The colonial development trap can be escaped but requires seeing beyond ethnicity

Dear Editor,

Because of my schedule, I have been rather tardy in following up on a few issues raised by noted economist Dr. Desmond Thomas (SN, 1 October). Without doubt, he has enriched immensely the discussion about the investment-growth conundrum. Two major contributions of his letter are that the conundrum is not unique to Guyana and that institutions are central to growth; the latter reaches back to Adam Smith. He showed that the investment-growth puzzle is a “Caribbean-wide phenomenon.” But this does not necessarily mean, he cautioned, that the same set of factors constraining the contribution of investment is applicable to all countries of the region. For example, Dr. Thomas acknowledged, as did Mr. Rampersaud and I, that, given the Guyana’s topography, good drainage and irrigation and sea defence are an expensive precondition for strong and sustained growth. Other Caribbean countries do not confront this problem or at least it is not as serious. In addition, Dr. Thomas reiterated the importance of “the institutional setting” to growth, “especially in the Guyana context.” The deep concern with institution is of relatively recent origin, made possible by endogenous growth theory. Yet while institutions are important, economists are unsure about their relative contribution. I do not wish to dispute the centrality of these arguments, as I myself have made them, and I thank Dr. Thomas for bringing them back to the centre of the discussion. The rest of this letter focuses on two issues on which Dr. Thomas and I hold different views.

First, I believe that Dr. Thomas mischaracterizes the discussion between Mr. Rampersaud and I. Mr. Rampersaud argued that total factor productivity is an important ingredient of growth. I admit this, but went on to demystify the TFP black box, trying to explain what it is and how it comes about. This is a useful discussion that cannot be described as a “sterile back-and-forth about the merits of total factor productivity.” Unbundling TFP draws attention to the importance of institutions (rule of law, property rights and security, quick resolution of legal matters, and, more generally, the legal framework), health, nutrition, education consistent with the demands of the labour market, finance, research and development, adaptation of technology, and, of course, politics and policies. It seems that our different viewpoints are the result of cognitive dissonance.

Second, Dr. Thomas argues that the “low efficiency of investment is an indication that the Region is still caught in a post-colonial time warp, unable to transition to more productive strategies, to find the keys to sounder, more sustained growth in changing international circumstances.” If the “time-warp” – the colonial legacy – refers to the mere shifting of predatory and parasitic behaviour of politicians, “business and other elites,” I agree. Post-colonial leaders have replaced the British as the agents – that great sucking sound – that siphons off of the surplus, splurging on conspicuous consumption and channeling the rest into offshore bank accounts. Similarly, if the phrase is taken to mean the reproduction of the structure of the economy from colonial times to the present, it would be difficult to contest the validity of this statement. The economic apparatus of the post-colonial economy has not been altered substantially from what it was during colonialism. So has the “post-colonial time warp” chained us to underdevelopment and misery? Dr. Thomas thinks so; I differ.

Here’s the development riddle: suppose Guyana had escaped colonial plundering, would its economy have developed along a different trajectory than has actually been the case? Instead of sugar, could processing, manufacturing and mining have dominated the economy from the inception? Did our colonial masters have viable (but selfish) options besides those they have chosen and implemented? I fear these questions cannot be answered in the affirmative, and maintain that a particular species of “time warp” would still be present even if Guyana did not suffer the fate of a colonized territory. The country’s geographical location, climate, resource endowments and the difficulty and high cost of developing it, disease environment, and its human resource situation suggest that Guyana’s fate without colonialism would not have been remarkably different from what it actually is. The growth dilemma confronting Guyana would not have been vastly different absent colonialism.

If the territory were not colonized, perhaps the country Guyana would not have existed; it would very likely have been parceled out among our three neighbours. In this case, our development bugbear – ethnic politics – and attendant pervasive corruption, petty, grand and state, would not have arisen. To the British, then, we owe our existence as a separate country, however underdeveloped, fractious, impoverished and miserable it is. But to expect a more diversified and dynamic economy than what the British delivered at Independence in May 1966, is simply unrealistic. In either case, the natural conditions that nest the economy would have remained unchanged and therefore dictated a similar structure of the economy. Given these and the larger – global – economy of which Guyana is inevitably part, human interventions would not have made a huge structural difference.

The result is that an independent Guyana inherited a lopsided economy that would not have been much different in the absence of colonialism. In either case, its deep insertion into the global economy makes it dance to the tunes of international business cycles; the rise and fall of prices for export commodities and basic imports (oil, medicine, certain food, intermediate goods, etc.) readily transmit disruptions of the international economy to the local economy. The real question, then, is how to diversify the economy, how to broaden its productive pillars, and how to relocate the growth stimulus from the external sector (the global economy) to the local economy. That is, to borrow from the new growth theory, how to convert the stimulus from an exogenous one (the global economy) to an endogenous one (the local economy).

If one seminal event – British colonialism – dictated a “path dependent” development pattern, another, which will probably happen before the close of this century, could very likely undo the “time warp,” colonial legacy. If our “political, professional, business and other elites” are unable to break the country’s path dependence, climate change will likely accomplish that feat. Whether the changed circumstances will be more propitious for growth and human development remains to be seen, but I doubt it.

The pessimistic undertone of this letter should not imply that Guyana is doomed to limp along in a low-level equilibrium trap for neither geography, history nor colonialism is destiny. The colonial development trap can be escaped, but that requires unwavering political will and seeing beyond ethnicity. It is to ethnic politics that our inability to escape post-colonial plunder, pillage and underdevelopment derives. Pointing to colonialism as the continuing cause of underdevelopment excuses the sheer incompetence and spite of political leaders and other elites. The past tells us that ethnic political leaders have a psychological predisposition to corruption, aggrandizement, immorality and eye-pass.

Finally, I am aware I have opened Pandora’s box by challenging the colonial thesis of underdevelopment, at least in the case of Guyana.

Yours faithfully,

Ramesh Gampat

Soooooooooooooooooooooooooo many words.

From my perspective. Guyanese politicians do not have confidence in Guyanese investors. Guyanese politicians expects investments from Ford, GM and Chrysler. I think they seeing these investors coming to Brazil and expect them hop to Guyana and invest. Because we speak English. For years we all been saying that. And recently, that was the pitch of Gaskin and Patterson.

Just a few days ago, Harmon was all excited about an IT investor-boasted of their international status. Jagdeo too was excited too about the outfit that was going to shoot rockets into space. 

Have these men examined carefully what Guyana has to offer.

Guyanese politicians overlook the important factor of Guyanese participation in their economy.  Whether it Ali or Gaskin or Go-Invest or the President of Guyana-they all lack the vision of gainful employment for Guyanese.

Investment is to put people to wuk. And I would expect the priority of anty government is to create the field to encourage and nuture investments. 

Of course my view in on manufacturing-jobs for the skilled, the semi-skilled and the unskilled. It is the quickest way to grow the national wealth. The Asian countries are doing it with great success.

Soooooooooooooooooooooooooo many words.

From my perspective. Guyanese politicians do not have confidence in Guyanese investors. Guyanese politicians expects investments from Ford, GM and Chrysler. I think they seeing these investors coming to Brazil and expect them hop to Guyana and invest. Because we speak English. For years we all been saying that. And recently, that was the pitch of Gaskin and Patterson.

Just a few days ago, Harmon was all excited about an IT investor-boasted of their international status. Jagdeo too was excited too about the outfit that was going to shoot rockets into space. 

Have these men examined carefully what Guyana has to offer.

Guyanese politicians overlook the important factor of Guyanese participation in their economy.  Whether it Ali or Gaskin or Go-Invest or the President of Guyana-they all lack the vision of gainful employment for Guyanese.

Investment is to put people to wuk. And I would expect the priority of anty government is to create the field to encourage and nuture investments. 

Of course my view in on manufacturing-jobs for the skilled, the semi-skilled and the unskilled. It is the quickest way to grow the national wealth. The Asian countries are doing it with great success.

You do have a point. Will write a little blurb later as to why I posted this article about that fellow waking up.

The reason I said Gampat is awake is that I mean his brains is awake these days having overcome the induced somnambulism of Hindutva and Ravi Devism.

A long time ago I wrote a paper called "Searching for Guyana" published in three part in the Guyana Journal. The premise was that we have inherited political institutions that does not suit us but we should develop something different. In the explored why. For example, our ethnic divisions are closely matched numerically and competition reduced the state to a coveted prize. For this and other reasons I systematically went through the various organizing schemes that can be looked at and why they may or may not be best. I concluded that non territorial federalism may ( not that it "is" since the title of the essay was searching for guyana) best for us. 

This fellow lit into me like a hyena after a lions kill. He called me a Mimic man, an anti hindu, Christian and above all pro Creole black ( he never dreamed of considering the Guyanese Indians a creolized culture. It is). He made much ado with my use of the words “state” and “nation” insisting that ethnicity is beyond that ie a natural condition around which one is compelled to organize politically based on the necessity for the survival of cultural imperatives.

State for him was too recent a political construct, too tendentious, too homogenizing to be a primary organizing scheme for a polity. He retreated deep into the dark recesses of primordialism to cull the notion of “nation” and "State". State for him was the geographical boundaries within which are other physical boundaries demarked by ethnicity or more precisely "nations".

These are not constituted merely as political or  religious pluralities but as existential political  autonomous entities to be protected from the intrusions of the modern state. He had, according to him, to avoid the contaminating influences of creolization. Plus, he insisted he said was informed by his "Hindu sastras" ( actually he said Manu Smrti) and not by the western book as to what is and is not real moral grounding.  This fellow in his raw state a real piece of work

The above paragraph is a dense summation of his assault on my paltry offering. That extended to four rebuttals ( with necessary double and triple banking from Somdat and Ramharack as co authors) which was longer than my paper. Mind you, it was a youthful perusing and searching for the understanding. I hardly intended to offend anyone but merely sought to explore who we are, what were our difficulties and how we may solve them. Alas, he arrived in the above article, where I started but is still apparently confused.

will address his points later.

By the way, I dispute the thesis  of colonial  underdevelopment alone...I am of the opinion we the people are at fault and too much inclined to pass the buck and insist we are victims of someones boot on our backs rather than our own cultural and creative laziness if not stupidity.

All of Europe was colonized by the Romans and they treated the local populations poorly even wiping out entire tribal groups. They definitely wiped out many  cultural belief systems. The remarkable legacy is that what we called Western Civilization is inherently Roman ( hence Greek since the Romans borrowed extensively from them) Also, we see a disparity of modernity or coming to modernity based on when cultures met the Romans.

The more keen and attuned to what I said will have already gasped for breath. They may have jumped from their chairs in utter disbelief that this ..."this nut case is denying Rodney's seminal thesis!"...what sacrilege!! 

All I am saying is Rodney missed some serious points ie geography and the people themselves. TK has an article on Geography and its impact on guyanese development. Mr Gampat may not have read it.

By the way, I dispute the thesis  of colonial  underdevelopment alone...I am of the opinion we the people are at fault and too much inclined to pass the buck and insist we are victims of someones boot on our backs rather than our own cultural and creative laziness if not stupidity.

All of Europe was colonized by the Romans and they treated the local populations poorly even wiping out entire tribal groups. They definitely wiped out many  cultural belief systems. The remarkable legacy is that what we called Western Civilization is inherently Roman ( hence Greek since the Romans borrowed extensively from them) Also, we see a disparity of modernity or coming to modernity based on when cultures met the Romans.

The more keen and attuned to what I said will have already gasped for breath. They may have jumped from their chairs in utter disbelief that this ..."this nut case is denying Rodney's seminal thesis!"...what sacrilege!! 

All I am saying is Rodney missed some serious points ie geography and the people themselves. TK has an article on Geography and its impact on guyanese development. Mr Gampat may not have read it.

I agree with you. Colonialism alone cannot explain the persistence of underdevelopment in Guyana and similar societies. Otherwise places like Barbados, The Bahamas, Mauritius, Botswana, Singapore would still be poor third world back waters. Colonial settlements and institutions tool hold in areas of better geography, also. All these variables interact.

Originally Posted by TK:

I agree with you. Colonialism alone cannot explain the persistence of underdevelopment in Guyana and similar societies. Otherwise places like Barbados, The Bahamas, Mauritius, Botswana, Singapore would still be poor third world back waters. Colonial settlements and institutions tool hold in areas of better geography, also. All these variables interact.

Here is the revised and updated version of the paper that will soon appear in Social and Economic Studies: http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/pa...?abstract_id=2633131 

I just bought a copy of Dr Gampat's book on health care in British Guiana. It is quite an intellectual accomplishment. It certainly is consistent with the thesis of being closer to the equator will increase the susceptibility to certain diseases, hence less willingness of Europeans to make permanent settlements. On another matter, I don't like blaming the West for our problems. That's the task of lazy third world leaders.

"All of Europe was colonized by the Romans and they treated the local populations poorly even wiping out entire tribal groups."

The above statement is not true.  Part of Europe was colonized by the Romans at the height of its power in 117 AD.

See Map

roman-empire[1]

• roman-empire[1]

What is he saying here?  I just sped read the letter.

If one seminal event – British colonialism – dictated a “path dependent” development pattern, another, which will probably happen before the close of this century, could very likely undo the “time warp,” colonial legacy. If our “political, professional, business and other elites” are unable to break the country’s path dependence, climate change will likely accomplish that feat. Whether the changed circumstances will be more propitious for growth and human development remains to be seen, but I doubt it.

Why is there so much focus on drainage and irrigation costs as reasons for the underdevelopment of Guyana?  Like anything else you have to put in proper "infrastructure" and maintain it properly. The problem with Guyana is that the politicians have no vision as far as long term planning for the future of that country.  

The modus operandi of politicians is to get rich quick off the backs of the people and country.  It is the reason why our debt keep climbing and we have no infrastructure that we can look to for development.  This current government seems to be waiting for oil money. 

Originally Posted by VVP:

Why is there so much focus on drainage and irrigation costs as reasons for the underdevelopment of Guyana?  Like anything else you have to put in proper "infrastructure" and maintain it properly. The problem with Guyana is that the politicians have no vision as far as long term planning for the future of that country.  

The modus operandi of politicians is to get rich quick off the backs of the people and country.  It is the reason why our debt keep climbing and we have no infrastructure that we can look to for development.  This current government seems to be waiting for oil money. 

Like we share the same thinking cap,i have the same thoughts.

Not to sound pompous, but right now I am co-leading a team with other state agencies and industry experts including the electric utilities to determine what the electric infrastructure (generation mix, transmission needs etc.) needs will be in 2030.  Do they do this in Guyana?  I doubt it.

By the way, I am home today.  Not wasting the govt time...one of our esteemed colleague here reported me couple months ago.  Of course it was laughed off because I put in much more hours than I get paid for.

You talking coconut oil money? You can't squeeze honey out of baboons' kakahole.

Not to sound pompous, but right now I am co-leading a team with other state agencies and industry experts including the electric utilities to determine what the electric infrastructure (generation mix, transmission needs etc.) needs will be in 2030.  Do they do this in Guyana?  I doubt it.

By the way, I am home today.  Not wasting the govt time...one of our esteemed colleague here reported me couple months ago.  Of course it was laughed off because I put in much more hours than I get paid for.

That's a low blow,when you disagree with some one view,

they tried to dirty your water,damn some folks here are

mean.

Originally Posted by Django:

mean.

TK said that somebody had reported him too.  

I understand why some people choose to write under an alias, but if I have to do it I would prefer not to write.  That's just me.

Yuh seying they gat some mean spirited people on here. That was mean. Was it the panty man. He nasty enough to do that.

The colonial development trap can be escaped but requires seeing beyond ethnicity

Dear Editor,

Because of my schedule, I have been rather tardy in following up on a few issues raised by noted economist Dr. Desmond Thomas (SN, 1 October). Without doubt, he has enriched immensely the discussion about the investment-growth conundrum. Two major contributions of his letter are that the conundrum is not unique to Guyana and that institutions are central to growth; the latter reaches back to Adam Smith. He showed that the investment-growth puzzle is a “Caribbean-wide phenomenon.” But this does not necessarily mean, he cautioned, that the same set of factors constraining the contribution of investment is applicable to all countries of the region. For example, Dr. Thomas acknowledged, as did Mr. Rampersaud and I, that, given the Guyana’s topography, good drainage and irrigation and sea defence are an expensive precondition for strong and sustained growth. Other Caribbean countries do not confront this problem or at least it is not as serious. In addition, Dr. Thomas reiterated the importance of “the institutional setting” to growth, “especially in the Guyana context.” The deep concern with institution is of relatively recent origin, made possible by endogenous growth theory. Yet while institutions are important, economists are unsure about their relative contribution. I do not wish to dispute the centrality of these arguments, as I myself have made them, and I thank Dr. Thomas for bringing them back to the centre of the discussion. The rest of this letter focuses on two issues on which Dr. Thomas and I hold different views.

First, I believe that Dr. Thomas mischaracterizes the discussion between Mr. Rampersaud and I. Mr. Rampersaud argued that total factor productivity is an important ingredient of growth. I admit this, but went on to demystify the TFP black box, trying to explain what it is and how it comes about. This is a useful discussion that cannot be described as a “sterile back-and-forth about the merits of total factor productivity.” Unbundling TFP draws attention to the importance of institutions (rule of law, property rights and security, quick resolution of legal matters, and, more generally, the legal framework), health, nutrition, education consistent with the demands of the labour market, finance, research and development, adaptation of technology, and, of course, politics and policies. It seems that our different viewpoints are the result of cognitive dissonance.

Second, Dr. Thomas argues that the “low efficiency of investment is an indication that the Region is still caught in a post-colonial time warp, unable to transition to more productive strategies, to find the keys to sounder, more sustained growth in changing international circumstances.” If the “time-warp” – the colonial legacy – refers to the mere shifting of predatory and parasitic behaviour of politicians, “business and other elites,” I agree. Post-colonial leaders have replaced the British as the agents – that great sucking sound – that siphons off of the surplus, splurging on conspicuous consumption and channeling the rest into offshore bank accounts. Similarly, if the phrase is taken to mean the reproduction of the structure of the economy from colonial times to the present, it would be difficult to contest the validity of this statement. The economic apparatus of the post-colonial economy has not been altered substantially from what it was during colonialism. So has the “post-colonial time warp” chained us to underdevelopment and misery? Dr. Thomas thinks so; I differ.

Here’s the development riddle: suppose Guyana had escaped colonial plundering, would its economy have developed along a different trajectory than has actually been the case? Instead of sugar, could processing, manufacturing and mining have dominated the economy from the inception? Did our colonial masters have viable (but selfish) options besides those they have chosen and implemented? I fear these questions cannot be answered in the affirmative, and maintain that a particular species of “time warp” would still be present even if Guyana did not suffer the fate of a colonized territory. The country’s geographical location, climate, resource endowments and the difficulty and high cost of developing it, disease environment, and its human resource situation suggest that Guyana’s fate without colonialism would not have been remarkably different from what it actually is. The growth dilemma confronting Guyana would not have been vastly different absent colonialism.

If the territory were not colonized, perhaps the country Guyana would not have existed; it would very likely have been parceled out among our three neighbours. In this case, our development bugbear – ethnic politics – and attendant pervasive corruption, petty, grand and state, would not have arisen. To the British, then, we owe our existence as a separate country, however underdeveloped, fractious, impoverished and miserable it is. But to expect a more diversified and dynamic economy than what the British delivered at Independence in May 1966, is simply unrealistic. In either case, the natural conditions that nest the economy would have remained unchanged and therefore dictated a similar structure of the economy. Given these and the larger – global – economy of which Guyana is inevitably part, human interventions would not have made a huge structural difference.

The result is that an independent Guyana inherited a lopsided economy that would not have been much different in the absence of colonialism. In either case, its deep insertion into the global economy makes it dance to the tunes of international business cycles; the rise and fall of prices for export commodities and basic imports (oil, medicine, certain food, intermediate goods, etc.) readily transmit disruptions of the international economy to the local economy. The real question, then, is how to diversify the economy, how to broaden its productive pillars, and how to relocate the growth stimulus from the external sector (the global economy) to the local economy. That is, to borrow from the new growth theory, how to convert the stimulus from an exogenous one (the global economy) to an endogenous one (the local economy).

The pessimistic undertone of this letter should not imply that Guyana is doomed to limp along in a low-level equilibrium trap for neither geography, history nor colonialism is destiny. The colonial development trap can be escaped, but that requires unwavering political will and seeing beyond ethnicity. It is to ethnic politics that our inability to escape post-colonial plunder, pillage and underdevelopment derives. Pointing to colonialism as the continuing cause of underdevelopment excuses the sheer incompetence and spite of political leaders and other elites. The past tells us that ethnic political leaders have a psychological predisposition to corruption, aggrandizement, immorality and eye-pass.

Finally, I am aware I have opened Pandora’s box by challenging the colonial thesis of underdevelopment, at least in the case of Guyana.

Yours faithfully,

Ramesh Gampat

Never wrote one letter in the last 5 years.  These Jagdeo bwoys?

Originally Posted by Django:

mean.

TK said that somebody had reported him too.  

I understand why some people choose to write under an alias, but if I have to do it I would prefer not to write.  That's just me.

Yeah...they don't understand how these things work.

The colonial development trap can be escaped but requires seeing beyond ethnicity'''

Yours faithfully,

Ramesh Gampat

Never wrote one letter in the last 5 years.  These Jagdeo bwoys?

Don't know but hardly likely. These are true believers in their conception of Hindu Dharma. I doubt they care about Jagdeo but are more likely to have contempt for him.