April 12 2018

Dear Editor,

I offer below my refutation of the fictionalization of parts of my political life that was carried in a letter of Wednesday April 11, 2018 by Tacuma Ogunseye. Mr Ogunseye’s traditional nastiness in politics is well documented in this country. My notes here add to that compilation.

1. It was under the editorship of Anthony Calder of Kaieteur News I did a series of investigative accounts of what was taking place in Buxton. In the middle of the Buxton violence, Mr Calder went to edit the Chronicle. He invited me to do a similar series for which I was paid. Mr Ogunseye said the Chronicle series was facilitated by Moses Nagamootoo. Nowhere was Moses Nagamootoo in the picture. The crime syndrome began on Mash Day 2002 and by that time Nagamootoo had long resigned as a Cabinet minister and had gone on to do law in Barbados. By 2002 when my investigation journalism began, Mr Nagamootoo was nowhere around. I hope Mr Nagamootoo does the decent thing and exposes Mr Ogunseye’s fiction.

2. Mr Ogunseye mentions my investigations into the violence at Buxton but conveniently omitted his involvement. It was a sickening manifestation when day after day, the gunmen killed people using ethnic criteria and Mr Ogunseye supported them. When a strong source gave me incontrovertible evidence of what Ogunseye was doing in Buxton, he tried to shut me up with a libel suit. He asked Mortimer Codette to do the paperwork. Little did he know I had a very good friendship with Codette.

Codette called me in to explain his difficulty and asked me to make up with Ogunseye because he did not want to be the lawyer involved. I refused showing Morty the evidence I had on Ogunseye but to my disappointment Morty told me he understands and sympathizes with Ogunseye’s role. I then told Morty he should go ahead with the libel and I would tear up Ogunseye in court with what I knew. Morty refused to go ahead with the libel. Morty filed the writ to please Mr Ogunseye and promised me that he would let the writ die a natural death.

He kept his promise to me. After the case had been called four times (on each occasion Mr Ogunseye turned up but not Morty), on the fifth occasion the case was dismissed with a $45,000 cost to me. In an address to the court I said I would never take a cent from someone like Ogunseye but I would ask that he donate the money to the family of one of the victims. This was an old man that Dr Janette Bulkan knew well whom the gunmen killed for fun when they saw him walking in Better Hope after they had robbed a business place in that village. I never knew if Mr Ogunseye paid that money.

3. Here are the words of that Guyanese giant, Eusi Kwayana, on my journalistic investigation of the Buxton violence. They are contained in Kwayana’s book, The Morning After, “I have found the essence of his [Kissoon’s] findings on the East coast disturbances with few exceptions well founded and based on information too detailed in particulars to be discounted. His knowledge of the personalities in and around the Taliban exceeds mine.” Here is Kwayana on Ogunseye: “Tacuma Ogunseye whom I have called Brother Tacuma for some thirty years, has described the story of Buxton as a liberation struggle. At no time in our long association have I disagreed more with him…I have attacked what he now supports or justifies.”

4. Ogunseye writes all the time but never replies to diaspora economist, Sasenarine Singh, who once more accused him as recently as March 21 this year. On the first day of 2017, Mr Singh, in the Kaieteur News, published incriminating material about Mr Ogunseye’s financial dealing with the PPP government. In that same letter, Mr Singh quoted what Mr Ogunseye had to say about the unfitness of Clive Thomas to run SARA because of age. I would like to remind readers that of all the criticisms made against me, I have never been accused of taking a cent from any political party. I have brought out what I knew about this financial transaction which was effected through one of the top female leaders of the PPP. In an email exchange with diaspora WPA activist, Keith Branch, I warned Keith that Ogunseye is not as innocent as he appears.

Yours faithfully,

Frederick Kissoon 

De murderous criminal is de Ogunseye. Abie bin know dis foh dankey years.

I agree dat Ogunseye is a scvnt

but if he is wan murderous criminal, what does dat make yuh starbai dr dr dr dr Jagdeo?

Good to see fk back in yuh good books though

lol

Media houses are free to publish all the evidence Kissoon provides on ‘my connections with gunmen’

Dear Editor,

I am grateful to Stabroek News for publishing my letter of April 11th, 2018 captioned ‘Roopnaraine will remain a member of the WPA for as long as he chooses to do so’ and for facilitating Frederick Kissoon’s response to it on Thursday, April 12th, 2018. My letter of April 11th was in response to Kissoon’s column in the Kaieteur News captioned, ‘Roopnaraine is the most honest activist the WPA produced’.

Editor, notwithstanding the blatant lies, innuendoes and the deliberate misrepresentation of information contained in Kissoon’s letter of April 12th, I wish to publicly assure you that it is not my intention, to pursue now or at any time in the future, legal action against your paper for the publication of Kissoon’s scurrilous remarks about me.

I propose subsequently to address Kissoon’s denial of his referencing of Mr Moses Nagamootoo as the person who he had claimed (in his letter detailing his dissatisfaction with his treatment by the then PPPC government) had approached him to write the ‘Ocean’s 13’ articles that were intended to negate the impact of Clive Thomas’s articles on the criminalization of Guyana by the PPPC government. Let me say here to Mr Kissoon that my proof of his covenant with the PPPC government resides in his utterances that are contained in the letter/column that were published in his name.

In his effort to lessen the impact of my uncontestable exposure of his reprehensible behaviour, Kissoon, true to form and not unexpectedly, continued his tirade against me. In doing so he unashamedly accused a now deceased member of the legal profession, Mr Mortimor Codette, (who is now incapable of defending himself against his accusations) of grave, unethical conduct during the period when he represented me in my legal action against Kissoon. While it may be true that Mr Kissoon had enjoyed a close friendship with Mr Codette, in the face of the grave allegations he has made against him, Mr Kissoon to my mind, is legally and morally obliged to present irrefutable evidence to support his contention that Codette acted improperly when he was my attorney in the legal action I had brought against Kissoon. Nothing else will suffice. Kissoon cannot, and must not be allowed to make these wild accusations against other persons and go unpunished when he fails to support his accusations with the requisite evidence. It is not the first time he has levelled unsubstantiated allegations against some members of the legal fraternity and the public.

I am of the view that Kissoon’s allegations against Mortimor Codette are nothing but a figment of his imagination. Isn’t there a member of the legal fraternity, not one among them, who is concerned enough about Mr Kissoon’s assault on the character of a now deceased member of their fraternity, to at the least, demand from him production of the evidence of Codette’s alleged “unethical behaviour”, and, failing his ability to produce the evidence, a public apology from him (Kissoon) for what could be considered a grave wrong against Codette’s character?

As far as my knowledge of this matter goes, it never reached the courts for hearing. I am also contending that I was never present in any of the courts in Guyana to deal with this matter. Kissoon wrote, “After the case had been called four times (on each occasion Mr Ogunseye turned up but not Morty), on the fifth occasion the case was dismissed with a $45,000 cost to me. In an address to the court, I said I would never take a cent from someone like Ogunseye but I would ask that he donate the money to the family of one of the victims.” This, as we used to say in an earlier age, is nothing but “Anancy ʼtory”. I call on Mr Kissoon to name the Judge who heard the matter and gave the judgement.

The government has stated recently its intention to have commissions of inquiries into the violent killings in the period mentioned in Kissoon’s letter, I hope that Mr Kissoon will not disappoint the nation, by not taking the stand and under oath reveal his, “incontrovertible evidence” of my doings in Buxton.

In the face of Kissoon’s allegations against me media houses are free to publicise all of the evidence Kissoon will provide on (a) my doings in Buxton or my connections with gunmen in any part of Guyana in the period he mentioned; and (b) evidence that I appeared before a magistrate or judge in any court in respect to my libel suit against him and the Chronicle.

Yours faithfully,

Tacuma Ogunseye

Orgunseye dislike Indian ppl, a lang time now. He coulda kill dem or in cohots.

Jagdeo responded to the murderers. And dem now want an Inquiry. Barefaced friggers. 

In 2020 Jagdeo wins, dat koolie bhai gonna seek revenge. Duh fuh duh nah obeah-dem PNC boys in trouble, jail fuh razz.

Jagdeo responded to the murderers. And dem now want an Inquiry. Barefaced friggers. 

In 2020 Jagdeo wins, dat koolie bhai gonna seek revenge. Duh fuh duh nah obeah-dem PNC boys in trouble, jail fuh razz.

suh, wah u tink gon happen when Granger dem win?

To win he has to rigg the elections. The 5000 Indians that gave dem wastrels their votes won't happen again.

5000 Indians comin 'home' to rat party eh?

lol

wait and c nah.

arite man

but yuh track record bin terrible . . . just sayin

alyuh divorce reason and marrid bilious fantasy