Govt. doesn’t deny financial irregularities

February 23, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News

- Luncheon says PAC can make recommendations

The government is not denying charges of financial irregularities, but says the option the Parliamentary

Dr Roger Luncheon

opposition used two weeks ago in not approving supplementary spending has left the system of financial administration in a quandary.
“What specifically with regards to financial administration will come of this, up to now, I haven’t any answers,” said Dr Roger Luncheon, the government’s chief spokesperson.
The government is voicing concern over the way forward for financial administration after it failed to get the opposition’s support to $5.7 billion which it spent in the last three months of 2011.
The money was taken out of the Contingency Fund and counted as Supplementary Provision. It was used in various sectors.
The Government sought clearance for the money that was spent already, but the combined opposition questioned and voted against several areas of spending, and as a result the government could not get passed the legislation which would have approved the spending. Mrs. Deborah Backer, who acted as Speaker, adjourned the sitting until March 15.
Luncheon suggested that the move by the Alliance for Change (AFC) and A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) – the two Parliamentary opposition parties – was a conspiracy to frustrate the government and flex their political muscle; but he said no thinking was put into the end result.
“The attempts by the APNU/AFC alliance to undo and to revise laws, rules and conventions, Cabinet reasoned…took an unprecedented turn on February 16,” Luncheon stated.
The government said the question of the way forward should be asked of the opposition, moreso, the former minister of finance, Carl Greenidge, who sits on the opposition front benches for the coalition APNU.
For Dr Luncheon, it isn’t as if the government is disputing the fact that financial irregularities exist. He said that matters of financial irregularities have been noted by the Auditor General “since the time of the Republic,” once he had books to check.
However, Luncheon reasoned that the choice of intervention by the opposition was ill-conceived and ill-advised. He suggested that the Parliamentary Public Accounts Committee (PAC) is the avenue where the administration and its adherence to financial rules and regulations are examined, and recommendations are made to the full House.
This avenue, he said, is what stands a greater chance of a fairly well defined outcome.
But the position taken by the opposition has left the door wide open and uncertain.
The government is calling for “mature judgment” on the part of the Parliamentary opposition.
“The spectre of that body unraveling Guyana’s development agenda with ill-conceived actions, Cabinet insisted, must be rejected,” Luncheon declared.
He said that “more thoughtful engagements at this the highest level of the land” is needed.
Dr Luncheon said that Guyana is on the verge of some of the most promising developments in so many areas that would impact on economy and well-being and status of average Guyanese, but the support of the opposition is needed in implementing that agenda.
“The inter-party talks that had from its inception lent weight to call for working together; sober and principled minds would have to come to the fore to bring about the desired change,” Luncheon stated.

Originally posted by Mitwah:
Spending money without approval is fraud.

Inappropriately spending money with proper approval is also fraud . There needs to be a strong deterrent .
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Guyanese4eva:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mitwah:
Spending money without approval is fraud.[/QUOTE

Mitts, there is an exception -in emergency and war.
Ah deh catch dah yippie yippie
Originally posted by Dondadda:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Guyanese4eva:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mitwah:
Spending money without approval is fraud.[/QUOTE

Mitts, there is an exception -in emergency and war.
Originally posted by warrior:
first i use to say jail all the ppp ministers,but now i change my mind i am saying now hang the mother ****ers

Warrior, the APNU/PNC outfit called the Guyana Human Rights Committee will file a complaint with Amnesty International tellig them that the ministers are being persecuted on political grounds and that their right to life is in jeopardy. The APNU/PNC outfit may benefit from your wise counsel.
Originally posted by Dondadda:
Originally posted by warrior:
first i use to say jail all the ppp ministers,but now i change my mind i am saying now hang the mother ****ers

Warrior, the APNU/PNC outfit called the Guyana Human Rights Committee will file a complaint with Amnesty International tellig them that the ministers are being persecuted on political grounds and that their right to life is in jeopardy. The APNU/PNC outfit may benefit from your wise counsel.
these people thief enought to distroy the sugar industries,some people will call that fraud.me i call it treason,to move guyana forward you have to send a strong message to people that is respondable for tax payers money.