Caste has no relevance or application in Guyana

October 31, 2014 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom 

On August 26, 2003, the Stabroek News carried a report about then President Jagdeo’s visit to his ancestral village, Thakurain Ka Purwa in India. The report was based on news reports which appeared in the Indian media and which indicated that the citizens of the village belonged to a low caste.
I do not know if the fact that Jagdeo’s ancestors came from a village populated by low caste Indians is the reason why some people believe that they are superior in breeding and pedigree to him. If this is what they feel, it is both unfortunate and delusional.
It is unfortunate, because caste is an outmoded social construct. Nobody should judge or rank others on the basis of caste. If one understands the origins of the caste system one would refrain from judging or ranking others on the basis of caste.

Caste has nothing to do with superiority and inferiority.  Caste was part of a system that allowed for an economic division of labour and for social order in the villages of India. That it was used as tool of exploitation and for the purposes of social status is a perversion of its original intent. The caste system is not different from the system proposed by Plato for the division of society.
The idea that the descendant of an indentured is superior to another on the basis of caste is also delusional. Jagdeo by his very success in becoming the President of Guyana, showed the irrelevance of caste to personal achievement and social elevation. Indeed, caste has no relevance in Guyana today.
Even in India caste is losing its traction. India has elected to power a man who is not considered as high caste. Now if India can do this, why would anyone in Guyana of all places want to use caste to demonstrate superior breeding?
Once you are the descendant of an indentured immigrant and live in Guyana you have no caste. There is no caste system in Guyana. Never was!

Any caste system that may have existed was invented. To get here to Guyana from India, the indentured labourers had to cross the dark waters of the Kala Pani. And once you crossed the waters of the Kala Pani you defiled your caste and you were deemed caste-less.
This is why so many indentured immigrants refused to go back to India. By crossing the Kala Pani, they effectively lost any claims to their caste and this meant that if they returned to India, they would have had great difficulty in reintegrating in village society.
I think it is time Guyanese debunk and dismiss this idea of caste. No one in Guyana who is the descendant of an indentured immigrant belongs to any caste. They cannot, because their ancestors lost their caste when they joined the ships that brought them to work on the sugar plantations.
I once saw a lecture on television. I think it may have been by Clem Seecharan in which he made the point that indentured immigrants suppressed the realities of India from which they escaped. He also said they created new narratives to help them adjust to their new world.
Amongst those new narratives is this idea of a Great India. Caste identification belongs to these created narratives.

Hey Gilly

You trying to dig up an ants nest ?

I never touched liquor in my life, never will. To each his own.

Regarding Goat Milk, it grosses me out. I just drink my cow milk daily.

Yuji does not support the caste system. It is not part of Sanatana Dharma.

My foreparents are from Haryana, not Bihar. My relatives in India are still hardcore Bramhanas. I visited my place of origin a few years ago and confirmed my origin. It was very refreshing.

Haryana

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Haryana
हरियाणा
State of India
Location of Haryana in India
<small>Location of Haryana in India</small>
Map of Haryana
<small>Map of Haryana</small>

Haryana (HaryanviHindiहरियाणा) is a state in north India with its capital at Chandigarh. It came into existence on 1 November 1966 as a newly created state carved out of the Indian Punjab (East Punjab) state on the basis of language. It has been a part of the Kuru region in North India.[2][3][4] The name Haryana is found mentioned in the 12th century AD by the Apabhramsha writer Vibudh Shridhar (VS 1189–1230).[5] It is bordered by Punjaband Himachal Pradesh to the north, and by Rajasthan to the west and south. The river Yamuna defines its eastern border with Uttarakhand. Haryana also surrounds the country's capital Delhi on three sides, forming the northern, western and southern borders of Delhi. Consequently, a large area of south Haryana is included in the National Capital Region for purposes of planning for development.

Location of the state was home to prominent sites of the Indus Valley and Vedic Civilizations. Several decisive battles were fought in the area, which shaped much of the history of India. These include the epic battle of Mahabharata at Kurukshetra mentioned in the Hindu mythology (including the recital of the Bhagavad Gita by Krishna), and the three battles of Panipat. Haryana was administered as part of the Punjab province of British India, and was carved out on linguistic lines as India's 17th state in 1966. Haryana is now a leading contributor to the country's production of foodgrain and milk. Agriculture is the leading occupation for the residents of the state, the flat arable land irrigated by submersible pumps and an extensive canal system. Haryana contributed heavily to the Green Revolution that made India self-sufficient in food production in the 1960s.

Haryana is also one of the wealthier states of India and had the second highest per capita income in the country at INR138,859 in the year 2011–12 (See List of Indian states by GDP) and INR128,341 in the year 2012–13[6]including the largest number of rural crorepatis in India.[7] Haryana is also one of the most economically developed regions in South Asia and its agricultural and manufacturing industry has experienced sustained growth since the 1970s.[8] Haryana is India's largest manufacturer of passenger cars, two-wheelers, and tractors.[9] Since 2000, the state has emerged as the largest recipient of investment per capita in India.[10] The city of Gurgaonhas rapidly emerged as a major hub for the information technology and automobile industries. Gurgaon is home to Maruti Suzuki, India's largest automobile manufacturer, and Hero MotoCorp, the world's largest manufacturer of two-wheelers. FaridabadPanchkulaDharuheraBawalSonipatPanipatYamuna Nagar and Rewari are also industrial hubs, with the Panipat Refinery being the second largest refinery in South Asia. There are also long established steel, plywood, paper and textile industries in the state.

Hey Gilly

My foreparents are from Haryana, not Bihar. My relatives in India are still hardcore Bramhanas. I visited my place of origin a few years ago and confirmed my origin. It was very refreshing.

See a doctor there is some other reason why you are always drunk then.

Me mamoo say how we is dalit

You all is cognac-guzzling dalits.

Gilly is rum-and-whisky chattry.

Me think yuji does drink goat milk.

He drinks gaumutra ark every morning.

I hear dat good for Piles, he should be drinkin it. He's his own pain in da ass.

Hey Gilly

Thanks for telling what kind of milk you drink, yuji.

My great grandfather spent the first 25 years of his life in Rajahstan, then indentured himself to Guyana. On the ship he met a 20-year-old woman from Uttar Pradesh and they got married. He nah tek leff; smart chattry.

Hey Gilly

My great grandfather spent the first 25 years of his life in Rajahstan, then indentured himself to Guyana. On the ship he met a 20-year-old woman from Uttar Pradesh and they got married. He nah tek leff; smart chattry.

So, Yugi, you are Brahamana. Why do you worship Krishna a Sudra?

Bhai, the only reason Ramjattan and Moses are in the AFC is because Cheddie practiced racism on the Madrassies. Cheddie the Fake practiced castism-see wah he did to Balram Singh Rai, Jainarine Singh. He so wicked towards the majority of the indoes, he put a lil higher caste man than a dalit to raid the coffers. He gave him privilize. Cheddie know which caste he come from-Kumri. He put taht in his book. He was concious of the caste system.  

Which wan alyuh here know which caste yuh belong to. But Cheddie did! 

Last edited by seignet

Hey Gilly

yuji is a Haryana pagla.

Hey Gilly

yuji is a Haryana pagla.

His postings depict him as low breed.

Hey Gilly

yuji is a Haryana pagla.

There is no such thing as a Chattri-that is a Guyanese interpretation of caste. Same as High nation and low nation. Simply, ppl lost their caste once the came to BG. Some felt superior than others and then the new form of caste system was initiated in BG.   

No wonder he talks pure gaumutra ark on this forum.