FREENESS LEADS TO CONFUSION

There was no walkout by the opposition at the flag- raising ceremony of last Wednesday. The opposition parliamentarians and their spouses left as any decent person would do after it was clear that there was no seating available for them.

The opposition turned up as a group to demonstrate that as a party they were supportive of Guyana’s Independence and that their participation was not a token gesture. They came well bedecked and they came as a group.

They were invited; they did not turn up uninvited. They were guests of the government.

They did not cater that the government would have made the same mistake that was made last year. The experience of the inauguration ceremony last year should have forewarned the government that there were going to be problems with VIP seating. In Guyana, all kinds of people arrogate to themselves VIP status. It was clear from the images shown on television that there were office workers, market vendors and party hacks who felt that they were important enough to be in the VIP stands. And they were.

It was clear that there simply was never going to be enough seats for many of the VIPs. It is unreasonable to ask a former President to be seated when most of his comrades had to be standing in the passageway. This was shown on television.  No self-respecting leader or manager will condone such a situation. You have to show some consideration for your comrades.

Persons can pontificate about standing for Guyana even though you were not seated, but those who pontificate were seated, and comfortably too.

There was obviously a problem with too many persons being allowed in or being given passes to the main pavilion. This always happens in Guyana because people know people, who know other people who can arrange for them to be admitted into the VIP section. Last May, there was a similar problem at the National Stadium but that location was big enough for people to find alternative seating. The same could not happen with the limited seating in the VIP section.

The opposition has not made this a political issue. They have not tried to embarrass the government. They were the ones who were embarrassed. They merely explained why they left so as not to convey the impression that they were not willing to participate.

If you invite me to a party, and there is no space for me. I am sorry but I will leave.

The PPP may have read, given the nature of Guyanese politics, some devious motives into the fact that their parliamentarians could not be seated. The representatives of the present government, when they were in the opposition, were never subject to that sort of treatment and therefore the PPPC may have felt that there was an attempt to embarrass them in front of a mainly pro-government crowd.

Things went wrong. The seats were not sufficient and the opposition had no choice but to leave. They explained why they left. It should have been left at that.

But this is Guyana and there are persons who could not resist putting a spin on the issue. What was disgusting was the spin that was put to the issue by a senior member of the media fraternity who wickedly tried to suggest that the opposition were not willing to wait for seats to be found. There was no way seats were going to be found for them. The entire place was crowded.

The opposition waited fifteen minutes which was fifteen minutes too long and then left. The opposition had no choice but to leave. They had to leave. What would you have done? Stand up and block the passageways?

The matter is ended but there are issues to be resolved. Those same issues were raised after the fiasco at the National Stadium last May at the inauguration of the President where non- dignitaries found their way into the section reserved for VIPs and special invitees.

The other problem is that most of the Jubilee events at which patrons had to pay, except for the concert on May 26 at the National Stadium were poorly attended. But the flag-raising was free.

Once it is free then more people will come than you can accommodate. And that was part of the problem on Wednesday night.

Just like your predictions that the PPP would win 60% in 2011, and 54% in 2015.

In fact their behavior at this event is why they didn't win the majority in the last two national elections.

Were all the APNU AFC people seated together? NO1.

So the PPP arrives late, after people have already seated, and then makes a mountain out of a mole hill, when clearly they are in the WRONG!

If there wasn't a reserved seat for Jagdeo I can see, given that he is leader of the opposition.  But he was seated in the presidential area.

In fact their behavior at this event is why they didn't win the majority in the last two national elections.

So the PPP arrives late, after people have already seated, and then makes a mountain out of a mole hill, when clearly they are in the WRONG!

If there wasn't a reserved seat for Jagdeo I can see, given that he is leader of the opposition.  But he was seated in the presidential area.

As expected, your continued irrelevance to the issues.

It is quite relevant to state that the PPP acts like children, and folks have become bored of this.

They arrived late, so ought to be grateful to get a seat. 

Arrive late for a flight, and see how quickly some one else be put in it, and you being denied boarding.

Despite that the woman tried to accommodate them, and they behaved like brats.

Under stand something.  This behavior isn't earning them points.

It is quite relevant to state that the PPP acts like children, and folks have become bored of this.

They arrived late, so ought to be grateful to get a seat. 

Arrive late for a flight, and see how quickly some one else be put in it, and you being denied boarding.

Despite that the woman tried to accommodate them, and they behaved like brats.

Under stand something.  This behavior isn't earning them points.

The 50th anniversary is an important occasion for all Guyanese and both the government and opposition must be accommodated in an apt manner.

Yet you continue with irrelevant comments to the specific issues.

The 50th anniversary is an important occasion for all Guyanese

Which is why you arrive on time.

Did the PPP arrive on time?  NO!

They arrived late, and then acted like hooligans because they couldn't sit together.

In fact the PPP hasn't even admitted that they made prior arrangements to be seated together, so we know that this is an idea that they concocted when they arrived.

Let me put it straight to you.  Since the Jubilee celebrations were announced the PPP was damning it as a "black man event" and a waste of money. This because they still cannot admit that 51% of the population rejected them TWICE.

So they show up late, scream that they cannot sit together, and then they leave like kids denied a sweetie.

In fact  the PPP should have been playing a strong role in all the planning for the Jubilee, as it is an important event.  And we know that this isn't because they were excluded, or we would have heard that screaming.

THEY REFUSED to.  THEY DIDN'T WANT TO BE THERE, and now they behave like brats, thinking that this will help them.

Even Donald Ramotar and Sam Hinds didn't join their walk out as they knew that this was infantile!

And DG Jamaica is a very tribalized country politically.  When they had their 50th BOTH parties were involved in the planning.

Where was the PPP in the planning.  NOWHERE.

They were off sulking that this was a blackman event and that it was a waste of money, and that there is nothing to celebrate, since "everything crash".

Until you PPP supporters cease being slaves, and you demand that Jagdeo is removed, the PPP will lose!

And DG Jamaica is a very tribalized country politically.  When they had their 50th BOTH parties were involved in the planning.

They were off sulking that this was a blackman event and that it was a waste of money, and that there is nothing to celebrate, since "everything crash".

Until you PPP supporters cease being slaves, and you demand that Jagdeo is removed, the PPP will lose!

No doubt national events in Guyana are generally seen as blackman events. That is not an indictment on their Indian population. The Amerindians, Whites and Chinese Guyanese also do not observe these as much as blacks do. That is the casualty of Guyana's racial politics during the commencements of these events. Blacks and other races in the US don't observe/celebrate US national events as fervently as whites, and especially those whites in Middle America. Using Jamaica is a terrible example since their experiences are completely different from Guyana. The Jamiacan Indian population is hardly mentioned and many would be surprised to find out that Jamaica has Indians.

All that said, you are a true homer bai.

Was the PPP advised in advance that if they show up late, their reserved seats will be reassigned to others? Should they have been cognizant of Guyana's record where people who know people who know people get what they shouldn't get?

Both the PPP and the planners of the event acted very petty,the seats for the opposition should not be taken,it appears the current PPP opposition members don't seem to respect Granger as president of the country hence they decided to be there after he arrived,well they said the current government is a "defacto" that say it for their actions.

No doubt national events in Guyana are generally seen as blackman events. That is not an indictment on their Indian population. The Amerindians, Whites and Chinese Guyanese also do not observe these as much as blacks do. That is the casualty of Guyana's racial politics during the commencements of these events. Blacks and other races in the US don't observe/celebrate US national events as fervently as whites, and especially those whites in Middle America. Using Jamaica is a terrible example since their experiences are completely different from Guyana. The Jamiacan Indian population is hardly mentioned and many would be surprised to find out that Jamaica has Indians.

This Jamaican fella used to work us one day he said to me they called the Indian in Jamaica "bhagee people" then awhile after i met this Indian guy from Jamaica and his name was "Bhagee" there are all kind of names for people in this world.

Was the PPP advised in advance that if they show up late, their reserved seats will be reassigned to others? Should they have been cognizant of Guyana's record where people who know people who know people get what they shouldn't get?

Both the PPP and the planners of the event acted very petty,the seats for the opposition should not be taken,it appears the current PPP opposition members don't seem to respect Granger as president of the country hence they decided to be there after he arrived,well they said the current government is a "defacto" that say it for their actions.

That is and will remain the problem with Guyana. The PPP did not get respect from the Opposition when they were the government either. Guyana live in a 'duh fuh duh nah obeah' mentality. Granger promised to transcend that mentality but either he can't or the people he appointed to can't. While this isn't related, how did Green end up as Chairman of the Board of CH&PA?

Was the PPP advised in advance that if they show up late,

Do you really think that a question like that makes sense?

If some one says get to a place at such and such time, as the PPP was told to do, then if one gets their late there is a risk that seating options will be restricted.

And I repeat.  Did the PPP convey that they wanted 30 contiguous seats so that they could all sit together?  It doesn't appear so as they have not said anything about this.

Jamaican Indians are patriotic Jamaicans and fervently participate in every Jamaican activity. In fact if you suggest to them that they shouldn't be rabid Jamaicans they would look at you as if some thing is wrong with you. 

In fact they, and to a lesser degree Indo Trinis, find Indo Guyanese weird. Look at T&T carnival and see the very active presence of Indians.   And it doesn't matter whether it is a PNM or a UNC gov't, they are Trinis, carnival is a Trini event, and they have brought in their tassa drumming, and chutney into it.

This whining and pining that Guyanese Indians do, carrying on as if the rest of the country owes them something is not what other Indo Carib groups do. I cannot speak for Suriname.

Now to compare Guyanese Indians with Americans blacks is really something. A group which is the largest, the economically dominant, and until last year, also politically dominant, with a group which has been marginalized in all spheres of American activity.

But guess what. Black Americans fight to be INCLUDED in what it is to be an American.

Guyanese Indians have a problem and they need to address it. Are they Guyanese, or are they Indians living in Guyana. If the latter then they risk being treated as immigrants.

Portuguese Guyanese are very patriotic to Guyana. You should see them in Toronto!  They no longer live in Guyana to any great degree, but they have no doubt that their base identity is to be GUYANESE.  Even with Brazil right next door, how many Portuguese Guyanese connect with that country?  

I have several Portuguese within our family network and I can assure you that you will get a good box in your face if you suggest to them that they don't fundamentally define themselves as Guyanese. Yes they regret that the Indian vs. African fight has all but destroyed Guyana, but they remain Guyanese to the core!

That is and will remain the problem with Guyana. The PPP did not get respect from the Opposition when they were the government either. Guyana live in a 'duh fuh duh nah obeah' mentality. Granger promised to transcend that mentality but either he can't or the people he appointed to can't. While this isn't related, how did Green end up as Chairman of the Board of CH&PA?

He should have taken a back seat,these fellas need to give up, there are young people who can fill these positions.

The young people of all races should start a revolution against the two dinosaurs the PPP and PNC,they are not good for the future of the country.

Was the PPP advised in advance that if they show up late,

Do you really think that a question like that makes sense?

If some one says get to a place at such and such time, as the PPP was told to do, then if one gets their late there is a risk that seating options will be restricted.

From al the reports that I have read, there were many more people than the seating can accommodate. That said, was there a responsibility to advise someone issued a seating permit that their seat will be reassigned if they show up late? You gave the airlines example and in that case, passengers are advised on the latest time that they can show up. 

From al the reports that I have read, there were many more people than the seating can accommodate.

And you know what, had the PPP

1.  communicate their desire to be seated together.

2.  arrived on time then this wouldn't have been a problem.

I bet the coalition MPs didn't all demand to be seated together.

Here is the deal. Guyanese are the most undisciplined people in the Caribbean, probably even worse than Haiti. Guyana is a lawless country.

One would think that MPs would be leading the charge to end this behavior.

Showing up at an event late, then demanding that others move, because you decided to sit together (I guess the presence of so many blacks disturbs them), is the very bullyism that has destroyed Guyana.  Then leaving in a rage just tops it off.

Folks who are sitting on the fence, disappointed with the coalition gov't, and not impressed with the PPP, weren't won over by that behavior.

It just reminded them that the PPP are a bunch of lawless bullies.

Jamaican Indians are patriotic Jamaicans and fervently participate in every Jamaican activity. In fact if you suggest to them that they shouldn't be rabid Jamaicans they would look at you as if some thing is wrong with you. 

In fact they, and to a lesser degree Indo Trinis, find Indo Guyanese weird. Look at T&T carnival and see the very active presence of Indians.   And it doesn't matter whether it is a PNM or a UNC gov't, they are Trinis, carnival is a Trini event, and they have brought in their tassa drumming, and chutney into it.

This whining and pining that Guyanese Indians do, carrying on as if the rest of the country owes them something is not what other Indo Carib groups do. I cannot speak for Suriname.

Now to compare Guyanese Indians with Americans blacks is really something. A group which is the largest, the economically dominant, and until last year, also politically dominant, with a group which has been marginalized in all spheres of American activity.

But guess what. Black Americans fight to be INCLUDED in what it is to be an American.

Guyanese Indians have a problem and they need to address it. Are they Guyanese, or are they Indians living in Guyana. If the latter then they risk being treated as immigrants.

Portuguese Guyanese are very patriotic to Guyana. You should see them in Toronto!  They no longer live in Guyana to any great degree, but they have no doubt that their base identity is to be GUYANESE.  Even with Brazil right next door, how many Portuguese Guyanese connect with that country?  

I have several Portuguese within our family network and I can assure you that you will get a good box in your face if you suggest to them that they don't fundamentally define themselves as Guyanese. Yes they regret that the Indian vs. African fight has all but destroyed Guyana, but they remain Guyanese to the core!

Carib bai, you completely missed the boat here. Your response suggest you had absolutely no idea what I wrote.

From al the reports that I have read, there were many more people than the seating can accommodate.

How so? Would all the extra people just evaporate?

how did Green end up as Chairman of the Board of CH&PA?

He should have taken a back seat,these fellas need to give up, there are young people who can fill these positions.

The young people of all races should start a revolution against the two dinosaurs the PPP and PNC,they are not good for the future of the country.

Not going to happen. The government is rife with all those old PNC people who just dusted off themselves. Green is not the only one.

Carib bai, you completely missed the boat here. Your response suggest you had absolutely no idea what I wrote.

So explain what you wrote. If a Guyanese Indian is a fervent Guyanese then it shouldn't matter to him, which party is in power.

In fact Indians were dominant for 23 of the past 25 years, so the notion that they are this marginalized group akin to black Americans is blatantly dishonest. 

What you want, and in fact what the PPP wants, is for black Guyanese (a group that you all consider to be inferior) to bend down and grovel to you, because you all think that you are better. NOT HAPPENING!

To claim that they have the same issues as do Amerindians, who are isolated in the interior, severely impoverished and abused,  and held in contempt by the remaining 90% population, is pure nonsense.

You don't see white and Chinese Guyanese at national events in Guyana because they no longer live there.  In fact Bobby Moore was one of the few white Guyanese who I even knew existed.

How so? Would all the extra people just evaporate?

They would have arrived before many of those people did.

They arrived LATE, so lost all excuses to be seated where they wanted to be.

Next time tell them to get their EARLY.  That is what normal people do at an event like this!

Carib,no doubt the Indians in Trinidad and Jamaica and even St Lucia [which have a small amount] are patriotic to their country of birth.Indians in Guyana are brainwashed even some of the educated are carried away with this nonsense of not being patriotic.

Thank to technology i watched the flag raising event for the Jubilee,i felt very emotional and reflect if the country of my birth was a better place,i will not be here,i felt the same when i was swearing in for my US Citizenship.

Carib,no doubt the Indians in Trinidad and Jamaica and even St Lucia [which have a small amount] are patriotic to their country of birth.Indians in Guyana are brainwashed even some of the educated are carried away with this nonsense of not being patriotic.

Thank to technology i watched the flag raising event for the Jubilee,i felt very emotional and reflect if the country of my birth was a better place,i will not be here,i felt the same when i was swearing in for my US Citizenship.

Like I said Guyanese Indians have a problem, and they need to speak on this.

I have had lengthy conversations with Indo Trinidadians, (a country with similar demographics and colonial history, and a similar race based politics).  While they don't claim that there aren't problems, there does exist a sense of being Trinidadian that links them together.

Face it. We lack an all embracing sense of being Guyanese, and the bully boy tactics of the PPP illustrates this.

Now why weren't the PPP not involved in planning such an event?  If they were excluded why didn't they protest, because that would have embarrassed APNU AFC into including them.

For the last several months, instead we heard whining from the PPP that this event is a waste, and that there is nothing to celebrate.   As well as the usual underground whispers that "is a blackman event so don't go".

There is a widespread belief among non Indians that large numbers of Guyanese Indians aren't truly patriotic.  That they see themselves, not as Guyanese of Indian descent, but as Indians born in and living in Guyana. Such behavior under scores this suspicion.

I see even here in NYC.  The Jubilee planning committee running all over trying to get Indians involved in the planning. Having difficulties. in part because those Indians, who might have been inclined to be involved, were being bullied by others not to be as it is  "blackman event".

And of course the same Indians who didn't want to be involved, and who intimidated others not to be involved, now scream that it is "Africafest" because most of the organizers are blacks.

So explain what you wrote. If a Guyanese Indian is a fervent Guyanese then it shouldn't matter to him, which party is in power.

In fact Indians were dominant for 23 of the past 25 years, so the notion that they are this marginalized group akin to black Americans is blatantly dishonest. 

What you want, and in fact what the PPP wants, is for black Guyanese (a group that you all consider to be inferior) to bend down and grovel to you, because you all think that you are better. NOT HAPPENING!

To claim that they have the same issues as do Amerindians, who are isolated in the interior, severely impoverished and abused,  and held in contempt by the remaining 90% population, is pure nonsense.

You don't see white and Chinese Guyanese at national events in Guyana because they no longer live there.  In fact Bobby Moore was one of the few white Guyanese who I even knew existed.

I don't need to explain anything bai. I write in simple terms for a reason. You missing the boat is completely because of your tendency to ignore whatever is written as you continue your one track campaign. Now that you feel guilty of your tendencies, go back and read what I wrote if you wish.

I don't need to explain anything bai. I write in simple terms for a reason.

I read what you wrote and you wrote about national events in Guyana being "blackman" events.

Were these "black man" events when the PPP was in power?  I do recall then that Africans were very evident in Independence Day events, both in Guyana, and in NYC, even though a government which they despised was in power.

So what really are you trying to say? Be open and be blatant about it.  Because that "simple" stuff that you wrote is riddled with tons of inaccuracies which I pointed out to you.

I disagree with your comment that Indians in Guyana are brainwashed. I did not watch any of the celebrations. I too was very emotional during my US citizenship ceremony. It took place at the Los Angeles Convention Center back in 1992.

I don't need to explain anything bai. I write in simple terms for a reason.

I read what you wrote and you wrote about national events in Guyana being "blackman" events.

Were these "black man" events when the PPP was in power?  I do recall then that Africans were very evident in Independence Day events, both in Guyana, and in NYC, even though a government which they despised was in power.

So what really are you trying to say? Be open and be blatant about it.  Because that "simple" stuff that you wrote is riddled with tons of inaccuracies which I pointed out to you.

How much did Indian Guyanese participate in Guyana's national events during the PPP 23 years in government compared to black Guyanese?

I disagree with your comment that Indians in Guyana are brainwashed. I did not watch any of the celebrations. I too was very emotional during my US citizenship ceremony. It took place at the Los Angeles Convention Center back in 1992.

Kaz, what is it bhai ? what is your take that country belongs to every one.

are you serious . . . or just plain stupid!?

How much did Indian Guyanese participate in Guyana's national events during the PPP 23 years in government compared to black Guyanese?

Every event commemorating Independence during the PPP era, blacks in Guyana, and blacks outside of Guyana were involved.

They hated the PPP regime, and yet that didn't prevent them from celebrating themselves as Guyanese.

Now are Indo Guyanese Indians born in and living in Guyana, but not having any real identity as a Guyanese, or are they fundamentally Guyanese of Indian descent?

redux posted:

Come July 4th everybody will be celebrating Independence Day.

He is just looking for excuses. 

redux posted:

Don't just get into the discussion just for the heck of getting into it. Something of substance would be tremendously welcomed.

redux posted:

Come July 4th everybody will be celebrating Independence Day.

He is just looking for excuses. 

All you do Caribjee is make excuses to abet your arguments. I don't need to make excuses for anything.