Govt. delegation heads to Canada to woo investors

OCTOBER 7, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

A high level Government of Guyana delegation is gearing to head to North America to meet with a number of potential investors.
The team will be looking to sell investment opportunities in Guyana.
The announcement was made by Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, who on Monday last said that the team will be led by Prime Minister and First Vice President, Moses Nagamootoo and will also include himself, Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan and Minister of Business, Dominic Gaskin.
The investor’s confab stems from requests made of Head of State, President David Granger during a recent visit to the North American country.
“Several persons in the Canadian Diaspora expressed an interest in projects and investing in Guyana, some even in returning to Guyana and we were mandated to follow up on this,” Patterson told members of the local media corps.
He said the response to the planned forum thus far, has been overwhelming but he did express concern over the logistics involved in getting to meet and interact with all of the persons that would have expressed an interest.
“But we do hope in the end that we will have some concrete proposals with which we can carry to Cabinet.” Patterson told media operatives, that the confab is slated to be held from Friday to next Monday.
The Diaspora Investment Forum, according to Patterson, will on the first day see the Ministers along with a team from the Guyana Office for Investment (GO-INVEST) meeting with a number of large businesses.
He said during that forum, “we will make presentations on investment opportunities in the country and in the afternoon, we will schedule one-on-one meetings.”
Patterson told media operatives too, that among some of the presentations would be government’s plans to build a new Demerara Harbour Bridge as well as plans to establish four new townships and the inherent investment opportunities.
“We will be speaking to them on energy,” said Patterson, as he reminded of Government’s commitment to pursuing alternative energy sources other than the traditional fossil based fuels.
He recalled too, the administration’s desire to have all of the outlying areas, including the Essequibo islands powered by alternative energy.
Patterson cited as an example that the power generation needs of an island such as Wakenaam, could be put to investors.
That island, he said, has a demand requirement of about 2MW and potential investors in alternative energy could examine possibilities in that region which could also lend to reducing the cost paid for energy there.
“I will also be pitching to them for the airport and the security services,” said Patterson. He told members of the media that as it relates to the provision of security services at the international airport, there is a proposal from a Canadian firm but the delegation would also be looking for other proposals from interested parties.
Patterson said, while he could only speak to his Ministry’s portfolio, he is quite certain that the Ministers of Business and Public Security will also be making similar pitches for projects under their remit.
He said too that the Public Security Minister and the Prime Minister will also seek to provide some level of assurance to the potential investors on the security and safety of their investments locally.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....da-to-woo-investors/

Who is going to invest in Guyana after the Berbice bridge fiasco where govt is not honoring agreements made with private investors?

Druggie how much $$$ did the private sector invest in this bridge? 

Based on what I hear, it wasn't that much. Just another Jagdeo scandal to allow his buddies to feather their nests.

BTW who is/are the private investor(s) that is/are involved in the Marriott?

Gilbaka are you going to be there?

Maan Siggy, yuh don't pay attention to me posts. I said many times that I belong to the working class and I'm happy in my class position. I never thought about owning any means of production, whether a factory or shop or mine. I am not an investor and as a rule I socialize among my own class. So, frenno, I won't be there.

Gilbaka are you going to be there?

Maan Siggy, yuh don't pay attention to me posts. I said many times that I belong to the working class and I'm happy in my class position. I never thought about owning any means of production, whether a factory or shop or mine. I am not an investor and as a rule I socialize among my own class. So, frenno, I won't be there.

Ahrite.

Who is going to invest in Guyana after the Berbice bridge fiasco where govt is not honoring agreements made with private investors?

Based on what I hear, it wasn't that much. Just another Jagdeo scandal to allow his buddies to feather their nests.

Even if they invested 1 dollar and were promised a return of 10 cents, this should be honored. I don't see what the % of their investment have to do with govt honoring agreements. 

Investors are afraid to invest under the Axis of Evil PNC. They lack confidence in a government that has no vision for Guyana.

Even if they invested 1 dollar and were promised a return of 10 cents, this should be honored. I don't see what the % of their investment have to do with govt honoring agreements. 

The government's proposal did not change the return that was being earned by the investors. The government had planned to reduce the toll charged to the consumer and pay the investor the same amount as before by subsidizing the toll. With the toll being cheaper to the consumer, there would be a great incentive for consumers to use the bridge resulting in increased revenues to the investors. Instead, Jagdeo's band of greedy crooks/investors demanded that the toll be increased and the term of the payback period also be increased. In effect, sabotaging the government's efforts to provide relief for the consumers and at the same time holding the government to ransom in order to satisfy their greed.

Investors are afraid to invest under the Axis of Evil PNC. They lack confidence in a government that has no vision for Guyana.

yuji, Naga and Ramjattan are coming to Toronto.

If you got more seed than baigan, I dare you to picket them with the following words on your placard:

PNC SCUM

KAKAMOTOO

RUMJHAAT

CLUELESS

If you got more seed than baigan, I dare you to picket them with the following words on your placard:

PNC SCUM

KAKAMOTOO

RUMJHAAT

CLUELESS

Let the AFC/PNC Axis of Evil self destruct.

Originally Posted by alena06:

These idiots just gave themselves big pay raises and start the 'begging' process right after that

They have KoKOBeah, they are just useless.

They are forgetting that all those people they fired without reason in Guyana probably have relatives in Canada waiting for them.   Abee Guyanese shameless.

They are forgetting that all those people they fired without reason in Guyana probably have relatives in Canada waiting for them.  Abee Guyanese shameless.

name them klown

These idiots just gave themselves big pay raises and start the 'begging' process right after that

They have KoKOBeah, they are just useless.

They are forgetting that all those people they fired without reason in Guyana probably have relatives in Canada waiting for them.   Abee Guyanese shameless.

Alena,

Indos will never learn.

PNC part one destroyed Guyana in 28 years and PNC part two outdid PNC Part One by destroying Guyana in six months.

Guyana is in deep, deep economic trouble. PNC is clueless and Indos who were conned now regret supporting AFC which sold them out lot, stock and barrel to the PNC.

PNC started their policy of ethnic cleansing from day one.

PNC SCUM

KAKAMOTOO

RUMJHAAT

CLUELESS

Yuji

I taught U say the Prime Minister

Very Sick in a Texas Hospital.

Then Vishnu was calling people,

spreading false rumor

that he hear Jagdeo telling someone,

De Prime Minister on Life-support

at Walter Reid Hospital....

Jagdeo tell me Vishnu is a liar

He brought a Guyana Tourism Authority Magazine

and tell people he Print it at Universal Airlines.

and this on camera too...Vishnu De Magazine and Jagdeo

Now aya tell me who ia a fool?

How De PM

could be in Texas, Middle East, Walter Reid & Canada

at the same time.

Yugi

Bossman, like you eyepass me now.

I will never invest in Guyana as long as the PNC is in office. All plans are on hold.

this is so clinical . . . watch how the very disturbed and very ignorant use GNI to play dressup

lol

That is why I do not think Granger going to haul off any of the PPites to jail. He recognized the salaries of the previous government was too low. Suh he kinda understand why dey would want tek some treasury money.

Granger got a soft heart for criminals-u c how he let out 60 jailmen. THem were in jail wrongfully-dey din commit murder. Thiefing cell phones or thiefing money is nah criminal acts. According to the General. Suh the PPP boys are off the hook. The forensic is only to determine how much dem thief.

Originally Posted by Mars:

The government's proposal did not change the return that was being earned by the investors. The government had planned to reduce the toll charged to the consumer and pay the investor the same amount as before by subsidizing the toll. With the toll being cheaper to the consumer, there would be a great incentive for consumers to use the bridge resulting in increased revenues to the investors. Instead, Jagdeo's band of greedy crooks/investors demanded that the toll be increased and the term of the payback period also be increased. In effect, sabotaging the government's efforts to provide relief for the consumers and at the same time holding the government to ransom in order to satisfy their greed.

Jagdeo's economics make sense but the Government is all voodoo.

How can you pay off the national debt by reducing taxes and increased salaries. The Government must first create an atmosphere of trust in order for people to invest in the country.  This is not being done.  With ethnic cleansing and the firings of Indians, creating an 'atmosphere of trust' is impossible.