Apr 25, 2017 Source

Opposition leader, Bharrat Jagdeo, has said that ‘the chips should be allowed to fall where they

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

may’ as the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) probes suspected collusion between high ranking officials at the Guyana Gold Board (GGB) and the embattled gold dealer, Saddiqi ‘Bobby’ Rasul.Last Thursday, Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman, sent home GGB General Manager Lisaveta Ramotar, the daughter of former President Donald Ramotar; Deputy General Manager Andrea Seelochan; and the Legal officer, Suzanne Bullen.According to the letters sent to the three most senior officials at that entity, the police have requested that the officials be sent on administrative leave to facilitate an investigation.

Jagdeo said if there is a major problem with gold smuggling the police should investigate it thoroughly, and that the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) is not against professional investigations.
The opposition leader said that if it were found that persons have broken the law at that entity, they should face the consequences arising from their actions.

Jagdeo said that the investigations cannot be one of convenience. He contends that there are connections to Ministers in the affair. He said that the investigation should not sterilize the ministerial connections in the conduct of these investigations.When the former president was asked who were the Ministers he did not say and challenge the

Embattled Gold Dealer Saddiqi ‘Bobby’ Rasul

media to do investigative reporting. Jagdeo said that he suspects that the technical staffs are now left to ‘face the music’ something that he contends is the new way of addressing issues of this nature by the Granger-led administration.

In a Declaration of Compliance, Legal Officer of GGB, Suzanne Bullen, said that she assisted in the formation of one of Rasul’s companies. She even used the GGB Upper Brickdam address.The documents said: “I, Suzanne Bullen, of Lot 68 Upper Brickdam, Georgetown, Demerara, being duly sworn, make oath and say as follows: That I am the Attorney-at-Law engaged in the formation of SSS Minerals Trading Enterprise Inc., and I hereby state that all the requirements of the Companies Act, No. 29 of 1991, in respect of the matters precedent to the registration of the said company, and incidental thereto, have been complied with.”
Bullen’s role would raise serious conflict of interest questions as she is also the Compliance Officer of the state-owned GGB.Additionally, according to data between September to November last year, Rasul conducted over $7.6B in transactions with GGB, selling both at the Bartica branch and at the Upper Brickdam office.
What should have raised staffers’ suspicions was the fact that Rasul allegedly used a company he owned – R. Mining – to conduct the majority of his business with GGB.There was a reason for this. Under regulations, mining companies are not required to pay the two percent tax. They are, however, mandated to pay the five percent tax.

GGB Legal Officer Suzanne Bullen

In essence, Rasul is alleged to have bought gold through his gold dealing company, SSS Minerals, later passing it through R. Mining to the GGB.
Between September and November, the state reportedly lost an estimated $100M in taxes, because of what the gold dealer allegedly did. Those alleged transactions are said to be money laundering.
Rasul’s activities have drawn the attention of not only SOCU but also the Guyana Revenue Authority.
In recent weeks, a Lexus SUV and Toyota pickup, both bullet-proofed, were seized.Investigators have also raided the Bartica and city operations of Rasul as well as the premises of his business associates.
Police have also seized several guns and a significant quantity of documents.Rasul has also been charged with a $956M fraud at the Bartica branch of the Guyana Bank for Trade and Industry. He has been placed on $3M bail.

"Jagdeo said that the investigations cannot be one of convenience. He contends that there are connections to Ministers in the affair. He said that the investigation should not sterilize the ministerial connections in the conduct of these investigations.When the former president was asked who were the Ministers he did not say and challenge the media to do investigative reporting.

Jagdeo said that he suspects that the technical staffs are now left to ‘face the music’ something that he contends is the new way of addressing issues of this nature by the Granger-led administration."

KishanB posted:

Jagdeo, know what he is talking, he is trying to get rid of Ramotar politically.  This probe will mess up the Ramotar name so much that it will never be able to recover.

Jagdeo already neutered Rohee. When last yuh see Clement pictcha in de papers or letters in de press?

KishanB posted:

Jagdeo, know what he is talking, he is trying to get rid of Ramotar politically.  This probe will mess up the Ramotar name so much that it will never be able to recover.

Jagdeo already neutered Rohee. When last yuh see Clement pictcha in de papers or letters in de press?

There was one in Stabroek News the other day,he mentioned has more time now to move around the country.

That's what i don't like about B.J,he cast people aside as if they are underlings.

KishanB posted:

There was one in Stabroek News the other day,he mentioned has more time now to move around the country.

Thanks. I didn't see it.

That's what i don't like about B.J,he cast people aside as if they are underlings.

I know some folks he did that to. He was finalizing an Ambassador job for a brilliant professor. The guy sold his house twice and went to Guyana to work for the party. Suddenly the guy was cast aside. He returned to the US, bought another house, got back his old job, and resumed his former life. People will these will be bitter for life against Jagdeo and the PPP. I wonder if he's on GNI; a few times I thought you were him.  

KishanB posted:

Thanks. I didn't see it.

here  is one in today S.N.

here  is the one i mentioned.

It is the persecution of the Ramotar family that these anti-koolie are after.

Prashad is clear on what the only workable solution should be.

I had no idea that you consider Jagdeo to be anti coolie. So why do you support him then?

I know some folks he did that to. He was finalizing an Ambassador job for a brilliant professor. The guy sold his house twice and went to Guyana to work for the party. Suddenly the guy was cast aside. He returned to the US, bought another house, got back his old job, and resumed his former life. People will these will be bitter for life against Jagdeo and the PPP. I wonder if he's on GNI; a few times I thought you were him.  

B.J. have poor leadership qualities,i have been paying attention to him for a while,he doesn't care about poor people [ just want their votes] that fella is crude and disrespectful,looks like money full his eyes hence his actions.

Some rich people does act like that,seems like he forgot where he comes from.

B.J. have poor leadership qualities,i have been paying attention to him for a while,he doesn't care about poor people [ just want their votes] that fella is crude and disrespectful,looks like money full his eyes hence his actions.

Some rich people does act like that,seems like he forgot where he comes from.

Just like your heroes Grainjaw, Naga, Rumbwoy and Harmun. They care about their pockets, fleecing the poor.  

Django, thanks again. I don't understand how dem boys seh you is a PNC thug. Which PNC thug spends time to read long letters by Clement J. Rohee? Yuh looks like a closets PPPite. Careful before Grainjaw calls you a turncoat.