Subscribe to Kaieteur NewsWeb Feed

Ralph Ramkarran finally makes peace with me. Thanks, Ralph!

July 29, 2012 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Freddie Kissoon
Email

The outbreak of any form of protest, whether over the dismissal of a State employee, the charging of anti-government critics, condemnation of corruption, cries of discrimination, State media abuse or as we see the gunning down of protesters, the eventual form of the demonstration is the call for the replacement of the Government. If there is no change in governance in the coming months, this pattern will continue, and for one fundamental reason. The people of Guyana, whether they voted for the PPP or whether they belong to the PPP-affiliated union, GAWU, believe that the Government is wrong-headed, corrupt, above the law, insensitive, bullying and does not care about what the population says about its unpopular rule. I have been to every major outbreak of protest in Guyana since the November 28 elections, including all the strikes on the sugar estates (except Albion last week) and the consensus among every person you spoke to is that the PPP leaders do not listen, are not prepared to meet demands and remain hardened in their positions. From the most recent member of the PPP hierarchy to the most diehard monarchs, the attitude is always one of arrogance and pompousness and non-response to calls for better governance, less use or arrogant power and the need for a conciliatory face. And it gets worse every day. Perhaps the defining moment for Guyanese on how they feel about the PPP came with the humiliation of the PPP stalwart, Ralph Ramkarran, at an internal meeting. We do not know exactly what happened, but it would appear that when Mr. Ramkarran defended his demand for action against corruption he was met by abuse. Any sane mind had to be frightened at what Mr. Ramkarran endured. You would think, given his standing in the contemporary history of the PPP, there would be a subdued voice when responding to him. It reminds me of how people feel about Eusi Kwayana in the wide opposition circles. There is no one in this country who would dare raise their voice in an insulting way to Kwayana, no matter how inelegant and wrong are his statements. It would appear that Ramkarran was so incensed at the hubris and hauteur of his colleagues who have lost all contacts with the objective, real word in Guyana, that he made the final judgement to leave a political organization that he has given his whole life to. I was caught by extreme surprise by Mr. Ramkarran last Thursday in the picket line outside Minister Rohee’s office at Eve Leary on Camp Street. I was next to Michael Carrington of the AFC and David Hinds of APNU when this car drove up and stopped at the traffic signal. I heard shouts of β€œFreddie, Freddie” and the tone was friendly. When I looked it was Mr. Ramkarran and he began to talk to me in a nice and friendly tone asking me with an oceanic smile on his face when I am going to write about him in my column. Before the light turned in his favour, he folded his hand and made the rebellious cuff that is associated with protesters and urged us to continue. Yes, Ralph Ramkarran said that, and all the picketers saw and heard. All Guyanese must have asked themselves if Ramkarran can be shouted at and be abused, think of what the opposition will get. I will surmise that at that fateful meeting, Ramkarran was told that if he continues to publicly criticize the PPP Government he will weaken it. But this is where the humongous weakness of the PPP lies and this is where and how it will lose power. No doubt Ramkarran must have raised the monster of corruption at endless meetings and when he saw the continuing cover-up he blew his lid. It never occurred to those people in the PPP leadership that their rule would be dissolved, not by the public castigation of their own dissenting colleagues, but the continuation of their shameless abuse of power. In his own way, Ramkarran was trying to save his colleagues by commonsensically telling them to mend their ways, to stop corruption and the abuse of power. The Ramkarran debacle occurred more than a month before the Linden killings. The authoritarian train is out of control. Ramkarran knew it is heading for a destructive direction. He is gone and the train continues on its mindless journey. It is anyone’s guess on WHERE it will end up. What the entire country knows is HOW it will end up. It is easy to predict how dictatorship ends up.

Baseman I don't know how you are able to sleep with yourself.

Excerpt:

Ramkarran called corruption β€œa tax on development, and retards growth and development by a significant degree.”

He warned that the Government ought not to wait for more accusations from the Opposition or more allegations in the press and should immediately initiate discussions with one or more international agencies to seek out assistance in dealing with corruption.

Boysie must be very proud.

The Peoples Progressive Party should never have been in the control of career politicians. However, the Jagans took it down that path and in their lack of management skills has bequeath the party to opportunists.

Once again, the General Secretary is the President. AND THAT IS WRONG.

When the season comes, the people at large, those who support the PPP at the polls MUST pay heed to the voice that informs them and seek their support in the election of that person to the post of General Secretary.

The party is controlled by a few supporters of the GANG of men and women who are BULLIES. They just stuff the Ballot Boxes with bogey voters and enjoy their ccrooked deeds.

They must go.

It is the only salvation for the country.

Excerpt:

Ramkarran called corruption β€œa tax on development, and retards growth and development by a significant degree.”

He warned that the Government ought not to wait for more accusations from the Opposition or more allegations in the press and should immediately initiate discussions with one or more international agencies to seek out assistance in dealing with corruption.

Mitts, I have always referred to in my postings on Ralph and Boysie Ramkarran as "Keerah" mouth. They drank too long from the "Cup" of Corruption till their mouth got "Keerah".

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Excerpt:

Mitts, I have always referred to in my postings on Ralph and Boysie Ramkarran as "Keerah" mouth. They drank too long from the "Cup" of Corruption till their mouth got "Keerah".

Now that you have said it again, it's make you feel better and powerful.

Excerpt:

I don't disagree with him nor do I condone corruption.  This is one of the peaves i have with the PPP, corruption, nepotism, cronyism, etc.  It was one of the reasons why I joined up with the AFC last year.  However, they turned out more "special/personal agenda" driven than I expected.  Ramkarran is correct but at the same time, replacing them with the despotic PNC is not the solution. 

The RECORD shows that this muscular antipathy towards "the despotic PNC" is simply a flimsy cover for your hatred and CONTEMPT for Blackman.

Not all Blackman bad. Some ah dem good, thankful and respectful. Some of them are thankless and very disrespectful. Some Deh think the world owe dem everything. Not all Indians bad, but some ah dem bad bad bad, and dem prappa frighten blackman, however, they don't think that the world owe dem everything. They prefer to beg or punish. In my everyday travels I have found that blackman hate Indians because of race more than Indians hate blackman because of their race. Some Blackman love to label Indians racist but dem nah like when other people call dem racist. Dem old people use to say that when an Indian try to climb the ladda, one Indian man de ah battam a wait fuh pull he down. Nah true dah?

I wouldn't know. I have never been at the battam a de ladda and no one try fuh pull me down.

Old people had a lot of wisdom.

This doan hold through for someadem ole people on this board. If they were wise, they'd try to halt the crookedness that goes on in their Govt, but instead they try their utmost to sideline or bad talk anything the opposition brings to the table.

How could anyone with the smallest brain not understand what is going on with their Govt, how?

These are truly a dishonest and wisdom-less, group of old farts.

Moses, Ramjattan, Gerard, Freddy Cruger, Fake Doctor Ramayya.

AFC members want answers for millions of misappropriated campaign fundsPDFPrintE-mail
Written by   
Monday, 30 July 2012 22:05
A GROUP of Alliance for Change (AFC) members plans to take to the wider membership of that small party their concerns over millions of misappropriated campaign funds. The AFC members are seeking answers for the misuse of the funds which they say could be in the vicinity of $49M.
A reliable source within the AFC told this newspaper that the group feels slighted by several developments within the AFC which do not augur well for accountability and transparency. The group, being spearheaded by a Berbice member, is said to be resolute in its search to uncover the funds which were allegedly pocketed by members of the AFC Executive.
β€œMr. Trotman, Mr. Ramjattan, Mr. Nagamootoo and the rest of them pretend to be the guardian of accountability and transparency and here it is, in our very own backyard, people are pocketing moneys for the party’’, the source alleged.
This newspaper understands that previous attempts to raise matters of financial misappropriation within the AFC have been met with cynicism and threats by the leadership of that party.
The AFC has been dogged by several scandals over the last three years, including its link to the β€˜cocaine in pepper sauce’ bust in Canada, December 2008.
In May this year, AFC Region 6 Councillor Haseef Yusuf blew the whistle about corruption in the AFC camp, accusing that party’s Member of Parliament, Dr. Veerasammy Ramaya, of misappropriating $4.5 million of campaign funds in Berbice.
After pressure mounted on the AFC, it announced weeks later that it was desirous of investigating the matter but to date there has been no word from that party about the corruption scandal involving its Member of Parliament, Dr. Ramaya.
Dr. Ramaya, who hosts an AFC television programme in Berbice, absented himself from that programme for several weeks and dodged questions about his involvement in financial misappropriation.
A city businessman, Fizal Ali, implicated AFC Executive Member, Sasenarine Singh in bribery demands in exchange for releasing flour to him while Singh worked at the National Milling Company, responsible for wholesale distribution.
The businessman was quoted as saying, β€˜β€™β€¦β€¦.in order to get my full quota of flour, Mr. Singh demanded from me $100,000 per week. I used to pay this money weekly to him in cash at his home at Third Street, Alexander Village, Georgetown. I was also forced to deliver three bags of flour weekly, free of cost, to his mother who owned a grocery stall at La Penitence Market. I also purchased for him his first motorcar, a white Honda Accord, at a cost of $450,000. I also financed his studies at the University of Guyana.’’
Singh had threatened to sue over media reports implicating him in bribery demands but there has been no indication of his ever pursuing legal action against the businessman or any media outlet for their reports.
AFC Chairman and Attorney-at-law, Khemraj Ramjattan, was also implicated in several scandals in which clients accused him of swindling them. A pensioner who has an amputated leg, Mr. Michael Taharally, and his wife, Veronica Da silva, publicly accused Ramjattan of swindling them in an estate dispute case in which he had been hired to represent their interest.
Last Updated on Monday, 30 July 2012 22:14

This doan hold through for someadem ole people on this board. If they were wise, they'd try to halt the crookedness that goes on in their Govt, but instead they try their utmost to sideline or bad talk anything the opposition brings to the table.

How could anyone with the smallest brain not understand what is going on with their Govt, how?

These are truly a dishonest and wisdom-less, group of old farts.

Look who talking about old - Cain the "Tired old hippie". Hahahahaha! 

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Freddie is a lost cause but he will be quoted by the opposition because he serves that purpose. The AFC has internal problems of their own involving corruption. Where is Stormborn and the rest to talk about this?  

After months, Gerhard declared that and investigation was going to happen and many months later we are still awaiting on the results.

According to the AFC, corruption is OK as long as it happens only in  the AFC camp.