May 25, 2017 Source

Dear Editor,

“To survive in peace and harmony, united and strong, we must have one people, one nation, one flag” – Pauline Hanson.

The national flag of any country is a sacred symbol of nationhood. It is a symbol of national identity. It reminds us of our sovereignty. It tells a story of who we are and whence we came and the sacrifices we have made, individually and collectively, as a nation. It reminds us of our history and the road travelled by those who wanted us to be independent and stand on our own.

As Guyanese, we feel a profound sense of belonging and patriotism whenever and wherever we see our Golden Arrowhead fluttering.

Guyanese abroad sometimes fly the Golden Arrowhead because they never gave up on Guyana being home, sweet home. It’s where the heart is. Many have it on walls in their homes because, for them, Guyana will always be close to their hearts and dear to them. It’s where they belong. They yearn to return home, and many do.

Our Golden Arrowhead is flown around the world when our athletes perform, the latest being Baku, Azerbaijan during the Islamic Solidarity Games. It flutters masterfully at our diplomatic missions across the globe. This sacred piece of cloth which heralds us as a nation of this modern world represents all of us. It does not belong to any ethnic group, religion or political party. It belongs to each and every Guyanese and we surely are proud of our flag. Or, are we?

Editor, I ask the question with the feeling that someone, in a haste to demonstrate unbridled patriotism, was unknowingly involved in the desecration of the Golden Arrowhead, our single most recognisable national symbol. I hope it was done unknowingly and not knowingly.

On a road trip to the Corentyne on Sunday 21st, May, 2017 with my family and some visiting US relatives we were stunned to see our Golden Arrowhead painted on the ground at the entrance to the Guyana-Suriname Ferry terminal at Moleson Creek. What should be the pride of our nation, cutting across all political parties and races, is now lying bare for all to trample on, desecrate and denigrate. And how ironic that this singular, supreme symbol of our nationhood is being desecrated at a border outpost shared with a country that lays claim to part of our country.

While as a country, we have never ceased to amaze, it is now poignantly clear that we are moving from one low to another. Who would paint our flag on the ground? And, how can those in authority at the terminal allow such an act to be perpetrated against our nation? What about the police stationed at the terminal?

Editor, I hold dear to my heart my Golden Arrowhead and I am bewildered that anyone would have committed such a depraved act against our supreme national symbol that defines us as a nation. They would not have done it without approval from someone in authority at the terminal.

Such an act should not be allowed to go unpunished.

Yours faithfully,

Mahadeo Panchu

I understand Panchu to say that he saw the Guyana flag painted on the ground and it's unpatriotic to stand or walk on it. Respectfully, I beg to differ. Look at this image of the US flag on the ground. Does anyone appear disrespectful or unpatriotic?

Now, look at this image showing US President George W. Bush stepping on his country's flag. Is Bush unpatriotic? I think not.

Gilly this is the first time seeing a flag being stepped on. In scouting while hoisting or carrying a flag, it is never to touch the ground. That being said, the person(s) who painted the flag on the ground may have done so to show their pride and not as disrespect. A person not proud of their flag would not go out of the way and spend time painting one, they might just tief one and throw it on the ground.

The painter recognizes that Guyanese love to walk with their heads down, therefore it is unwise to put the flag high up . Dem Berbicians are always looking downwards to the ground to find a fallen penny.

I have an analogy. The swastika and OM are sacred Hindu symbols. During Diwali, Hindus decorate their floors or yards with an artistic design called Rangoli. It comprises a variety of stupendous designs according to one's fancy. Some rangolis have the sacred swastika and/or OM. It's on the ground. No disrespect intended.

The painter recognizes that Guyanese love to walk with their heads down, therefore it is unwise to put the flag high up . Dem Berbicians are always looking downwards to the ground to find a fallen penny.

Now dat  it harder to find anything on de ground, dat de homeless people na already get and wid de booming economy in Guyana.  Berbicians are looking upwards again, mainly so they don't get knock down by a speedin cyar.

Driven by an unlicensed teenager  who don't know dem right foot from dem lef hand, to hol a cigarette and cell phone at de same  time, while balancing  a battle of Banks between dem legs. 

Not only in Berbice, I have seen some of these jackasses RIGHT HERE IN NY DRIVING LIKE ANIMALS!!!!!!!

It's Tapirs vs. Donkeys on those roads in Berbice. 

Wait the PNC visited Berbice???

Not only in Berbice, I have seen some of these jackasses RIGHT HERE IN NY DRIVING LIKE ANIMALS!!!!!!!

Nehru, u have a problem with the flag being painted on the ground? U think its degrading? To be honest I'm not sure what take to have on this?

AS long as it is not Red White and Blue, the colors that kick ASS and dont RUN!!!

It's Tapirs vs. Donkeys on those roads in Berbice. 

Wait the PNC visited Berbice???

Nat only dem visit Berbice, but de high ranking PNC delegation will  reopen the ZAMBIA settlement at Black Bush Polder, dat Burnham started.

All de coolie people land going back to de black-man, fa grow  eddo and plantain, fa dry-food, wid pig-tail and cow hoof.