Let them debate!! Then we will seeand hear who has the winning team.

What political office is Jagdeo running for?  Doesn't the fact that the debate will not include Ramotar and Harper on their own not communicate how inept that they are?

The PPP is digging their own grave and will appeal only to those frozen in race panic.

Do you see Afro Guyanese insecurity as a legitimate and reason not to vote PPP? I do.

Do you see Indo Guyanese insecurity, as illegitimate and, therefore, has no credibility?

I think you are being unreasonable in dismissing the concerns many Indo Guyanese may have.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

Do you see Afro Guyanese insecurity as a legitimate and reason not to vote PPP? I do.

Do you see Indo Guyanese insecurity, as illegitimate and, therefore, has no credibility?

I think you are being unreasonable in dismissing the concerns many Indo Guyanese man have.

the very reason why the coalition is needed is because of both LEGITIMATE insecurities.

PPP government.  100% Indian controlled with black tokens.  Afro Guyanese have no input.  Indians left vulnerable and fearful about how Afro Guyanese might react to being sht out.  BOTH lose.

APNU AFC coalition.  Reality is that the old AFC is dead.  The current AFC is funded and controlled by Nagamootoo supporters who no longer want the PPP.  Nagamootoo's campaign is aimed at the Indian vote.  He as a result represents Indian interests within the coalition.

There are TWO Indian parties in Guyana.  The PPP and the AFC.

If Granger is doing his job, he will ensure that African security issues are addressed.

Here is the rub.  Demographics dictate that the APNU will NEVER win an election in Guyana.  They need the AFC to help split the Indian vote and to also split the Amerindian vote.  So APNU cannot exclude the AFC.  The AFC cannot ignore the Indian ethnic insecurity factor.

So it seems to me as if BOTH the AFC and APNU need each other and so this blocks APNU from engaging in the type of ethnic exclusion which the PPP engages in.

So I am not claiming that APNU AFC solves the ethnic insecurity problem. What I am telling you is that it comes closest to resolving it than any other option currently available.

Because you cannot seriously tell me that the PPP will attempt to deal with the African exclusion factor and the threat that this represents to Indians who fear African retaliation as a result.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

I think you are being unreasonable in dismissing the concerns many Indo Guyanese may have.

Obviously you are a dishonest creature of the canine kind if you claim that I ignore the Indian anxieties.  I suggest you read the exchanges that I have had with redux on this very topic.

YOU care only about the Indian issue.  I understand that one cannot deal with the African issue if the Indian issue remains unresolved.

The dynamics at work in the upcoming elections in Guyana (sadly) are (in this order):

• Racial fear
  • Corruption
  • Economic development
  • Violence

The PPP has negatives in corruption and Economic development. Racial fear and violence cut both ways. If corruption and economic development gets more weight, violence is seen as a PPP-engineered phenomenon, and if the young voters really don't care about the pre-1992 governance, then the PPP cork duck.

, and if the young voters really don't care about the pre-1992 governance, then the PPP cork duck.

Apparently because of Guyana's high rates of emigration to neighboring countries the population skews very young, and voters between 18-30 are 40% of the total.

If young voters come out the party who wins them wins the election.

Agree with Mr. Carib:

"So I am not claiming that APNU AFC solves the ethnic insecurity problem. What I am telling you is that it comes closest to resolving it than any other option currently available."

And I do believe if the Coalition wins, Moses and Granger will work for national unity, as this is clearly not a PPP priority.

We don't even have to argue that the better team is the APNU+AFC.There are a lot of smart people in waiting that are fresh new faces that can be in a new Coalition govt. That's what we need and the Coalition can deliver.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Agree with Mr. Carib:

"

And I do believe if the Coalition wins, Moses and Granger will work for national unity, as this is clearly not a PPP priority.

Well they will have to or the coalition dies.

APNU remains the only viable institution which Afro Guyanese perceive that they have, the churches having sold out to Jagdeo.  They will demand that it redresses the wrongs of the past 22 years.

AFC is basically the exiles from the PPP who left with Nagamootoo.  The "multi racial" AFC no longer exists as it never developed a grass roots organization. What little they now have is provided by the Nagamootoo faction. 

So the AFC become an alternate party which Indians can support, and they will in turn demand that Nagamootoo protects them against partisanship, or any ethnically based revenge which may exist among some PNC supporters, even if not amongst its key leaders.

So we see an ethnically based tension right there and can look at the previous alliance between the Africans in the PNC, and the Portuguese, Chinese and mixed people in the UF.  These tensions might have been more class than race based, but the tensions existed and so rendered it easy for Burnham to dump the UF.

Open squabbling by the coalition will be unseemly so the ethnically based, invisible, but nonetheless present, tensions, will need to be dealt with.

Nagamootoo Indians will need to understand that the existing status quo where widespread discrimination against Africans in BOTH the public and private sectors will have to end.  PNC blacks will need to understand that the history of "ah we pan tap" and endless cycles of ethnic revenge will have to end.

BOTH will need to understand that a defeated PPP will be there waiting for them to trip.

To answer this thread's original query; the only two men I trust in this election are David Granger and Mark Benschop.

Moses is a decent and nice man. However, Indians are cursed with his type. I'd sooner cast my lot with Granger than Moses politically. Moses to me represents everything wrong with Guyanese Indians politically. He is a step back for Indians. I would support the PNC standing alone before I support Moses.

. I would support the PNC standing alone before I support Moses.

Why do you say this?  He will be there to ensure balance.  Granger is going to face many demands from his party members should they win.  It will be Moses who will ensure that Granger is forced to be fair.  If he isn't up to it then Granger might have to cave in to ensure that he remains relevant within the PNC.

. I would support the PNC standing alone before I support Moses.

Why do you say this?  He will be there to ensure balance.  Granger is going to face many demands from his party members should they win.  It will be Moses who will ensure that Granger is forced to be fair.  If he isn't up to it then Granger might have to cave in to ensure that he remains relevant within the PNC.

On an personal level, I just get along more easily with Gen. Granger. He's my kinda guy. Conservative, reserved etc. etc. The old Roman dignitas et gravitas. I trust Granger to face down his own party when he disagrees with them. He does not strike me as a pushover. I also trust him to be a fair man and to run Guyana with a care for his Indian citizens. Him I trust with Indian interests. Moses I don't.

That you think so highly of Moses the politician tells me you don't know him or at least you haven't had the opportunity to assess him as a politician.

He is a Jaganite and a Marxist. And a natural appeaser who needs to be "liked" by Blacks. He will sell us out in a heartbeat. Moses is from a cadre of kanta politicians who don't understand politics, don't understand power, believe in appeasement, and are uncomfortable in their Indian skin.

In a Coalition between Granger and Moses, I trust Granger to handle Indian interests. He will if not to be fair but because he understands you can't run a country while leaving 40% behind. Moses is definitely NOT up to the task of representing Indians in the Coalition. He does not even think that's his job. Which is why I always foam at the mouth when you and others keep talking about the AFC and Moses specifically as capable of representing Indians and their interests. It's a fantasy based on an assumption that is just not true.

OK, I agree with what Carib said.  Moses and Ramjattan will be the ones interacting with the top leadership ensuring that we don't backslide from the national unity agenda.

However, Carib misses the boat when he said: Nagamootoo Indians will need to understand that the existing status quo where widespread discrimination against Africans in BOTH the public and private sectors will have to end.  PNC blacks will need to understand that the history of "ah we pan tap" and endless cycles of ethnic revenge will have to end.

Is every race punishing.  Why do you think PPP is favoring the working poor Indians?  What's the proof of that?  The whole state sector is Afro dominated.  You don't want the poor Indians to have equal access?- that's the old PNC mentality.

You think the working stiff Indians, catching hell have the "ah we pan tap" feeling?  They are probably on top the table waiting to jump.  Suicide rates highest under the PPP.

I am disappointed by Satan's characterization of Moses which shows he does not know the man.

Some years ago, Moses explained to me that Indian security is intertwined with African security, and he was distressed that the PPP was not addressing that.  Moses was troubled by the PPP's association with the Phantoms.  Our best chance for change lies with Moses and Ramjattan- two of the best Indian leaders in Guyana now.

The Coalition will not be easy to manage if they win, but we have got to be committed to make it work. You cannot judge the Coalition using a yardstick from 50+ years ago.

In a Coalition between Granger and Moses, I trust Granger to handle Indian interests.

Will Granger handle African interests.  Some one asked him about Linden, and he never gave an answer but launched into what he plans to do for Amerindians.

Granger might well find a rebellion within the PNC as many don't really trust him.  That those voices are silent is because folks understand that the PPP has to go.  But after the election if APNU AFC wins............

In a Coalition between Granger and Moses, I trust Granger to handle Indian interests.

Will Granger handle African interests.  Some one asked him about Linden, and he never gave an answer but launched into what he plans to do for Amerindians.

Granger might well find a rebellion within the PNC as many don't really trust him.  That those voices are silent is because folks understand that the PPP has to go.  But after the election if APNU AFC wins............

Remember DESMOND PERSAUD?

What do you think about DAVID NAGAMOOTOO?

Remember DESMOND PERSAUD?

What do you think about DAVID NAGAMOOTOO?

Look these chaps got to do what is best for all the people of Guyana and Dagga and Nagga on the right road.  LEAVE THEM ALONE.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

The Coalition will not be easy to manage if they win, but we have got to be committed to make it work. You cannot judge the Coalition using a yardstick from 50+ years ago.

It is the very ethnic insecurity that will cause a problem.

Here we are two anti PPP people who want APNU AFC to win.  I say that there is widespread discrimination against blacks.  You scream that those $200 jobs which keep blacks in poverty is a sign of black control.

Blacks will want APNU AFC to reduce the racism against them which they hope will lead to better jobs and a higher stand of living.  Some might be inclined to ethnically based revenge based upon what has happened to them over the past 23 years.

You feel that black people already have good jobs and control Guyana and so don't need to see a change in status quo.

That is what will destroy the coalition unless Granger and Nagamootoo deal with it quickly.

.  LEAVE THEM ALONE.

Why?  Their role is to SERVE not command.  The day after they begin to win they need to LISTEN to people.  Guyanese need move beyond this "follow the leader leader" nonsense.

Linden remains a huge problem for the PNC.  One that could have destroyed it if Solomon and Kissoon didn't enter into a (temporary) truce with Granger.  He will need to come up with a plan to restore Linden VERY QUICKLY, or he will face open rebellion.  Granger will remember when Linden (and Buxton) rebelled against Burnham.

To answer this thread's original query; the only two men I trust in this election are David Granger and Mark Benschop.

Moses is a decent and nice man. However, Indians are cursed with his type. I'd sooner cast my lot with Granger than Moses politically. Moses to me represents everything wrong with Guyanese Indians politically. He is a step back for Indians. I would support the PNC standing alone before I support Moses.

ahhh . . . how soon alyuh smartman does 'forget'

remember your full throated support of a coalition headed by Moses (an Indian)?

and your hysterical rejection of Granger (blackman) heading the ticket?

u too young to be having these kinda memory problems bai

Lemme clear de air.

I was pro-Moses as the Presidential candidate for two reasons which I will now share.

Numero 1. I did not see how else those two Berbician seats in Parliament would stay without him as the Presidential candidate as his Indianness MAY have offset the extraordinary ask of Indians to essentially vote PNC. I fully expected the PNC to have him as President in name only as a virtual puppet. That was a good thing to me.

Numero 2. I still to some degree hold the post-1997 anti-Indian violence against the PNC. I hold them completely responsible. And I am loathe to hand them the whole prize of the State as "reward" for ethnic violence at that time.

I never once opposed David Granger because he is David Granger or even more appalling that he is a "blackman." I've always known him to be such and I found that of no consequence whatsoever. I still don't. For the last time chap, I hold no issue against Black people or any other people for that matter. I don't know how much clearer I can get. If anything I'm probably nicer and more civil to Blacks than I am to Indians. The principal argument for a Coalition victory is David Granger to me. Not Moses or Khemraj and their brood of Jagan's homeless pickney. The AFC Spicy Recipe inspires zero confidence in me in terms of governing with some reasonable care for Indian people.

Lemme clear de air.

I was pro-Moses as the Presidential candidate for two reasons which I will now share.

Numero 1. I did not see how else those two Berbician seats in Parliament would stay without him as the Presidential candidate as his Indianness MAY have offset the extraordinary ask of Indians to essentially vote PNC. I fully expected the PNC to have him as President in name only as a virtual puppet. That was a good thing to me.

Numero 2. I still to some degree hold the post-1997 anti-Indian violence against the PNC. I hold them completely responsible. And I am loathe to hand them the whole prize of the State as "reward" for ethnic violence at that time.

I never once opposed David Granger because he is David Granger or even more appalling that he is a "blackman." I've always known him to be such and I found that of no consequence whatsoever. I still don't. For the last time chap, I don't hold no issue against Black people or any other people for that matter. I don't know how much clearer I can get. If anything I'm probably nicer and more civil to Blacks than I am to Indians. The principal argument for a Coalition victory is David Granger to me. Not Moses or Khemraj and their brood of Jagan's homeless pickney. The AFC Spicy Recipe inspires zero confidence in me in terms of governing with some reasonable care for Indian people.

shaitaan, putting aside that u have in the past week gone on record averring that (Jaganite) Moses Nagamootoo had nothing to do with the AFC success in Berbice, what u are saying today is a total flip-flop and makes no shaitaanean sense whatsoever

i will pull up the threads started when the coalition announced, and demonstrate why tomorrow

jet lag kicking in . . . good night

Lemme clear de air.

I never once opposed David Granger because he is David Granger or even more appalling that he is a "blackman." I've always known him to be such and I found that of no consequence whatsoever. I still don't. For the last time chap, I don't hold no issue against Black people or any other people for that matter. I don't know how much clearer I can get. If anything I'm probably nicer and more civil to Blacks than I am to Indians. The principal argument for a Coalition victory is David Granger to me. Not Moses or Khemraj and their brood of Jagan's homeless pickney. The AFC Spicy Recipe inspires zero confidence in me in terms of governing with some reasonable care for Indian people.

shaitaan, putting aside that u have in the past week gone on record averring that (Jaganite) Moses Nagamootoo had nothing to do with the AFC success in Berbice, what u are saying today is a total flip-flop and makes no shaitaanean sense whatsoever

i will pull up the threads started when the coalition announced, and demonstrate why tomorrow

jet lag kicking in . . . good night

Another Reduxian argument which demands uber mathematical precision in the political statements of his interlocutor. Permit me the opportunity to satisfy your lust for extreme specificity.

That Nagamootoo at least would have made those 10k Berbician Indians feel more "confident" about casting an AFC vote in 2011 is conceded. That most likely occurred.

We part company if you are suggesting that Nagamootoo was the cause of the exodus of 10k Berbician Indians from the PPP to the AFC in 2011. I suspect they were already ripe and already falling into the AFC basket and them Nagamootoo came along and increased the gravitational pull.

I do not believe that Nagamootoo left the PPP three weeks before the Election and 10k Indians marched out of the PPP with him in protest because they so love Moses Nagamootoo. If that was indeed the case, we would see similar cultlike behavior among the 10k strong Sacred Band of Whim in 2015. And we don't. We saw the AFC avoiding the PNC like the plague outside Parliament for 4 years and now we see the AFC struggling to hold onto Indian support.

Nagamootoo needed a lot of help to hold onto the AFC's Indians. He had a tough time already doing so with the AFC going it alone in 2015. In Coalition, I believe he needed not only to be Indian, and a familiar Indian face, but he also needed the twin fold boost of assuring Indians that no "PNC Presidency" was gonna result and that he was nominally in charge.

Counterintuitively, he negotiated more power as No. 2 in the Coalition than he could have ever had as Presidential Candidate and President for himself. However, the average voter is not so sophisticated nor driven by such dispassionate reason. Moses needed to be the Presidential Candidate to maximize the Coalition's chances of keeping and maybe even expanding it's Indian support.

This is no flip flop. I'm just looking at the whole picture. Finding anti-PPP Indians and keeping them is hard on a good day (November 28,2011) and almost an impossible task the closer you get to banishing the PPP from office. The closer the anti-PPP Indian voter believes the PPP is to losing office the less likely said voter is to vote against the PPP. This is catch 22 of relying on Indians to force the PPP from office. Take my word for it. I know lots of viciously anti-PPP Indians who want the PPP destroyed and their leaders executed by firing squad but do not want the PNC back in Government and they're willing to swallow their pride and back our mudheads.

Stormborn put it quite eloquently when he spoke of the Our Mangy Daag v. Your Mangy Daag argument in Guyana. He just errs in think that this is not a persuasive argument to Guyanese voters. I think it quite accurately describes all of our elections between PPP and PNC.