylin Elvis said.
The mother explained that after the surgery was done, her son’s foot started to get dark and when she enquired, she was informed that a blood vessel was damaged.
“They continued treating him and I didn’t know what they were treating him for. He was getting fever and his foot started to get black. I asked the doctor if an X-ray was done and she said yes, when I asked to see it, she said it lost,” the mother lamented.
According to the older Elvis, after realizing that her son’s foot was getting worse as the days went by, she decided to transfer him to a private hospital.
“When he came here, the doctors remove the bullet and flush out the arteries and the clot blood that was inside. They were quarreling. They said that the surgery was done wrong and I should sue them (GPHC),” the mother stated.
The woman is upset with the services that the GPHC offered to her son. She said that her son could have been dead if she had left him there.
Meanwhile, Elvis recounted the shooting incident.
“Sometime after 01:00 hrs on March 20 (last), we received a call that a lost Guyana Defence Force weapon was found so we had to go uplift it, which we did. At the base, we were waiting to lodge it when a Corporal picked up the weapon and cranked it,” the TSU rank recalled.
He added that the gun went off and he was injured.

this is what Guyanese get when the only "quality of delivery" and  "sustainability" the gluttonous cabal pursues is funnelling unending bundles of taxpayer money into the bank accounts of the Ramroop companies

i hear babby and jags callin to find out if the latest multi-billion procurement money fuh NGPC secure in de budget