Highest volume of rainfall recorded in decades -Gov’t to invest more in City drainage

Georgetown, GINA, November 20, 2014

Based on an assessment done by engineers following the heavy rainfall, the highest recorded in Georgetown with 186 millimeters, (7.25 inches) of rain in a 24 - hour period, Government will have to invest more resources in drainage infrastructure in the City and along the Coast.

This was told to the media today by Minister of Public Works, Robeson Benn during a press conference, at which Local Government Minister, Norman Whittaker and Minister within the Ministry of Finance, Juan Edghill, Town Clerk (ag), Carol Sooba and City Engineer, Colvern Venture and Ministry of Works’ Chief Engineer, Walter Willis were present.

Teams of engineers and ministers, prior to the press conference visited several sluices around Georgetown, including Sussex and Princes Streets, Ruimveldt, Riverview, J.P Santos, and Kingston, among other areas. 

“We will work with Agriculture (Ministry) to see where we can put in pumps and enhance draining, that is making some embankment cuts…the chute further to the south. The affected areas we will look and see where we can install some pumps,” Minister Benn said during the press conference held at the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development, Kingston.

Minister of Local Government and Regional Development, Norman Whittaker engaging a staff at the Muneshwar’s pump during a visit around the City.

The heavy rainfall had resulted in extensive flooding in Georgetown, the lower East Bank Demerara and West Demerara, and Essequibo Coast.

Minister Benn explained that the drainage systems located on the Coast are designed to take off 1.5 inches of rainfall in any 24 hour period, hence the reason for the significant flooding.

“We have 5 or 6 percent more than the normal rainfall that can be handled through the drainage infrastructure on the coast …given the difficulty of excessive rainfall, we expect over the next two to three days, there will still be water on the ground…we are not the only affected country, you might know that there is this low pressure system also hanging over Trinidad which resulted in significant flooding in that country,” Minister Benn further noted.

He said that the ministry’s staff have examined the drainage infrastructure in terms of the pumps and kokers and looked at the outfalls, and they will be closely monitoring the drainage over the next few days to enhance reduction of the water. The sea and river defence engineers are also monitoring the situation on the Coast.

A flooded section of the City

Despite the massive clean-up across the city under the “Clean up my country” initiative, targeted areas are still under flood with significant amount of bottles and Styrofoam boxes floating.

Minister Whittaker noted that despite the cleaning persons are still dumping waste in the drains, causing blockage. He charged persons guilty of such act to desist from doing so.

Meanwhile, Minister Edghill pleaded with citizens to ensure that every effort is made to ensure minimum damage at the household level, and urged citizens to take the necessary health precautions to ensure that there is no outbreak of any epidemic.

“We are all in this together…climate change is a reality, these kind of systems will come from time to time and we have to ensure that we have adequate measures in place so I will think that we need to commend both the Ministry of Public Works and Local Government for quick actions, but there is some responsibility that citizens have to take on,” Minister Edghill pointed out.

Based on an assessment done by engineers following the heavy rainfall, the highest recorded in Georgetown with 186 millimeters, (7.25 inches) of rain in a 24 - hour period, Government will have to invest more resources in drainage infrastructure in the City and along the Coast.

This was told to the media today by Minister of Public Works, Robeson Benn during a press conference, at which Local Government Minister, Norman Whittaker and Minister within the Ministry of Finance, Juan Edghill, Town Clerk (ag), Carol Sooba and City Engineer, Colvern Venture and Ministry of Works’ Chief Engineer, Walter Willis were present.

WHAT A CARING, COMPASSIONATE GOVT.  THE PPP WILL NOT LEAVE A SINGLE CITIZEN WITHOUT HELP. THE PPP IS WORKING ROUND THE CLOCK TO TRY AND DRY OUT THE CITY.

Bhai Nehru, people can help to avoid this situation. They can try to keep all the drains clean by disposing of their plastic garbage properly. The mayor and town council in GT should be responsible for this mess. You can't have phantom employess on the payroll. Dem PNC peeple thief de money fuh maintenance.

What is so caring or compassionate about this?  This country is subjected to flooding and will continue to flood. The Govt. Had all the time in the world to put proper plans in place for just this sort of thing. Now that the horse is out of the stable,  Nehru will crow from the safety of singh's roti shop what a great job they're doing.
Originally Posted by Sheik101:
What is so caring or compassionate about this?  This country is subjected to flooding and will continue to flood. The Govt. Had all the time in the world to put proper plans in place for just this sort of thing. Now that the horse is out of the stable,  Nehru will crow from the safety of singh's roti shop what a great job they're doing.

wHEN THE LAST TIME YOU WENT TO bUFFALO???  GOD IS ALWAYS MIGHTIER THAN MAN.  READ THE KORAN PROPERLY.

The people are not going to come out of there disease ridden as they will in GT. Check the feet of guyanese. It is all scarred up with various infections as though they were in the sewer....maybe they were!

You mean they will spend more to thief more! 22 Years later and we still cannot get ahead of the waters!

Why GT flooding more than the rest of the Country???

The people are not going to come out of there disease ridden as they will in GT. Check the feet of guyanese. It is all scarred up with various infections as though they were in the sewer....maybe they were!

When last you went to Guyana to check the feet of Guyanese? Guyanese wear better shoes than most people in America. Go check, they wear Nikes(regardless if they are knockoffs).

Do I have to tell you? What for? In any case you can look at yours since you are a country baboo as well.

When I speak about Guyana, I speak from experience; you speak from hearsay. My feet are better looking than your face. I take pride being a country baboo.

I know...since you know me so well! what a lame ass!. You can lump all your experience into a paper bag because not one ounce of reality exist in it. Do you think these people walking in that fecal soup will come out unaffected? It looks like they are living in a sewer and they actually are!

You need to speak from experience. Pretend you know about Guyana doesn't count. Go ahead with the name calling. It's your trademark when confronted with about your lies. A sakawinki is not a parrot.

You need to speak from experience. Pretend you know about Guyana doesn't count. Go ahead with the name calling. It's your trademark when confronted with about your lies.

I do not know what lies you confront me with. That guyanese is catching their ass in a  sewer intermingled flood is before your eyes. I do not have to call you names. The labels fall off you as though it grew there

You need to speak from experience. Pretend you know about Guyana doesn't count. Go ahead with the name calling. It's your trademark when confronted with about your lies.

I do not know what lies you confront me with. That guyanese is catching their ass in a  sewer intermingled flood is before your eyes. I do not have to call you names. The labels fall off you as though it grew there

More hogwash from an uninformed confused soul. That's a general statement. Not all Guyanese are affected by this disaster.

Nehru, what does Buffalo and the quran got to do with the current flood situation in Guyana??  You fail to grasp the severity of the situation. Water borne illnesses being one of such. But I can't blame u to much.  Unlike me, you have no vested interests there except perhaps de annandale trench.

More hogwash from an uninformed confused soul. That's a general statement. Not all Guyanese are affected by this disaster.

What is uninformed with speaking to the obvious? Do you think those people will not suffer water borne disease after effects? Think how rapidly mold grows in NA now consider that is the perfect temperature for mold and fungi to bloom explosively. Surely you delude your self if you think there is not going to be diverse and broad based lasting diseased effects here with this flooding. And where did I say all Guyanese. But since you know so much you will agree this is a twice a year expectation for everyone in the country side where it is worse.

You mean they will spend more to thief more! 22 Years later and we still cannot get ahead of the waters!

Why GT flooding more than the rest of the Country???

GT is where the clouds descended on this time around.

Other areas of the country have been subjected to flooding also, see Mahaica, Mahaicony, the MMA areas in general have been prone to flooding. Essequibo cost ditto.

Where do you come up with this bildge from? NA also has flooding issues and so did east bank when a koker the PPP maintains broke the other day.

BTW - you are a fraud, ask Ramotar to call local govt elections now.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Guyana has experienced historic rainfall in the 1800's with indeed destructive effects.

Of interest that it is impossible to design water resources project to withstand 100% of the effects; as each project is designed based on a probability of occurrence of the event.

One of the greatest challenge is that Guyana's coast land is about five feet below sea level plus it is always subject to cyclic erosion, based on the effects of the Amazon and Orinoco rivers, which can occur at any location at any time. Prof. Ven Te Chow has eloquently described this unique feature in his publications and text books.