If GNI [post] 'likes' are any indication  regarding how others feel about a post, Baseman is one of the most racist and self-centered person on GNI.

Within the last 12 hours, there were 11 likes in my inbox, regarding my comments to Baseman.

Most interesting, one person sent an email regarding my comments. They mentioned  some things about Baseman, that should not be repeated on GNI. But it does describe the kind of person he is.

Rass Baseman, it would seem you are not a very likable guy.

But hea,  God and your kids like you.   

FC posted:

Tola, it is not surprising what you are reporting and experiencing. In the past Baseman was shamed on a daily basis by participants. Yet he comes back for more. If he had any self worth he would have "out" himself as they say in cricket.  His fan club consists of the low IQ brown bai KKK gang.

FC, it is unfortunate that Baseman is so negative and places himself above others, because he might have a lot of positive contributions for GNI.

Similar to what you said, in the years he posted, he was in fights with most posters. This seems to be his motivation  and he must live a miserable life. Maybe its his personality thing since childhood.

But like most in their old age, he either mellow or would have a lonely life, because some people never learn or change.

I have a Canadian friend in the US. This is his third marriage  and he feels all three women had personality problems, but he don't look at himself.    

Tola posted:
FC posted:

Tola, it is not surprising what you are reporting and experiencing. In the past Baseman was shamed on a daily basis by participants. Yet he comes back for more. If he had any self worth he would have "out" himself as they say in cricket.  His fan club consists of the low IQ brown bai KKK gang.

FC, it is unfortunate that Baseman is so negative and places himself above others, because he might have a lot of positive contributions for GNI.

Similar to what you said, in the years he posted, he was in fights with most posters. This seems to be his motivation  and he must live a miserable life. Maybe its his personality thing since childhood.

But like most in their old age, he either mellow or would have a lonely life, because some people never learn or change.

I have a Canadian friend in the US. This is his third marriage  and he feels all three women had personality problems, but he don't look at himself.    

Bro, the man is entitled to his opinions. He post them on the BB, read if u like or ignore. Doan judge the mans character. It seems the indo racists would love for to him stop posting. Dem black pigots on here love to chase honest ppl off this board.

Tola you are no different than the person you hate. You created a special topic just to insult another person and of your 11 likes you have followers doing the same.You guys behave your age, behave as grown ups, show some class, maybe it will rub off on others.

KP, Yes this topic  was started because  of Baseman.  He  followed my ass on this board for months, causing  good posts to close  and I did not respond.  

If he continues to be an AH, that is up to him. I will not ignore him any further and post everything I know about him. Furthermore, other posters told him the same thing.

Before you talk about grown men, you should go back and look who started the negativism on some really good post, that people were enjoying.

I believe  there were 11 likes, because posters supported my comments about Baseman  and as  one poster said, he should 'out' his self from GNI.

warrior posted:

he is misunderstood he not a racist i think just stupid or maybe both 

Warria, people who live in glass houses should not throw stones.

bro i am just joking with the brother baseman is entitle to say what he likes.i do not make anybody on GNI affect my life or my action.all the things i say to you is a joke i do not know you so i do not judge you.well all except to tell your family to stop robbing the people 

Tola posted:
FC posted:

Bro, the man is entitled to his opinions. He post them on the BB, read if u like or ignore. Doan judge the mans character. It seems the indo racists would love for to him stop posting. Dem black pigots on here love to chase honest ppl off this board.

Saignet, Bro I understand an appreciate your comments, but there is an understanding  on GNI that posters don't post personal negativism to derail a post, that is enjoyed by many.

Baseman imposes his personal negativism on good posts  that I ignored in the past, but no more. His rass is grass in my book and I am ready for his negativism.  Other posters have said the same about him..

If Baseman want more information about himself revealed  on GNI, let him continue as usual. No more friggin ignoring him.

Isn't this  the way  Indian destroy themselves, while  blacks laugh all the way to the bank ?  

Tola posted:

How bout he hunting for cabbage. Tell me dat aint a joke.

Me hear Skelly and Warria having a reunion in Guyana.  KFC and roti  wid dhall. But dem cant decide whether  to have it at  Skeldon or in Georgetown.

bai he want to show me the shit trench he use to swim in but me scare of his family them fella rob the whole a skeldon  

warrior posted:

he is misunderstood he not a racist i think just stupid or maybe both 

Warria, people who live in glass houses should not throw stones.

bro i am just joking with the brother baseman is entitle to say what he likes.i do not make anybody on GNI affect my life or my action.all the things i say to you is a joke i do not know you so i do not judge you.well all except to tell your family to stop robbing the people 

Don't worry brother. I take your ribbing and smile. It's all in good humor. I never, at any time, thought that any of your posting giving me crap is serious. I give it and I take it. No big deal.

Tola posted:

Me hear Skelly and Warria having a reunion in Guyana.  KFC and roti  wid dhall. But dem cant decide whether  to have it at  Skeldon or in Georgetown.

Tola bhai, I wouls love to meet Warria. I will smilingly shake his hand with a big hug. For the sake of safety, I will prefer to keep the reunion in Skeldon. I don't want people to think I am a cow thief . I may end up dead, if I don't get "choke and rob" first by his family.

Tola posted:

Tola bhai, I wouls love to meet Warria. I will smilingly shake his hand with a big hug. For the sake of safety, I will prefer to keep the reunion in Skeldon. I don't want people to think I am a cow thief . I may end up dead, if I don't get "choke and rob" first by his family.

you can walk with your cabbage gun 

ball posted:

Tola I man doan gat no day wuk right at this time, but ah gun consider the poet notion or like D2 said make magnets wid quotes for refrigerator.   I could also see if Chief can hook me up wid a lil wuk. 

Seriously, you should pursue it. Even clip-on buttons with a phrase. Chief is a good man.

An enjoyable hobby is very important and I get tremendous satisfaction from photography, since 1960 at Albion.

My day job is all volunteering, most times in another country on sustainable development projects. But I do a fair amount of local stuff. 

Have a good day Ball and keep up that writing. You are good at it.  

Ball and Skelly,  since I started photography in 1960, I was told I am Pakaloo helper. I heard a lot about him in Berbice, but I never met him. It would have been nice to meet this man, because he was older and his photo documentation would have been older than mine.

One of my regrets was moving to a new housing settlement at Belvedere in 1959 and I start taking pictures in 1960, because I would have liked to document the logie lifestyle. I was able to acquire a few original photos  of Albion logie area, including an aerial photo in1945 what the logies looked like. I also have a few from other estates.

I was asked to do a photo display at Albion reunions in NY and Toronto, but other things always interfere.  I made some large prints  and would still like to do it. Plus give photos freely  to the people/weddings I photographed in the 1960s.  I believe these are important for family history and not available elsewhere.  

Skelly, I believe you heard of Pakaloo at  Skeldon, because he was all over Berbice taking pictures. 

Ball, me hear that horn at Port Mourant races. Oh rass, if only I knew it was him I would have gone over to meet him.

Documenting Guyana history in the 1960s was important to me and now I feel a bit sad that I was not able to make certain contacts.

Recently, I video recorded a Scottish friend's funeral and found out at his eulogy that he was a teacher in Coldwyn Bay North Wales. I wish I knew this when he was alive, because that was my second choice to study wireless communication, instead of Vancouver BC.  I never been to Wales and would like to know what I missed or how different my life would have been.  Maybe a  whole bunch of Welsh kids running around shirttail in the backyard and a Welsh wife name Roselyn, drinking Guinness at de corner pub.

Ball, I have Chief contact information. Contact him regarding suggesting  a market for the things you make. I see them a lot at top hotel gift shops in other countries. So don't hesitate, you have a good thing there.

Take care guys and have a good weekend.      

Tola posted:

Ball and Skelly,  since I started photography in 1960, I was told I am Pakaloo helper. I heard a lot about him in Berbice, but I never met him. It would have been nice to meet this man, because he was older and his photo documentation would have been older than mine.

One of my regrets was moving to a new housing settlement at Belvedere in 1959 and I start taking pictures in 1960, because I would have liked to document the logie lifestyle. I was able to acquire a few original photos  of Albion logie area, including an aerial photo in1945 what the logies looked like. I also have a few from other estates.

I was asked to do a photo display at Albion reunions in NY and Toronto, but other things always interfere.  I made some large prints  and would still like to do it. Plus give photos freely  to the people/weddings I photographed in the 1960s.  I believe these are important for family history and not available elsewhere.  

Skelly, I believe you heard of Pakaloo at  Skeldon, because he was all over Berbice taking pictures. 

Ball, me hear that horn at Port Mourant races. Oh rass, if only I knew it was him I would have gone over to meet him.

Documenting Guyana history in the 1960s was important to me and now I feel a bit sad that I was not able to make certain contacts.

Recently, I video recorded a Scottish friend's funeral and found out at his eulogy that he was a teacher in Coldwyn Bay North Wales. I wish I knew this when he was alive, because that was my second choice to study wireless communication, instead of Vancouver BC.  I never been to Wales and would like to know what I missed or how different my life would have been.  Maybe a  whole bunch of Welsh kids running around shirttail in the backyard and a Welsh wife name Roselyn, drinking Guinness at de corner pub.

Ball, I have Chief contact information. Contact him regarding suggesting  a market for the things you make. I see them a lot at top hotel gift shops in other countries. So don't hesitate, you have a good thing there.

Take care guys and have a good weekend.      

As a kid growing up, every time some sees a person with a camera, they always say "hey look Packaloo come fuh tek you pitcha". Was the guy's real name Packaloo?

Skelly, now you getting me curious dat me want to find out about dis man Packaloo. Rass, why did I not do it while in Guyana.

Pakaloo might be an Indian call name.

After 50 years we were able to find Enmore Guitree for Ian Mcroberts in Scotland and his sisters in New Zealand. Finding about Pakaloo might not be too hard. Bhai, Ian dem having a reunion in NY this August.

I will make a few phone calls to Guyana, England, NY and TO this weekend.

Rass bhai, I will be in photo heaven if his negatives are still around, because I wanted to find more photos of Albion logies.  A photo of our family was taken at Albion logie when I was two. Who was that photographer ?  An most old people are dying out, to ask.  

Tola posted:

Skelly, now you getting me curious dat me want to find out about dis man Packaloo. Rass, why did I not do it while in Guyana.

Pakaloo might be an Indian call name.

After 50 years we were able to find Enmore Guitree for Ian Mcroberts in Scotland and his sisters in New Zealand. Finding about Pakaloo might not be too hard. Bhai, Ian dem having a reunion in NY this August.

I will make a few phone calls to Guyana, England, NY and TO this weekend.

Rass bhai, I will be in photo heaven if his negatives are still around, because I wanted to find more photos of Albion logies.  A photo of our family was taken at Albion logie when I was two. Who was that photographer ?  An most old people are dying out, to ask.  

I have seen real logies. One was near Skeldon Scots School and the other was by the Skeldon Community Center by Kingston. I vividly remember walking into a "room". It was all mud floor with a hammock and a crude bed. My second Nana lived there. He went backt to India in 1955. I don't need to know more about packaloo. Was just wondering the origin of the name. Thanks.

Skelly, that is good description of logies, they were originally built for African slaves on a Scottish row-house model. Our kitchen was dirt floor, but the living/bedroom  room had boards.  Where the step up was, from the dirt floor to the boards, was a large beam overhead that many people banged their heads.  After a few drinks I have seen unfamiliar visitors knock them selves down, by hitting their head  hard on the beam.

Many people suggested that the once logie area be excavated, because people keep their gold and  valuables in a biscuit can under the floor board.  Many older people living alone, when they died and the logie was broken down,  might still have the can buried  there.

There was a huge difference between how the overseas manager lived compared to the local workers in logies.   The university of British Columbia recent did an art display of some photos and stories  I wrote about the road going to Albion school.  The road was paved only to the manager's compound and the rest was mud when it rains. Many students spent all day with muddy clothes after they fall.  The theme of my  presentation was  'The Pavement Ends, where White Privilege Begins'.  This display generated more questions than al the others.

The second art display was about a little girl [about eight]  reaching thru a chain link fence along the school road, to pick a red hibiscus flower and an adult manager hitting her arm with a wood and breaking it. The arm was hanging loose and she could not pull it back thru the fence. We were all afraid and ran away.  I believe if that had happened to me, my parents would have reprimanded me for picking the manager's flower.

On the way to school another day another manager was  holding  the back legs of puppies and bashing their heads on a concrete post.

The indenture labourers were not treated any different from the African slaves. Breathings, sexual abuse, etc. That is the reason many Indian ancestors were from England or Scotland.        

I can vivdly remember as a lil boy seeing some logies at Leonora,thankfully i grew up on my grandparents three acres of land,the land didn't mean any thing,we were still poor, my mom and an uncle worked at the near by Sugar Estates,they never lived in logies.

Django, when I was visiting my friends at Catherina, I saw a logie at Leonora  managers' compound.  I wonder if its still there ?

Lucky for you, even though my life in the logies was fun, it was not the best place to live,  Lots of big rats, cockroach in food, centipede in women's hair while they sleep  and sometimes a snake. But toilet facilities was the big one, they were over the trench and far away.

I look at a photo where we lived and there was power lines going through. It would have been so nice to have a few streets lights to hang out at night and play, but it was a way of controlling the Indians. Yet the manager's horse stables had electricity. I stepped on  snakes many times at night while returning from the cinema. When I think back now, that was a dangerous place. Like swimming in trenches, where  I now see alligators.    

Tola posted:

Skelly, that is good description of logies, they were originally built for African slaves on a Scottish row-house model. Our kitchen was dirt floor, but the living/bedroom  room had boards.  Where the step up was, from the dirt floor to the boards, was a large beam overhead that many people banged their heads.  After a few drinks I have seen unfamiliar visitors knock them selves down, by hitting their head  hard on the beam.

Many people suggested that the once logie area be excavated, because people keep their gold and  valuables in a biscuit can under the floor board.  Many older people living alone, when they died and the logie was broken down,  might still have the can buried  there.

There was a huge difference between how the overseas manager lived compared to the local workers in logies.   The university of British Columbia recent did an art display of some photos and stories  I wrote about the road going to Albion school.  The road was paved only to the manager's compound and the rest was mud when it rains. Many students spent all day with muddy clothes after they fall.  The theme of my  presentation was  'The Pavement Ends, where White Privilege Begins'.  This display generated more questions than al the others.

The second art display was about a little girl [about eight]  reaching thru a chain link fence along the school road, to pick a red hibiscus flower and an adult manager hitting her arm with a wood and breaking it. The arm was hanging loose and she could not pull it back thru the fence. We were all afraid and ran away.  I believe if that had happened to me, my parents would have reprimanded me for picking the manager's flower.

On the way to school another day another manager was  holding  the back legs of puppies and bashing their heads on a concrete post.

The indenture labourers were not treated any different from the African slaves. Breathings, sexual abuse, etc. That is the reason many Indian ancestors were from England or Scotland.        

I remember we lived in a house next to the trench that was used to transport the sugar cane to the factory. The factory was less than 1/2 mile away. A yoke of oxen was used to pull the punts. When it rained, the dirt road was like a pasture. Next to the factory was the "compound", all black top paved roads. There were no paved roads around where the local people lived.

ball posted:

His last name is Dhanasar if you would like I can get you in touch with his son, Packaloo also had a song recorded, something like Oh my lord to where have you gone come into this world and see what is going on.   

Ball, I would very much like to find out more about Pakaloo. To know who he was and whether his negatives are still around.

Last night I spoke with my nephew in Toronto and he said Pakaloo's  son Sanichar was his teacher at COMPRI school near the GUYSUCO training centre at PM, where the PM sugar factory was.  He also said Pakaloo lived at Rose Hall Town reef. I had a sister living there, who worked at Alim Shaw, but she was murdered.

COMPRI school has a history of the combination of students from Rudra Nauth Rose Hall Reef school, who had to leave, because Rudra built inside toilets for the students, without the Board's  permission, They first marched to  the PM race course, then to a big house at PM and finally to COMPRI school. I photographed that event in 1963.   

A Pandit Dhanasar, who was also a head teacher at  an Upper Corentyne school, assisted us with our Berbice training programs, but I lost his contact information. I think he might be from Port Mourant.

Please contact his son for me.  Because I am asked to do old photo displays/presentations   and if his material is still around, he would have documented  stuff older than I did in the 1960s.  Thanks bhai.