Freddie Kissoon claims he "has no control over the publication of letters" in KN. That is not supported by information I obtained from KN staff in recent queries unless Mr. Kissoon was removed as letter editor recently.

Several letters of mine were not published in Kaieteur News over the last several months. When I queried (why) with the Editor in Chief as well as other editors and members of the KN staff, they (guided) advised me that I speak with Kissoon who they all said has been serving as letter editor for the last year. Kissoon has been quite upset with my frequent correcting of many (factual) inaccuracies (and misinformation) in his columns. He made it known to me in a conversation that my letters would not see the light of day in KN. And indeed my letters sent to KN have not been published.

In short, he has censored my writings not different from how a dictator operates because he objects to my corrections of his writings. So his claim that he does not censor or ban letters or that he has no control over what is published in KN is misinformation.

In a response to Ms. Isabel de Caries who defended her father from attacks by Kissoon, he described the late Mr. David de Caires as β€œa gentle, likeable person”. But that was not the tenor of his description of Mr. de Caires in several pieces since the man’s death. He waded into the nan's character. Kissoon was very nasty in his many commentaries on David de Caires; he also did not speak fondly of Senior Counsel Miles Patrick who is also associated with SN since its founding. Isabel de Caires made reference to a recent piece in which Mr. Kissoon claimed that every year for several years Mr. de Caires hosted a private birthday party in the Essequibo River for the elite in which Kissoon and lower ranking staff were not invited. Kissoon insinuated, in that claim as well as in several earlier pieces, that Mr. de Caires was a racist. He also charged that Mr. de Caires and other directors (including Mr. Fitzpatrick) of SN did not like or socialize with Kissoon himself and or with the lower class. Kissoon charged that staff and lower class were not invited to Mr. de Caires parties. Ms. de Caires countered (SN Mar 3) no such parties were ever held in the Essequibo River and that the entire staff were invited whenever Mr. de Caires observed his birthdays . Mr. Kissoon has not apologized for his false statement.

I came to know Mr. de Caires around the same time as Mr. Kissoon when the paper started in 1986. Like, Kissoon, I also wrote for the paper as a news reporter and letter contributor. I met Mr. de Caires several times in Guyana. He was no racist or an elitist. He never rebuffed me. He was always pleasant and warm. His staff told me he worked well with them and he respected people of all ethnicities. He appreciated his staff and they respected him. He celebrated his birthday and holiday treats with them. He was a man of impeccable integrity. Any claims to the contrary are fake news.

Furthermore, unlike Kissoon, Mr. de Caires believed in freedom of the press. He did not block letters from being published in SN because they were critical of him or because they corrected mis-information on his writings. Yes, he controlled what was published in SN against libel laws but not censor views based on whether he liked or disliked someone. Kissoon should follow that model in KN.
C68BB845-E063-44AC-8D72-1F050A686826

• C68BB845-E063-44AC-8D72-1F050A686826

De caries married an East Indian woman. I think her name is Doreen. She is always a very nice lady. His children are half East Indian/Portuguese but they can pass for full Portuguese.  I may not put them culturally in the same category as our own roti and mutton curry Gerhard. De Caries was always a supporter of the old D' Aguiar UF party

I do not understand this obsession by BISRAM with Kissoon.  Freddie is a nut case that has now found himself naked politically as he backed a black government that has now migrated to a black elite who care nothing for the poor and the working class from all races.

Freddie is become irrelevant by the minute every day, plus old age will render him useless soon.  Karma is a bitch!  In 5 years time there will be no Freddie, that I predict, so let us continue to spin the wheel an use Freddie today for jokes because he is nothing better than a political joker.

KishanB posted:

I do not understand this obsession by BISRAM with Kissoon.  Freddie is a nut case that has now found himself naked politically as he backed a black government that has now migrated to a black elite who care nothing for the poor and the working class from all races.

Freddie is become irrelevant by the minute every day, plus old age will render him useless soon.  Karma is a bitch!  In 5 years time there will be no Freddie, that I predict, so let us continue to spin the wheel an use Freddie today for jokes because he is nothing better than a political joker.

y'all been saying that about FK for the longest

he will continue to be far, far more relevant and consequential than idiot posers like you who actually fancy your undereducated selves as "elite"

Mr Freddie is wan GT elite bai. He does play victim. De man in de war foh win de privilege foh he oligarch. Hey hey hey...abie need Mr TK foh tell dem bout oligarchy and dankey economy.

yes, he does wuk for de man

but show me where he involve himself in warrin fuh "de privilege" for dem 2 bais?

Mr Freddie is wan GT elite bai. He does play victim. De man in de war foh win de privilege foh he oligarch. Hey hey hey...abie need Mr TK foh tell dem bout oligarchy and dankey economy.

but show me where he involve himself in warrin fuh "de privilege" for dem 2 bais?

Ow bai de man gat foh sing for he roti and food for he puppy. Is all wan battle between dem two camp of oligarch. Hey hey hey...

I seee . . . you gat NOTHING then!

Bai de man gat columns when he seh he boss ge he money to help mek he house. But me na gat de column. 

that is true but irrelevant

and does not address my question

that is true but irrelevant

and does not address my question

Bai I doan tek that newspaper serious. It in de same league as GT.