Jagdeo to lead Commonwealth observer team to Sri Lanka elections

DECEMBER 29, 2014 · BY STABROEK EDITOR · 0 COMMENTS    10 mins agoNEXT ARTICLE »

Print

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo will lead the Commonwealth Observer Group, which follows a formal invitation from Sri Lanka’s Commissioner of Elections, Mahinda Deshapriya, a release from the Commonwealth said today.

Commonwealth Secretary-General Kamalesh Sharma reiterated the Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation, to which the Commonwealth is a signatory. He said: “Genuine democratic elections are an expression of sovereignty, which belongs to the people of a country, the free expression of whose will provides the basis for the authority and legitimacy of government.”

Sharma added: “Sri Lanka has among the oldest democratic traditions in the Commonwealth. The people of Sri Lanka should be able to freely exercise their franchise, in an enabling environment marked by transparency, a level playing field, and adherence to the laws and norms that govern a credible and peaceful election. For this, key stakeholders must play their due roles.”

The Group will consider the pre-electoral environment and preparations. On election day and thereafter, members will observe the voting process, counting and tabulation procedures and the announcement of results. The Group will act impartially and make an independent assessment of the electoral process. It will conduct itself according to the standards expressed in the International Declaration of Principles for Election Observation to which Sri Lanka has committed itself.

Upon completion of its assignment, the Group will submit its report to the Commonwealth Secretary-General, who will in turn send it to the Government of Sri Lanka, the Commissioner of Elections and the principal political parties, before making it available to all Commonwealth Governments, and eventually releasing it into the public domain.

The nine Observers will be in Sri Lanka from 2 to 14 January 2015. A five-member team from the Commonwealth Secretariat, led by Katalaina Sapolu, Director of the Rule of Law Division, will support them.

extracted from the stabroeknews

Oh ***** this has to be the highest amount of shame the commonwealth engaging in.

Seriously? I wonder if they will invite him to also prosecute drug traffickers and murderers around the world?

Maybe he can give a speech on racism in pretoria.......

Oh ***** this has to be the highest amount of shame the commonwealth engaging in.

Seriously? I wonder if they will invite him to also prosecute drug traffickers and murderers around the world?

Why torture yourself when life will do it for you-the wise men and women at Commonwealth of nations know better than you- sitting behind a computer hiding your old face in you flour bag shorts……lol

Whoever is his lobbyist, have some clout with the world bodies. Imagine, a man with taint is adored. Tells me, poor people got no chance of doing better in their lives. That guy from Sri Lanka is going to rig the elections and who better than to have Jagdeo as head of the observer team to overlook his crime. 

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:

Why torture yourself when life will do it for you-the wise men and women at Commonwealth of nations know better than you- sitting behind a computer hiding your old face in you flour bag shorts……lol

***** hole I notice you dodging the articles about the Fiber Optic goadie?

thief man know fuh hide good.

JAGDEO IS AN HONEST MAN. 

I hope u bright enough to understand.

Jagdeo Party, the PPP prorogued parliament and refused to give the date for elections. In any democratic country that would have happen in haste.

Jagdeo has considerable influence on Ramotar.

Those events alone should have influenced the CW secretariat in his decision on Jagdeo for the position.

Once white ppl giveup their authority over organizations, disguised idiots takes over. Ramphal destroyed a whole country and yet he is renownedby such fools.

The world leaders have screwed logics. God goan tend to dem.