Former AFC General Secretary resigns after being ostracized for opposing party internal corruption

THURSDAY, 12 FEBRUARY 2015 17:52 ADMINISTRATOR

Former AFC General Secretary Sixtus Edwards

Former General Secretary of the Alliance for Change(AFC), Sixtus Edwards has tendered his resignation from the party. It is to take effect immediately. Another former AFC member, Region Six Councilor Haseef Yusuf, writing in a letter which appeared in several local newspapers described Edwards as a respected, no-nonsense individual, ‘of integrity and self-respect that is par excellence’.

He said the former General Secretary’s cardinal sin was that he dared to call for financial accountability within the party. By doing this he became the target of a ‘cabal’ led by party leader Khemraj Ramjattan.

Yusuf said he was present in 2012 at the party’s Conference where Edwards spoke out on the need for financial accountability, specifically, for all monies to be deposited in a bank account to be disbursed only when such disbursement is authorised by the Finance Committee. He said Edwards always complained about ‘a one-man Finance Committee’, and the deliberate violation of the Party’s Constitution.

Edwards’ activism against internal party corruption according to the Region 6 Councilor resulted in the rigging of the party’s election which led to him being replaced by David Patterson as General Secretary.

extracted from http://www.newguymedia.com 

The A.F.C is like a sinking ship,their top brass are abandoning ship, GR,TK,Sase, their General Secretary and the list goes on.

The A.P.N.U is now desperately seeking the assistance of A.P.N.U to stay afloat after the May 11th polls.

The A.F.C deadline that they give to A.P.N.U is February 14th,which is tomorrow. No deals seems likely by that deadline, APNU seems bent on launching their campaign without A.F.C.

The cake shop party seems to be left out in the cold

To quote the Famous and learned Gilly bhai: "Baap re Baap". Ahe rae! Wah guh happen now?

Wah guh happen bhai,this is a little gain

for the PPP,Con-science said so.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The A.F.C is like a sinking ship,their top brass are abandoning ship, GR,TK,Sase, their General Secretary and the list goes on.

TheA.P.N.U is now desperately seeking the assistance of A.P.N.U to stay afloat after the May 11th polls.

I see Sextus' severance getting you excited. Read back that sentence and see if it makes sense.

The A.F.C deadline that they give to A.P.N.U is February 14th,which is tomorrow. No deals seems likely by that deadline, APNU seems bent on launching their campaign without A.F.C.

Today is February 12th. Tomorrow is February 13th.

Sextus severance from the AFC mek you lose yuh focus.

Steady up, Conscience!

So little interest is paid to the cake shop party the dates doesn't matter, their "secret talks" would not bear fruit. Its a complete waste of time, they would become the laughing stock after 11th May.

That may be so, but they're taking the PPP down with them.

Granger sailing calmly to Port Victory on May 11.

Did you saw that through your crystal ball, on the 12th of May, you have to go shopping for new crystal balls, because the present one, is misleading you.

The stars foretell a Jaganite-Jagdeoite war at Freedom House when the PPP loses the elections. The mother of all uprisings. Watch out, Conscience.

That may be so, but they're taking the PPP down with them.

Granger sailing calmly to Port Victory on May 11.

Gilly bhai, wan big wave nack Granja boat and tun am back out in de hatlantic hoshan. De last time dem see he boat, he bin sailin fuh de Bermuda Triangle.
Me hear de weddah ruff and de coast gard nah able fuh guh look fuh am.

Did you saw that through your crystal ball, on the 12th of May, you have to go shopping for new crystal balls, because the present one, is misleading you.

The stars foretell a Jaganite-Jagdeoite war at Freedom House when the PPP loses the elections. The mother of all uprisings. Watch out, Conscience.

Lil bit moe you sound like Sadam Hussein... "the mother of all wars". We know the history.

so, why are you worried? 

Councie, you should have stayed in grade school a bit longer. You lack punctuation skills.

So why are shitting you skin?

Originally Posted by kp:

It seems like we have to hold wake for AFC sooner than later. I will bring coffee, who wants to bring biscuit?? AFC___RIP

Are we in full self delusion mode...ostriches and sand!  The only thing the PPP fear more than the AFC is the fact an APNU win will have a lot of them in the jail. By the way, if the APNU wins it is the AFC that would have slashed their Achilles tendons! Pretending the AFC is dead will not make them go away.

The A.P.N.U is now desperately seeking the assistance of A.P.N.U to stay afloat after the May 11th polls.

AFC Chairman, Moses Nagamootoo.

The Alliance For Change (AFC) on Thursday dismissed suggestions that it could lose the 11 percent it garnered at the 2011 general and regional elections if it coalesces with A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) for fresh polls due in another three months.

Chances of the AFC losing votes comes against the background of negotiations with APNU that multiple sources have said include a rotating presidency between Afro Guyanese David Granger and Nagamootoo, an Indo Guyanese.

Steady up, Conscience!

The AFC does not believe there will be heavy racial voting at the May 11, 2015 general and regional elections in which the incumbent Indo Guyanese-backed People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) would paint a combined opposition as “PNC” (People’s National Congress Reform) whose rule from 1964 to 1992 had been characterized by political and human rights abuses.

moses nagamootoo resignation letter – i have lost faith in bharrat ...

Nagamootoo, a former long-serving senior PPP member, recalled that party’s late leader, Dr. Cheddi Jagan and then PNC Leader Forbes Burnham had held unity talks up to 1985 when the latter died.  

TheA.P.N.U is now desperately seeking the assistance of A.P.N.U to stay afloat after the May 11th polls.

I see Sextus' severance getting you excited. Read back that sentence and see if it makes sense.

“You couldn’t say it was good when Jagan pursued merger talks between PPP and PNC and it is bad if AFC decide thirty years after Burnham died to create a coalition with a larger grouping. I don’t think they will succeed. I think is an exercise in futility,” he said.

moses nagamootoo, field negroe

He rejected suggestions that the AFC was appealing only to East Indians.  

Nagamootoo denied a report in the Thursday edition of the PPPC-aligned Guyana Times in which he was quoted as saying that the AFC could hand the 11 percent East Indian vote to APNU in order to secure a coalition victory.  Instead, he predicted that APNU would again win 40 percent of the votes in the upcoming polls and would need his party’s support.

Moses Nagamootoo

“If you want to cross the line and have majoritarian government in Guyana, you need eleven percent. The Alliance For Change has a strategic role in elections where there are two parties to the contest,” he said.

Steady up, Conscience!

The AFC does not believe there will be heavy racial voting at the May 11, 2015 general and regional elections in which the incumbent Indo Guyanese-backed People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) would paint a combined opposition as “PNC” (People’s National Congress Reform) whose rule from 1964 to 1992 had been characterized by political and human rights abuses.

Nagamootoo, a former long-serving senior PPP member, recalled that party’s late leader, Dr. Cheddi Jagan and then PNC Leader Forbes Burnham had held unity talks up to 1985 when the latter died.  

More than that, when Cheddi Jagan was premier in the early 1960s he offered Burnham 50% of his Cabinet.

And, in 1977, ie 4 years after the rigged elections, Jagan offered to form a National Patriotic Front Government with Burnham's PNC.

East Indians didn't protest against Jagan for wanting shared government with the PNC.

Freedom House today conveniently forgets that history.

The PPP cabal is deadly terrified of an APNU-AFC alliance.

so, why are you worried? 

While Nagamootoo was highly confident that AFC would win a plurality, he and other executive members were at pains to say they were very optimistic about the outcome of the talks for a pro-democracy alliance.

Moses Nagamootoo

“In these elections, the Alliance For Change believes that if you have a three-party contest we are confident that we will gain the plurality.

So why are shitting you skin?

The AFC hopes that negotiations with APNU would be wrapped up before its National Executive conference scheduled for Saturday, February 14, 2015 preceding a Special Members Conference to be held in March. Without giving details, Nagamootoo said the talks were not only about removing the PPPC from office.

Moses Nagamootoo

"We want to happen is not simply to put the PPP minority government out. We want to be able to have an alternative that holds out promise for all the people of Guyana, that will make a new begining. That's what we are agonizing about. If these talks are a little dicy, a litle tricky, taking more time than they ought to, more energy than they ought to take ; it is because we are trying to bring something that will be an enduring solution to many of the problems facing our people," he said.

Originally Posted by kp:

It seems like we have to hold wake for AFC sooner than later. I will bring coffee, who wants to bring biscuit?? AFC___RIP

Are we in full self delusion mode...ostriches and sand!  The only thing the PPP fear more than the AFC is the fact an APNU win will have a lot of them in the jail. By the way, if the APNU wins it is the AFC that would have slashed their Achilles tendons! Pretending the AFC is dead will not make them go away.

We are confident that we could win an election in a three-way contest

Moses Nagamootoo

but because we are committed to national unity that we need for the very first time in our history a multi-party, multi-class, multi-ethnic  and national government that we had decided we would invest in an alliance policy,” he said.

Asked specifically how good were the prospects of the coalition talks succeeding on a scale of 1 to 10 or 1 to 100 or a “very good chance,” the AFC Vice Chairman declined to do so.

moses nagamootoo, field negroe

“We will see when we get there,” he said.

Contrary to the wicked spin the pro-PPP NewsGuyanaMedia put on Mr Edwards' resignation, the AFC still holds him in high regard. Here is the Kaieteur News report on the matter:

February 13, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

The resignation of former General Secretary (GS) of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Sixtus Edwards,

Former AFC General Secretary, Sixtus Edwards

has come as a surprise to executive members of the party. This was disclosed yesterday at the AFC’s press conference held in the Campbell Room of the Georgetown Club.
Parliamentarian Cathy Hughes told media operatives that Edwards has been a valuable member of the AFC and the party is “very, very sorry to see him go.”The politician said that Edwards submitted his letter of resignation which mentioned that he was leaving for personal reasons.
Hughes expressed that the Party is aware that in the last two to three years, Edwards has been focusing on his education as well as his business. However, as with any political institution, “especially one dealing with the issue of a possible alliance,” Hughes said that for various reasons, members may not always be on the same footing and may not always agree on the same approach.
“He has mentioned that it is personal reasons and we take that at face value, and we thank him for his invaluable service. We will continue to have a relationship with him,” she added.
Asked if his departure could possibly be premised on the AFC’s ongoing alliance talks with A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Hughes answered in the negative. She said that this was not the case as far as she is aware.
The AFC member was then pressed to consider that if that is the case, why even bother to make any reference to its current pro-democracy negotiations with APNU.
She explained that such mention was made because she knows the media has a tendency to try to suggest that when persons leave, it is because of some discord. Hughes emphasised that this is not the case with Edwards’ departure.
She then referred to other members the party would have lost either by their own free will or through illness. However, the politician said that a member being able to leave of their own volition is all part of their democratic principles. She added that it is part of life and ultimately part of growth.
AFC Vice Chairman, Moses Nagamootoo also disclosed that he and Edwards shared cordial relations and was not aware of the specific reason for his departure. He recalled seeing the Former General Secretary at the AFC’s Biennial Conference, of which he was a part.
However, the lawyer said that as far as he is concerned, Edwards’ resignation came as a surprise and is considered a loss for the AFC.

Originally Posted by kp:

We are confident that we could win an election in a three-way contest

Moses Nagamootoo

but because we are committed to national unity that we need for the very first time in our history a multi-party, multi-class, multi-ethnic  and national government that we had decided we would invest in an alliance policy,” he said.

If they are so confident, why are they asking PNC to be their "tag team padna"?
Is he trying to pull a Dick Morris? At least they don't have to pay for the statement.

Pres. Ramotar’s tenure has been a complete failure – Granger

December 20, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

By Kiana Wilburg

After assessing the performance of President Donald Ramotar’s administration for the past three years, Opposition

Opposition Leader, David Granger

Leader, David Granger unequivocally concluded that the government has been nothing but a complete failure. The Leader of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), made this statement to members of the media yesterday at his end-of-the-year press conference, which was held at the Herdmanston Lodge, 65 Anira Street, Queenstown, Georgetown. Granger asserted that Ramotar, in a friendly review of his tenure conducted by the Government Information Agency (GINA) on December 12, described his three year tenure of office as ‘mixed’. The politician reminded that Ramotar was sworn in on December 5, 2011, but opined that the reality is that his Presidency is worse than ‘mixed’ for it has simply failed in its most vital aspects. He cited some of these as democratic governance, public security, youth strategy, control of public finance, public health strategy and infrastructural plans. Granger said that President Ramotar will be forever remembered as the one who inflicted the greatest damage on parliamentary democracy by his November 10th, prorogation of the Parliament. He reminded that Guyana’s National Assembly has not met to discuss the people’s business for five months. Granger remarked that the outrageous prorogation of Parliament was Ramotar’s way of avoiding debate on his own performance and that of his cabinet. He has failed, moreover, to conduct the prescribed periodic Local Government Elections provided for and protected by the Constitution, the Opposition Leader said. Granger then pointed to what he described as a failed public security strategy in which  he pointed out that Ramotar and his Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee have neglected to make Guyana safe for citizens and investors. He said that the combination of corruption, cronyism and other crimes has taken a toll on the quality of life.

President Donald Ramotar

The APNU Leader said that the number of armed robberies is increasing. Banditry in the hinterland, maritime piracy along the coastland, fuel smuggling, gun-running, contraband and suicides, Granger said, continue to propel a high rate of emigration to safer countries. With regard to youth strategy, he said that Ramotar has no plan for providing jobs for thousands of young people who leave school each year, and that unemployment is the central issue affecting young people. The Opposition Leader also said that Ramotar’s Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Frank Anthony, has been unable to produce a comprehensive National Youth Strategy in the eight years that he has occupied that post. The politician also commented on the failed control of public finance by Minister of Finance, Dr. Ashni Singh who he reminded had to be referred to the Committee of Privileges twice this year, because he refused to comply with rules of the National Assembly. He mentioned that Resolution 15 was passed in the House which required Dr. Singh to lay a report on all extra-budgetary agencies, including the Guyana Development (Lotto) Fund and that of the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission. He highlighted too, that it also directed that the Finance Minister pay all monies being held by those agencies into the Consolidated Fund but this is yet to be done. Granger then commented on what he deemed to be a failed public health strategy. On this front, he said that the Minister of Health, Dr. Bheri Ramsaran has failed to implement a comprehensive pubic primary health care plan. He noted that the country is still frightened by recurrent reports of outbreaks of the Chikungunya disease, and that the persistence of other vector-borne diseases such as dengue, filaria and malaria remain a threat to public health. As for the public infrastructure plan, he said this leaves much to be desired and the public works sector performance has earned an “F” grade. Granger informed the media that President Ramotar inherited a bundle of flawed public infrastructure projects from his predecessor, Bharrat Jagdeo. “He had no strategy of his own and failed to record a single success. The contract to construct the road to the Amaila Falls Hydro project had to be withdrawn from Synergy Holdings. The Atlantic Hotels Inc project, popularly referred to as the Marriott Hotel project is still mired in controversy. The Cheddi Jagan International Airport extension project faces challenges as a result of poor planning on the part of the Government. The 560km Fibre Optic Cable Project managed by the President’s son, Alexei Ramotar is in jeopardy. The contract for the Specialty Surgical Hospital awarded to Surendra Engineering Corporation Limited has to be terminated on grounds of fraud and non-compliance,” Granger lamented. On that note, the Opposition Leader reminded of another report by GINA which quoted Cabinet Secretary, Dr. Roger Luncheon as saying that the government has not been able to achieve the objectives of the prorogation.  But that is an understatement, Granger opined. He said that Ramotar has not been able to achieve any meaningful objectives on anything, be it in democratic governance, economic development, human safety and social cohesion. The politician concluded that the Donald Ramotar Presidency has failed. Granger’s comments were strongly supported and reiterated by APNU General Secretary, Joseph Harmon. Even as he criticized the Government, the Opposition Leader was asked to describe his coalition’s performance in the National Assembly. “Excellent, pass, splendid, magnificent…” Granger remarked promptly. Asked also if he could back up his grades with evidence that his coalition tried to stop those things for which the government ‘got an F grade,’ Granger said that his coalition has worked tirelessly to halt many of the abuses of the state resources, has increased the level of scrutiny and continues to struggle to ensure Guyanese have a better life

The A.F.C goons are very silent on this issue, one wonders why?. Normally they would try to assassinate a former member's character when he/she dares to resign from their political gathering. Mr Yusuf is a prime example of such...

Are you dat auntyman Harry Gill?

Or Baldeo Mathura?

quit calling people names "Shaitaan", if the cap fits you,simply wear it.

So which is it? Harry Gill, the ugly putagee troll sucking up to any PPP "man" in the room.

Or Baldeo Mathura, abbe Kwame McCoy employee?