I began to post about looking out for Obama being a future President of the US shortly after his speech at the John Kerry 2004 Democratic Convention.

I recall telling educated folks in Suriname before the 2008 Primaries and general elections that Obama would beat Hillary (especially after the South Carolina Bill and Hillary fiasco) and that Bush's disastrous Presidency coupled with the Democrat sweep in the 2006 mid0terms would pave the way for Obama to become the first elected Black US President. Okay he was half-Black and his Black parent was not of the Black slavery ancestry but an African. I even raised the question of whether being an African-American versus being a Black American would make a difference. I must have framed it differently then as this does not sound like I framed it then.

Storm is still in denial about the Obama's Presidency and still believe that he's like Al Gore and was the first user of the Internet (way before the 1960s Universities' use of email and ftp as well as Bulletin Board Service). We truly have a pioneer amongst us. Hail Storm!!!! The fittest baddest 20-yr -old-looking 50-something old man.

Time for a thread of famous quotes on GNI. I remember the following:

• Guyana under the current administration is no place for a young black male. - Nuff
  • Guyana has the Government it deserves - RSVP

That's it for starters. Please add. I know Stormy has backed up the entire Internet since it started and pre-started and pre-conceived since the 1940s when he was a grown man (and since has grown younger, fit and youthful) who can provide some gems.

Let's vote for the most imaginative handle or GNI name.

I sent an email to Leslie (D2) in 1995 to congratulate him on his ingenuity. He kept it and mentions it occasionally here.  

Originally Posted by Observer:

Nemesis' most memorable post "burn, Buxton, burn".  

Not much has changed for many, but there seems to be a  calm just after the election announcement.

My stomach hurts reading some of this stuff.

Is there an archive of the earlier posts of our donkey's name and losing me clothes swimming in the trench ? Feenix you rememba ?

It is interesting to note that Queenie's family moved to  the same province as me and they still live here..

We were both born at Albion and as I said to her, on 'different sides of the fence'.We met again almost 50 years later on GNI.

Her late father was a close friend to many on the sugar estate, including my Dad and brothers.

Other than the Friday night schedule fights, GNI created so many positive friendships: Births, family weddings, deaths, etc.

Dove helped us a lot with our Guyana Foundation reports, for which I am eternally grateful. It helped tremendously with our fundraising.     

Last edited by Tola

I began to post about looking out for Obama being a future President of the US shortly after his speech at the John Kerry 2004 Democratic Convention.

I recall telling educated folks in Suriname before the 2008 Primaries and general elections that Obama would beat Hillary (especially after the South Carolina Bill and Hillary fiasco) and that Bush's disastrous Presidency coupled with the Democrat sweep in the 2006 mid0terms would pave the way for Obama to become the first elected Black US President. Okay he was half-Black and his Black parent was not of the Black slavery ancestry but an African. I even raised the question of whether being an African-American versus being a Black American would make a difference. I must have framed it differently then as this does not sound like I framed it then.

Storm is still in denial about the Obama's Presidency and still believe that he's like Al Gore and was the first user of the Internet (way before the 1960s Universities' use of email and ftp as well as Bulletin Board Service). We truly have a pioneer amongst us. Hail Storm!!!! The fittest baddest 20-yr -old-looking 50-something old man.

I think you have a problem admitting your own mediocrity. I celebrate life and have been lucky to see and be in places I never dreamed of. I admit to not thinking Obama will win. I never said I did not like him or some of his more progressive views. I always felt he disconnected himself from the historical roots of the clack community and enclosed himself in a cocoon of middle class black folks and neo liberal Jewish folks who formalized a cocooned state that kept him distant from  ethnic realities.

It caused him to propose health care with a single purpose rather than conjoined with immigration, and his current college proposals. Health care was won but he lost on lots of other social issues he could have won on.

I am entitled to my views and will argue with you as I with others including my wife who thinks he can do no wrong. I felt his reticence to accept that you cannot always negotiate ad infinitude but must make a now decision is due to idealism. I do not think Iraq could have been the mess it is if he simply shouted down Malaki and told him the US would impose a MacArthur kind of administration on the place until the can learn to govern as democrats rather than partisan antagonistic Muslims.

By the way, that I have had the privilege to work in technology in its inception was not serendipitous. I was building radios at 10 so a Z Sinclair kit was the best toy for me. Yes, I like gadgets and computers and cars and now at mid fifty  have had some 4 decades of avid inquiry into these matters. You go suck your thumb if you think that is a bad thing.

If  also have a 22 year old clone so I know where I stand with that age range in most things.   I also have 2 others now hitting 30 so I also have the benefit of that point of view. As I said go screw yourself if you think being interested and interesting is a bad thing.

• Guyana under the current administration is no place for a young black male. - Nuff
  • Guyana has the Government it deserves - RSVP

That's it for starters. Please add. I know Stormy has backed up the entire Internet since it started and pre-started and pre-conceived since the 1940s when he was a grown man (and since has grown younger, fit and youthful) who can provide some gems.

Let's vote for the most imaginative handle or GNI name.

I sent an email to Leslie (D2) in 1995 to congratulate him on his ingenuity. He kept it and mentions it occasionally here.  

I do not remember the email. I actually have all my emails so I will check. If I mention anything it is that I know you from a picture posted here by someone ( with an old white dude copping a shoulder grab). I  connected that to some one I used to see in Silver spring. I lived at Fenwick House on Fenwick lane and and I think you lived at Blair house because that I where I sometimes saw you.  I used to roller blade up and down those streets to the chagrin of the uppity white folks there. But that was donkey years ago.

Originally Posted by Tola:

Not much has changed for many, but there seems to be a  calm just after the election announcement.

Is there an archive of the earlier posts of our donkey's name and losing me clothes swimming in the trench ? Feenix you rememba ?

It is interesting to note that Queenie's family moved to  the same province as me and they still live here..

We were both born at Albion and as I said to her, on 'different sides of the fence'.We met again almost 50 years later on GNI.

Her late father was a close friend to many on the sugar estate, including my Dad and brothers.

Other than the Friday night schedule fights, GNI created so many positive friendships: Births, family weddings, deaths, etc.

Dove helped us a lot with our Guyana Foundation reports, for which I am eternally grateful. It helped tremendously with our fundraising.     

I grew up ( 9 years) not far from albion. we used to go to the bob shows there on weekends at... Yolanda????  My father's friend was mr Basdeo, he lived across from the police station and he took me there a few times as a child. My dad was killed when I was 9 but I stll remember his friend.

"By the way, that I have had the privilege to work in technology in its inception was not serendipitous.I was building radios at 10 so a Z Sinclair kit was the best toy for me. Yes, I like gadgets and computers and cars and now at mid fifty  have had some 4 decades of avid inquiry into these matters. You go suck your thumb if you think that is a bad thing."

You are lucky to get a kit,i started electronics in

the mid seventy,i built my first amp with one tube a

triode-penthode wind the transformers made

the chassis with zinc sheets,i used to tweak

cathy radios for max output,convert the old

tube battery radios to work with electricity.

Originally Posted by Django:

"By the way, that I have had the privilege to work in technology in its inception was not serendipitous.I was building radios at 10 so a Z Sinclair kit was the best toy for me. Yes, I like gadgets and computers and cars and now at mid fifty  have had some 4 decades of avid inquiry into these matters. You go suck your thumb if you think that is a bad thing."

NO...I started building with parts from old transistor radios. I got a Z kit in college and that got me into hard core programming.

I built my first amp from an electronics magazine in the mid seventies. It was my first guitar amp.  I then went on to building all the other contraptions as wah wah pedals etc. I still build stuff.

The cases of those Cathy radio\ always fell apart so I had lots of fun rebuilding them and they were my prime source of parts.

I built my first powerful  computer, a CPM machine in about 1980. There was a local club of programmers who met at Maryland U and I joined them and learnt a lot so by the time the IBM pc hit I knew what to do with it.

 I always felt he disconnected himself from the historical roots of the clack community and enclosed himself in a cocoon of middle class black folks and neo liberal Jewish folks who formalized a cocooned state that kept him distant from  ethnic realities.

The black population in the USA (American AND immigrant) are worse off now than they were when Obama took office.

At the end of the day the fact that Obama was president will not have served any purpose for black folks, beyond the "pride" aspect.

Obama was our first urban president for a long time, since JFK I believe.  Where is his urban agenda?  That would have been a race neutral way to help black people gain more access to opportunity and to be less vulnerable to economic down turns.

And a decade later we see how right Nuff was.  Blacks in Guyana have a defeated look that isn't visible among equivalent groups elsewhere in the Anglophone Caribbean.

Originally Posted by TI:

Did GNI start up as a PPP forum?

Yeah!

The facilitators never admitted to it. But, I remember things written about the Jagans and the PPP were eliminated.

Besides, Safraz dad was the Guyana Ambassador to USA at that time.

All in all was a good thing they did. Bold people for doing it. Can't see any other Guyanese with such foresight.

Safraz handed it over to an Admin. when he went to Boston to practice law.

Wey he deh now?

NO...I started building with parts from old transistor radios. I got a Z kit in college and that got me into hard core programming.

I built my first amp from an electronics magazine in the mid seventies. It was my first guitar amp.  I then went on to building all the other contraptions as wah wah pedals etc. I still build stuff.

The cases of those Cathy radio\ always fell apart so I had lots of fun rebuilding them and they were my prime source of parts.

I built my first powerful  computer, a CPM machine in about 1980. There was a local club of programmers who met at Maryland U and I joined them and learnt a lot so by the time the IBM pc hit I knew what to do with it.

Bought my first Computer Numerical Machine in 1985(US$115,000.00)-Fanuc Controls. Utterly amazed at what the computer and my brains created mathematically. I felt like Srinivasa Ramanujan. Excited by results.

Damn that was a pricy computer,i migrated mid ninety's

wish i was here earlier always fascinated with electronics

repair,as for pc i took repair course got A+,still in the

service business.

Originally Posted by Tola:

I grew up ( 9 years) not far from albion. we used to go to the bob shows there on weekends at... Yolanda????  My father's friend was mr Basdeo, he lived across from the police station and he took me there a few times as a child. My dad was killed when I was 9 but I stll remember his friend.

Its a small world indeed Storm, I know Mr. Basdeo and I believe the house is now replaced  by  a mega house.

A couple of years ago, I was on tour with families from  Canada and NY . We visited the new house and  have many photos of inside and outside.

The trench near the police station and house either goes to ocean or to the back dam where #4 pumping station exists today, my Dad worked there and close to the pumping station was where I grew up.

Lots of memories of that place until I was 14. Its now full of bushes, but I still visit and think of  my friends who did not leave Guyana, but died working on the sugar plantation.

Yollanda cinema also have special memories for me.

Was your Dad killed at Albion, I might know him.         

Last edited by Tola

Django, I can relate to your post. I attended tech school [when Armstrong landed on the moon], with vacuum tubes, Morse code and two months classes on battery power.  Built amps and oscillators from scratch.  I often wonder how I did that for two years wid a primary education . Became a radio officer at sea and decades with the phone company repairing/calibration test equipment.

Those were good days...

Trouble shooting computer hardware is easy,  but Storm has to help us with  software problems.   

Greetings GNI!  Congratulations on your 20 years anniversary, many, many happy returns.

I am a long time guest or visitor but a first time poster. Just Perhaps this may be my first or last post depending.

However, in the early '90 I would like to think GNI was started as a chat room with separate rooms for singles, political and other names rooms. I can't recall at this time? Before it was converted into this forum. Perhaps Mr. Amral Khanor some 'ol timers here could expound?

Originally Posted by Mark Hines:

Greetings GNI!  Congratulations on your 20 years anniversary, many, many happy returns.

I am a long time guest or visitor but a first time poster. Just Perhaps this may be my first or last post depending.

However, in the early '90 I would like to think GNI was started as a chat room with separate rooms for singles, political and other names rooms. I can't recall at this time? Before it was converted into this forum. Perhaps Mr. Amral Khanor some 'ol timers here could expound?

It was mango tree bbs

Spy had chat rooms on his Forum but that was around .98 It was not on this site. Amral had a chat room here for a minute but no one used it

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
GNI was de pioneer of social media, way ahead of its time. Too bad dem chaps couldn't mek money off dis, get dem billionaires in RH to pay for Ads

Spy and amral did a lot. They used to stream the first news cast from GY. Chico ( what happened to him) had a couple of sites also that were very innovative but they never caught on. In '97 when this site died, we all went to the Liming Spot...we treated him like a step child when Amral took over this site and brought it on line again. We all left the liming spot. I met Cher on the liming spot. I introduced her to Amral's old site and she joined this one when it came on line. She was a knock need 20 year old. Amral ows me one for bringing a light into his old heart.

Tola asked "Is there an archive of the earlier posts of our donkey's name and losing me clothes swimming in the trench ? Feenix you rememba ? "

Tola good ole CHURCHILL rescued so many "Drunk & Disorderly" from the Friday Parties...

Congrats Amral... if I remembered correctly, the original forum was Safraz's baby & for awhile it was always brukking dunk...Then you took over and use "HTML for Dummies" to rebuild the forum.

Can't remember the name of the group(MANGO TREE - not sure) most of the old timers were on, when Safraz decided to form his own group/Forum...

Originally Posted by Chameli:
[]. She was a knock need 20 year old. Amral ows me one for bringing a light into his old heart.

methinks she was 15

-----------------------------

How come Stormy say the girl was knock need?

The man has thing for knees. Is a cycle thing

TI
[]. She was a knock need 20 year old. Amral ows me one for bringing a light into his old heart.

methinks she was 15

Don't think she(Cher) was 15 she was in her late teens.

Stormy not sure if you can remember Sonia ... we used to call her Hot Mouth.

Sonia was in HS when she came on to GNI...She learned quite a lot thru Dove, Moria & my guidance.

What about Cook-up & Eddie? GOD et al

PPG with all his alias...I want to think that PPG is a smart guy... also I think is a journalist living in Guyana now...  not Benschop...

methinks she was 15

She told me 20 and I believe we celebrated her 21st!....even have the post with her saying that back in '98

methinks she was 15

the pics she posted when she came back from guyana was with some bony knees! She made the papers so she had to have did a loot of blooming and quick.

Whatever happened to the banner to click so that some money can come in to offset the cost of running this place?

THANKS to Amral for up-keeping this hangout.  I hope someone creates a really nice 20th anniversary banner.

I came here in 1999 spring i think (when Rabid was kill all coolie...about 6 mths after i had our baby and while going through some crazy times in my life.  At times, this hangout gave me sanity but more often it made me insane   brought me close to many and destroyed not only friendships but family relationships ( they were insignificant to begin with and not worth the time)

There were lots of fights....jeez even to think of some makes me cringe

This place has settled down...boring

LONG LIVE GNI

I never take this place seriously. First I know I am not what is on these pages. It is a persona.

As I said, this place to be is a sand box where even the limp and the lazy and the weak gets a chance to kick sand in your face. You simply have to know how to throw sand back.

I never wanted to meet anyone here because I know I would not find the personality I come to know. I do not want to be surprised.

The only part of me on these pages is my more serious ideas. My personality is not here, my history is not here etc .... among so many other things.

treat this place for what it is....a sandbox where we play "kicksand"

Originally Posted by IGH:

methinks she was 15

Don't think she(Cher) was 15 she was in her late teens.

Stormy not sure if you can remember Sonia ... we used to call her Hot Mouth.

Sonia was in HS when she came on to GNI...She learned quite a lot thru Dove, Moria & my guidance.

What about Cook-up & Eddie? GOD et al

PPG with all his alias...I want to think that PPG is a smart guy... also I think is a journalist living in Guyana now...  not Benschop...

I remember Sonia....cutting edge bright...even some of the real cussbirds and vicious ones were bright. I think NYgirl was ultra smart and so was our very own paralegal with whom I had lots of fights. I fought with everyone here at some time or the other even you.