STABROEK NEWS, March 16 --- Businessman and florist Gerhard Ramsaroop says that the City Constabulary must be urgently reformed and he also wants a mini-bus shuttle system introduced in Georgetown to ease traffic congestion.

Ramsaroop is on the proportional representation section of the APNU+AFC list at Friday’s elections. Depending on how well the governing coalition does, he could possibly be one of their representatives on the new council.

Ramsaroop, who dwells in constituency 11, East La Penitence-River View said he would like to be on the Georgetown City Council so that he can serve his community and beyond.

In a comment to Stabroek News, he said that listening to the candidates on social media and at the debates, he realised that good ideas and the desire to work hard are not confined to any one party, group, or individual.

“It is really important that we work together despite whatever differences we may have, for the good of our capital and the wider community it serves. So, if elected to the Council, helping to find that middle ground and foster togetherness is what would be critically important to me. This must also work in conjunction with meaningful and respectful consultation with those we serve.

“As one of the priorities, the City Constabulary should be reformed. There have been too many unacceptable complaints, and positive changes must be seen almost immediately after the new Council is sworn in. While the Council must be firm and fearless in the execution of its duties, citizens must not feel any sense of oppression or unfairness”.

Ramsaroop, who has taken a keen interest in the traffic congestion in the city and written previously on it, also wants innovations in this area.

“I would like to see the implementation of a mini-bus shuttle system throughout the city. This way, citizens can park their vehicles further out from the city centre, and still have easy access in and around Georgetown. To ease congestion further, the timing of garbage collection and movement of container trucks must be managed. In general, there must be much better traffic management, and this can be achieved with improved signage, demarcation of lanes, and one-way systems. Of course, this does not mean any of the myriad of other problems, such as drainage, roads, markets, bus parks and so on are any less important to me”. Ramsaroop also wants to see more efficient services at the council.

“I would also like to see increased opportunities for training and employment through the provision of better, more efficient services along with improved tax collection. The mechanical workshop should be modernised and expanded, offering services beyond just the Council’s vehicles. An efficient workshop would also allow the Council once again to 

offer garbage collection services cheaper than currently contracted out, and allow the savings to be directed to other priority areas”, he said.

As part of the beautification of Georgetown, in addition to flowering plants, shrubs and trees, Ramsaroop says that fruit trees should also be planted.

“On that note, I would like to encourage my fellow candidates to keep their campaign clean and focused on issues. After all, we will have to work together harmoniously in order to serve our city”, he asserted.

Dis Chap hang his mouth for soup from one Party to the next. Like soup scarce in Guyana.

How is he wooden Computa business doing???????????

Why dont you offer a comment to what the gentleman proposes before you retreat into your usual moronic modes of posting nonsense.

Dis Chap hang his mouth for soup from one Party to the next. Like soup scarce in Guyana.

Why dont you offer a comment to what the gentleman proposes before you retreat into your usual moronic modes of posting nonsense.

Nonsense, we just talked about your Posts and other threads.

"We" of the mentally challenged?

The city constabulary should be abolished and its responsibilities taken over by a city police force under the responsibility of the Ministry of local government.

There is no necessity for it to be under a ministry. The idea of a municipal police force is not an alien concept. Its management has been sloppy, its recruitment and training program an enigma and the result is hapless ignoramus whose only expertise is seeking graft and misusing their office. Gerhard is right. It needs a complete overhaul. It is irreparably broken

So you are RETARDED, why I am not surprise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Bellevue gat good Dr to treat yuh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The above is an apt example of what is the recourse of the mentally challenged.

The ass drunk again what u expect 

Is this individual a horticulturalist or a politician?

I thought you were an intellectual. Do you not know that Mayor Compton Young was also a florist?

Last edited by Mitwah
warrior posted:

Are u a women or a man

I am a woman who knows how to spell and punctuate.  Are you a man or a woman?

He he he.. Bibi said a couple times she is a woman,Warrior why you doubting the gaal.

warrior posted:

Are u a women or a man

I am a woman who knows how to spell and punctuate

Your period is missing.

warrior posted:

Are u a women or a man

I am a woman who knows how to spell and punctuate

Your period is missing.

Have some class, are you another Donald Trump?. We all know what you are insinuating.

warrior posted:

Are u a women or a man

I am a woman who knows how to spell and punctuate.  Are you a man or a woman?

He he he.. Bibi said a couple times she is a woman,Warrior why you doubting the gaal.

Bai me cannot belive a women can be so ugly u sure she is a women

Keith posted:

Most of the post I read on this forum are just full with insult towards each other instead constructive arguments.  Lets get along people.

You joking right 

These are also good suggestions Gerhard has offered: 

"Ramsaroop, who has taken a keen interest in the traffic congestion in the city and written previously on it, also wants innovations in this area.

“I would like to see the implementation of a mini-bus shuttle system throughout the city. This way, citizens can park their vehicles further out from the city centre, and still have easy access in and around Georgetown. To ease congestion further, the timing of garbage collection and movement of container trucks must be managed. In general, there must be much better traffic management, and this can be achieved with improved signage, demarcation of lanes, and one-way systems. Of course, this does not mean any of the myriad of other problems, such as drainage, roads, markets, bus parks and so on are any less important to me”.

He should talk about modernizing Promenade and Botanical Gardens. Introduce Horseback riding in National Park especially for Jackasses like Warria who cannot see the city in proper perspective from his four legs.

Keith posted:

Most of the post I read on this forum are just full with insult towards each other instead constructive arguments.  Lets get along people.

That's a PPP thing. Never mind if something is being done for the betterment of the country, if it aint being done by a buncha crooks and swindlers, by these PPP guys, it's not worth it.

Gmoney or Gflower has some good ideas, however there are severe flaws in what he is proposing. 

GT is far fromTrafalgar square, who is going to park their cars and take commuter buses into GT? Who will pay for the shuttle buses, how are they any different from the myriad of minibuses now plying their trade in and around GT? Another cardboard computer idea up in flames.

His idea of planting flowers/shrubs around GT is excellent, but again who will pay? Is he planning to squeeze the Indian business community to fund this? Currently Green et al have to be subsidized from the national budget to clean up the city, much less the funding for flower plants and their maintenance. 

He goes on a tirade about the city council being reformed, firm but fair, but fail to give examples of their flaws today the require reform. 

He should talk about modernizing Promenade and Botanical Gardens. .

Botanical Gardens to be returned to its former glory

March 17, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

The Botanical Gardens is being rehabilitated. This is being done as part of the effort to transform Guyana for its 50th Jubilee celebrations, Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman, told the Government Information Agency (GINA).
“There is work being done to improve the drainage, as one of the issues that the Botanical Gardens faces is flooding, because as the city floods, here floods too. WExcavatore’re creating new drains, and opening some covers that we found that were buried for many years. We’re opening those up and we’ve been clearing away a lot of the bush that has been allowed to grow up,” Trotman explained.
The Botanical Gardens which covers 185 acres has been declared a bird sanctuary. The area contains more than 189 species of birds.
According to Trotman, measures are in place to ensure that the sanctuary is not disrupted during the rehabilitation process. “So even as we clear we want to ensure that the birds are not unduly displaced. So we’re not going to tear down everything but certainly the place has to be cleared up and cleaned up,” the Minister said.
The sum of $20M has been donated by ExxonMobil to the National Protected Areas Commission, towards the rehabilitation programme. This will include the enlargement of the Victoria Lily Pond, a waterfall feature at the entrance of the Botanical Gardens and the installation of outdoor lights, leading to the parking lot.

Gerard has grandiose delusions. It's a condition that is misdiagnosed in Guyana. We need a psychiatrist to help these so-called saviors. 

I wonder who granted you the degree to diagnose mental states. Address what the man said and make your counter argument to illustrate the error of his ways rather than make declarative statements as to his state of mind. Now that points to poor competency with argumentation and the quick retreat to defaming the man as strategy. It is what silly people do.

Gerard has grandiose delusions. It's a condition that is misdiagnosed in Guyana. We need a psychiatrist to help these so-called saviors. 

I wonder who granted you the degree to diagnose mental states. Address what the man said and make your counter argument to illustrate the error of his ways rather than make declarative statements as to his state of mind. Now that points to poor competency with argumentation and the quick retreat to defaming the man as strategy. It is what silly people do.

You need a brain scan to see if there is growth on your brain that causing you to be so erratic and unrealistic about things.