Forget Snap Elections – Luncheon registers Gov’t disinterest in preempting No Confidence Motion

September 17, 2014 1:35 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Kurt Campbell

Cabinet Secretary. Dr. Roger Luncheon.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Cabinet Secretary Dr. Roger Luncheon has put to rest, speculation that the administration is likely to call snap elections ahead of the Opposition sponsored No – Confidence Motion which is expected to be debated when Parliament resumes on October 10.

Luncheon told reporters this morning that the administration is not interested in what he termed a “futile course of action” as a “bypass” to the possibility of a successful No – Confidence Motion.

“Forget snap elections… it wouldn’t happen,” he said.

There was talk that the administration will call snap elections to avoid being brought down by a vote of no confidence but according to Dr. Luncheon, the administration is prepared to wait and see the outcome of the combined parliamentary Opposition’s plans.

Meanwhile, the Cabinet Secretary restated President Donald Ramotar’s request for clarity from Opposition Leader David Granger on the Opposition’s position in relation to local and general elections.

Pointing out that both cannot be executed at the same time, Luncheon reminded of the pending confidence motion in the face of pressure from the Opposition Leader for the Head of State to announce a date for the holding of local government elections even as he renewed his commitment to supporting the motion.

Granger had written to the President last week urging him to announce a date for the long overdue LGE by September 15. He threatened that if this was not done he would mobilize local, national and international support “in defence of democracy.”

“Cabinet now awaits Granger’s response to the President’s request for clarity… it appears APNU intends to have their cake and eat it,” he added.

Luncheon declined to detail the administration’s preference in relation to local and general elections but maintained that Cabinet feels strongly that both cannot be held at the same time.

Luncheon, in an opinionated assessment, says the Guyana Elections Commission does not seem to be preparing for LGE but rather general elections.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

APNU is the biggest bluff, that party is in disarray, the P.P.P clearly recovered from incumbency fatigue and will easily secure a majority.

you fellows create your own disagreement to argue about all by yourselves.

APNU  is not prepared for snap elections, the AFC super ego-centrism got the better of them, if the snap elections eventually got of the ground, the P.P.P would simply regain the majority.

Let them say it when the time comes.

Haul yur ass and come up with something of substance, Tired of listening to your old ropey ass daily.

HM-Redux the truth hurts....cool your temper its good for your health, stop fighting the truth, in the event of any snap elections, the P.P.P would be victorious. 

So you say Nostradamus...so you said the last time and you are holding laewah as the saying goes.

HM-Redux the truth hurts....cool your temper its good for your health, stop fighting the truth, in the event of any snap elections, the P.P.P would be victorious. 

Truth hurts? you think you just hurt me? hahhahahhaa oh you silly little fool.  

APNU is the biggest bluff, that party is in disarray, the P.P.P clearly recovered from incumbency fatigue and will easily secure a majority.

HA HA HA!

The PPP on trial and in total confusion,  today we gonna all snap elections, tomorrow we shall not.

MEK yu mind up Lunchman.

APNU is the biggest bluff, that party is in disarray, theP.P.P clearly recovered from incumbency fatigue and will easily secure a majority.

A matter of time, whether in a snap election or in 2016.

APNU is the biggest bluff, that party is in disarray, theP.P.P clearly recovered from incumbency fatigue and will easily secure a majority.

Most of the skeletons are falling out from Freedom House

SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, told media operatives that he is willing to expose the wrongs of his former party comrade, Moses Nagamootoo, as a means to ensure the PPP remains in power. So the PPP’s dirty tricks department is once again open for business as it engages in its unethical, slanderous and illegal tactics to diminish the effectiveness of its political opponents.
But such tactics can only work if there is a modicum of truth in the allegation, and if the allegations are being made by someone credible. There is too the economic well-being of the people.
On all three scores, Mr. Rohee will fail. Firstly, there is little truth in his allegation since it would have been made public since 2011 when Mr. Nagamootoo joined the AFC. This is another Rohee bluff and there are many. 

So haul your tail Rohee, time for you to reveal the skeleton in the closets of those who continue to buy medical supplies from their business buddies at ten times the real market value.
Over and out!
Sase Singh

Most of the skeletons are falling out from Freedom House

SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, told media operatives that he is willing to expose the wrongs of his former party comrade, Moses Nagamootoo, as a means to ensure the PPP remains in power. So the PPP’s dirty tricks department is once again open for business as it engages in its unethical, slanderous and illegal tactics to diminish the effectiveness of its political opponents.
But such tactics can only work if there is a modicum of truth in the allegation, and if the allegations are being made by someone credible. There is too the economic well-being of the people.
On all three scores, Mr. Rohee will fail. Firstly, there is little truth in his allegation since it would have been made public since 2011 when Mr. Nagamootoo joined the AFC. This is another Rohee bluff and there are many. 

So haul your tail Rohee, time for you to reveal the skeleton in the closets of those who continue to buy medical supplies from their business buddies at ten times the real market value.
Over and out!
Sase Singh

hey hey hey aluh look dis jackass.

PPP playing dead. You loud mouths keep underrate PPP. They in every village. 

I agree with you Tarron posting today as JB and posting yesterday as Kapadilla.

Yes, the PPP is in every village peddling the racist message - keep the black man out.

PYO paid activist by the new Ministry of National Mobilisation - 1000 strong.  Stipend - $25,000 a month for evening work with the PYO.

Tax payers paying the PYO activist $25 million a month.