Mark Benschop, APNU+AFC, the masses and the asses
JANUARY 29, 2016 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER FEATURES / COLUMNISTS, FREDDIE KISSOON
The local government elections will be a moment of political fascination. We have politicians from the APNU-AFC Coalition Government asking Georgetowners to vote for their slate to possess the authority to administer the capital city.
Georgetown in Guyana is no ordinary city. It is the capital where the nerve centres of central government, industries, commerce, information technology, tertiary educational institutions, religious denominations, headquarters of security forces, and the major restaurants, retail stores and sports venues are located.
When you govern Georgetown, you have formidable power at your disposal. The City Council has some serious authority at its command. Misuse of that power can have dangerous and damaging consequences.
We should contemplate for enduring hours how we vote. For me, attitude of a politician is important. I cannot vote for a man/woman to become my Mayor or President and he/she never ever voiced a word of protest about anything, was never there when people were victimized because of their ethnicity, when students were brutalized by the police, and when workers were exploited mercilessly by the state and the private sector. Then this man/woman disrespects my intelligence and says to me; “Vote for me.”
I have Wortmanville roughness in me and I will tell you to get lost. Politicians think humans are fools. Sugar workers need to earn a living and the Wales workers must be given alternative employment, but sugar workers will look like fools if they see Jagdeo and the PPP as their salvation. These were the very politicians that weakened the sugar industry and endangered the very economic existence of sugar workers.
The leader of an elite, middle class party of mostly Guyanese Portuguese embedded in the commercial classes of Guyana, once yelled out, “the masses are asses.” That was in the campaign battles of the sixties. His name was Peter D’Aguiar and his party was The United Force.
D’Aguiar was angry at the way African Guyanese followed the PNC and Indians the PPP. He felt that both parties didn’t have the interests of their supporters at heart but were only using them. The choice of words was inappropriate and indecent. But the point is that throughout history, the labouring classes have inevitably displayed poor intelligence in the way they have gravitated towards leaders and the way they have voted for them.
We are seeing the vast use of intelligence by the American people, as Bernie Sanders has caught up with Mrs. Clinton in the polls. Suspicion of Mrs. Clinton’s conspiratorial character is ubiquitous among voters
The City Council forcefully removed vendors who have been selling on the Merriman Mall for three decades. Sixty percent of these vendors are women and cannot be classified by any sensible economist as financially elegant. The vendors took their frustration to the Office of the President and mounted a picket.
Mark Benschop was the only politician contesting the March local government elections that stood with the vendors and showed solidarity. Not one politician from the AFC, PNC and WPA even passed by and offered a word of comfort. Not one of them penned a letter asking for a re-think. Not one of them uttered even a fraction of a word in disagreement with what the City Council did to these working class humans.
Now these very parties – AFC and PNC and WPA, also known as The Coalition— has drawn up a list of contestants for the March poll. The coalition is asking me as a Georgetowner to vote for their candidates. I am not saying I wouldn’t vote for The Coalition, but I would like to enter into a small debate with people from the APNU+AFC. Why should I leave Mark Benschop and vote for The Coalition?
I need for someone to explain why I should overlook a candidate that stood with the poor vendors. In other words, APNU+AFC personnel, if they are going to get my vote, have to explain why they didn’t show support for the vendors as Benschop did.
I don’t want to hear, and please keep it away from my ear, that you disagreed with what the Town Clerk did. Even if you didn’t want to take the midday sun like Benschop, where were your words when the vendors were terrorized? It is in situations like these that voters have to prove D’Aguiar wrong and show intelligence.
In another column I will look at the candidates for the March poll, suffice it to say some “eye pass” seems to be going on. Vendors were removed just before the March elections, yet Georgetowners are being asked to vote in as councilors, people who committed this “eye pass.” I hope the masses aren’t asses.

Peter S. D'Augiar, the man who screwed up Guyana. Giving his support to Forbes and at the same time quickly removed Portuguese money from the country in droves. His contempt for CBJ and his Indo cohorts. 

Dem still at it today.

RiffRaff posted:

since all dem AFC/APNU bais ban, yall can all agree with each other

YUh like yuh Pappa Bunham, yuh prapa like Ban .  He taught you well

Better known as Admin BAN Riff.

but sugar workers will look like fools if they see Jagdeo and the PPP as their salvation. These were the very politicians that weakened the sugar industry and endangered the very economic existence of sugar workers..

Dem Coalition people so bad... they made the PPP weaken the sugar industry.

RiffRaff posted:

I only ban PPP people

RiffRaff posted:

Maybe he just like when East Indians are ridiculed? And those banned individuals had no respect for the rules of the forum. What a bleeding heart, muss have been painful to enforce the rules. 

Peter S. D'Augiar, the man who screwed up Guyana. Giving his support to Forbes and at the same time quickly removed Portuguese money from the country in droves. His contempt for CBJ and his Indo cohorts. 

Dem still at it today.

If Guyanese weren't so racist and voted for D'Aguiar instead of those two Commie fools Burnham and Jagan, the country would have been way more developed today. Our pursuit of Communism drove us backwards at least a couple of decades. In the run up to independence, Jamaica, Barbados, T&T and Guyana were basically on the same economic plane. Jamaica and Guyana flirted with Communism and stunted development for decades. Barbados and T&T today have a GDP per capita a few times more than Guyana and Jamaica because their leaders refused to join hands with the Soviets and Cubans. 

ian posted:
RiffRaff posted:

You are still here, and you dictate this forum like Burnham. 

the father of Guyana

RiffRaff posted:

I thought yall gon be happy that there is no one to disagree with you...even I agree with you now

Disagree! really examine the contents of those posters. Yes, Caribj was excellent whenever the Indo hating spirit din come over him. I persoanally, doan think he should have been suspended.

RiffRaff posted:

I thought yall gon be happy that there is no one to disagree with you...even I agree with you now

Disagree! really examine the contents of those posters. Yes, Caribj was excellent whenever the Indo hating spirit din come over him. I persoanally, doan think he should have been suspended.

You see Siege,that guy is missed.

RiffRaff posted:

Carib was okay, and like everybody else, he had his flaws. Ray or Amral should cut him some slack. I can hardly wait to hear what he have to say.
Ayuh watch out.

Dem still at it today.

If Guyanese weren't so racist and voted for D'Aguiar instead of those two Commie fools Burnham and Jagan, the country would have been way more developed today. Our pursuit of Communism drove us backwards at least a couple of decades. In the run up to independence, Jamaica, Barbados, T&T and Guyana were basically on the same economic plane. Jamaica and Guyana flirted with Communism and stunted development for decades. Barbados and T&T today have a GDP per capita a few times more than Guyana and Jamaica because their leaders refused to join hands with the Soviets and Cubans. 

Guyana can reverse those decades overnight. But, we too damn racists, that does not exclude the Portuguese of the day. They behaved as a distinct society hoping for the votes of the underclass. TUF did not even try. Their approach was to hand out comic books depicting the evils of the communist to the villagers. They tried with a Amerindian guy(Stephen Camphell), hyping him up as inclusive. Indoes and Afroes, were termed asses. 

We have always been a racists society, everyone race for themselves.

There is solution to all of this, a parallel government is needed to drive public opinions. Then those government idiots have to listen.

RiffRaff posted:

I see asj posting and answering himself on other threads

That's his norm,like sitting in room talking to your self.

You and Ball queuing up nicely for a nasty cuss down. I-man stretching back to watch.

Dem still at it today.

Guyana can reverse those decades overnight. But, we too damn racists, that does not exclude the Portuguese of the day. They behaved as a distinct society hoping for the votes of the underclass. TUF did not even try. Their approach was to hand out comic books depicting the evils of the communist to the villagers. They tried with a Amerindian guy(Stephen Camphell), hyping him up as inclusive. Indoes and Afroes, were termed asses. 

There is solution to all of this, a parallel government is needed to drive public opinions. Then those government idiots have to listen.

The solution lies with Overseas based Guyanese but it will never happen.

Dem still at it today.

Yugi..can you give some insights how the diaspora can assist the people of the homeland to become cohesive.

GT is a disgrace for a capital city. The quality of life is terrible and crime and sanitation are major problems.  The City Council has been doing an extremely poor job in running the city. Make the city attractive for visitors and businesses and millions more come into the coffers to create jobs.

Could you expand on this a bit?

antabanta posted:

Could you expand on this a bit?

Bhai me ask the same,waiting fuh answer.

Dem still at it today.

The good guys were against the PPP because of what siggy, here let me remind you yet again, they were Commies.

Old man Freddie will say anything for attention. He had been voted number one kisser in Guyana. But the good old days are over and here is how one observer see it:

BRAY DONKEY, BRAY

September 27, 2015 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, From the Diaspora 

By Ralph Seeram

During a recent family reunion, my brother George and I reminisced on our boyhood days. We let the younger nieces and nephews know how “tough” life was in our youthful days in Guyana. Most of the younger ones never heard or saw a donkey or a donkey cart, so naturally they were keen to hear stories about how we survived as a poor family.

My brother recalled our donkey, “Saga Boy”. Saga Boy was a very smart donkey, if not stubborn sometimes. Life could not exist without Saga Boy. If you need barrels of water fetched, it was Saga Boy.

To make a long story short Saga Boy was what is today your SUV and Pickup Truck.

So when I saw that Freddie Kissoon mentioned me in the letter column this week inferring that I am an “Indian Supremacist” Saga Boy readily came to mind. Saga Boy had one tune in braying, Freddie has one tune in writing.

Saga Boy was essential to making our chores lighter, Freddie as an entertainment writer (he probably is the only person who thinks he is a serious writer) is essential to bringing comic relief in our everyday lives.

But there is one major difference between Saga Boy the Jackass and Freddie Kissoon. Saga Boy was an intelligent ass. Therein lies the difference. But remember a Jackass will still remain a donkey.

So what Freddie brayed about me lately? Actually I did not know I was that important; actually never thought of myself as Indian then Guyanese. If I am guilty of anything, it is calling me a Berbician first before saying I am a Guyanese. You will find a large number of Berbicians think that way.

So what did I do to gain this “honor” from the self-styled, political activist? Social activist?? “Trained historian”?

Oh I criticized Moses Nagamootoo in the run up to the last election. Freddie brayed that I was afraid Nagamootoo will cause the PPP to lose the election, resulting in Indians losing power.

As I recall, and I still maintain, Moses Nagamootoo in my view is a political opportunist. Fact, he claimed he was anointed by Cheddi Jagan to be his heir. When he did not get the PPP nomination he jumped in bed with the AFC, with demands of a senior position. Then he jumped into bed with the PNC, a party he opposed for over 40years with the promise of a Prime Ministership and powers he is yet to achieve. Ask Joe Harmon.

But back to Freddie braying. He was actually replying to what one Lormarsh Roopnanarine wrote, it had nothing to do with me, but dragged me in as a “Indian Supremacist” in the Diaspora.

This is what he is good at, name calling and labeling people, in his warped mind, the world must share his twisted illogical views. His envious mind is more focused on people and personalities who are more successful than him, he tries to belittle people who disagree with his singular view of the world.

A supremacist is one who advocates the supremacy of some particular group or race over all others. I would like to see where I advocated that Indians are supreme to other groups.

This fool knows very little of me, my family, friends and upbringing in making such an idiotic inference.

Two weeks ago the comedian mentioned me also in an article unrelated to me, but mentioned I am an untrained journalist, I did not see the relevance of that to the article. Freddie brays about him being a trained historian versed in research He did not have to go far he only had to ask the editor of this newspaper for info on me.

First I would like to know where the fool was trained in journalism. Being a mediocre college teacher for 26 years does not qualify you to be a journalist. You got to be pretty stupid and dumb to spend 26 years of your life in an institution you “bad mouth” every day.

Back in the day journalists trained on the job, there was nothing like a journalism course in Guyana. Reporters started as apprentice and worked their way up. Some fresh out of high school were also trained on the job. A few were able to go on courses abroad, but that was far and in between. So Freddie, store this in your file on me.

I worked as the Berbice correspondent for the now defunct Evening Post and Sunday Argosy in the early 70’s. The job as a Berbice correspondent is a rounded position, you do all aspects on reporting – sports, crime, court and anything newsworthy.

With the closure of the Evening Post I moved on to the Guyana Graphic, then Guyana’s leading newspaper, as their Berbice correspondent. The Graphic had some heavyweight reporters and writers. Your standards had to be very high to have your stories published by then Editor Montague Smith. You had to be pretty good to last four years with them.

I actually succeeded George Barclay who is still around and probably Guyana’s oldest journalist after Adam Harris. Ok Adam, I threw that one in.

Incidentally George must be the only journalist in Guyana who still writes shorthand. I lost that skill decades ago.

After a few years with the Graphic I moved on to Radio, succeeding the great Oscar Ramjeet, as the Berbice Correspondent for the then Guyana Broadcasting Service forerunner to today’s government owned radio stations. Remember there were only two radio stations in those days.

That had to be somewhere in the mid 70’s, I can recall a young long hair hippie looking Ron Sanders, now Sir Ron Sanders without the hair, interviewing me and giving me assignments to make up and report before giving me the job as a stringer, paid on stories, which paid more than a salary.

Of course Radio was a new experience, but I had the late great Cecil Griffith as Editor to guide me.

After Sanders moved on to bigger things, the late Terry Holder placed me on staff on the top of the salary scale as a senior reporter where I stayed for some four years until I moved to the United States. For an “untrained” reporter I think I did pretty well.

But what about the training, Freddie? Considering that he does not have a creative mind, I mean the poor fellow can only write about the PPP, Jagdeo and Ramotar. That is the extent of the journalist experience.

The PPP has been out of office going on five months now, but everyday his article is on Jagdeo/PPP. He is stuck in that mode. The truth is he is not creative enough to write on any other subject.

You would have thought the “trained historian” would have enlightened Guyanese on the history on the Venezuela crisis, and how the issue was settled in 1899. That would be more topical than Donald Ramotar’s misuse of the word “intuition”. It shows he cannot think beyond PPP.

Quote:

"But what about the training, Freddie? Considering that he does not have a creative mind, I mean the poor fellow can only write about the PPP, Jagdeo and Ramotar. That is the extent of the journalist experience."

Freddie is indeed a dunce.

Even the PNC has kicked him into the trash bin.

So now Freddie Kissoon aka Donkey Man has ran out of political parties to support, he has decide to support an ex con. Poor fella he has gone 360% and is now homeless. But the important question for you constitutional experts is, is Mark Benschop qualify to run for office? The man was charged for treason.

Gman posted:

So now Freddie Kissoon aka Donkey Man has ran out of political parties to support, he has decide to support an ex con. Poor fella he has gone 360% and is now homeless. But the important question for you constitutional experts is, is Mark Benschop qualify to run for office? The man was charged for treason.

You doan usually see those charged for treason,so how come he walking round?

The solution lies with the leadership in Guyana, which there is none at this time, on any side.  Burnham/PNC got in power by crook and promoted Afro dominance and carried the US Cold War mantra.  Guyana's interest was secondary and Indian rights was below that of their house cats.  PPP got in power and CBJ, the only leader with the political currency to create a substantive shift in paradigm turned out to be a dud and the Afros exploited the vacuum after he died killing and trying to ethnically cleanse the nation of Indians.  Then Granger came in, holding Indian hands at rallies and campaigns and pretended to be "Mandela".  He quickly turned out to be Pic Botha, and we back to the realism of 1964.

Base

You are accurate about Granger. What Harmon is doing is unacceptable in 2015/2016. Granger is guilty by remaining silent and allowing Harmon to get away with what he is currently doing.

Granger is responsible for the further racial divide in Guyana. It is now to the level that it was in 1964.

Very sad.

Base

You are accurate about Granger. What Harmon is doing is unacceptable in 2015/2016. Granger is guilty by remaining silent and allowing Harmon to get away with what he is currently doing.

Granger is responsible for the further racial divide in Guyana. It is now to the level that it was in 1964.

Very sad.

Baseman has often been accurate in my assessment and fears/concerns/suspicions.  My earlier forensic and finance audit background turned me into a natural skeptic.  When i listen and speak to people, I hear much louder what the "don't" say, than all the unconvincing babble!!

baseman posted:

Base

Very sad.

Baseman has often been accurate in my assessment and fears/concerns/suspicions.  My earlier forensic and finance audit background turned me into a natural skeptic.  When i listen and speak to people, I hear much louder what the "don't" say, than all the unconvincing babble!!

I will keep a tabs on your skepticism bhai.

Base

Very sad.

Very simple, Granger represents the Coalition, Harmon represents the PNC, Harmon is in control, PNC in control.

baseman posted:

Base

Very sad.

Exactly as I do with you fellas.